Discussion Favourite holiday destination?

Gday,

What's your favourite holiday destination? Best time of year? Budget or steepish? Planned holidays for this year / next? OK - worst holiday destination?

right.

Ok, ill get the ball rolling.
Massively steep.

USA
Went this time last year (:() And we couldn't have picked a better time, the $Aus was up around 85/90c, Saints were on a shitful losing streak. Perfection. :thumbsu:
I might've been blown away cause it was my first time overseas but it was amazing.

California we did the usual, Disneyland - Doesn't matter what anyine says, you're never too old to go. There's a "scarier" side for those tha didn't know.
Sea World etc - Basically the same up at the GC, but still fun.
San Diego zoo, really really good zoo.
Universal Studios - The studio tour was great, took us through sets from like back to the furture and king kong etc. Haha we went on the wednesday, luckily for us on the Thursday morning quite a bit of the "back lot" where most of the sets were estroyed by fire. The real KingKong set that was used in the movie was destroyed and a few other areas, but that was the main damage. We got lucky. Only 4/5 rides though, which was a bit meh, but they were really good rides.
Venice Beach - ahh man, real ghettoness. Had a look at muscle beach, fair to say Eljay Connors has a fair way to go, minimum requirement of 300 pounds of steroids on anyone who goes in.

Went across the border to Mexico, Tijuana to be exact. Yeah wow, the city scape changes so much in the space of a couple of kilometres. You got San Diego just on the border on the American side, it's all civilised and everything is in order like a normal city. Then you go across to Mexico and you have people living in little tin shacks, and run down statues, (yes for reals. :D). Stray dogs running the streets, kids trying to sell you stuff, we were told to ignore them otherwise, if you buy something from one a whole bunch of other kids will come up trying to get money off you. Really hard to ignore.
Then when you go shopping on the main street, you got the shop owners standing outside basically directing you into there crappy store. "you want watch? 14c Gold, normally $150 dollar, i give to you for $75 because you special." Was fun after the first couple stores, but when you spend 4/5hrs shopping around, it gets pretty tiresome.
I made sure i only brought stuff from shopkeepers that didn't hassle me. :):thumbsu: Which was usually women. Mexican men are pushy as.

Oh yeah you can get a picture with a zonkey. A donkey painted with Zebra stripes. Pretty much one on every corner. Bizzare.

Vegas was probably the best. Even though i couldn't do much, it was fantastic. Shopping is awesome. And far out some of the hotels :eek:
You never realise how much time you can waste, watching people rip through their money. The casino's are open so kids can walk through. I went to pull the thingo on the slots machine, it zapped me really hard. Karma. :D

And Grnad Canyon is awesome too, but the pricing is ridiculous.

Shopping. :thumbsu::D
18hr plane ride. :thumbsd::(

Next up.

NY NY

Loved it. 2.5 weeks, by myself which was interesting. Stayed in East-mid town which was close to Rockefeller Center, 5th Ave, etc.

Visted the MET, MoMa, guggenheim etc

Central Park really is beautiful in Autumn, Strawberry Fields, the boathouse etc.

Spent a bit of time in Greenwich village, visited Cafe Wha (for dylan fans) blue note, dizzy's overlooking central park ... had a cupcake from Magnolia (yes, they are THAT good), Times Square was pretty interesting but very touristy. Loved Washington Sq Park .. basically there were so many things to do & see.

The obvious, Statue of Liberty & ground zero. Couldn't see the site that well as they had started rebuilding so was a construction site. But it is very big. Visited Wall St & lasted about 2.5 seconds before I lost interest.

Of course, visted the Seinfeld diner, went to top of the rock for city views. amazing. You get a real appreciation on the size of the city, especially the park. Grand Central station is maaasive - ate at deli's ( recommend Katz Deli - a LOT of pastrami but worth it)

Shopping there is awesome, I was there when the aussie dollar decided to nosedive - curbed my spending a little. Still it was cheaper than shopping here (the girl at the diesel shop nearly died when I told her how much my shoes were in Australia ... I bought 2 there for price of 1 here) ..

Can't wait to go back there.

Ok, ill get the ball rolling.
Massively steep.

USA
Went this time last year (:() And we couldn't have picked a better time, the $Aus was up around 85/90c, Saints were on a shitful losing streak. Perfection. :thumbsu:
I might've been blown away cause it was my first time overseas but it was amazing.

California we did the usual, Disneyland - Doesn't matter what anyine says, you're never too old to go. There's a "scarier" side for those tha didn't know.
Sea World etc - Basically the same up at the GC, but still fun.
San Diego zoo, really really good zoo.
Universal Studios - The studio tour was great, took us through sets from like back to the furture and king kong etc. Haha we went on the wednesday, luckily for us on the Thursday morning quite a bit of the "back lot" where most of the sets were estroyed by fire. The real KingKong set that was used in the movie was destroyed and a few other areas, but that was the main damage. We got lucky. Only 4/5 rides though, which was a bit meh, but they were really good rides.
Venice Beach - ahh man, real ghettoness. Had a look at muscle beach, fair to say Eljay Connors has a fair way to go, minimum requirement of 300 pounds of steroids on anyone who goes in.

Went across the border to Mexico, Tijuana to be exact. Yeah wow, the city scape changes so much in the space of a couple of kilometres. You got San Diego just on the border on the American side, it's all civilised and everything is in order like a normal city. Then you go across to Mexico and you have people living in little tin shacks, and run down statues, (yes for reals. :D). Stray dogs running the streets, kids trying to sell you stuff, we were told to ignore them otherwise, if you buy something from one a whole bunch of other kids will come up trying to get money off you. Really hard to ignore.
Then when you go shopping on the main street, you got the shop owners standing outside basically directing you into there crappy store. "you want watch? 14c Gold, normally $150 dollar, i give to you for $75 because you special." Was fun after the first couple stores, but when you spend 4/5hrs shopping around, it gets pretty tiresome.
I made sure i only brought stuff from shopkeepers that didn't hassle me. :):thumbsu: Which was usually women. Mexican men are pushy as.

Oh yeah you can get a picture with a zonkey. A donkey painted with Zebra stripes. Pretty much one on every corner. Bizzare.

Vegas was probably the best. Even though i couldn't do much, it was fantastic. Shopping is awesome. And far out some of the hotels :eek:
You never realise how much time you can waste, watching people rip through their money. The casino's are open so kids can walk through. I went to pull the thingo on the slots machine, it zapped me really hard. Karma. :D

And Grnad Canyon is awesome too, but the pricing is ridiculous.

Shopping. :thumbsu::D
18hr plane ride. :thumbsd::(

Next up.

Yeah the US is an amazing place to travel, so much to see and do there. Very expensive if you are spending Aussie dollars though.

I actually spent a few months living in San Diego around 10 years ago, great place. It's very similar to Perth actually, with some great beaches and a pretty laid back atmosphere. Spent a bit of time in LA too but didn't like it anywhere near as much as San Diego, spent most of my time sitting in traffic jams there. Hollywood and Venice Beach were a bit of a let down too, a lot more grotty and run down than I had imagined.

I also did a day trip down to Tijuana. It's certainly a major culture shock going from a first world country, to all of a sudden being in a 3rd world country with beggars hassling you non stop. Can't say I enjoyed it there that much but it was an eye opener, that's for sure.

Didn't get around to going to Disneyland or Sea World unfortunately. I did go to the San Diego Zoo though, I'm not normally a zoo person but it was pretty cool with heaps of stuff to see and do. The only disappointment was not seeing the pandas, as one of them had just had a baby and they were off limits.

NY NY

Loved it. 2.5 weeks, by myself which was interesting. Stayed in East-mid town which was close to Rockefeller Center, 5th Ave, etc.

Visted the MET, MoMa, guggenheim etc

Central Park really is beautiful in Autumn, Strawberry Fields, the boathouse etc.

Spent a bit of time in Greenwich village, visited Cafe Wha (for dylan fans) blue note, dizzy's overlooking central park ... had a cupcake from Magnolia (yes, they are THAT good), Times Square was pretty interesting but very touristy. Loved Washington Sq Park .. basically there were so many things to do & see.

The obvious, Statue of Liberty & ground zero. Couldn't see the site that well as they had started rebuilding so was a construction site. But it is very big. Visited Wall St & lasted about 2.5 seconds before I lost interest.

Of course, visted the Seinfeld diner, went to top of the rock for city views. amazing. You get a real appreciation on the size of the city, especially the park. Grand Central station is maaasive - ate at deli's ( recommend Katz Deli - a LOT of pastrami but worth it)

Shopping there is awesome, I was there when the aussie dollar decided to nosedive - curbed my spending a little. Still it was cheaper than shopping here (the girl at the diesel shop nearly died when I told her how much my shoes were in Australia ... I bought 2 there for price of 1 here) ..

Can't wait to go back there.

I spent a few days in New York, amazing place. I was lucky enough to get free accomodation at a friend of a friend's apartment in Union Square, which was a great location in downtown Manhattan. Just about everything you needed to see was all within walking distance. Having said that, I was lazy and did one of those double decker bus tours instead.

Saw all the main attractions like the Statue of Liberty, Central Park, Empire State Building, Times Square etc. I'm a big Seinfeld fan so went to see the diner too, I reckon I was more excited about seeing that than all the other stuff. I was also there before 9/11 so actually went up to the viewing decks at the top of the World Trade Centre. The view from up there was incredible, a real shame that people can't do that now.

Although New York is an amazing place to visit, I don't think I could handle living there. It's just too big and crowded, I was exhausted at the end of the few days I spent there, just from battling crowds on the street and on the subway. New Yorkers all walk at a million miles an hour and if you are too slow and get in their way, which I often did, they abuse the hell out of you. Couldn't be more different to the laidback lifestyle of Perth.

Okay, I have never been out of Australia.

What's your favourite holiday destination? Byron Bay.
It has good beaches, Good places to go out and it has the Great Northern Hotel (Excellent live venue for music)
Best time of year? Anytime. Summer.
Budget or steepish? Budget.
Planned holidays for this year / next? Alice Springs and Northern Qld.
worst holiday destination? Don't know. Lets say....Ballarat.

London.

Not as expensive as everyone makes out if you budget correctly. Did the Lord's Tour as was absolutely blown away. To be a site where so much cricket history has occurred, unreal.

Windsor Castle is also something to be seen. Very easy to get around and people are geniunely quite friendly.

Hawaii.

Our last stop of our honeymoon but it was awesome. So much culture and the people are lovely. Must do a luau and for the shopaholics out there the factory outlets in Hawaii make DFO look like Tiffany's in the price stakes. Weather is fantastic all the time and it suits everyone from singles, couples and families. You'd never regret it.

I loved England as well. Spent a year over there doing the working/travelling thing. Was lucky enough to stay with my friends inlaws so didn't have to backpack it.

The history of that place blew me away. I remember being at one of the castles and just in awe of not only it's beauty but how old it was. Being from such a young country as ours, it was really hard to comprehend.

Did quite abit of sport touristy stuff as well. Went to nearly every cricket ground there and did the tour. Hepled that we were playing over there at the time. Also went to quite a few soccer stadiums and matches. The people I was living with are Liverpool and Everton fans and when they took me there and taught me about the history of those clubs, shivers went up my spine.

But I really really really want to eat my way through Italy, Spain and Greece and then go to Vegas! Best start saving!!

I agree with the Guide....looooooved Hawaii. Went early this year and it was unreal!!! Def Recommend to anyone. Spent a week in Waikiki (?) then travelled the other islands....wow! Going back again in May next year, and then will hit the States for the first time.

Travelled to most parts of Europe and followed the beaten track, much as expected. Didn't really spend a lot of time in anyone place with the exception of Copenhagen where we rested for just over a week, great place, super friendly locals, good beer and really hot women!!! Pretty damaging to the old sky rocket though!!

Spent a week in Dubai once, that was pretty cool, bloody hot - probably wouldn't go back unless it was a stopover. Ditto Honkers.

Spent two weeks in Queenstown a few years ago, massive party place, super friendly and relatively well priced.

But my favourite destination in the whole wide world - (so far) is our very own Sunshine Coast, beautifal weather, beaches and not too overcrowded.

I would love to hear of peoples travels within Aus? We have just come back from a week in Hamilton Island (4th visit) great place, family friendly, relaxed, unreal golf course.....but man is it expensive. Price really is the only downside.:mad:

Yes Hamilton Island is a joke in that regard.

South Molle Island was brilliant when I went as a younger version of myself. Very nice indeed.

London...the history of the place...like doing a tour around the Monopoly board....even the cheap places on the board are now expensive..

I lived in a couple of places when I was working there in the 1970's...Highbury...which was sensational for me being an Arsenal fan...just a short 5 minute walk to the old stadium in Avenell Rd...

Fulham...right on the border of Chelsea...used to walk to Fulham Broadway station to catch either the bus or tube to work at Australia House...the #11 bus was always an enjoyable trip

Shepherds Bush...was a real eye opener...hardly any English people in the street...was mainly Australians...Kiwis, West Indians..plus it was close to some great pubs...actually all three places were close to pubs...which is a real attraction in London...

Regarding oz wide destinations I find that they are often pricey and thus a quick hop over the ditch to NZ is actually often cheaper.
That said here's a few gems
Orford in Tasmania is pretty special. The big roo obviously owns a holiday house there for a reason. Well worth it
Other tassie spots include st helens and the Tasman peninsula as well as Coles bay
Other oz spots I've enjoyed are the Adelaide hills and the fleurieu peninsula as well as yorke peninsula.

GenerAlly the spots in oz I like are those that aren't over commercialized. Areas like orford in tassie for example have **** all there to do apart from holiday. Maybe a surf shop is there but proper holiday spots.

Did four months of backpacking around Europe back in 2008.

As I travelled alone and stayed in hostels my favourite places were generally the ones where I met the best people.

I'd highly recommend San Sebastian (and a great little hostel called Olga's Place). Amazing city on the north coast of Spain.

Berlin was another highlight. It's such a diverse place with a ridiculous array of clubs. Plus I'm a bit of a history buff and the place certainly has history.

The Cinque Terre is a must visit. Think Great Ocean Road but walkable. I'd definitely encourage people to do the walk rather than the train ride between the five towns. Took us about 5 to 6 hours but we made sure we had a couple of drinks in each place. Just don't wear thongs. :o

I'd advise everybody to go on the free walking tours offered in each major city. They are run by local university students and you give them a tip at the end. Plus, they offer fantastic pub crawls at night. Especially Berlin.

I've been to Borneo, New Zealand, Canada, Western US, three of the islands of Hawaii, Britain, Germany, Norway. Next year I'm going to Egypt and the Holy Land.

Of the places I've been:

Borneo is magnificent. A special highlight there is Mount Kinabalu, which is about 4000ft high, and probably the most ecologically diverse place on the planet. More species live in that mountain than in the entire continent of North America.

Say NO WAY to Norway. Horrible place. Went there in June, which is supposed to be their "summer" - bloody cold, miserable, and incredibly boring. The only selling point would be the mountainous fiords, but Canada has them in the Rockies, and is much more fun.

I lived in Vancouver for a year or so (that's when I jumped onto BF for the first time), but also went to Alberta. I'd say go to Alberta in summer, and Vancouver in winter. Lots of fun to be had.

My FAVORITE destination in the whole wide world, would have to be Lake Tahoe, on the border of California and Nevada. Just a beautiful, beautiful place. The lake is incredibly beautiful and clear. The forests around there are amazing. One of those rare places in the world where the summer is really nice and warm (mid/high 20s), and the winters are snowy and great for skiing. If I could pick anywhere in the world to just live if weather and landscape were the only factors, it'd be there.

I have been extremely lucky to have traveled a hell of a lot chasing surf and getting to see different aspects of our world, but two places that were the best were sth Africa and the Maldives.
1. In 96 my wife and i went to sth Africa, drove from cape town all the way to Jeffreys bay. spent a couple of weeks doing it, amazing beautiful country. Then flew from port Elizabeth to Zimbabwe. Spent two weeks on safari with own guide and van traveling from reserve to reserve staying in the most mind blowing places, seeing things that may disappear in our life time.
2.In 04 we went to the Maldives and as far as relaxing goes it was miles better than any of the other tropical destinations I've been to. So peaceful and so much to do.
I can not compare trips like these to all the cities I've been to as a city is just a city. Going to cities that have a larger population than Australia, really amazes me why people bother.
I live in one of the most beautiful places i have ever seen and its like being on holidays all the time. Most people barely even know about the tweed and flock up the road to surfers which astounds me as its such a hole.

I've been told of a magical place so rare that not many get to go there. I am yet to go there, but hopefully one day soon, I will. Apparantly the thrill is incredible.

It's called Lake Winnaflag.

:)

I2.In 04 we went to the Maldives and as far as relaxing goes it was miles better than any of the other tropical destinations I've been to. So peaceful and so much to do.

Was it really expensive?

If you want a good priced holiday, Guide, I'd HIGHLY recommend cruising, and especially repositioning cruises.

When my wife and i came back from Canada to live here again, we didn't want to fly and get all strung out - we needed a holiday. So we took a repositioning cruise.

See, every year, cruiseships do Alaskan tours in the northern summer, and Aussie tours during our summer. They have to move the boats from one end of the world to the other anyway, and so they're happy to hitch a few people on along the way. For a 16-day holiday, stopping off in Hawaii, Tahiti and French Polynesia and the Bay of Islands in NZ, we paid the same as a flight home would have. SERIOUSLY - the same price.

Add to that, the cheapest rooms on a cruise are the internal ones - but they're really good! There are NO windows (cos you're inside the ship), and so you can sleep really really well.

If you want a good priced holiday, Guide, I'd HIGHLY recommend cruising, and especially repositioning cruises.

When my wife and i came back from Canada to live here again, we didn't want to fly and get all strung out - we needed a holiday. So we took a repositioning cruise.

See, every year, cruiseships do Alaskan tours in the northern summer, and Aussie tours during our summer. They have to move the boats from one end of the world to the other anyway, and so they're happy to hitch a few people on along the way. For a 16-day holiday, stopping off in Hawaii, Tahiti and French Polynesia and the Bay of Islands in NZ, we paid the same as a flight home would have. SERIOUSLY - the same price.

Add to that, the cheapest rooms on a cruise are the internal ones - but they're really good! There are NO windows (cos you're inside the ship), and so you can sleep really really well.

Have always thought I wouldn't like a cruise. Just doesn't appeal to me for some reason.

Anyways given I'll soon be a dad, our next holiday will be a little ways off yet!

Was it really expensive?

No mate, about 6K for both for two weeks, and a three day stop over in singapore. Had watched it for years and was always 8-9k for the same trip.
that included all our food,drinks and spending money.

just got another price acouple of months ago and its about the same, but now we have a six YO that eats like a ship full of sailors. will add abit to the cost.

Sainter San Sebastion was my Fav place in spain, had some big nights drinking Corona's there.

No mate, about 6K for both for two weeks, and a three day stop over in singapore. Had watched it for years and was always 8-9k for the same trip.
that included all our food,drinks and spending money.

just got another price acouple of months ago and its about the same, but now we have a six YO that eats like a ship full of sailors. will add abit to the cost.

Sainter San Sebastion was my Fav place in spain, had some big nights drinking Corona's there.

Interesting stuff. Thanks for the insight.