Favourite player

Orlando Magic, Nick Diaz, Exers
I just thought it would be inteseting to hear who posters' favourite player was and why.

Mine is obviously Porp. He is my fav because I think he is one of the most skilled players on our list and incredibly tough. He also seems like a down to earth bloke. I remember the game a couple of years ago we were playing the Hawks, pretty sure it was 2008, and he was moved into the midfield and he dominated. I think it was 2009 :confused: that I was trying to pick whos number I would get on my back and it was between Porps and Knights. I def. picked the right player even if I did lose my fav. in the first 5 mins of 2011 haha. Also seeing the amount of work that he has done for charity in the last couple years just confirms why I rate him so highly.

Anyway who is your favourite player and why?

good thread.

Tex - He can turn a game in minutes by himself. can goal from anywhere.* his kicking is incredible, he has a knack of never being tackled even though he's not particularly quick, and even though he gives the impression of being lazy, he's clearly worked on his weaknesses. that and he's got that loveable stupid bogan thing going on.
*examples being his first ever goal from the pocket at the G, and the couple he bombed from outside 50 against the Lions at AAMI a few years back.

close second

Sloane - so courageous, so hard working, natural leader and never ever lets himself get beaten. classis example was when he won that footy on the wing against Lewis in the 4th of the prelim. Lewis is a veteran known for his one on one footy winning, Rory completely owned him.

Was Porps and Pets as they have a lot of talent, but due to injuries and such were limited for a bit in their respective careers.

Now it is Daniel Talia! For all the flack he gets for being lacking in the offensive department, he makes up for it by being a defensive beast!

Underrated by many outside the club, he is my favourite player!!!

Btw i guess it is prob common sense why people see the players as their favs but would also be interesting to hear why...

Like we have Danger = exciting, fast, sxc
Tex = big mofo, exciting, sxc, mexican

any other reasons for your favs boiis?

Ohh btw it's up to you but it's easy to just name: Sloane, Tex, Danger, Thommo... Let's hear who you would put on your back if you had to pick and why.. Its easy to pick 3 of your fav players but who is your TRUE FAV PLAYER?

good thread.

Tex - He can turn a game in minutes by himself. can goal from anywhere.* his kicking is incredible, he has a knack of never being tackled even though he's not particularly quick, and even though he gives the impression of being lazy, he's clearly worked on his weaknesses. that and he's got that loveable stupid bogan thing going on.
*examples being his first ever goal from the pocket at the G, and the couple he bombed from outside 50 against the Lions at AAMI a few years back.

close second

Sloane - so courageous, so hard working, natural leader and never ever lets himself get beaten. classis example was when he won that footy on the wing against Lewis in the 4th of the prelim. Lewis is a veteran known for his one on one footy winning, Rory completely owned him.

Rory is a fuking beast.. Not once have I seen him get into a 1 on 1 contest, marking or whatever, and not expected him to win it.. He's just a fkin hero.. How many times have you seen him in a marking contest when its coming into his direction and just simply thought to yourself "We have possesion Rorzas there"

:p
Was Porps and Pets as they have a lot of talent, but due to injuries and such were limited for a bit in their respective careers.

Now it is Daniel Talia! For all the flack he gets for being lacking in the offensive department, he makes up for it by being a defensive beast!

Seriously you gave up on Porps cause of his injuries..? Where the fk is the faith mate? TBH you should be ashamed of yourself you should stick with your player especially knowing it's Porps and you will reap the benefits... lost about 10% respect for you. Porps is a beast and dont forget it

Probably Matty Wright at the moment. Just works really hard and gets the most out of himself. Hope he handles a tag well because opposition teams will be paying very close attention to him in 2013.

Don't see that happening.. Just IMO i see him as being the tagger he has proved it in the past. I don't see the oppostion tagging him over players such as; Porp, VB, Vince, Sloane, Stiffy, Callinan and many others. In my opinion I see Wright being a very underated player by opposition teams allowing him to do his job offensively and defensively when called upon. I think he will be another Edwards.

On current form, Johncock, Vince and Callinan have absolutely nothing on Matty Wright. Stiffy is well past his best, Vince is an underpeforming figjam and Callinan goes missing way too often.

Your living in a dream world if you think Wright will continue to fly under the radar. He has the ability to tear teams to shreds just as well as those players you mentioned. He will be watched very closely in the future.

On current form, Johncock, Vince and Callinan have absolutely nothing on Matty Wright. Stiffy is well past his best, Vince is an underpeforming figjam and Callinan goes missing way too often.

Your living in a dream world if you think Wright will continue to fly under the radar. He has the ability to tear teams to shreds just as well as those players you mentioned. He will be watched very closely in the future.

I agree but if our other players perform I can see him being an incredibly damaging and underrated player.. If our team contiunues the imnprovement they've show do u think a team will tag: Danger, Thommo, Porps, Tex, Jennkins/Johnston, Vince and all the rest... In my opinion I see Wright being an incredibly important role player.. He will tag a player, eg. Rodan, when it's neccesary but he will also be offensive..

Rehn I just loved because he had such an influence on the contest. He willed his way into games, imposed himself. He was the anti-Clarke. Had an impact in the centre square and would drop back into defence and become the road block. You only need to look at the years he played (97, 98) compared to the years he was out injured (95, 96, 99) to see how our fortunes varied with his. Great skills for a big man plus he had genuine mongrel in him.

Porps is just the complete package. Ridiculous ball handling skills, an outstanding mark for his size plus beautiful foot skills. Loved his game in the Hawthorn final too, showed his class. Courage too, playing on with the dodgiest shoulder in the game.

Rehn I just loved because he had such an influence on the contest. He willed his way into games, imposed himself. He was the anti-Clarke. Had an impact in the centre square and would drop back into defence and become the road block. You only need to look at the years he played (97, 98) compared to the years he was out injured (95, 96, 99) to see how our fortunes varied with his. Great skills for a big man plus he had genuine mongrel in him.

Porps is just the complete package. Ridiculous ball handling skills, an outstanding mark for his size plus beautiful foot skills. Loved his game in the Hawthorn final too, showed his class. Courage too, playing on with the dodgiest shoulder in the game.

Can you remember what the highlight this year? I swear it was Krakouer or NicNat attempting a crazy mark and they missed it and people were going on about how great their leap was. However all i saw was them missing the mark and Porp's crazy reactions to grab it out as it fell out the back... Was fkin insanse... I love Danger/Tex/Sloane etc. because of the obvious reasons but everytime Porps gets it in his hands I know were going to do something. He is a true BEAST

Sorry bosh but what talent do u see Pets having? IMO all I have seen him having is going hard..