DaveW

http://www.voy.com/51976/15277.html

Fergus Watts (Sandringham Dragons)

196/86 mid age right foot (dual-sided) key forward.

Slim 196cm energetic jumping jack key forward who covers a lot of ground and runs hard. Huge leap, great intensity and ethic. Doesn't kick many goals and maybe not the same scope for improvement as some but worth an early 2nd round pick, give or take. Ready year 2.

Watts is earlier than he might be in some previous drafts, largely because of the dearth of talls. He lacks class and he's no Riewoldt or Carey but he does have a range of attractive attributes. On form as a KPP he deserves to be ahead of McConnell and Chaplin. They are silkier, appear to have greater scope for improvement and are a bit younger so perhaps he should be behind them. What in the end made me put him just ahead of them was that he is now 196cm and that gives him an extra string to his bow as a potential around the ground backup ruck (at least) once/if he adds another 10kg or so.

*STYLE LIKE: Petrie

*TRADEMARK:

- Spectacular one-grab mark either over the top of the pack or backing back into the face of danger to fling himself up and back.

*SUMMARY ASSESSMENT, RECOMMENDATION:

I was singularly unimpressed with him in '02 because he seemed to lack poise, his decision-making was iffy and he was almost treacle slow. I don't believe many players can overcome "intrinsic" problems like poise and decision-making. Watts has. Is just about the biggest improver in TAC comp this year. Has easily the best KPP form I've seen this season among the draft candidates.

Plays very inside, gives 101% all the time and always gives a contest.

Is one of the few tall '03 U18 draft candidates who could be classed as a regular pack mark.

Many define him almost exclusively by his big marks. I think this is selling him short and missing his biggest attribute because he is one of the few tall '03 U18 draft candidates who could be classed as is an "inside" KPP. Alarmingly, most of the KPPs this year could be described as "outside talls". Many of these are basketballers who bring with them a heightened concept of "zoning off", sitting off the pack instead of sitting on it or splitting it. Watts is the opposite. Not only gets his own ball but crashes packs, backs back into them, charges into the face of them and has no regard for his own safety. If the ball spills he immediately attacks it with a vengeance. He'll charge 20m to block. He gets the hard ball and feeds off to the smalls, instead of relying on the smalls to get it out to him as some of this year's talls seem to do. He will do all in his power to help his team get possession, to help his team keep possession, and to pressure the other team when they have it. I do rate his overhead contested ability but it is not flawless. It is the other stuff I just mentioned that really sells him to me. He'll never be the bulk of Jonathon Brown but he plays with the same "take no prisoners" attitude. I think he is AFL potential mainly because of his combination of height and intensity more than his marking per se. He should never be judged on stats alone.

*DISPOSAL, DECISION-MAKING, SMARTS:

- Genuinely dual-sided. Happy to use non-pref left even when set kick.

- Quite good kicking style although sometimes hops on impact and finishes facing 45deg, with such kick occasionally going right. Sometimes splay his plant foot, resulting in the kick going left. Some kicks are floaters but he gets good depth with others. Kicking can be a mixed bag but is generally reasonable.

- Doesn't kick many goals. Is actually fairly accurate with either foot (and not just set shot). It's just that he tends to lead hard up the ground from the half forward line, often direct but getting the ball outside range.

- Gets his own ball. Is particularly good in close for 196cm - quick thinker, spots well, and feeds well. Is very creative - eg tap ons or punching ball back over his head etc.

- Creates play and brings team mates into the game.

- Good awareness and generally looks for options.

- Intelligent, very coachable, listens keenly to the coach, understands.

*HANDS:

- Very clean off the ground and below the knees for a tall, even on the run and/or under pressure. Fairly soft hands generally.

*OVERHEAD MARKING:

- Despite his reputation, a slightly mixed bag . He takes screamers but most of his ohm's will be screamers because he routinely runs under the ball and has to stretch back and up. This is why he is vulnerable to a spoil from behind or being double-teamed. He needs to learn to, whenever possible, hold up a bit and time his leap so he is jumping into the ball and can take it more in front, instead of having to stretch backwards. To "protect the ball". If he doesn't learn this, his flaw will be exploited at AFL level.

- Has a 6cm reach advantage compared to the average player of his height and this is a great "attribute" for a marking player. It also allows him to often get away with doing his "stretch up and back" positioning mentioned above.

- He may often seem to be not in the best position for a pack mark but, in fairness, that is often a result of his great ethic in that he is prepared to charge from a distance to pack marking contests that most wouldn't bother trying to get to.

- Can take a screamer and can do so from any position/angle at a pack. Overall I'd describe him as fairly strong overhead and he certainly takes a lot of TAC marks (averaging 5.8, mainly contested, a TAC game). In the '03 U18 Champs he took 12 marks, of which 9 were contested. Can take a screamer from anywhere and regardless of pressure, leads in a manner that not only presents a "go to" option but demands the ball. However he but is not a "go to" overhead pack mark of the near-guarantee quality of a Carey, Brown or Riewoldt.

- Always tries for front position if possible.

- Keeps eyes on the ball and stands his ground.

*ATHLETICISM, INTENSITY, ETHIC, CONSISTENCY:
- Huge leap. His DC jump result was dreadful (bottom 7%) but sometimes you just have to go on what you see on match day. eg He routinely climbs over packs and he doesn't need a player to act as stepladder each time. He takes many high contested marks from in front. I concede that he does have a 6cm reach advantage but he also actually jumps well.

- Pace in '02 was dreadful but he went to professional athletics coach over summer of '02 and improved pace significantly. Worked really hard last summer - 2-3 sessions each week. Is often still not quick enough over ground (although no slower over 20m than Spencer or Brakenridge for example). There is still widespread concern re pace and agility but he is definitely on the improve in both areas and I believe he is quicker and more agile this year than he is given credit for, even though his agility had him ahead of only 36% of DC and SS participants, his 20m time ahead of only 20%, and there are certainly still times when he can look extremely slow/lumbering, even in a 20m run, but those occasions are usually late game after he has run himself and his opponent around a lot. His straight-line agility (eg re picking the ball up on the run) seems fine to me. Watts runs hard, far and often but it is true that he sometimes labours in a chase, losing running form (technique). It takes time for a new running style to be automatic pilot in the heat of battle and when you are tired. His running style when fresh doesn't look too bad these days so there is no longer huge scope for improving his pace in that regard but practice and further specialist running coaching is likely to squeeze a little more pace out of him. His body is not yet strong or well defined and there is every chance that a weights program to build him up and, in particular, to strengthen his fairly skinny quads (and hammies for that matter) might give him significant extra power in his run. He'll never be a Goodes but, in summary, I am not hugely worried about his pace down the track (pardon the pun), especially over a short distance. His major improvement to date, speed-wise, is in his acceleration off the mark, attested to by his DC 5m time which had him better than 68% of the 168 DC/SS attendees.

- Seems to often die off late game which I suspect is the result of trying to run his opponents off their legs earlier, as much as a stamina issue per se. 3Km and beep test DC results were sitting around the average mark. It's encouraging that he has so much faith in his endurance and aerobic capacity at 196cm to run as hard and far and often as he does.

- Leads hard and direct and calls loudly.

- Excellent ethic, especially for 196cm. Intensity, determination. 1%ers, especially blocking, shielding, pressuring, smothers. Recovery, 2e's, 1% are very good. Some terrific hbg work inside traffic and at stop plays, incl throw-in ruck contests. Exuberant. Runs on from one contest to next. Usually runs straight on after disposing - doesn't just stand as if the job is done.

- Surprisingly low tackle count but he harasses, bumps and has great physical presence.

- Presents, chases, covers stack of ground. Attacks both man and ball. Launches himself, even/especially at the ball under a pack.

- Is accountable, even running hard to pressure team mate's opponents.

- Great team man. Calls loudly, directs traffic, sometimes goes around to all team mates encouraging them individually at the breaks. Perhaps potential leadership. Certainly leads from the front on match day.

- Quick reflexes eg He has a habit of stealing the ball either from an opponent or off the pack like a rover.

- Good evasion.

- Great Courage eg Broke toe game 2 of '03 Champs but played game 3 anyway. Charges into oncoming traffic, goes where wise men fear to tread. Regularly takes marks running with the flight, even into the face of a pack.

- Has surprisingly good balance & body-on-body ability at throw-in ruck contests, even against a giant like Ericksen or a physical strong man.

*SCI (SCOPE FOR CONTINUOUS IMPROVEMENT):

- Plenty of scope for physical development. Slim, but not a bad frame. Fairly skinny legs, arms & torso.
- Has grown 4cm in a year (and could be still growing?).
- Still lacks some pace but still has scope for improvement (see above).

*AFL VERSATILITY:

- Is essentially a key forward, part time ruck at U18s whose AFL potential is invariably labelled as key forward only. However, I think that is too narrow. Ironically, if he can bulk up and lift his pace and endurance even just a little more, his best asset AFL-wise may become versatility. He is good enough overhead to play any key position and sufficiently accountable, balanced and clean to play HFF, 3rd tall defender, ruck or, dare I say it, onball. Onball, he may become able, if he can lift his aerobic capacity, to play as a very tall ruckrover, who can help at throw-ins Spent time in that role early '03. If he can lift his pace and lateral agility I could see him as maybe a tall key defender. AFL clubs are looking to put more talls into mid-field (eg Pavlich) so tall run-withs will become more in demand - and they are sooooo scarce. Watts could be an attractive proposition. I fully concede that much of this is conjecture bordering on the fanciful, given Watts' current weight, pace and lateral agility, and that many observers would say I was being silly. They may be proven right. The odds are on their side. There are a lot of ifs in my speculation. However, I do not believe that any of it is completely beyond the realm of possibility. To do most of the above, he should also learn to ration his energy.

- In particular, he is now 196cm and, although only 86kg, if he could add even another 10kg (hopefully more) I think he has serious potential as a ruck, at least a support ruck. Also, although his endurance per DC tests is not too bad, it would be better if he could lift it. I could easily see him as a key forward who would make an excellent backup ruck, used in a similar manner to Fraser. Maybe vice versa. His actual throw-in ruck skills and smarts are as good as any '03 U18 I have seen in this year's crop and he is already very effective at these stop plays. Gets to the front, holds his ground and gets clean, directed palm-outs. Beat Dubieniecki. and Ericksen (eg) in many throw-in contests and Blake at least once. Obviously the main key is weight and my ruck thoughts are based on the questionable assumption that he can add enough of it.

*QUERY:

- Pace.
- Lateral agility.
- Maybe endurance, depending on the role.
- Need to protect the ball more often (re overhead marking).

*SOME STATS:

- TAC: Averaged 15 disposals in 6 TAC games (Played mainly school). 5.8 marks, 1.2 tackles, total 6 goals-4. 53% of disposals are kicks. 39% of his possessions are marks. Ranks 7th for av marks among talls (at least 188cm). Reasonably consistent. (Worst game statistically was 9 in shocking downpour conditions round 17)

- Stats summary '03 U18 Champs:

Averaged 11 disposals and 4.0 marks in 3 U18 Rep games. 4 goals (all in one game)
Kicks vs feeds: mixed
Gets own ball?: yes. 8/34TD were HR. 6 hbg.
Kicks long vs short: mixed.
Kicking accuracy: 5/16 ineff/clang incl 1 clang.
Handball accuracy: good. only 3/18 ineff/clang incl 1 clang.
Marking: 9 of 12m were contested.
Tackles: 5

*OTHER STUFF:

- All Aust TY.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Was it you that asked why we went for Watts instead of Chaplin??????

Did you read Colin's profile on Chaplin. Intensity and work rate of the 2 players in question seems miles apart.
Yep. Good to read that he rates Watts higher than Chaplin.

I was just querying the selection as almost everyone had Chaplin going higher in the phantom drafts.

Originally posted by DaveW
Yep. Good to read that he rates Watts higher than Chaplin.

I was just querying the selection as almost everyone had Chaplin going higher in the phantom drafts.
I always liked Watts for his intensity and attack on the footy. TO be honest, of all the talls in the 1st round, Chaplin could prove to be the biggest flop. I guess time is on his side but he would have to improve his intensity and work rate.

TO be honest, of all the talls in the 1st round, Chaplin could prove to be the biggest flop.
.....you hope. :D

Seems a solid pickup.

Sounds like Perrie with a brain.

I always liked Watts for his intensity and attack on the footy. TO be honest, of all the talls in the 1st round, Chaplin could prove to be the biggest flop. I guess time is on his side but he would have to improve his intensity and work rate.

Of course he'll be a flop, hes a Power listed player now! Had he gone to the Crows I bet you wouldnt be saying that.

Its not hard to lift intensity and work rate...especially with Mark Williams as your coach and Tredrea and C Cornes (pretty much the two hardest working key forwards in the league) to learn from.

Originally posted by Macca19
Of course he'll be a flop, hes a Power listed player now! Had he gone to the Crows I bet you wouldnt be saying that.

Its not hard to lift intensity and work rate...especially with Mark Williams as your coach and Tredrea and C Cornes (pretty much the two hardest working key forwards in the league) to learn from.

True

Its just hard to win finals.

Gee how original.

I actually said before the draft that I thought Chaplin is overrated. It might surprise you but I am not like certain Port posters who take every opportunity to bag the crows and our picks.

Whether he came to Adelaide or not would not change my opinion of him. If I didn't stand by my opinion do you really think I would be sticking to my opinion of Josh Krueger.

Intensity and hardness is something you either have or you don't. Gary Ayres is one of the toughest players to ever play the game and he coaches his players in the same manner. If intensity and hardness was easy to lift then why the hell did we get rid of the likes of Marsh, Schell etc??????

Its got nothing to do whether Chaplin is a Port lad or not. Its got to do how I rate him as a footballer.

I actually said before the draft that I thought Chaplin is overrated.

When doing a search and your posts around July and August you say hes bloody good and were asking if hes a chance to fall to no.13-14. You also listed him as one of the players you'd like to see on the Crows list in 2004. Now its all changed.

My search could be wrong, but when searching on here, I havent found one post where you said he was overrated. All ive seen from you is praise for him, up until your previous post where you said hes overrated and is the most likely to flop.

It might surprise you but I am not like certain Port posters who take every opportunity to bag the crows and our picks

Ive seen plenty of posts on this board discussing our decision to take RFK and also other players weve picked up. I havent seen one post on the Port board about the Crows picks yet. Look in your own backyard.

Whether he came to Adelaide or not would not change my opinion of him.

Mid year you were saying he was one of the standouts and you listed him, Watts and Bradley as the 3 standout junior talls. Now your saying he is overrated and will flop.

Intensity and hardness is something you either have or you don't.

Garbage. Utter garbage. Peter Burgoyne was hell soft up until 2 years ago. This year he laid more tackles and thru his body into more packs than any other Port player. Ditto Schofield who changed from a reciever to someone who can go in and get it - he won us a Showdown basically single handedly because of it. Ditto Chad Cornes. Cornes was my most hated Port player up until the start of last year and you know why? Because he was soft, he usually looked like he wanted to be somewhere else, he would barely lead to get the ball, he wouldnt chase, tackle, nothing....during 2000-2001 he would have to have been the most unintense player ive seen on a football field but guess what? He worked on that during the 2002 pre season and he came back fitter, stronger, more intense, and was by far our hardest working player during 2002. He turned from a player that looked lost and had no clue to one of the best key forwards in the league in 2 years.

Gary Ayres is one of the toughest players to ever play the game and he coaches his players in the same manner. If intensity and hardness was easy to lift then why the hell did we get rid of the likes of Marsh, Schell etc??????

I agree on both those players but to simply state 'youve either got it or you dont' is plain wrong, as displayed by my examples above.

Its got nothing to do whether Chaplin is a Port lad or not. Its got to do how I rate him as a footballer.

I just dont understand why, if you dont rate him now, yet 2-3 months ago you rated him. You had him 7 in your early phantom draft. You listed him as one of the three standout KPP juniors. You listed him as a player you wanted at the crows in 2004. Now its changed. Please tell me why your opinion of him has changed so dramatically from august to now.

Yes back in July and Augus I said he was one of the best KPP in the draft and I still agree that he is. Nothing has changed from that point of view. Since then I did a bit more research and watched a bit more of his games and his second half of the season was pretty poor IMHO. What I don't like about him is that he doesn't go in hard enough. He appears to lack interest at times. When you used the search function you also would have found out that I rated Watts and Gayfer higher than Chaplin.

I reckon you did very well in the draft except the RFK selection which I cannot see as a positive. IMHO, Chaplin is overrated and he might never fulfill the hype. I might be proven wrong and if thats the case then so be it.

I had Chaplin at 7 in my Phantom Draft because I saw him as someone that Geelong might look at him because he can play at both ends of the ground. I also rated Dunn as a better player than McLean but he got selected later than McLean.

As I said time is on his side so we will see in a few years time.

Tredrea and C Cornes (pretty much the two hardest working key forwards in the league)

Hardest-working or biggest kick-chasers? For two of the best key forwards in the league, they venture way too far from the forward line. When Port's midfield is as strong as it is, they have no need WHATSOEVER to be roaming around down back chasing kicks. They both rack up a stack of marks a game, but a bunch of them don't deserve to be counted because they're nothing marks free on the half-back line.

Look, I am not saying they are bad players, but the way they play the game is extremely poor. With hands as strong as theirs, they should be staying in the forward half and kicking more goals - this is aimed particularly at Chad Cornes. He was downright poor in 2003. He was lazy - lost all that intensity he supposedly found in 2002. He still kicks WAY too few goals for a key forward, picks up WAY too many kicks down back and floats around like he doesn't have a bloody clue. Strong hands, poor attitude.

Tredrea, to his credit, improved his game considerably in 2003 and went kick-chasing a lot less, though he still had bad lapses. When he stayed in the forward line he kicked more goals and palmed off plenty. When he was down back kick-chasing he just weakened Port's forward line.

Mark Williams really needs to get it into their heads, particularly Cornes', that kick-chasing is against the team ethic, unacceptable, and they need to stay in the bloody forward half. I'm sicking of seeing them get 15 marks a game with 10 easy catches on the half-back line.

Also, hardest-working? What about Jon Brown? Mark Stevens? Rocca? Tarrant? Embley?

Hmmm....

Originally posted by spindoctor
Hardest-working or biggest kick-chasers? For two of the best key forwards in the league, they venture way too far from the forward line. When Port's midfield is as strong as it is, they have no need WHATSOEVER to be roaming around down back chasing kicks. They both rack up a stack of marks a game, but a bunch of them don't deserve to be counted because they're nothing marks free on the half-back line.

The only time they are as far back as the half back line is when we are in major strife and when the opposition has piled on a heap of quick goals. Other than that they both stay in a 75-80 metre radius to goal....which is fine by me as both of them are half forwards, not full forwards.

Look, I am not saying they are bad players, but the way they play the game is extremely poor.

I thouroughly disagree.

With hands as strong as theirs, they should be staying in the forward half and kicking more goals - this is aimed particularly at Chad Cornes. He was downright poor in 2003. He was lazy - lost all that intensity he supposedly found in 2002. He still kicks WAY too few goals for a key forward

Cornes kicked more goals than any Crow forward and the same amount as Mcleod and Carey. According to you mob Perrie had a good year and he was your mainstay full forward for most of it and kicked less goals.

Im happy with Cornes kicking 29 goals a year playing from a forward flank. Im also happy with the way he presents himself as a marking option in the half forward region.

picks up WAY too many kicks down back

THe area between the 50 metre line and the centre circle is not considered down back. This is where Cornes would get 65-70% of his kicks.

When Tredrea was down back kick-chasing he just weakened Port's forward line.

And Tredrea only ever does this when Port is in dire trouble and isnt getting the ball near him in the forward line. One match where he stayed in the forward line and was largely laughed at and abused was the Collingwood Prelim. He didnt go kick chasing and he hardly got a touch.

Mark Williams really needs to get it into their heads, particularly Cornes', that kick-chasing is against the team ethic, unacceptable, and they need to stay in the bloody forward half. I'm sicking of seeing them get 15 marks a game with 10 easy catches on the half-back line.

Half Forward line. How many Port games do you watch?

Also, hardest-working? What about Jon Brown?

Jon Brown gets most of his kicks higher up the field than Tredrea and at the same level at Cornes so why bring his name up? Surely youd have the same criticism of his game then...he kicks less goals than Cornes.

Mark Stevens?

Not as much as Tredrea and on a par with Cornes.

Would be the least hardest working of the names you mentioned.

Pay that. Tarrant is THE hardest working forward in the league and probably in the top 2 or 3 hardest working players in the league full stop.

Nowhere near as much as Tredrea and probably on par with Cornes.

Depends what youd call hard working isnt it. We obviously have different opinions on what it is.

Tredrea never wanders far back from the forward 50 when we're actually winning in midfield. When we're being smashed, then he does.

Tredrea is so good at CHF that a lot of people forget that and talk about him as if he is a FF.

That's complete and utter crap, Macca. How often in the last couple of years have Port been smashed? Not at all! Most of the games they have been winning, and Cornes and Tredrea still appear at HALF-BACK. No, I did not mean HALF-FORWARD, I MEANT HALF-BACK. OK?

An ardent Port fan at my work is completely in agreement with me on this point.

Cornes this year, was, as I said, abysmal. In a high-scoring forward line his output of goals is extremely poor. I was not talking about the Crows forwards, I have real issues with some of them yes, but our forward line was far more dysfunctional than yours, which had the services of Cornes and Tredrea for most of the year. Don't bring the Crows into this, they are completely irrelevant to this discussion.

And Mark Stevens is a harder worker than Tredrea IMO. Possibly the hardest-working CHF in the league in 2002. Although he was missing from injury for the majority of this season, in 2002 he took basically the whole weight of a mediocre forward line on his shoulders and played exceptionally well. He was not part of a uniformly strong forward line like Port's. He was the one that held it together, always presented, always put in second efforts. If you had watched Mark Stevens last year you would agree. I am not being biased, which you will probably claim, he was stellar in 2002.

That's complete and utter crap, Macca. How often in the last couple of years have Port been smashed? Not at all! Most of the games they have been winning, and Cornes and Tredrea still appear at HALF-BACK. No, I did not mean HALF-FORWARD, I MEANT HALF-BACK. OK?
How often?
Well it depends what you are looking for. You said that you rate our midfield. Well I don't rate the 2003 version that highly at all actually.
Our backline was solid to very solid. One of the best statistically.
Our forwardline is a FF short of being one of the best ever in the AFL.
Our midfield was very fickle to say the least. Especially after Francou got injured.

How often has the Port's midfield been smashed? Heaps. Oodles and gobs.
Including quite a few games that we won. Games that we won thanks to players such as Cornes Tredrea and Wanganeen because they picked up the slack.

Cornes didn't do much during the season, and won exactly ZERO games for you.

Wanganeen did a lot, Tredrea won a few for you.

And Tredrea and Cornes are supposed to be FF and CHF, interchangeable. Tredrea in fact makes a very good full forward, as shown during the season when he actually parked his ass in the forward 50 and took some great marks. Instead of going kick-chasing.

Cornes didn't do much during the season, and won exactly ZERO games for you.

Wanganeen did a lot, Tredrea won a few for you.

And Tredrea and Cornes are supposed to be FF and CHF, interchangeable. Tredrea in fact makes a very good full forward, as shown during the season when he actually parked his ass in the forward 50 and took some great marks. Instead of going kick-chasing.
Cornes did about as much this year as last year.
Probably the first year in a few where he hasn't improved in leaps and bounds compared to the previous year, but a solid year nevertheless. (EDIT although at the beginning of the year it looked as if the trend would continue. Showdown anyone?)
Cornes and Tredrea are CHF and third tall.
We do not have a FF.
Tredrea is not a FF. He is the best CHF going around bar none.
As far as kick chasing goes, he does as much as Carey did in his prime when the team was not doing too good. That's because he can. We lost our finals in the midfield. We did not lose them because Tredrea and Cornes weren't where they should have been.