Should Fev be traded?

• Yes

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No

Votes: 0 0.0%

I must admit I am pretty annoyed right now.

Having listened to SEN today, and reading this piece

Fevola can't KO Swans rumour

"Fevola was telling everyone there in the dressingroom and later during the fight that Sydney were desperate to get him and were offering huge money," (Courier Mail's deputy sports editor Grantlee Kieza) said.
Two other sources confirmed Fevola was talking up the possibility of going to the Swans next season.

if it is true then I am having serious doubts about the positives with keeping Fev. So I thought I'd weigh up the good and the bad and put it to a poll.

The Positives:
  • Key Forwards capable of kicking 80+ goals per year don't grow on trees.
  • Great for the profile of the club as he is very good at functions and with the media, but perhaps outweighed by off field problems.
The Negatives:
  • Fev plays for Fev. I held out hopes that he was just frustrated because we weren't winning. No, even with some wins and finals on the horizon he continues to turn his back on play to complain to umpires and teamates, and continues to play selfish footy......which sometimes helps us win.
  • Spruiking his own case for going to another club to try and wring more money out of the club is pathetic, and I can't see any of the players at the club being very pleased with his efforts. He has been VERY well paid for many years.......some of which he really didn't deserve to be well paid. He should consider that an advance and stop screwing the club. It is only his premiership chances he affects by not allowing us room in the cap to sign newplayers or retain current stars.
  • Off field behaviour damages profile of the club and potentially harms signing new sponsors.
Why Trade:
The Lockett factor. St Kilda traded Plugger, and instead of one focal point, they found multiple avenues towards goal, became a much better side and found themselves in two GF's within a couple of years.

The value - Fev would fetch two first round picks, one of which would need to be in the top 3-4. Combined with our own selection we add at least one, maybe two new quality KPP's and another mid to our already talented young group and watch them grow and learn together.

Frees up salary cap space for the next few years, or, togther with the picks, allows us to make a big play for Pavlich or Brown.

Why Keep:
Losing Fev now would upset the team balance with no obvious person to take over te key forward duties. It would be grossly unfair to expect the new young KPP's to step straight in, so we would see more juggling of Waite up forward (which may be covered by Austin coming in down back), Edwards and Hartlett if fit, until the new kids come on in a year or three.

In short, in my opinion, we should entertain the trade. His brad of self centerdness can only do more harm than good to our young group, and his trade value, at a time when the talent pool is about to be drained, shouldn't be ignored.
I don't think we will be worse off without him for very long.

To win me back he needs to go into the club this week. Sign for what his current offer is. Apologise to the playing list and pull his ____ing head in.
He owes our club his career. He needs to start putting the Carlton Football Club first for once in his life, and realise that if he takes too much of the pie then we limit our chances of building a premiership side.

It is quite a conundrum, however, I agree with you BB, I would most certainly entertain the idea of a trade, but ONLY if Sydney, paid us what he is worth. Have a look at Richmond. They moved Richo, and all of a sudden, they have multiple goal kickers in Hughes, Morton and Riewoldt.

Should Fevola leave, I would move Waite back into the forward line, Austin and or Bower move back into defence, and then we have a mutli-pronged forward line, with the opposition not sure who we would direct traffic through.

Great wording BB - "Do we keep him?" in the thread title, while the poll asks "Should Fev be traded?" Voted yes, though should be a no.

I love Fev and I'm as one eyed as they come in regards to keeping him. Looking at teams like Adelaide - where Porplyzia, Burton, Goodwin and even Jericho are all capable of multiple goals on any given day, I start to think is Fev really necessary?

But at the end of the day, we've got an elite full forward, who's got a fair bit of footy ahead of him, and add a CHF with presence to our list and suddenly we've got a Lloyd/Lucas, Brown/Bradshaw, Franklin/Roughead combination up forward. Of course, these types don't grow on trees, but if we do manage to draft one (or trade for one) - and a Fisher, Waite or Edwards and it, in my mind, would be as good as forward line in the competition in terms of talls. Also, Fev has shown in the past that he's a big game player - exactly the type you want in finals who could take a game by the scruff of the neck.

While he's a tool at times, the media are making it a bigger issue of the contract negotiation than it really is. I'd like to think the article quoted is a bit of exaggeration - surely not even Brendan is that idiotic?

Great wording BB - "Do we keep him?" in the thread title, while the poll asks "Should Fev be traded?" Voted yes, though should be a no.
Sorry. That wasn't deliberate.

Just tired and emotional.:D

Yes we should keep him, now how does one vote on Bigfooty polls? Someone please enlighten me.

Click on yes or no above the first post. Then click vote now. Don't think there is a qualifying period for poll voting - pole sitting that's another thing all together.

Bluebear that was an outstanding OP. You hit all the nails on the head.

Fevola is in the top 10 players in the league but his drawbacks are many.

He is now treating the club with contempt with his egocentric public games. I am hopeful that the 3 year offer is there on the table and Greg Swann doesn't budge. If Fevola wants to stay he signs it, if he doesn't then he can go.

I got extremely worried a month or so ago when Bryce Gibbs said he looks up to Fevola the most and he is his role model.

As good a player as Fevola is, he is a selfish di*khe*d.

After weighing everything up i would be happy if we got a real good trade for him. The club have offered him 3 years and good money. If he wants more poker gambling money,or Alex wants more social ladder climbing money then they can look elsewhere.

Talk about getting sucked in by the media. There is nothing untoward happening with Fev's contract. Icke's in Ireland right now, so nothing's going to change until at least he gets back. This isn't Aaron Hamill we're talking about - Fev wants to stay and his agents want to haggle for the best deal.

Try not to shit yourselves.

I find this frustrating... Carlton are trying to low ball him in terms of a deal so he should be putting pressure back on them.

Fev is worth 4 years and $3million... I reckon that is a steal. If Judd is worth $6m over 5 years then Fev is easily worth 3m over 4

Unless Sydney find a way to obtain a 2nd first round selection - through either trading away a player (God knows who?)

then I doubt we'll be letting Fev go.

However something like Picks #12 and #14 - could be pretty handy especially when coupled with our frist rounder (somewhere around #7/8).

#8, #12, #14, #24.

Could be some good firepower to have when trying to land a big fish to our club in either Daniel Kerr, Jonothan Brown or Chris Egan :)

This year especially, clubs will want as many 1st round selections as possible to add as much highly rated youth to their sides before the Gold Coast come in next year and rape the draft.

Trust me, some massive trades will be made this year.

I find this frustrating... Carlton are trying to low ball him in terms of a deal so he should be putting pressure back on them.

Fev is worth 4 years and $3million... I reckon that is a steal. If Judd is worth $6m over 5 years then Fev is easily worth 3m over 4

Agree 100%.

Just get it over with and let Fev concentrate on his footy.

Really worry about Fev's inability to stay focassed regularly. Really is annoying how free kick conscious he is at times and also how he goes from sharp to lethargic so regualrly.

I believe he is perhaps in the top 3 for talent in the AFL and when connected is fantastic for Carlton on all levels. But to this stage he hasn't shown that he has much control over his levels of self control onfield. This greatly changes his performance output.

Undecided overall. If he is seeking top market value money from Carlton and we can get a top 3 pick then leaning towards letting him go. If he goes for a 3 year deal around the 700k per year then would consider keeping him as this would also suggest to me that his focas is as much on success and loyalty to Carlton as it is on money.

Trust me, some massive trades will be made this year.
No-one will want to go into the PSD this year, which means most players will agree to deals with their clubs. I don't think we'll see many trades at all.

I agree really don't see any major trades going ahead.
The ladder situation means that any players who follow up a threat to go into the PSD will likely end up interstate - probably Perth. At best they'd end up with the Demons. Fev, Brown, or anyone else won't chance that.

So they can't threaten their clubs with walking out. That means the clubs have the whip hand this year, which means players will re-sign.

Keeping Fev is like balancing on the knifes edge.

At best he is a match winner, can turn the game

At his worst he drags the team down.

I voted to trade him. Not sure wether it is right or wrong. He can win games on his own, but he can take everyone down with him too. How do you ever decide what is better?

Guys think about it for a minute, this is how see the dressing room rumour starting and getting blown up.
There was probably a half dozen people in there speaking about what ever and some one that is intune with Afl footy or maybe even follows the blues has asked Fev are you staying at the blues or what to make conversation.
Then Fev replies by saying something harmless in the lines of this, yes mate i would never leave Carlton, Sydney have offered me a fortune but i'm happy at the blues.

If papers reported every time a player was offered big money during the season by another club there would be no trees left.
There would be 10 players from every club being offered big sums atm from opposition clubs , nothing new and will never change.

If papers reported every time a player was offered big money during the season by another club there would be no trees left.
There would be 10 players from every club being offered big sums atm from opposition clubs , nothing new and will never change.

I don't agree with you at all.

Media coverage of AFL is at an all time high, with, quite frankly, too many journo's, and not enough stories. Hence, we see some really lame crap written at times.

Clubs offerring contracted players money IS a big story and would always get written up.

It's a big story mainly due to the fact that it is illegal for clubs to do so.

Now, does that mean it doesn't happen? Of course not, but what it means is that players don't openly talk about it in public where it is always going to make its way into the press.

Especially players with huge profiles.

If a club offerred Jake Edwards money to move, it may or may not make the print (this week it probably would), but Fev......always going to get written up.

It is not new to have rumours "leaked" to the press late in contract talks, and, as AD pointed out, we shouldn't be concerned with the fact Sydney may have put the feelers out.

What annoys me is that is isn't coming out from the manager......leaked in a round about way tot he press to apply pressure......its coming from Fev himself which I see as a low act.

To me it effectively says "Give me more money or I walk"........selfish, self-centred and NOT the act of a "team player".

Hence the OP.:thumbsu:

I'm not convinced whether to trade or not, despite the fact I voted for a trade.
I think there a positives in both.

The only negative I can see is if we empty our kitty just to bow to Fev's demands.

Call his bluff to some degree as I don't see any club, other than the Demons, coming up with a trade suitable to get him, givent he lockouts coming up in future years.

I am quite ambivalent to trading Fevola actually. Always have been because like you said, having multiple options in the forward line is critical to being a top team and with Fevola demanding the ball every single frickin time and having 2/3 on him, we are way too predictable and we have to get that sorted if we want to be a top side, and fast. I'm not sure with Fevola being here we will be able to.

Whatever, it's win/win for us, we'll get a good deal out of trading him anyway.