jimmymetch

Storm, Middlesborough
Gday all..

Just when listening to the richmond game on the weekend noticed the commentators were talking about fev when hes on the lead and how he gets his knee up. As we know it took out slattery last week pretty badly and on the weekend he got one into the ribs of polak.

While this tactic is dangerous, there is nothing wrong with it as he has no intent to harm the other player, rather its his technique.

Just wondering what you guys think about dangerous things like this that can cause really baad damage?

Another player with an obviously dangerous tactic, different to fevs, but nonetheless dangerous, is didaks constant kicks of the ground. He would attempt this 3-4 times a match. It isnt always in a dangerous mannor but on occassion he gets close to possibly knocking someones teeth out. In one of the games we played vs collingwood he tried to boot it off the ground and fisher tried to grab it as he swung his foot and got a free kick.
Thus far didak hasnt done any damage by attempting to constantly kick off the ground but 2 years ago steven king while playing for geelong tried a kick off the ground and pretty much smashed jeff whites cheek to pieces, so we know the damage it can do.

Didak is a little blouse that won't bend over and get the hard ball instead go around looking for the ar*ey goals pretty much collingwood really, all flash and dazzle and no ticker.

I like Fevola's technique. May as well make the opponents feel it!

He also kind of puts his shins into the side of his opponents ribs and jumps side ways to take makes, which is pretty effective to keep the opponent out of the contest.

Mate you deserve a slap for that thread title. It does cause unnecessary concern even if only for a few seconds.

To your question, i tend to think that the leading forward has every right to protect himself from oncoming traffic with his knee raised as long as his eyes are on the ball. The key here is that the traffic is ONCOMING as opposed to doing the old 'Gary Ablett' and deliberately caving someones' back/ribs in with the knee from behind. ;)

Fev's doing nothing wrong.

Might even make people think twice about backing back into his space.

Didak is not an intelligent person. As long as the umps are red-hot on the kicking in danger in rule he can keep doing it.

As a big forward these days you constantly have 2 or more opponents running back to try to spoil if you can devise a way to stop that and have a good chance of taking the mark then why not.

All's fair, Fev is just smarter to do so.

i say if the opposition coach wants to put a spare man infront, to cut fevolas lead, then id say let them feel it. Im sure next time Fevola goes on a lead the opposition defender will think twice b4 running infront of him.. I dont think after Slattery incident with Fev, no other Essendon bloke tried to block his run....:thumbsu:

It's not courage, it's stupidity, like going head first into a pack without turning your body.

Simple answer, don't get in Fevola's road.

If players are too dumb to not know how to protect themselves during the match they they deserve to get cleaned up.

Simple, don't get in Fevs way.

P.S. Great to see someone finally crashing packs up forward, opens up the forward line well for crumbers.

Might just slip this in quietly, as i thought this what about Fev carrying a knee injury. He is carrying an Achillies injury that he is managing, however after a couple of sprints and leads you will often see him hunched over and putting less pressure on the sore achillies. Keep an eye on him, he has been doing it for weeks......

I have also noticed this.

This is why we need another forward leading and take the pressure of Fev. Was it just me or was Brendan sticking closer to goal on Saturday??

He is carrying an Achillies injury that he is managing, however after a couple of sprints and leads you will often see him hunched over and putting less pressure on the sore achillies.
He definitely looks like he's been carrying something the last month or so. It might explain why he isn't going to every contest like he normally would.

Mate you deserve a slap for that thread title. It does cause unnecessary concern even if only for a few seconds.

To your question, i tend to think that the leading forward has every right to protect himself from oncoming traffic with his knee raised as long as his eyes are on the ball. The key here is that the traffic is ONCOMING as opposed to doing the old 'Gary Ablett' and deliberately caving someones' back/ribs in with the knee from behind. ;)

slattery should'nt have gone in front of fev so it his own fault no one to blame but himself what idiot would go in front when a players going for a mark after being pushed by Fletcher? no Essendon player remonstrated they knew it was accidental :thumbsu:

The only reason why those injuries are occuring is because defenders are dropping back into Fev's space.

If they can't hack it, then tough luck, don't drop back into a forwards space.

Dropping men back = negative football

Sticking closer to the crowd also at times,lol.

Seriously tho the closer he sticks to goals with players in front of him the harder it is, they need to push him up the ground more with a loose man in front of him a make him a secondary target running into the space left behind him with another target 1 on 1 from the square.

I actually feel that sooner rather than later, because of the attention the Slattery incident received through the media, etc .. that this is going to be blown out by this circus of what we is know as the media and the AFL are going to punish Fev for protecting himself at contests. Amazing but I can see it coming. I hope I'm wrong he doesn't get any free's as it is.

Some of these guys fev have smashed havent even been near the footy either under it or trying to keep fev out of the contest. Cases where Fev smashes a player because he is inbetween Fev and where the footy is landing should be a free kick to Fev, it's the rules.

so if dropping men back means a greater chance of fev taking someone out, then its likely we will see probably the most rib and facial injuries for a single match this weekend coz, well, we are playing the saints.

I have also noticed this.

This is why we need another forward leading and take the pressure of Fev. Was it just me or was Brendan sticking closer to goal on Saturday??

Yeah its is very noticeable, I'm not trying to be a superstar doctor or anything like that, but there is definetly something he is carrying and from what i have heard and seen, achillies is on the money......you be the judge?:thumbsu:

Get that from the rooms? :rolleyes: