Fewster

Voice of Reason

West Coast Eagles
I'd just like to say how sorry I am that Brendan Fewster seems to have suffered a season-ending knee injury playing for West Perth last night. I know he's a Fremantle player now, but he was an Eagle and is still a Falcon.

I went over to the Shocker board to find no such thread (which just about sums up the "supporters" they have over there), so I thought I'd post it here.

Hope you make it back, Buzz.

Originally posted by Voice of Reason
I'd just like to say how sorry I am that Brendan Fewster seems to have suffered a season-ending knee injury playing for West Perth last night. I know he's a Fremantle player now, but he was an Eagle and is still a Falcon.

I went over to the Shocker board to find no such thread (which just about sums up the "supporters" they have over there), so I thought I'd post it here.

the reason no one put up a post like this is because the chance of it getting deleted would probably be pretty high considering the post about fewster being a disgrace being put up by sabre
i have lots of respect for fewster coz he is a good player and i have great sympathgy for this bad injury

Voice alot of our posters on this site mainly use the dockerland site where there is a post regarding buzz's knee so most of them probably felt that there was no real need to start a post on the big footy boards regarding this issue.

The issue is also bought up in Sabres "Fewster Disgrace" post which i don't exactly agree with. Sure the guys made some terrible errors over the years but i honestly felt as though he was coming good this year being on a 1 year contract and all it really bought out the best in him. Shame that this injury is likely to end his carreer.

Our support is unquestionably the best and most loyal ever last season in round 1 we had 22000 in attendence and in round 22 we still had that same number in attendence in a season which we only won 2 games thats loyalty PERSONIFIED.

While I have voiced my displeasure at Buzz's misfortune elsewhere, I will say that I am disappointed that someone has used his misfortune to slag off dockers supporters....poor form...

I guess I won't bother coming back in here and complimenting your team on a performance like last week, since I am one of the people that "sums up the supporters they have over there"...

When your team wins two games for the year, let's see you get 20000 a game....loser...

PS, my comments are only directed at that person, none of the other Eagles supporters who were big enough to show some respect last week.....from what I have seen around here I expect better from you VOR

Re: Re: Fewster

Originally posted by Scal
While I have voiced my displeasure at Buzz's misfortune elsewhere, I will say that I am disappointed that someone has used his misfortune to slag off dockers supporters....poor form...

I guess I won't bother coming back in here and complimenting your team on a performance like last week, since I am one of the people that "sums up the supporters they have over there"...

When your team wins two games for the year, let's see you get 20000 a game....loser...

PS, my comments are only directed at that person, none of the other Eagles supporters who were big enough to show some respect last week.....from what I have seen around here I expect better from you VOR

Scal

To your credit, you were the only Docker supporter to post anything in support of Buzz (admittedly under a post called "Fewster - you're a disgrace", which I didn't feel was the right spot).

So I exclude you from my criticism and sorry for not saying so before. It is your choice whether you return here.

It is a fact that no one other than you (and one half-hearted off the cuff remark from someone else) was posted - and I'm afraid that you have to face that. Similarly it is a fact that Fremantle supporters primarily inhabit Dockerland and have no credibility on bigfooty, being one-eyed, not very numerous and incapable of rational argument.

Your own moderator starts a thread saying a Freo player is a disgrace and then doesn't have the courtesy to comment regarding a serious knee injury suffered the next game. On the main board today we have your supporters cheering James Hird off in an ambulance with an obviously serious injury. Yes, there are idiots everywhere, but few are as idiotic as sabre.

As for your ridiculous remark about loyalty, let's see you be coached by Ken Judge, win 5 games against the bottom 3 teams, have the worst percentage by a mile and play crap all year and still get 34,000 to every home game plus a loyal away following.

Re: Re: Re: Fewster

Scal

To your credit, you were the only Docker supporter to post anything in support of Buzz (admittedly under a post called "Fewster - you're a disgrace", which I didn't feel was the right spot).

So I exclude you from my criticism and sorry for not saying so before. It is your choice whether you return here.

It is a fact that no one other than you (and one half-hearted off the cuff remark from someone else) was posted - and I'm afraid that you have to face that. Similarly it is a fact that Fremantle supporters primarily inhabit Dockerland and have no credibility on bigfooty, being one-eyed, not very numerous and incapable of rational argument.

Your own moderator starts a thread saying a Freo player is a disgrace and then doesn't have the courtesy to comment regarding a serious knee injury suffered the next game. On the main board today we have your supporters cheering James Hird off in an ambulance with an obviously serious injury. Yes, there are idiots everywhere, but few are as idiotic as sabre.

As for your ridiculous remark about loyalty, let's see you be coached by Ken Judge, win 5 games against the bottom 3 teams, have the worst percentage by a mile and play crap all year and still get 34,000 to every home game plus a loyal away following.

Fair points VOR, all of them. If you'll excuse my somewhat "over the top" reaction to your post, I had been out celebrating the win and was perhaps a little influenced by alcohol in my reply.

However, my point still stands. Using Fewsters injury (which now looks better than first predicted, good stuff...) to have a go at Freo supporters is still bad form...and it seems the only one you want to have a go at is Sabre...he's the one you keep mentioning...

As for the people cheering when Hird was taken off...there are the idiots in every crowd. It happens every time someone gets injured, sometimes not as bad as others, and I for one, with everyone sitting around me, clapped him off the ground.

Just let me explain something about my ridiculous comment. The personal attack was uncalled for, and I apologise for that. However, in mentioning the wins and amount of people to the games, I wasn't trying to question your supporters loyalty (although it does look like I was), I was just saying that with our lack of success since our inception, I reckon that our supporters are pretty damn good. How loyal your supporters are is inconsequential to my point, I was just using it as an example that, in general, Dockers supporters are loyal people. I only mentioned it because you seemed to be questioning our loyalty in your original post (maybe you weren't, but it was the impression that I got)

Good luck against the Power. Please beat them if only for the fact that I don't want to hear them sing that damn song....and people say ours is bad...

Originally posted by Scal
Fair points VOR, all of them. If you'll excuse my somewhat "over the top" reaction to your post, I had been out celebrating the win and was perhaps a little influenced by alcohol in my reply.

However, my point still stands. Using Fewsters injury (which now looks better than first predicted, good stuff...) to have a go at Freo supporters is still bad form...and it seems the only one you want to have a go at is Sabre...he's the one you keep mentioning...

As for the people cheering when Hird was taken off...there are the idiots in every crowd. It happens every time someone gets injured, sometimes not as bad as others, and I for one, with everyone sitting around me, clapped him off the ground.

Just let me explain something about my ridiculous comment. The personal attack was uncalled for, and I apologise for that. However, in mentioning the wins and amount of people to the games, I wasn't trying to question your supporters loyalty (although it does look like I was), I was just saying that with our lack of success since our inception, I reckon that our supporters are pretty damn good. How loyal your supporters are is inconsequential to my point, I was just using it as an example that, in general, Dockers supporters are loyal people. I only mentioned it because you seemed to be questioning our loyalty in your original post (maybe you weren't, but it was the impression that I got)

Good luck against the Power. Please beat them if only for the fact that I don't want to hear them sing that damn song....and people say ours is bad...

Scal

No worries. Not surprised you were celebrating a good win.

I'm delighted to hear Buzz is only a 6 week injury.

I still think that it was pretty poor that no one apart from yourself posted on the Freo board, so it's not just sabre. I'm not a huge fan of Browny either on that thread and there are others too - if you read the thread (I can't be bothered), there's a few. You know why - he's an ex-Eagle. So we'll just have to agree to differ.

On loyalty, I agree that the Freo support is holding up pretty well given the lack of Finals footy since inception and so many false dawns. As I've said many times, I'd like to see both WA teams doing well.

I know that in every crowd there are people who turn on their own players, but personally there's nothing that annoys me more than the "scapegoat" approach - and Fewster and McManus (less so this season) have been particularly badly treated to my mind. It is the antithesis of team play.

Pity about the Power result.........

Re: Re: Re: Fewster

Similarly it is a fact that Fremantle supporters primarily inhabit Dockerland and have no credibility on bigfooty, being one-eyed, not very numerous and incapable of rational argument.

*Sigh*
And so he continues his agrression towards dockers supporters on this sight
VOR if you want me to bite I am not going to,I have been tempted to attack you personally,but I have held back.
Needless to say your hardly living up to your nickname

Firstly I only just found out recently the plight of Brenden.And of course I feel for the guy, he plays with allot of passion.
I feel for all players struck down by season ending injury,even the little rat Read.
That said my job as a moderator is to start topics that are going to stimulate discussion.Its the opinion of many people that Fewster has been a liability.
I rarely knock my own players but Fewsters time was up.
VOR go and read my comments on the hird incident a little more closely.

Im sick of you putting words in my mouth and blatantly lieing.
I presume you older than me so how about you grow up.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Fewster

Originally posted by sabre_ac
*Sigh*
And so he continues his agrression towards dockers supporters on this sight
VOR if you want me to bite I am not going to,I have been tempted to attack you personally,but I have held back.
Needless to say your hardly living up to your nickname

Firstly I only just found out recently the plight of Brenden.And of course I feel for the guy, he plays with allot of passion.
I feel for all players struck down by season ending injury,even the little rat Read.
That said my job as a moderator is to start topics that are going to stimulate discussion.Its the opinion of many people that Fewster has been a liability.
I rarely knock my own players but Fewsters time was up.
VOR go and read my comments on the hird incident a little more closely.

Im sick of you putting words in my mouth and blatantly lieing.
I presume you older than me so how about you grow up.

And that isn't a personal attack?

sabre - you have no credibility on this or the main board.

Moderator - heal thyself.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Fewster

And that isn't a personal attack?

sabre - you have no credibility on this or the main board.

Moderator - heal thyself.

Telling you to grow up??
Your accusing me of saying things I didnt say, apologise and we can move on.
When have I ever made up quotes for yourself.

VOR I never condoned the cheering of a player leaving the ground in an abulance.

I only recently found out about Fewsters injury as I dont really follow the WAFL.

Care to show me where I am wrong

Am I wrong in saying that after the first year you didn't make the finals that your members dropped off significantly. I honestly can't remember seeing eagles advertising for members while you were in that period of dominance.

VOR I never condoned the cheering of a player leaving the ground in an abulance.

I only recently found out about Fewsters injury as I dont really follow the WAFL.

Care to show me where I am wrong

sabre

I don't have the time to show you where you are wrong because nearly everything you post is wrong and has been ever since I came here:

In this context and briefly, you are wrong when you say:

- you have never personally abused me ("blatantly lieing" (sic) "the most 2-faced poster on this board" in the last few days for example)

- your job as a moderator "is to start topics that are going to stimulate discussion." It isn't - it is to keep order on the boards, such as slowing down trolls, not being one. You could start discussion by mentioning McManus' hairstyle and then going on to call him a hack. Is that your job?

- your most ludicrous Freo predictions (over several seasons)

- your ignorant remarks about the history of Fitzroy and South Melbourne football clubs on the main boards

- (where this all started) starting a thread entitled "(insert name) you're a disgrace" about one of your own players (albeit an ex-Eagle, so I suppose that's all right)

etc.

I accept (because you have now told me) that you hadn't heard of Buzz's injury.

I accept that you did not cheer when Hird was taken away in an ambulance. However your tactless remarks on that thread were guaranteed to annoy others - and the sad thing is you probably didn't mean too and don't know why you did.

You're not getting an apology from me for one good reason - I've done nothing wrong. When I do something wrong, I apologise - see these boards.

Originally posted by Browny 3:16
Am I wrong in saying that after the first year you didn't make the finals that your members dropped off significantly. I honestly can't remember seeing eagles advertising for members while you were in that period of dominance.

I'm surprised you can remember 1989.

In case of doubt, I was referring to 2000-01.

You may have noticed that Subiaco has undergone a major renovation since 1989, changing the character and capacity of the stadium. Also, the price of going to football has gone up a lot - and contrary to popular belief, we can't all mortgage the four-wheel drive (eg a friend of mine who was a member, but can't afford to take all five of his family, so has "dropped off" this year).

Your vague allegations don't really help you or me much - if Telstra ever get the websites up and running I guess we could compare membership numbers, but so what? We both know who's got more members, which is hardly surprising since we have a fair start on your lot.

The point I was trying to make was that despite doomsday remarks to the contrary, Eagles fans have stayed very loyal under trying circumstances.

When you lot stand on your own two feet financially, I might take what you say seriously.

The fact you use a potentially serious injury to a player, as a cheap point scoring effort, is a shame.

Would have expected better ... but c'est la vie.

Also, I do find it laughable that you eagles types, yet again, choose to bring finances into it, when your club was on the verge of collapse sans 1989, and my tax dollars (and everyone elses for that matter) had to be used to bail you out, or you were extinct.

Glasshouses, et al.

- your ignorant remarks about the history of Fitzroy and South Melbourne football clubs on the main boards

We went over this.
I explained the comments you seemed to agree and both moved on.
Only now do you bring it up again,as it was a few weeks ago I cant rember my exact explanation, nor am I going to look for it again.
The point is it was settled,but you seem to bring it up again.
Once again I DID NOT attack the history of Fitzroy and South Melbournee.
My comments were that the Lions are a Brisbane club and the swans are a South Melbourne club.

- (where this all started) starting a thread entitled "(insert name) you're a disgrace" about one of your own players (albeit an ex-Eagle, so I suppose that's all right)

Firstly I have never knocked a player before, I have stood behind McManue constantly as I saw his value.
Fewster on the other hand simply couldnt be stood behind again.I know you have some kind of sympathy,connection with fewster but we cant all be wrapped up in cotton wool.
Fewster was a liablility and the insertion of Polak has been a good move.
Not insert name, there was only one name used aka Fewster currently no other players "are a disgrace" on the side.

etc.

I accept (because you have now told me) that you hadn't heard of Buzz's injury.

I accept that you did not cheer when Hird was taken away in an ambulance. However your tactless remarks on that thread were guaranteed to annoy others - and the sad thing is you probably didn't mean too and don't know why you did.

You're not getting an apology from me for one good reason - I've done nothing wrong. When I do something wrong, I apologise - see these boards.

My comments where justifing why some of my fellow supporters may have cheered when he left with the blood rule.
It was not aimed at getting a rise out of the bomber supporters.
Isnt it funny how you never commented once in that thread,but here you attack me when t he proof isnt at hand.

This is what you have done wrong.
1.By lying you have made me seem worse than I really am hence attacking charector.
2.You singled me out of all the docker supporters for attack over the fewster incident.When you look at the boards there are plenty of other supporters that could have started the topic.

saying you lied was accurate as you did.

This childist dispute is becoming anoying, just when I think you have moved aka your apology post to be earlier, you come back out with this.
You have problems with me and frankly I coudlnt care less.

Originally posted by kuepper
Also, I do find it laughable that you eagles types, yet again, choose to bring finances into it, when your club was on the verge of collapse sans 1989, and my tax dollars (and everyone elses for that matter) had to be used to bail you out, or you were extinct.

Glasshouses, et al.

That was just 1 year. 1 year!!!!! How many years have the dockers made a loss? You reckon you saved the eagles from collapse, well the eagles are probably the only reason why Freo haven't collapsed, why Subiaco was upgraded and why the WAFC is still alive (they have something like a $60m dept).

Not to mention we were in financial trouble in our 3rd year in the AFL, which can be excused. Remind me again how many years the dockers have had to get themselves organised??

Like you said, people in glass houses...

Originally posted by daddy_4_eyes
That was just 1 year. 1 year!!!!! How many years have the dockers made a loss? You reckon you saved the eagles from collapse, well the eagles are probably the only reason why Freo haven't collapsed, why Subiaco was upgraded and why the WAFC is still alive (they have something like a $60m dept).
I knwo you live in Melbourne, and I also knwo you admittedly have only being following football since the early - mid ninties, so your ignorance in regards to the situation is excuseable, however to attack me on the basis of that ignorance surely isnt nesecarry?

The west coast were privately owned from 87 onwards, and leached cash, for years - it wasnt one year that suddenly caused the club to flod, I am sure even you could work that out, it wa a cumulation of poor management, and crowds, combined with huge costs - these are the facts.

Subiaco upgrade was funded by the state government/WAFC, yes, the eagles are owned by them and contibuted their share, and yes, believe it or not, so do did Freo.

The reason for the losses Freo have made for the last cpuple of years are many, but a large chunk of that is the Subi upgrade, and the massive load repayments that need to be made.

Clearly you are unawre, but in Freo's first few years, when losses were budgeted for, profits were made, against all expectation, but as I am sure you realise that.

Dont you.
Not to mention we were in financial trouble in our 3rd year in the AFL, which can be excused. Remind me again how many years the dockers have had to get themselves organised??

Like you said, people in glass houses...
No, lets see - which is this fincial trouble you speak of? where si the state government bailing us out? No, 2 years of red ink, doesn't make a sinking ship - contrary to what you may wish to believe.

Glass houses? well you dont see me attacking any club about finances, but it seems liek there is a penchant on this board for doing so, and to efute such ignorant claims, i refer to yourt own backyard, hardly casting aspertions now is it?

I think you may be best srverd learning something about the subject, before opening your mouth and ranting about something you know very little about.

Scal

No worries. Not surprised you were celebrating a good win.

I'm delighted to hear Buzz is only a 6 week injury.

Yeah, it's good huh. If only for the fact that if it was a season thing, it may well have been the end of his AFL career...

I still think that it was pretty poor that no one apart from yourself posted on the Freo board, so it's not just sabre. I'm not a huge fan of Browny either on that thread and there are others too - if you read the thread (I can't be bothered), there's a few. You know why - he's an ex-Eagle. So we'll just have to agree to differ.

Cool. It just sounded like you were getting into everyone when you were only upset at sabre. But, your point is made, and I've looked at the thread you mentioned, and can see where you're coming from...

But, yes, we'll agree to disagree on the "bad form" point I mentioned in my earlier posts....Just one thing, I'm not sure if you understood my point (you probably did and I'm reading into it wrong) - I never disagreed with you saying that noone was posting about Buzz's injury, my only gripe was that it had seemed you had used the news as a way to bag Dockers supporters (hence the loyalty reference).....

Either way, it doesn't matter now, we've both made our points and discussed them...

On loyalty, I agree that the Freo support is holding up pretty well given the lack of Finals footy since inception and so many false dawns. As I've said many times, I'd like to see both WA teams doing well.

No worries, just wanted to let you know that I wasn't trying to troll on about your team, was just making a point...and I can see you have taken that point :)

I know that in every crowd there are people who turn on their own players, but personally there's nothing that annoys me more than the "scapegoat" approach - and Fewster and McManus (less so this season) have been particularly badly treated to my mind. It is the antithesis of team play.

Oh, I completely agree. I am constantly replying to the negative nancies that always crop up, and it is more often that not in defense of McManus, but it has also been in defense of Fewster this year, as he has played well. His errors in the Geelong game were glaring, but he was one of about fifteen (if not more) on that day...

Pity about the Power result.........

Yes, it was, but I am expecting something similar in Adelaide this week...we haven't been good away from home this year.

Cheers for the reply VOR, I've enjoyed the banter.

Good luck this week...

My comments were that the Lions are a Brisbane club and the swans are a South Melbourne club.

currently no other players "are a disgrace" on the side.

Isnt it funny how you never commented once in that thread,but here you attack me when the proof isnt at hand.

This is what you have done wrong.
1.By lying you have made me seem worse than I really am hence attacking charector.
2.You singled me out of all the docker supporters for attack over the fewster incident.When you look at the boards there are plenty of other supporters that could have started the topic.

saying you lied was accurate as you did.

You have problems with me and frankly I coudlnt care less.

sabre

Sorry about the lateness of my reply - been busy today working.

I've selected the above points for comment from your previous post:

- (From memory) you said Swans were a Sydney club (which is true) - I realise the above is just a slip - but once again you failed to understand the depth of feeling people (Victorian supporters) from South Melbourne (and Fitzroy) have for their club. You missed every point I made, but there it is.

- As I've said, I think you, not Fewster, are a disgrace to your club - and many Freo fans agree with me on that post and elsewhere. Only my opinion, I'm not asking you to share it.

- I didn't comment on the Hird thread until a little later (I have now on a separate aspect) because I had little to say at the time and the argument had already happened. Again you didn't understand the feeling involved on the part of (this time) Essendon fans. My non-intervention was tact. (I don't understand "the proof isn't at hand" comment - has someone deleted it from the main board?)

- I have not lied here, there or anywhere. In fact, as a matter of principle, I never lie. On the internet or in real life. By calling me a liar, you are defaming me. (I don't care, but that is so nonetheless). Feel free to show me this "lie". I think you think I twist what you say - but what I'm really doing is taking you on in an argument and you don't seem able to cope with that. You don't cope with criticism very well - you just restate your position and go for confrontation. For this reason you often lose the argument in the eyes of many.

- Yes I did single you out. You are the Freo moderator and you started the thread. No one else started the thread, sabre, you did. That's why I singled you out.

Do I "have problems with you"? Well not really, you're just another poster. I argue with Dan (for example) on a regular basis. I've wrestled with Bulldogs fans on this and that. I crossed swords with wiindyhill recently. Even kuepper and I have the occasional cross word.

And yet, maybe not: you do have a special problem and it is this:

Your role as a moderator is analagous to that of an umpire - to ensure the game is played in the right spirit and to enforce the rules in the spirit of the game. However, as a poster you can be compared to a player.

So you are trying to perform two contradictory roles that can hardly be reconciled - umpire and player. It takes a very special person to do that, if it can be done at all (which I doubt). If it can be done, it needs the full support of all players.

The way you play the game/post gets you no respect as an umpire/moderator. You don't like my aggression, but I'm a player/poster, so I have my style (Troy Wilson and John Worsfold have aggression - it's in the rules you know). The way you umpire/moderate is so blatantly one-sided in favour of Freo players/posters that you have no respect from other players/posters (all those of Hawthorn, Essendon and Port for a start). Thus your two "hats" get blurred and I lose respect for you in both guises.

Think about it - maybe there's an element of truth in what I say?

VoR