Finals Venues

Bit the tounge so hard it is about to drop off. Your the only one that sooks that much you goose.

I would love to hear from one opposition supporter that has played in crappy conditions at Gembrook this year. The ground surface is in as good as nick as any in the comp. If we cop bad conditions across the valley then you can sit in your cars that can be parked high and low (2 rows). The rooms are better than most on offer. Having been at every venue this year bar Monbulk - i would vote Gem and Woori as the 2 most preffered venues.

Finger all you do is come on here and complain and whine and moan and take pot shots. Do us all a favour and take a hike unless you can contribute something of substance on this forum...

RHT here's a tip for you.Your bias clearly blinds you. Playing on a ground were there's a gale constituently blowing is not great conditions. As a spectator watching a game that's basically played at one of the ground is also far from ideal. Ask the netballers what they think of the hurricane there hit with on the side of the hill. Sorry RHT but the truth is Gembrook is a crap place to play finals.

As for the pot shots LOL let's not forget your little personal attack and hissy fit a month or two ago.:rolleyes:

So would it be right to assume the ground that hosted the First Div Grand Final in 2010 has been ignored for both Grand Finals this year? If this is the case and Gembrook has been favoured serious questions need to be asked. How many complaints about Gembrook need to be voiced before the league ceases to use it?
Ignored?
Doing your exercises again, Finger? Jumping to conclusions, skipping over the facts and running off at the mouth. :D
Could it be that Woori didn't apply ....
... or wouldn't comply?
That they are being rotated through the bench so that other good venues like Gembrook and Warby get a run?
There are a host of reasons and I would venture to say that it could well be a good one. Let's find out the facts first.
Get over the Brooker thing. ;)

Ignored?
Doing your exercises again, Finger? Jumping to conclusions, skipping over the facts and running off at the mouth. :D
Could it be that Woori didn't apply ....
... or wouldn't comply?
That they are being rotated through the bench so that other good venues like Gembrook and Warby get a run?
There are a host of reasons and I would venture to say that it could well be a good one. Let's find out the facts first.
Get over the Brooker thing. ;)

Did you miss the word assume? If the league thinks it's a good idea to rotate GF to sub standard venues then that's a joke that must be stopped. Woori Yallock and Healesville are clearly the best two grounds and should host the big games.

Someone from Gembrook riddle me this..

Why is the beer so expensive there on finals? $4 or $4.50 by memory, for half a can in a plastic cup.

Explain?

Why is the beer so expensive there on finals? $4 or $4.50 by memory, for half a can in a plastic cup.

Explain?

That's a fair point FN1. I know there were a few issues with booze last year from memory - not sure what is happening this year. I think a lot of it had to do with the coppers though. (Obviously not the prices)

Finger, yes i had a negative post a few months ago but the rest of mine and the majority of other posters is one of respect and discussion. Yours is just negativity and sadness. Bet your married and a grumpy old man who thinks everything in this world is wrong...

Time to lighten up old boy. Perhaps you can join me for a beer or 10 at Gemmy one arvo where we can enjoy the sunshine, the atmosphere and beautiful conditions. Have a look at Valley vision at the state of the ground - superb..:D

Explain?

Its a 10oz cup and I think that's about the price you pay in a front bar for a pot - but I stand to be corrected.

We adopted the practice of selling beer in cups for finals on the advice of the Pakenham Police when we applied for an extended licence for finals. This is the model used by the Casey League under the Pakenham Police authority and it was suggested to us by them, that we adopt similar measures. In addition, they also recommended that we issue wristbands to those who are purchasing and consuming alcohol to assist in the policing of under age drinking.

The reason they recommend this is that it is in their opnion, easier to control the sale and consumption of alcohol at finals, where there are generally larger crowds than at Home and Away fixtures. It also makes it easier to identify those who have smuggled alcohol into the ground.

Bit the tounge so hard it is about to drop off. Your the only one that sooks that much you goose.

I would love to hear from one opposition supporter that has played in crappy conditions at Gembrook this year. The ground surface is in as good as nick as any in the comp. If we cop bad conditions across the valley then you can sit in your cars that can be parked high and low (2 rows). The rooms are better than most on offer. Having been at every venue this year bar Monbulk - i would vote Gem and Woori as the 2 most preffered venues.

Finger all you do is come on here and complain and whine and moan and take pot shots. Do us all a favour and take a hike unless you can contribute something of substance on this forum...

Sorry Red Hot Tip I dont say this often but I agree with most of what Finger states on this about Gembrook. Trust me you dont want to ask other players, coaches, supporters!
In 20yrs of Playing, Coaching & Supporting football in YV I just dont think Gembrook stacks up as a GF venue. Lets put all the associated stuff aside, who nominated, who didnt, change rooms, parking, viewing, food, saturday, sunday etc - The most important thing for a GF & Finals is that the game is fair & even in regards to playing conditions. As a player & coach you just want an even chance.
The surface is great but the Wind utterrly wrecks the game. Scrappy / defensive unpredictable football becomes the name of the game. Teams sitting extra players behind the ball & most of the play at one end or on the defensive side of the ground is not good for footy.
Over the 20 yrs I would have been to Gembrook between 25-30 times for games of footy & if Im lucky 2-3times I can remember the game hasnt been affected by wind. Trust I remember its rare & Monbulk plays crap at Gembrook.
Most of us have played & I think you have as well (if Im correct in knowning who you are) we would much prefer to play in Rain than Wind or even some of us old blokes will tell you a Mud Heap like the old days at Upwey Olinda & Belly is better than Wind!
We cant schedule finals & hope for no wind on the day. The chances are in my experience & many others is that we will have minimal wind at Monny, Upwey, Olinda, Belgrave etc but at Gembrook you will have 20knts & a 3-4 goal breeze. Its too big of a risk for me when scheduling.

Sorry RHT thats what people think.

Sorry Red Hot Tip I dont say this often but I agree with most of what Finger states on this about Gembrook. Trust me you dont want to ask other players, coaches, supporters!
In 20yrs of Playing, Coaching & Supporting football in YV I just dont think Gembrook stacks up as a GF venue. Lets put all the associated stuff aside, who nominated, who didnt, change rooms, parking, viewing, food, saturday, sunday etc - The most important thing for a GF & Finals is that the game is fair & even in regards to playing conditions. As a player & coach you just want an even chance.
The surface is great but the Wind utterrly wrecks the game. Scrappy / defensive unpredictable football becomes the name of the game. Teams sitting extra players behind the ball & most of the play at one end or on the defensive side of the ground is not good for footy.
Over the 20 yrs I would have been to Gembrook between 25-30 times for games of footy & if Im lucky 2-3times I can remember the game hasnt been affected by wind. Trust I remember its rare & Monbulk plays crap at Gembrook.
Most of us have played & I think you have as well (if Im correct in knowning who you are) we would much prefer to play in Rain than Wind or even some of us old blokes will tell you a Mud Heap like the old days at Upwey Olinda & Belly is better than Wind!
We cant schedule finals & hope for no wind on the day. The chances are in my experience & many others is that we will have minimal wind at Monny, Upwey, Olinda, Belgrave etc but at Gembrook you will have 20knts & a 3-4 goal breeze. Its too big of a risk for me when scheduling.

Not all.l cant believe the negativity against Gembrook.l work down the hill most Saturdays before a game and it has been blowing a gale.l get to Gemmy thinking it will be the same,but low and behold it has been pretty good.Gee if it is windy at Gemmy it is probably also blowing a gail at Woori,Healseville,Emerald and other grounds.
Can someone tell me what grounds in the comp have no wind,sunny days, excellent playing surface,excellent changerooms,cheap beer.Come on please.
People still try and tell me it was cold at VFL park.LOL.

Fair enough Cagga - we will have to agree to disagree. Again of the venues that we have played at this year I would choose Gemmy & Woori over the lot but that is just my opinion.

Derby, i know you have given the stats before but i remember you posting something about the number of times finals played at games over the last 100 years. I am pretty sure that Gemmy was well out in front. I guess it has been the opinion of many over a long period that it is a great ground for finals/grand finals....

Must say it was hard to find a person with anything positive to say about this years finals venues yesterday. No one can believe or find any good reason as to why the league continues to play the Div 2 GF at Gembrook. Not only do the footballers hate playing there in the cyclone that blows but the poor netballers fair far worse as they cop the full force of it down there. Also the fact you cant get a ground further away from Yea, Alex and Kinglake doesnt fair well.

The choice to play a final at Olinda is rather baffling as being up there yesterday and having to park on the main rd is not ideal but theres simply no parking. The ground is not to bad but the changerooms are close to the worse going around and lets not forget how ridiculously cold it is.

As for Yea and Alex being chosen well its only an hour trip:eek:

On the olinda final i think you will find the ground is really good considering the amount of rain we get...maybe someone from gembrook can confirm......agree the parking isnt perfect but come finals time there is enough room at the pool and elderly citizens hall for hundreds of cars which mean maybe a 3-5 minute walk and as for the rooms yes they are not ideal. Being involved in the redevelopment of the Olinda Reserve i think that it in time will be a great venue for all sports.Lets stop whinning about where they are being held and get on with winning them. Thumbs up to the hard working committee of the Ofcfnc for having a go at it:p

The ground was the best l have ever seen it.At the end of the day if you win a final who cares where it is played,Good luck to all sides in the finals.Whoever they will be.Divvy 1 is so tight.What a contest.

Ground was fantastic - atmosphere sensational... Result sensational...

Not all.l cant believe the negativity against Gembrook.l work down the hill most Saturdays before a game and it has been blowing a gale.l get to Gemmy thinking it will be the same,but low and behold it has been pretty good.Gee if it is windy at Gemmy it is probably also blowing a gail at Woori,Healseville,Emerald and other grounds.
Can someone tell me what grounds in the comp have no wind,sunny days, excellent playing surface,excellent changerooms,cheap beer.Come on please.
People still try and tell me it was cold at VFL park.LOL.

Sorry mate Im in the same boat with work for the last 10yrs & totally disagree - noticebly different. Apart from Emerald (as I havent played there for some 13yrs) but the other ground may have 5knts to 20knts at Gemmy. Its just more influential at the ground.
As RHT stated we are going to have to agree to disagree.
Please dont take this that I am bagging the rest of the club facilities, supporters, committee- Im not, I am talking about a major environmental influence at the ground which affects the way a game of football is played.

Cagga is spot on. Gembrook has a super deck, but I'de be lucky to have played in 2-3 games that haven't been marred. Bring back the pine trees and the GF can return.

Personally i think Healesville is an outstanding venue for finals when Thornton d Belgrave there in 2007 the atmosphere was sensational. Also the year after at Woori Thornton vs Alex the ground was packed you could not move under the clubrooms those 2 venues are the best 2 to hold a Grand Final. I have only been to Gembrook once about 10 years ago as a 7 year old just remember it being a bit windy but nothing bad and from what ive seen on valley vision this year the surface is outstanding. Also i play under 18's for alex and we have to play at Warburton this sunday if the ground isnt in good condition has the league thought about playing a final at Thornton great venue good atmosphere also maybe the could use the idea of other clubs setting up bbq's or beer tents

Have heard a couple of people say that Warburton's ground might not be right for a final. How is it going up there Hump17? Can anyone from Wandin give us an insight as you played there most recently. With both teams kicking 19 goals each on the weekend i would assume that it would be ok. Due to host a big final this week between Junction & Powelly. Two traditional rivals that would not have played a final against each other for some years!

have not played in the league know for a few years but if was not playing in a granny this week i would fly down for this game there was nothing better than beating powely and nothing worse than losing to them. go eagles

as for finals grounds and not seeing the surfaces but worri healsville junction are probaly my three picks location wise and parking wise, but i also think alex had the best ground in the comp when i was down there.

warby has great atmopshere and probaly the most picturesque ground in the comp (only one i have seen close is nambours palmwoods ground looks as good srounds wise )and should get a final when there is four finals on the one weekend.

kilsyth would be my on ground to have settle the gf argument but by the sounds of it the league wont touch it from what i have read.

happy fighting for the flags and hope you dont have the controvesy or injurys

Warby's ground should be fine for the up coming final. It has good grass cover, no mud but was a little soft under foot. With the weather we are having it should be cherry ripe by Saturday!

The ground came up pretty good on saturday, only really the one flank closest to the away rooms was quiet soft under foot. With the weather we have had the last couple of days will turn out mint condition for sunday.

No finals footy in the Valley this Saturday with players and spectaters being forced to travel at least a hour and a half. What are peoples thoughts on this when three perfect central venues remain un used in WY, YJ and Healesville.

Yeah, will be interesting to see clubs approaches as to logistically getting a fan base up there, because based on the games I saw at Yea and Alex in the first half of the season there will be a crowd the size of the AFL Grand Final PLUS Derby Day PLUS Big Day Out PLUS the Grand Prix...lol jks...there'll be 17 locals at Alex and 8 at Yea, 7 of which look like the love child from a hobbit and a garden gnome. Great surfaces apparently, but the league will make peanuts on the gate and zippo from the over priced 10oz's with people not willing to run the gauntlet back to civilisation where you pass more cops than you do cattle.

Isn't the Div 2 Prelim's at Woori Yallock? Or has that changed?