Somebody

Just looking at D's chances out of interest today - there are 3 sides in the 8 that they can replace if one of those sides drop 2 games, and of course Melb have to win all 3. When you look at the draw of those 3 sides, they all have a difficult run home and could easily drop 2.
So I'd say the ball is in your court, if you win all 3 most likely you'll make the 8 - there's 3 chances to.
The other way is to catch up 6.5% on Hawthorn who would then only have to lose 1 more than Melb (next game), but that's a lot of % to make up in 3 games.

Anyway interesting scenario. If lose this next game it's all over.

Actually bit more than interest involved now I think about it - wouldn't want Pies to come up against Melb in finals for obvious reasons.

Just looking at D's chances out of interest today - there are 3 sides in the 8 that they can replace if one of those sides drop 2 games, and of course Melb have to win all 3. When you look at the draw of those 3 sides, they all have a difficult run home and could easily drop 2.
So I'd say the ball is in your court, if you win all 3 most likely you'll make the 8 - there's 3 chances to.
The other way is to catch up 6.5% on Hawthorn who would then only have to lose 1 more than Melb (next game), but that's a lot of % to make up in 3 games.

Actually bit more than interest involved now I think about it - wouldn't want Pies to come up against Melb in finals for obvious reasons.
Not really, if the Hawks lose two by a total of 50 points they finish with a %age of around 100.4. Melbourne would only need to lose one narrowly and win one well to sneak in. Winning all three makes the arithmetic unnecessary of course.

We are a very slim chance to make Finals.

Bailey and the players are not thinking about it yet and we would need to do everything right and rely of others going down hill fast.

At the start of the year most melbourne supporters wanted 7-8 wins. Whatever happens for the rest of the year we have performed as planned, any more wins is a bonus and I'd love to see it but it would be hard to be dissapointed with what we have done and where we have come from.

If we managed to sneak into the finals it would be great for the club but I wouldnt imagin we would get deep enough in september to casue you any concern unless something goes very awry for pretty much everybody.

Good luck come september and maybe just maybe the Dee's may get a chance to play some spring footy as well.

Not really.

We can still drop one more provided one of the other 3 loose all three. My tip is Carlton are a massive chance to miss: with games against Richmond, Cats and Freo (over there) they are a chance to go out pants down.

But yes, we win all 3 and job should be right.

Not really.

We can still drop one more provided one of the other 3 loose all three. My tip is Carlton are a massive chance to miss: with games against Richmond, Cats and Freo (over there) they are a chance to go out pants down.

But yes, we win all 3 and job should be right.
IT would certainly be nice to see CArlton get pants'ed but they showed a bit of form vs Ess so doesn't look all that likely. If you lose one, looks like your best chance may be Hawthorn (they play Melb, Freo (Aurora) and Woods) considering the Sydney trouncing, but you have to beat them this week - arguably Melb's most important game of the season so far.
Would be a cracker if they got to play the Woods in finals, and a return to yesteryear.

IT would certainly be nice to see CArlton get pants'ed but they showed a bit of form vs Ess so doesn't look all that likely. If you lose one, looks like your best chance may be Hawthorn (they play Melb, Freo (Aurora) and Woods) considering the Sydney trouncing, but you have to beat them this week - arguably Melb's most important game of the season so far.
Would be a cracker if they got to play the Woods in finals, and a return to yesteryear.

WOOO another person who thinks the Melbourne Collingwood rivalry could start up again :)

yep dig it up out of the rubble in the basement, dust it off apply the brasso (or should that be the Barasso) and oil the seized hinges, cos could be up and running again v soon.
(only reason I barrack for Woods is that when we arrived in Melb in 58 my big brother jumped on the winner's bandwagon and I followed big brother like most 4 yo's - Pies beat Melb in 58 - wow I just checked your record and that flag stopped you from getting a 6-peat!!)

Personally, I don't reckon that rivalry ever really slackened off too much ;)

wow I just checked your record and that flag stopped you from getting a 6-peat!!)

Wasn't born but that still cuts me deep. From what I've read & spoken with my father about (as he went to all of them) we were almost unbackable such was the expectation of our victory that year.

little thing about melbournes 1950's dominance in Inside Football in Mainline this week. Pick it up great mag

Found it online: http://insidefootballonline.com/main.html
">>
I have two abiding memories of the Melbourne Football Club – one positive, the other negative.
The first is from Melbourne’s golden era from 1955-64 and only older readers would understand how enormously powerful the Demons were in this era.
In a word, they were awesome, much like Geelong is today, only better. They were almost invincible and if Collingwood had not defeated them in the 1958 Grand Final they would have won six consecutive flags.
Melbourne, in a truly golden run from 1954-60, played in seven consecutive Grand Finals, losing to Collingwood in 1958 and to Footscray in 1954.
They had stars on every line and, whenever one or two left or retired, they were replaced by other stars to make the Demons’ changes from season to season seem seamless.
Laurie Mithen, John Beckwith, Frank “Bluey” Adams, “Tassie” Johnson, Bob Johnson, Brian Dixon, “Hassa” Mann, Ian Ridley and, arguably the greatest of them all, Ron Barassi – champions all.
Melbourne was a machine and most rival clubs dared not dream of winning the premiership; that was the Demons’ preserve.
Instead, most clubs dreamed of getting within 15 or so points of the Demons and the biggest dream of all was to topple these football giants.
As a boy, I remember seeing South Melbourne play Melbourne at the Lake Oval when the Demons led by five points with a minute to play.
The Swans then swept the ball to the forward line where South ruckman/forward Don Keyter was changing a boot. He pushed a trainer aside and kicked the winning goal bare-footed. Swan fans in the grandstand erupted as it was like winning a premiership.
The negative memory is from just a few years ago when Melbourne was on its knees and its fans deserted the club in droves.
It was a Sunday night and, after I called into my local fish and chip shop, a BMW with ski racks on the roof pulled up and a bloke wearing moleskins and R.M. Williams boots (I kid you not) stepped into the shop and shouted to every who cared to listen: “The mighty Dees won today and I might even go to see them play next week.”
This bloke represented half the problem with Melbourne over the past decade of so – keen, but only when the Dees were winning.
In fact, I lived next door to a bloke for 10 years before I heard him bragging about a rare Melbourne win. He told me he usually was too embarrassed to tell anyone.
The Demons over the past few decades has been better at fighting among themselves than against their enemies on the field, hence their struggles.
Then former champion Jim Stynes in stepped, the very embodiment of courage, determination and the refusal to surrender.
Stynes, as club chairman, inherited a debt to embarrass most South American countries, but rolled up his sleeves and got on with the job, despite enormous health challenges.
Melbourne last week announced it was debt free and, a couple of weeks earlier, I saw the Demons’ future.
As a diehard Swans supporter, I should have cried tears of blood as Melbourne tore the red and white to shreds. It was a monumental thrashing of a side renowned for its spirit.
The Demons made mince-meat of the Swans. They ran in waves, backed each other up and played with such rare passion that I thought Geelong was playing in navy blue and red guernseys.
Mark my words, Melbourne is heading for very heady days and the Demons’ 46-year premiership drought could come to an end within a couple of seasons.
Just take a lot at some of their young talent – Tom Scully, Jack Trengove, Liam Jurrah, Jamie Bennell, James Frawley and many others.
They also have one of the best ruckmen in the competition in Mark Jamar and if the Demons can discover a big, strong key forward they will take a ton of toppling.
Young Jack Watts could be that missing link, but let’s give him time as he is a work in progress.
The bottom line is that Melbourne is more than just on the rise and it is impossible for any football fan not to wish them all after years of failure and misery.
And, if the Demons do go all the way over the next few years, they can thank Stynes, coach Dean Bailey, CEO Cameron Schwab and all those who helped erase the Demons’ debt and built the playing list for a new Melbourne dawn.
However, I have a suggestion. Maybe Melbourne could revert to the darker navy blue and the brighter red of their golden era. They then could be awesome again.
– JIM MAIN​
<<"

Good as over now I reckon. Prove me wrong boys, PROVE ME WRONG.

Not really... if we bought hawthorn tomorrow, we have port at port and if we dont beat them from what i saw tonight, jeez louise, then kangas should decide it... if kangas keep winning, kangas cannot afford to lose more than the saints match if they want finals.

Good as over now I reckon. Prove me wrong boys, PROVE ME WRONG.
We'll be there tomorrow if we win by 9 goals or more, and St Kilda beat North.