Preview First Pick Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter _RT_

Who Would You Like FIrst PIck

Have question marks on Grigg as a tagger, and Vlass being the only big bodied inside player is too much of a burden on any player let alone a young one like Vlas.

Fact is Vlas is our only real ruck rover atm, Cotch arguably a centre who can go in the ruck and then we have a few rovers. We seriously lack at least one tall inside mid of high quality. More so than any deficiency in the Ruck since Maric, our ruck rover position really needs addressing before any serious finals tilt this gap is on par with the positional gaps we have in the forward line!:cool:

Don't get me started :p

Have question marks on Grigg as a tagger, and Vlass being the only big bodied inside player is too much of a burden on any player let alone a young one like Vlas.

Fact is Vlas is our only real ruck rover atm, Cotch arguably a centre who can go in the ruck and then we have a few rovers. We seriously lack at least one tall inside mid of high quality. More so than any deficiency in the Ruck since Maric, our ruck rover position really needs addressing before any serious finals tilt this gap is on par with the positional gaps we have in the forward line!:cool:

Nah disagree. You just said we lack a big quality inside mid, yet also say vlass is this player? Go figure? I disagree we only have 1 anyway as jacko and dusty can do this role. I would also argue cotch is a classic rover type and not a centreman with dusty this type of player. I agree grigg does have some deficiencies and in the future needs to be upgraded on however its up to other players to push him out.

Coincidentally the Karpany fan club is based on the Richmond board tigs2010 TFLUA-Tiger

You forgot me who rates him in the 20's.

Think he is a ripper. If we nab him at Pick 50, I would be over the moon. Exactly what we lack. Small forward with pace, zip and finishing ability, but can go and impact in the middle.

I hope we can somehow land a selection in the next hour in the 30's for him. The thing that is missing on our list, can be found in this kid.

Nah disagree. You just said we lack a big quality inside mid, yet also say vlass is this player? Go figure? I disagree we only have 1 anyway as jacko and dusty can do this role. I would also argue cotch is a classic rover type and not a centreman with dusty this type of player. I agree grigg does have some deficiencies and in the future needs to be upgraded on however its up to other players to push him out.

Vlas is a ruck rover type. But you need more than one!!! Look how many rovers we have and ruck rovers are more important. Look at Freo, and the Geelong sides .

Dusty is more a forward and Jacko is a workman which is fine and needed in rotation but clearly we need more polish in this area. Dusty hasn't done a great deal in the ruck has he and besides, he makes more impact at half forward where he can exploit his physical attributes better. Not sure Dusty is well suited as an insided compared to outside player anyway. To me we have a lot of outside players and few adept at inside! We lack someone in the 190cm range with the extra reach to who can play in the guts!

Vlas is a ruck rover type. But you need more than one!!! Look how many rovers we have and ruck rovers are more important. Look at Freo, and the Geelong sides .

Dusty is more a forward and Jacko is a workman which is fine and needed in rotation but clearly we need more polish in this area. Dusty hasn't done a great deal in the ruck has he and besides, he makes more impact at half forward where he can exploit his physical attributes better. Not sure Dusty is well suited as an insided compared to outside player anyway. To me we have a lot of outside players and few adept at inside! We lack someone in the 190cm range with the extra reach to who can play in the guts!

I want Botempelli.

Don't want Bontempelli. For a guy of his stature he's way too outside, hasn't developed much of an inside game at all which is disappointing. Also tested poorly at the combine. As a KPP he's virtually untried so too much of a gamble IMO

The risk is huge but if you developed him correctly and improved his two way running/inside game the reward would be enormous!

Salem is a massive Essendon fan. What if he wants out to go to Essendon!!??!

Freeman or Hartung, simply for the reason we need line breakers. We need that player that can split the pack with speed & burn off the opposition. Hartung for me would be Harvey from the Roos, that player you wish you had on your team that the opposition hates for the fact he just runs all day long & hurts the opposition with his skill.
If we cant have these then Salem or Sheeds would be next best as solid citizens to add to our midfield.

Freeman or Hartung, simply for the reason we need line breakers. We need that player that can split the pack with speed & burn off the opposition. Hartung for me would be Harvey from the Roos, that player you wish you had on your team that the opposition hates for the fact he just runs all day long & hurts the opposition with his skill.
If we cant have these then Salem or Sheeds would be next best as solid citizens to add to our midfield.

Instead of Hartung, Lewis Taylor, same mould as Hartung in terms of speed yet is a better inside player and if not for his lack of height would go top 5, height is a worry.

Salem is a massive Essendon fan. What if he wants out to go to Essendon!!??!
Dud delist :D

Suppose his dad will go around telling all the clubs my son wont play for you so he can last till pick 30 odd.

Na thats it he likes soccer and is a Bombers fan. I wont have him :D

Not sure if already mentioned but it was interesting to hear from Salem that he has only been playing footy since year 9. Potentially has a higher scope than other draftees because he started later.

Do you know what is combine results were??

as posted on PRE by 'Gus' (reliable guy)

5mtrs 1.27 7%
10mtrs 1.98 10%
20mtrs 3.20 17%

Remember the low percentage isn't good.

I think his running from a standing start catches him out. He can accelerate all right once he's moving

He's still a great prospect but combine results can change or at least alter opinions.

His endurance results were noticeable

Beep 14 7
3km 10:19 86%

Salems results were excellent. Top 80% for the 3 sprints and top 75% for the the repeat sprint and 3km. A good blend of pace and endurance.

EDIT - sorry, should have specified by 'tested poorly' I meant in regards to sprints, seems he's fairly slow off the mark

He apparently tested well for endurance and vertical leap

as posted on PRE by 'Gus' (reliable guy)

EDIT - sorry, should have specified by 'tested poorly' I meant in regards to sprints, seems he's fairly slow off the mark

He apparently tested well for endurance and vertical leap

Where do people get these results? I never understand why the AFL just doesnt release all the results considering how much bigger the draft is becoming

Out of curiosity, what chance do you guys think Salem is of coming to Richmond? and what number do you reckon we will give out first round draft pick? I know number #35 is free?