First pick in 2007 draft?

I know this is pretty early to be speculating but with the article on Tom Hawkins coming via FS pick I thought it may be an interesting discussion to see what people think we should go for with our first pick. Keeping in mind this is likely to be somewhere between 12 and 16 (so Sellar and co. will be gone by then) should we go for another tall, an onballer, best available?....if you have any names that may go around this mark feel free to mention them.

I agree with going for the bet available but i think we need to be inline for a key defender. With Harley getting older and Scarlett as well to an extent I think we need to be grooming the next crop of key defenders.

If you look back at our first rounders over the last few years
05 - Varcoe
04 - Traded
03 - Tenace
02 - Mackie
01 - Bartel
They are all midfield type players. No key defenders. I think our on ball division is fine and has a couple coming through like Prismall and Varcoe. Key defenders is what we need.
Also with Hawkins coming our key forward recruiting is taken care of.

Firstly , let me say , that this best available stuff is one of the biggest myths in the drafting story. I hear this perpuated year in, year out.
Is it totally wrong? No but most people seem to be under some impression that all the kids are deemed factual value like places in a race just like runners in a marathon, first home must be the best. Its not like this, generally there is no such thing as the best available because it varies based on the the person judging and who he is judging for and what needs they have.
In other words best available for your requirements in your opinion

And opinons are neither right or wrong they are just opinons

Why do I say this? All clubs task experts to judge these draft picks for them yet even with this superior knowledge they must balance the choice of picking kids based on lots of different criteria.Does the coach have a preference for a certain type of player, how do you rate footy skills to athletic skills. How do you rate a tall V a small V forward V a Mid etc.

Have a look at the last few drafts and you can see even in the best kids, the kids with the most obvious assets, clubs make choices on what they value or need and to some point what they think others value eg.

In 2004
P1, Brett Deludio , Richmond
P2 Jarryd Roughead , Hawthorn
P3 Ryan Griffen , Bulldogs
P4 Richard Tambling , Richmond
P5 Lance Franklin , Hawthorn
P6 Tom Williams , Bulldogs

In Richmond's opinon Deludio and Tambling were 1/2 and really not much between them. However they knew most clubs agreed on Deludio as 1 but placed Tambling further down, they picked Deludio hoping that Tambling would fall to them, and he did
Hawthorn , meanwhile had decieded that they would go for the best tall talent available so, they went for Roughead and Franklin
Dogs, watched all this happily because they thought Griffen was worth 1 and got him with 3

My point is there is no such thing as the best , its biased by your own opinon and all opinons are biased by your own preferences. Do you like flashy smalls or inside tough guys, high specy marks or super strong pack marks.For eg our midfield looks like its in need of speed, so last year, we went for Varcoe instead of more strength

So as much as anything we need think about what we need, what type of players are available, the balance of our list,and the age of the certain types of player

I'd like to see us get a true inside player or another versatile tall that can be used on the backline and of course kids with pace. Names will become more apparent after the U18 champs buta couple of names that interest me posted Mojo31 (who did an outstanding preview of some of the kids for this years)

Estimate pick12
Clinton Benjamin
Forward/Utility

187cms and 79kgs
27/7/88
Claremont (WA)

Huge disappointment in the U18s Carnival last year. Enormous wraps on him but was overall poor. The fact he was picked for the WA team a year before being eligible for the draft shows what the selectors thought of him.
Blindingly quick on a long lead he has pace to burn. Ran a 10.5 for the 100m at his school (not sure about the quality of the timing device) and he has some of the quickest first few steps you can imagine. Hits top speed and can hold it when the defender is unable to. Big leap and to see him get on a lead and take off for the ball is an awesome sight.

Good endurance and not just a sprinter. Struggled with the grounds for the Championships. Dew on them at times and his footing was unsure and never seemed to settle. More of an athlete rather than a footballer at this stage. Would be a bit like Sean Rusling from Collingwood drafted a year ago. Pacy smallish full forward with a big leap.

Would think Benjamin is that type of player but have seen him play down back and do well on bigger opponents and show himself to have all the skills.
Really could develop into anything with more experience. Will need to realise he will be a marked man and work harder on his game and to keep himself involved more. Not just be a mark and kick player.
Has to improve his work rate and to become smarter with his leading. The sort of player who may struggle for a position at AFL level if he stays at the current size. If he grows that 3 or 4 cms to go with the leap and speed he has got he will be a formidable package at full forward. Seems to have reasonable endurance but it is his speed and agility which sets him apart from almost everyone else.
If he develops the physical side to his game to go with his amazing athleticism he will be capable of anything. A bit of a project but taking his form at the U17 International Rules and form for Claremont he shows enough to be considered a first round prospect with his likely development.
A bit of an utility type who could play all over the ground but for me he needs to grow a bit and to be a leading forward to be worth this high a rating. If he does not then as a wing or flanker there are better and more complete candidates.

Estimated pick15
Clayton Collard
Midfielder

181cms and 76kgs.
4/12/88
South Fremantle

An aboriginal player from Western Australia who is a team mate of Leroy Jetta. Has good pace and is a very good kick of the ball. Superb goal sense and just seems to know where they are and is so natural in that regard. Has played as a defender and also as a wing and shows himself to be versatile and a very adaptable player. Did not look lost in those roles but I do feel he is better suited as an attacking player who gets his own ball rather than a player who works off an opponent. In the forward line is where he does his best work. Either setting up a goal with a precise kick or finishing the work himself.

Capable of winning the ball in the crushes as well and will not hesitate to put his head over it and he is quite a reasonable size for a player who has only just turned 17. Good body size and a decent height to go with speed, skill and versatility. A little bit of an impact player rather than a consistent one but a lot of that can be put down to playing on the half forward “graveyard”. Not too sure about his endurance to play a game out on the ball at this stage.Reasonable in the air for his size but is better with the ball on the ground.

Looks like playing some senior games with South Fremantle in the WAFL this year and then be part of the WA team for the U18 Championships where they will be hard to beat. He played in them last year but was on the bench for most of it.

A very clever and athletic player who has flair, poise and a real cutting edge to his work in the forward line. Will develop more and more as a midfielder over time and has all the tools to become a dangerous midfielder when he is finished. A very smooth mover who is effortless and anticipates well and reads the play.

A bigger and stronger version of his close friend Jetta. Not as quick or as exciting but that is more a case of how good Jetta is rather than something lacking in Collard. I think in time he will become a very attacking wing who can go forward and kick goals as well as run and carry the ball and show poise and class as a link player.

Estimated pick17
Ben Reid
Key position player

194cms and 78kgs
29/4/1989
Murray Bushrangers

A very tall skinny key position player. Will start his TAC career this year and is a bit of an unknown at this stage. Watching him at the U16 Championships he was super impressive. Very good set of hands and picks up the flight of the ball quickly and judges it well. Does not run underneath it and takes it out in front and at its highest point when he was on the lead. Very good leap and is very mobile and athletic. Pretty good second efforts and hands below his knees.
Played up forward and down back as a centre half back. Looked good in both roles and maybe a little bit more comfortable as a defender.

Takes contested marks, offers rebound as a defender and is a versatile tall. Very young and is only just eligible for the next draft by a few days and will be a bottom aged skinny kid who has heaps of development in him for the future. A good year in the TAC for Murray will see him move right up the rankings and be much sought after.

The fact I have not seen him very much and his skinny body (needs 20kgs almost) means I have pushed him down a little at this stage. Nothing lacking in his game and I do like what I have seen so far.

Thanks Turbo for that - I had also read mojo's summary and Collard and Benjamin also stood out to me as the sort of players we may be interested in. It has been documented recently thyat one of our potential weaknesses may be a lack of pace in the midfield and whilst Tenace and Varcoe will go a long way to solving this I think one more midfielder with pace and a bit of magic would be useful. Another quality tall down back is probably high on our priority list (Spencer hasn't developed yet as we may have hoped) as well as another ruckman.

well Scarlett and Harley are only 26 & 27 respectively so i wouldnt be panicking as of yet...particularly with the emergence of Egan.

I would be targeting an on-baller........seen as how we have picked up Tom Hawkins.

Kent_Kingsley said:
well Scarlett and Harley are only 26 & 27 respectively so i wouldnt be panicking as of yet...particularly with the emergence of Egan.

I would be targeting an on-baller........seen as how we have picked up Tom Hawkins.

It'll take 3 years at least to groom a key backmen.

I don't get the enfactuation on this board with looking towards 2007 already...

nananana catman said:
It'll take 3 years at least to groom a key backmen.

I don't get the enfactuation on this board with looking towards 2007 already...

I did say it was early but with the Tom Hawkins news today I thought it was topical - its not mandatory to contribute to the discussion.

tusk said:
ya reckon

Yep.

Tusk, what I'm saying is, I just don't want us to overlook a kid because we feel we've got enough players of his type, and need to fill a hole in the squad with a different sort of player. Whether he's got height, size, leg speed, whatever, just pick the kid who (the recruiters think) is gonna be the best footballer - in any position.

Maybe a midfielder in the mould of Sam Mitchell/Luke Hodge - capable of clearing the ball. Also a bit of leg speed might be nice, although we do have Trav for that :)

gaz29 said:
Yep.

Tusk, what I'm saying is, I just don't want us to overlook a kid because we feel we've got enough players of his type, and need to fill a hole in the squad with a different sort of player. Whether he's got height, size, leg speed, whatever, just pick the kid who (the recruiters think) is gonna be the best footballer - in any position.

and when we end up with list balnce problems, lossing players becaus ethat cant get a game , a lack of options in other key areas? Why did we pat two R1 picks for Ottens? Because our list balance was to out ouf kilter and not enough super tall talent.We have talls galore but too many are just not premium players because we havent had the chance to pick what we really need.

Jimmy Bartel is a fantastic player on our list , 15 would be extremely restricting. One needs to have a balance and that only comes about thru descimative selection. Define our weakness and favour selections towards the type of player that may be able to play this role

For instance. I see us eventually needing a replacemt for Dasher. I see Clinton Benjamin as an option to fill this role down the track, Tall, fast, skilled Indegenious player. Could be our Wirrapunda but only a tad taller.

Please not Benjamin!!

Do we really need another superb athlete with very questionable footy smarts. What good has that sort of player done in the past, remember Spriggs, Clarke?

Collards sounds the goods, as well as Reid, although the bean pole aspect of him worries me

Jim Boy said:
Please not Benjamin!!

Do we really need another superb athlete with very questionable footy smarts. What good has that sort of player done in the past, remember Spriggs, Clarke?

Collards sounds the goods, as well as Reid, although the bean pole aspect of him worries me

You may well be right Jim have you seen him play? We certainly dont need another Spriggs or David Clarke but the little I have seen of him he far from them. What we talking about is someone who is very quick and has the type of natural assets to do some severe damage as rebounding tall. Anyway lets wait and we can assess at the carnival before dismissing anyone

The Hulkster said:
I agree with going for the bet available but i think we need to be inline for a key defender.

Whilst I agree that picking up another key defender would be more than handy down the track, there is little logic in reaching in with our first rounder for a player worth significantly less (this draft arguably more than any).

Your more traditional key defenders in the TAC ranks aren't usually first or even second round material; the marked difference in talent is often telling. The guys who traditionally are tall, and stick to the basics of defending (spoiling etc) are, whilst capable at U18 levels, don't have much more going for them in their quest to join the AFL, and they'll need every extra facet to their game they can bring. Simply put, a good fullback in the junior leagues doesn't quite translate to potential in being a quality fullback in the AFL as well as midfielders, flankers, or even forwards.

It's why you'll find that alot of today's defenders are either forwards-cum-backmen or developed project players. There's not too many who can boast having commanded a top 20 selection in their draft class.

GeeCat said:
Joel Selwood.

Get on board folks.

I know you like him G , but I just dont see how he is going to get to us.Most seem to think he is a top 10 pick, do you think we are somehow going to get hold of a pick that low. Trades?Poor season?
The Selwood family deserves to have a club that is a bit closer to home than WC and Brisbane for their third son, Id be quite happy for to be us I just dont know how its going to happen.We may as well hope to pick Gibbs or Sellar.
Apparently there is a 4th as well , gosh what a mess if the all end up at different clubs. Shame his old man didnt play a 100 for the Cats wasnt it.

I know it's wishful thinking at this stage, but I'd love to see him in hoops (as far as I can tell, his club allegiance would dictate similarly). He hasn't the speed many here seem to prize, but he is as genuine a footballer you'll see, and one who definitely has the potential to help erradicate some of our midfield worries. If you love watching Jimmy play, you'll love this kid - he's from that type of school playing-wise.

He's probably sitting in the 8-12 range right now, which is still within a reasonable reach through trading hands methinks..(how's that for optimism?)

GeeCat said:
I know it's wishful thinking at this stage, but I'd love to see him in hoops (as far as I can tell, his club allegiance would dictate similarly). He hasn't the speed many here seem to prize, but he is as genuine a footballer you'll see, and one who definitely has the potential to help erradicate some of our midfield worries. If you love watching Jimmy play, you'll love this kid - he's from that type of school playing-wise.

He's probably sitting in the 8-12 range right now, which is still within a reasonable reach through trading hands methinks..(how's that for optimism?)

Guesstamate : Our first round pick R13-16, to get apick in the R8 range

I'd say P8 = Our P13 + David Johnson or David Wojoinski or someone of that standing. Someone who can step in and play 22 games for them in 07 plus the long term kid

To get an extra pick. For eg Ess has a priority pick P17 and they trade it to us

Ess P17 = Charlie Gardiner or Shannon Byrnes , someone who has the potential to be a 22 game palyer in 07 with a club with less depth

The 06 draft will be murder trying to get low picks for IMO.