Fishing Reports

Oct 22, 2014
OOB
I know people tend not to share their favourite fishing locations but any reports good or bad are of interest to the community.

I am planning on heading out this week chasing some salmon in Vic and heading to a few locations I have never fished before.

Hoping to head over to the Warmies mid week and flick a few lures. Anyone with some knowledge about the best times and time of year to go when the power plant is pumping out hot water?

Also planning to head down to Gunnamatta Beach and flick some lures this week (depending on work). Anyone with knowledge on the best tide times would be appreciated.

I know people tend not to share their favourite fishing locations but any reports good or bad are of interest to the community.

I am planning on heading out this week chasing some salmon in Vic and heading to a few locations I have never fished before.

Hoping to head over to the Warmies mid week and flick a few lures. Anyone with some knowledge about the best times and time of year to go when the power plant is pumping out hot water?

Also planning to head down to Gunnamatta Beach and flick some lures this week (depending on work). Anyone with knowledge on the best tide times would be appreciated.
Don’t know much about the warmies, only been once.

There’s two car parks at Gunamatta, I took my 83 yr old dad down for a fish 2nd weekend of June parking at the first car park,
Steps and walk outve there isn’t to bad.
We fished a gutter pretty much right in front of the steps a bit too the left.

Bit of a rock, rubble spit bit forther to the left you can see in th photo.
I hit nothing on a few metals and that was it.
Cpl of crabs with the bait rods
90CD9BB7-334F-403E-9CC9-C41295E90861.jpeg

I noticed a rip about 50-60mtr to the right of the steps but was a bit too much walking.

I went down a few weeks ago again morning tide, start of the run in tide and just lures.
Went in from the second carpark not as many surfers
Looked good
One small salmon in 2 hrs.

Take some gum boots or waders or something you don’t mind getting wet in.
Currents are strong and you will get surprises with occasional wave and where you think the shorebreak is.

Caught it on a Haleco twisty.
👍

The warmies are best when the power station is running and that can coincide with high demand times such as winter mornings. I dont know of a way to know when this is going to turn on but if there's smoke out the stack the fish will attack.

For the warmies if you want to know if the power station is on check this camera

And go to the car park vision. It isn't live, but it updates frequently, and if you can see smoke coming out of the chimney, they get on down asap.

For the warmies if you want to know if the power station is on check this camera

And go to the car park vision. It isn't live, but it updates frequently, and if you can see smoke coming out of the chimney, they get on down asap.
That is brilliant info thanks mate.

I’m heading to lake Eildon this weekend for a cpl of nights.
Try some trolling for trout and throw some hard bodies for yellow belly, Redfin and throw some stuff to chase a cod.
Anyone got some news?

I’ll be ringing Parks Vic to see if any boat ramps are closed if so will probably stay in the main arm.

I’m heading to lake Eildon this weekend for a cpl of nights.
Try some trolling for trout and throw some hard bodies for yellow belly, Redfin and throw some stuff to chase a cod.
Anyone got some news?

I’ll be ringing Parks Vic to see if any boat ramps are closed if so will probably stay in the main arm.
I was there a few weeks ago around Bonnie Doon and it was a bit slow. I was just fishing the bank and caught a few small reddies but there were a few boats trawling around without much luck. I believe the water level is up a bit now as they have been relaesing less water into the Goulburn.

Lake Eildon the water level is just over 50% and some boat ramps closed.
Was down for Sat, Sun.
Really chased Brown trout but no luck, couple of pan size Redfin and some stinking carp.
And one cracking Cod right on dark trolling hard bodies.

With trout season opening upon us I will be heading out to the Goulburn and other rivers around the Thornton area in the coming months. Generally before school holidays fisheries will release quite a few trout into the river systems including some large breeders. The last two seasons on the Goulburn have been poor due to the amount of water being released from Lake Eildon but I am hopeful this season will be a cracker.

I will be doing a bit of kayak fishing at Eildon and also on the Goulburn and I also will have my tinny up and going so this could be the year I get that elusive bog cod.

With trout season opening upon us I will be heading out to the Goulburn and other rivers around the Thornton area in the coming months. Generally before school holidays fisheries will release quite a few trout into the river systems including some large breeders. The last two seasons on the Goulburn have been poor due to the amount of water being released from Lake Eildon but I am hopeful this season will be a cracker.

I will be doing a bit of kayak fishing at Eildon and also on the Goulburn and I also will have my tinny up and going so this could be the year I get that elusive bog cod.

I'm heading up to Eildon on Friday afternoon with my 2 sons for the trout opening over the weekend. Both my Boys are in their 20s and are busy with work and girlfriends so don't get to go fishing with them as much anymore unfortunately.
So really looking forward to having a pub meal Friday night and watch the footy and then an early start Saturday morning trying catch one of the Big brood stock they release.

Went out today with a mate off Beaumaris, not even the pinkies were biting.

I know a few have landed some good sized snapper already, but it seems the season is off to a slow start.

Goulburn River has dropped and is fishing well from the pondage down through Alexandra. Quite a few decent trout caught over the last month.

RIver has dropped heaps just over the border. No luck on the cod and a few carp in the eyes of the fishing bow but again, no luck

Fishing Reports