caveman

Mar 6, 2001
Bendigo
West Coburg/Kangaroo Flat
I am a supporter of the Reds and just wanted to get an idea of what other people think of the Reds. Can you see them getting to A grade in the near future? Are they capable of getting big name recruits?

Cheers! :)

From what I have heard, their Club 18 (2) team is full of flogs.

caveman said:
I am a supporter of the Reds and just wanted to get an idea of what other people think of the Reds. Can you see them getting to A grade in the near future? Are they capable of getting big name recruits?

Cheers! :)

A Grade is a mighty big step up from where they are. Have some good players, Tim Davis at CHB, ex Crows list and SANFL with North Adelaide, plus some ex Willy guys. Tim is a bit of tough and rough nut when you consider he is studying for the priesthood. Won the flag, but would still need quite a few more players to challenge for A Grade.

Deefer4 said:
A Grade is a mighty big step up from where they are. Have some good players, Tim Davis at CHB, ex Crows list and SANFL with North Adelaide, plus some ex Willy guys. Tim is a bit of tough and rough nut when you consider he is studying for the priesthood. Won the flag, but would still need quite a few more players to challenge for A Grade.

Deefer
You'd be pretty aggressive on the footy field too if you never got a load off as a priest. Imagine how angry you'd be.

Caveman

From what I know, Fitzroy Reds are full of disaffected Fitzroy fans and communists, not exactly the Newport Beach that I'm used to. Get down there if that's what you're into.

The OC said:
Caveman

From what I know, Fitzroy Reds are full of disaffected Fitzroy fans and communists, not exactly the Newport Beach that I'm used to. Get down there if that's what you're into.

Thanks for the comments mate. I live in Bendigo so wont get to many games but my wife is an old Fitzroy supporter so I am quite happy to follow the Reds considering I havent followed the VAFA thoroughly before.

The reds have made great strides in the past 5 years and it is a real exciting time to be behind the mighty ROYS! :)

Menages said:
From what I have heard, their Club 18 (2) team is full of flogs.

Show Printable Version
Email this Page
Subscribe to this Thread
Linear Mode
Switch to Hybrid Mode
Switch to Threaded Mode
Search this Thread

They would have to be the most financially solid "amateur" club going around.
I've heard Fitzroy have a current war chest of over $14million to help fund operations and keep players happy. Should have no problems attracting players with the facilities and little subsidised add ons that most other clubs cannot afford to provide.
Hard to rate how they would go in higher levels, there was not much to beat in D1.

plough said:
They would have to be the most financially solid "amateur" club going around.
I've heard Fitzroy have a current war chest of over $14million to help fund operations and keep players happy. Should have no problems attracting players with the facilities and little subsidised add ons that most other clubs cannot afford to provide.
Hard to rate how they would go in higher levels, there was not much to beat in D1.

$14 million dollars, that must be a typo error or have plenty of drugies has there sponors, if Fitzroy had $14 million they would not have gone broke back in 1996 :eek:

The reds ar the same has the lions they have no home currently until the oval is fixed up

My North said:
$14 million dollars, that must be a typo error or have plenty of drugies has there sponors, if Fitzroy had $14 million they would not have gone broke back in 1996 :eek:

The reds ar the same has the lions they have no home currently until the oval is fixed up
Ground looks amazing and the best it's looked in 5 years.
had cricket training on there on sunday (first hit in the middle) and it's 100x better than last year.

ben.carbonaro said:
Fitzroy Reds are an example for a lot of other clubs in the VAFA, they are a well run club with the on field performances to back up the ground work off the field.

Mate your boys at Rupertswood are chasing us up the sections. ;)

Amazing what you can do when you align yourself with an organisation with a bunch of poker machines still generating cash for a club that no longer plays. Dont know about 14 mill but plenty of cash to go round.

*Crash* said:
Amazing what you can do when you align yourself with an organisation with a bunch of poker machines still generating cash for a club that no longer plays. Dont know about 14 mill but plenty of cash to go round.

Sounds like a bit of jealousy their Crash. Sounds like the reds are a well run club and have a very bright future. :)

*Crash* said:
What Poker Machines do the Fitzroy FC own? They never used to have any. If you are refering to the Manningham Club it has nothing to do with the old FFC. It's the Brisbane Lions home in Melbourne and if anything the Reds seem to have kept themselves at a distance from the Lions and embraced the die hard Fitzroy Supporters.

Crash would be speaking of the Fitzroy Club Hotel machines, most likely. I believe there is nothing bigger than some sort of small royalty-esque figure coming from there.

All I know is that the Fitzroy FC (P/L) Annual Report is, as is required legally, made available to anyone who requests it, and within those pages are audited figures detailing sponsorship $ passed on to the Reds.

With a membership that was 1200 around 4 years ago, and possibly lower now due to the war of attrition, that more or less signs up FFCPL for approx $30G per year, of which some goes to functions, some to sponsorship of Reds and Ftzry Jrs, and much last year would have gone into the Fitzroy Shop & Museum (in Mordy). My copy of the annual report is at home and I am not, so I cannot detail further right now, but that would be about the gist of it.

Suffice to say that while the Fitzroy link does provide some publicity and some sponsorship, it's going to fall a little short of the $14M mark.

Crash were you the mousey little male slag that strolled in front of us during the Grand Final pleading with our team to drop back down to D1 in 2007? If so, wipe up after yourself, will yer?

Gday Mobbs,

How are things mate? Hopefully I can come down from Bendigo for a couple of games next season and join you at the mighty Brunswick St Oval and see the Roys continue on their surge to A section!

Have you thought about any improvements to your great software program 'the score'? I would love to add the VAFA and do the ladders with finals and automatic promotion and relegation!

caveman said:
Mate your boys at Rupertswood are chasing us up the sections. ;)

Yeah, true.

But Fitzroy Reds have been doing longer than us and they are an example ofus to aspire to.

I still have a strong interest in my original club, despite now working at VFL level.

ben.carbonaro said:
Yeah, true.

But Fitzroy Reds have been doing longer than us and they are an example ofus to aspire to.

I still have a strong interest in my original club, despite now working at VFL level.

Yeah my brother is moving to Sunbury and since I now have an interest in the VAFA I think I will tell him to get behind Rupertswood! :)

caveman said:
Yeah my brother is moving to Sunbury and since I now have an interest in the VAFA I think I will tell him to get behind Rupertswood! :)

How many teams do you have Caveman. Fitzroy Red, Rupertswood, West Coburg, North Coburg, the local Bendigo team, Geez Whiz you cant lose can you.

caveman said:

Yeah, great move.

Unfortunately, you won't see much of me around because am now working at the VFL club Werribee.

My North said:
How many teams do you have Caveman. Fitzroy Red, Rupertswood, West Coburg, North Coburg, the local Bendigo team, Geez Whiz you cant lose can you.

LOL

I lived in West Coburg for 20 years and played junior footy with them. I played under 18's at North Coburg and a handful of reserves games so I have a soft spot for them but West Coburg are who I support.

I moved to Geelong where I followed Belmont Lions for 5 years. Now I am in Bendigo the local team is Kangaroo Flat who I go and watch. I dont follow Rupertswood at all but I will recommend them to my brother who is moving to Sunbury as the VAFA is a great comp.

Don't forget caveman you're also a fan of both YCW (LVFL) and Harcourt (MCDFL), right?

At least the clubs you support are still breathing, unlike Fitzroy, Oakleigh and Marnoo :eek:

Another club to get onto is the Fitzroy Ammos in the SAAFL. The Fitzroy messageboard on this forum, as well as having plenty of Reds talk, is also host to a coverage of the SA Roys. I suggested some years back to concept of a derby between the Redroys and the SARoys, but didn't follow it up. Would love to further that idea and fire it off at the Wunkar carnival up in the Riverland.

Fitzroy Reds