flags = last resort attack

LiterallyNobody

Cancelled due to poster being a Campaigner
30k Posts 10k Posts Cake Connoisseur SFA Daffodil Day Fund Raiser Harry Potter Fan Song Contest Winner - 5+ Rounds Shiny Penny
When I think about it, the amount of flags a team has is meaningless to msot supporters. Carlton, Collingwood and Essendon fans brag til the cows come home about thei amount of flags they have but you get a minnow like the doggies or saints and we couldn't give two shits. I know what you're thinking - that's because you dont' have them.

Well, that's precisely correct. If St.Kilda had 16 flags and Essendon one, I would likely treat them the same way a majority (but not all) Essendon supporters treat sainters.

However, when a geelong fan starts going "Pfft, St.Kilda are shit, they have only won one flag in 130 years, kick em out of the league, their supporters are all delusional." (again, not generalising the entire geelong fanbase, just some of the supporters) we don't care about any of that. the only thing that bugs me is how long its been isnce we won a flag and the fact that the only silverware we've won while I've been alive has been won after 8 pm.

One, six, Twenty. it's all the same.

But seeing them - that is the real thing I yearn for.

We never bring flags into a debate.

St.K supporter: Carlton tank.

Carlton supporter: 16>>>>>1

St.Kilda suppporter: Ha ha, we beat u essendon!!!!!111!!11!1

Essendon supporter: come back when you've won another fifteen flags.

Collingwood supporter: St.Kilda is shithouse, they are the most pathetic team ever, one premiership in a million years, blah blah.

St.Kilda supporter: Shut up you toothless dole bludger.

Collingwood supporter: :mad: well at least our only premiership isnt in black and white:p

............ and so it goes.

Really, flags are just a last resort attack. And for most of us saint fans, its just water off a duck's back. You think after 130 years of medicrity we wouldn't be used to it. :D

bring em on!

every footy fan will bring up whatever statistics and facts that makes their club sound good, whether it be total flags or winning streaks, or whatever else. every single fan wants everyone to know just exactly why their club is the best and pick and choose the appropriate info to reflect their belief.

what about "the streak"? can we bring that up?

lol, ok, all you have is the spoons, cups and the streak. I always forget the streak. Why did we do that, anyway? Is it because its the only colour highlights we've got released?

I like the first few matches but everything after the brisbane game just depresses me. the fact we were able to win ten in a row and then NOT win the flag.

Are we the shittest team ever to win ten games in a row?

Really, flags are just a last resort attack. And for most of us saint fans, its just water off a duck's back. You think after 130 years of medicrity we wouldn't be used to it. :D

bring em on!
that is very sad, your club has basically gotten use to losing, very very sad :o

That's a long post for a guy who's team has only won one flag............;)

You make a valid point, but that's the way BF rolls. You have posters from every team who have no retort other to slag the opposing team which whom the other poster supports.

Look at the bright side, at least Fremantle are below you:p

every footy fan will bring up whatever statistics and facts that makes their club sound good, whether it be total flags or winning streaks, or whatever else. every single fan wants everyone to know just exactly why their club is the best and pick and choose the appropriate info to reflect their belief.

i appreciate that but after years of mediocrity and copping shit for it, I don't care anymore. Flags = Meh. Don't get me wrong, if we won the flag next year, i wouldn't work for a week and I'd be blind every day, but historically speaking, our shitory doesn't bother me anymore.

that is very sad, your club has basically gotten use to losing, very very sad :o

very sad, but I think its just a case of not caring anymore. You eventually get over it. Also, losing may suck but after a while, its just second nature. You wouldn't understand. Can't even REMEMBER the last time the cats were shit.

...the only thing that bugs me is how long its been isnce we won a flag and the fact that the only silverware we've won while I've been alive has been won after 8 pm.

One, six, Twenty. it's all the same.

See, that's just the thing. It's not all the same, some of us have seen our teams win premierships.

It must suck so much to be a Saints supporter.

hahahahahahaha 9 >>> 1

1 modern/real premiership vs 0 :)

oi. This is about St.Kilda take your petty rivalry elsewhere.

Hmm, that's a first, a thread designed to slag off st.kilda being diverted to slagging off other teams. Its usually the other way round.

Wouldn't say that if you'd actually won a decent amount.

I know, I said that in my OP.

One Eyed Sainter 66 said:
If St.Kilda had 16 flags and Essendon one, I would likely treat them the same way a majority (but not all) Essendon supporters treat sainters.

very sad, but I think its just a case of not caring anymore. You eventually get over it. Also, losing may suck but after a while, its just second nature. You wouldn't understand. Can't even REMEMBER the last time the cats were shit.

every team gos thru a period were they are no good so what it comes down to is winning premierships.All i can say is that you stkilda supporters havent experienced.

I understand what you are saying as I was in your position not long ago, i didnt care that much when people would say 44 years but let me tell you it feels so much better know that we have just won a premiership , its a hardefeeling to describe but there is this sense of pride and respect I have for my club that didnt exist before, when I think of geelong know I think of them as winners.

See, that's just the thing. It's not all the same, some of us have seen our teams win premierships.

Again, I wrote that in my OP. I would love to see us win a flag. But if we win it this year for example, i wouldn't care if we never won again in my lifetime.

It must suck so much to be a Saints supporter.

Nah, you get used to it. After the twenty or thirtieth time someone says something, you just shrug it off.

hahahahahahaha 9 >>> 1

Good for you. I was worried you may not have passed grade one. Now how much higher than one IS nine?

Quoting is getting annoying because everyone seems to misinterpret what I said. trust me, I'm not saying that a premiership is meaningless. I'm saying that historically the fact that we've won one premiership doesn't bother me.

The fact that I've never seen us win a premiership BOTHERS me. if you want to hurt us, this is what you say - hahaha, you've never won a premiership >>>>>>> 16>1 as far as hurting people goes. Do other sainters agree with me?

My mate Barry Withers always said to me "Come back when you've won another 15 premierships" and I always retorted: "Barry, all I want is one."

it clearly is getting to you or you wouldn't of started a thread about it

you'd think so but actually I'm just trolling. Otherwise i would've posted this in the main board.

I can. 2006.

Sorry, I meant shit like bottom four shit. I can remember the last time st.kilda was a sshit as geelong were in 2006 - 2007. Oh wait. :o