• Thread starter Thread starter mhill

The Australian Open tennis.:(

These 2 weeks pass with little or no football coverage in the media and very poor blogging.:eek:

It is awkward as we are are just a month away from pre season games (and a couple for the all stars game) so I guess that makes it tricky to find an angle to cover but geez it makes for a boring frigg1n read of the paper.

I am finding this next week or 2 very, very slow going and i hate the tennis.:mad:

LMAO ... picked up the HUN this morning , flicked to the back first as i always do then had to put my mining helmut on to find anything even remotely of interest .

I hate "social sport" which is all tennis is (see sydney swans)

Tennis is about as exciting as watching your grand parents make out. It's alright at first but after a few exchanges you lose interest pretty quickly .

Tennis is great. Played if for years and it's good to watch. Get into it. :thumbsu:

Mate i'm the other way, come from a tennis family, (my brother is the second most successful player to ever come out of the whole of Gippsland), quit the game at 21. Have touched a racket twice i reckon in 15 years. I truely detest this time of year. To quote Rick from the Young Ones "Borwing".
To read the Herald Sun these days is a bit like reading Womens Day or New Idea anyway.

Use to love the tennis as a kid - worked as a ballboy and then a scoreboard operator at Aust Opens, Davis Cups, the Lindeman Cup (ah those were the days) for years, but after a while you start to realise it's just the same guys and gals playing each other on the same surface in a different town week after week after week.

You could say the same for football but the two teams are never made up of the same players, the weather conditions are different, and it's a lot harder to rig the result.

I never met my grandparents so I can't vouch for Rusty's metaphor, but football is like live pr0n - sometimes big breasted, sometimes small, girl may be on top, boy may be on top, boy may be on top and bottom or on top of bottom with no girls or three girls or one mature lady and a small hog, could be indoor, outdoor, backdoor, Diana Dors - aww crikey, I think I've done myself for a moment.

Use to love the tennis as a kid - worked as a ballboy and then a scoreboard operator at Aust Opens, Davis Cups, the Lindeman Cup (ah those were the days) for years, but after a while you start to realise it's just the same guys and gals playing each other on the same surface in a different town week after week after week.

You could say the same for football but the two teams are never made up of the same players, the weather conditions are different, and it's a lot harder to rig the result.

I never met my grandparents so I can't vouch for Rusty's metaphor, but football is like live pr0n - sometimes big breasted, sometimes small, girl may be on top, boy may be on top, boy may be on top and bottom or on top of bottom with no girls or three girls or one mature lady and a small hog, could be indoor, outdoor, backdoor, Diana Dors - aww crikey, I think I've done myself for a moment.

Forehand, backhand, forehand, backhand, duece??:p

I like watching the top seeds. Better than watching shows ponies Clarke, Johnson and Watson play cricket :cool:

Forget road rage, i have Hilditch/Clarke rage:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

####ing boring tennis..you blokes should be watching the NFL....one week/4 teams to go then SuperBowl time:thumbsu:

Problem i find with Grid Iron is the time wasting and time outs. Bit of play, break. Bit of play, break. Contested decision, break. Ad. Break.
I also enjoy it when a defender stops one pass, you'd think he won the lottery with the reaction. Imagine what we'd be saying if McGuane spoils a ball over the line, then precedes to tense up, jump and scream. They lay one tackle, then do the same as McGuanes celebration type thing. Our guys do it over and over again with no fan fare or bullshit. That's why i love our great game.

And now you've got me thinking of that REM song "man on the moon" with the monopoly reference. Catchy song too. Dammit.

The episode with the ghosts i think

"Don't pass plate nailed to the table by a stupid hippy"

As for the off season whilst im missing footy theres plenty of sport to keep me occupied...Tennis, Cricket, Soccer and even NHL and NFL plus the occasional AFL Rivalries on Foxsports should keep me going until the nab cup.

Episode was "boring" .... Neil was so bored he went into the garden to kill himself

That's right. Still funny to think of now. I was thinking for some reason of the summer holiday one (i think Rick kills Neil in the garden and a gnome bags him out). Got confused. "We plant the seed, nature grows the seed, then we eat the seed. Then we plant the seed....." Ben Elton has a new show coming onto channel 9 soon, looks a little dodgy, but, i'll give it a go.

Funny man Ben Elton ...

Mr Kendal Mintcake

Reckon its hardest i've ever laughed in my life the first time i saw Vyvian kick his own head down the train line ...."you took your time ya bastard" ... still LMAO

Watch what a sensational player your coach was...it'll pass 10 minutes.:thumbsu:

[YOUTUBE]k3x6OLULv1M[/YOUTUBE]

Funny man Ben Elton ...

Mr Kendal Mintcake

Reckon its hardest i've ever laughed in my life the first time i saw Vyvian kick his own head down the train line ...."you took your time ya bastard" ... still LMAO

Yeah, when they represented Scum Bag College. Quality. Also remembered seeing Motorhead for the first time on the young ones. Still the best version of ace of spades i've seen (including when they opened for Motley a couple of years back).