Footy Survey

Giuseepe

May 15, 2004
Footy survey. Good off-season thread. Just put a number corresponding to the question I will compile results (stats and all) in a few wks.

1. Which team do you follow?
2. Best Player (ability)
3. Worst Player (any reason you like)
4. Best Coach?
5. 05 premiers and wooden spooners?
6. Why you follow the team you do?
7. Played the game (yes or no)
8. Coached (yes or no)
9. Umpired (yes or no)
10. How many AFL games do you see live per season?
11. Funniest thing you’ve heard at the footy?
12. One rule change that should be in?
13. What is best thing about footy?
14 What is the worst thing about footy?

1. West Coast
2. James Hird
3. Trent Carroll, hes just crap.
4. Dennis Pagan
5. 05 premiers- St Kilda wooden spooners-Hawthorn
6. I grew up with them, people that change teams are gay or jus want attention.
7. yes
8. no
9. yes
10. a few, maybe 2 or 3, pretty hard to get a ticket to a game in the west, well a good ticket.
11. Shaun McManus's bones Crunching when Wirrapunda nailed him.
12. Dropping the ball needs a comeback.
13. Big hard hits
14 People whinging about the big hard hits.

1. Essendon
2. Hird
3. Henneman
4. Sheedy
5. Premiers: Port Spoon: Richmond
6. Born in Melbourne, and lived near Essendon
7. No
8. No
9. No
10. 3
11. Anything by Rex Hunt
12. Don't know, maybe the throw ins
13. Winning
14. Losing

1. Melbourne.
2. Carey/Hird - both magnificent in their prime.
3. Matthew Lokan - how this bloke gets a game, week in week out, is one of football's great mysteries.
4. Hard to go past Leigh Matthews.
5. Premiers - Port or St Kilda. Spooners - Dogs.
6. Family tradition, four or five generations.
7. Only socially.
8. No.
9. No.
10. About 16 or 17, depending on my whim during finals and work commitments.
11. At a game at TD against North Melbourne, at which the Roos supporters had gone completely feral at an umpiring decision, a Melbourne fan remarked loudly and appreciatively, " Ah, that throaty, underprivileged boo. I love it.''
12. Anything that encourages ruckmen to contest the ball, rather than the man.
13. The rush you get when your side (or any side for that matter) pulls off the unachievable. Doesn't matter whether it's in one game, or one quarter, or a season.
14. That there's a six-month break in summer. And the AFL's increased corporatisation of the game. The MCG is the best place to watch football, bar none.

1. Hawthorn
2. Shane Crawford
3. Tim Clarke, because he just is, delist now!
4. Leigh Matthews
5. Prem: Geelong, Spoon: Richmond
6. Followed because the family does
7. Yes
8. No
9. No
10. 11-13
11. 2000 SF Hawthorn v Nth, a bloke in the crowd givin it to Pike all nite about alcohol and Casino, it was gold, he actually got kicked out haha...
12. Deliberate when someone is trying to rush a behind. that sucks.
13. the skill, crowds, hits and winning
14. Losing

Giuseepe said:
Footy survey. Good off-season thread. Just put a number corresponding to the question I will compile results (stats and all) in a few wks.

2. Best Player (ability)
4. Best Coach?
8. Coached (yes or no)
9. Umpired (yes or no)
1.Hawthorn
2.Chris Judd
3.Person I hate-Grant Thomas
4.Leigh Matthews
5.?-Western Bulldogs
6.Family Tradition
7.Yes
8.Yes
9.Yes
11.Captain Snooze-refering to Alister Lynch-1997
12.Delebretly kicking out of bounds
13.The game,atmosphere and the tribal feel
14.Playing-Hip and shoulder
Supporterwise-Port Adelaide

1. Western Bulldogs
2. James Hird
3. Jason Cloke (unaccountable, weak as ********)
4. Leigh Matthews
5. Port and Hawthorn
6. Family, I had no chance
7. Yes
8. No
9. Yes
10. 16-18
11. Too many to remember
12. Kicking backwards outside your forward 50 is play-on
13. What is best thing about footy? Finals
14 What is the worst thing about footy? Loosing finals

1. Which team do you follow? - PORT ADELAIDE POWER
2. Best Player (ability) - WARREN TREDREA JUDD
3. Worst Player (any reason you like) BOCK
4. Best Coach? MATTHEWS AND PAGAN
5. 05 premiers and wooden spooners? PORT PREMIERS - CROWS = SPOON
6. Why you follow the team you do? DAD PORT FAN
7. Played the game (yes or no) YES (BUT MORE SOCCER PLAYER)
8. Coached (yes or no) NO
9. Umpired (yes or no) NO
10. How many AFL games do you see live per season? 15 - 20
11. Funniest thing you’ve heard at the footy? BURTON IS A GOOD MATCH UP FOR PICKETT (MY CROWS MATE)
12. One rule change that should be in? KICKING BACKWARDS SHOULD BE CALLED PLAY ON RATHER THAN A MARK
13. What is best thing about footy? THE ATMOSPHERE AT A PACKED HOUSE AND WINNING THE FLAG
14 What is the worst thing about footy? LOSING AND ********ER SUPPORTERS WHO JUST WANA START FIGHTS

1. Port Adelaide
2. Warren Tredrea
3. None. Admire all for making it to the elite level.
4. Mark 'Choco' Williams
5. Port Adelaide/Richmond
6. Grew up to hate them in SANFL, so when they entered AFL decided to be a black sheep of the family and support them. Now love the PAFC.
7. Yes - Auskick only :D
8. No - wish to in later years
9. No - no intention
10. this year one practise and one real match. Not to many AFL games played in Alice :(
11. The doggies will flog port (Start of rnd 20 match in Darwin)
12. Reports for acting - dont want to see AFL turn into soccer.
13. Good topic to argue with mates about.
14. Too addictive!!!

Scotty

1. Carlton
2. At the moment, Warren Tredrea
4. Dennis Pagan
5. Port Adelaide, Kangaroos
6. Used to live there
7. Yes (not at any great level though)
8. No
9. No
10. 5-10
11. Carlton -v- WC at OO in 2004. Blues are up 7 goals to 0 in time on in the 2nd. A WC supporter behind us says he wouldn't want to conceed one more goal, as if 7 to 0 is okay but 8 to nil is a cause for concern.
12. The rules are fine as they are.
13. The emotion
14. People who don't know the facts but talk like they're experts. Unaccountable media. People who blame umpires for their team's performance. Interstate 'rivalries' based on ignorance and jealosy.

1. Carlton
2. Nick Riewoldt
3. Justin Murphy (just rubs me up the wrong way)
4. Pagan
5. StKilda & bulldogs
6. Everyone in my family does, didn't want to be disowned
7. no
8. no
9. no
10. about 10
11. unfortunately the funniest ones I can remember are all about Lance's weight so I won't repeat them. The poor guy cops a lot.
12. Three points for deliberate behind
13. The passion!
14. The **********heads (drunk/aggressive) who ruin it for everyone and Demetriou & Gang

Giuseepe said:
Footy survey. Good off-season thread. Just put a number corresponding to the question I will compile results (stats and all) in a few wks. [/quote}

1. Which team do you follow? Brisbane Lions
2. Best Player (ability)? Riewoldt/Judd (Riewoldt is perhaps more valuable)
3. Worst Player (any reason you like)? Craig Bolton: was the most incompitent player at our club you could every have.
4. Best Coach? Leigh Matthews
5. 05 premiers and wooden spooners? Lions/Sts, Hawks
6. Why you follow the team you do? Because i live here in Brisbane
7. Played the game (yes or no)? Yes
8. Coached (yes or no)? No
9. Umpired (yes or no)? No
10. How many AFL games do you see live per season? 12-14 (every home game)
11. Funniest thing you’ve heard at the footy? victorian supporters
12. One rule change that should be in? mark in the goal square -> kick from straight in front
13. What is best thing about footy? the atmosphere at the game, the skill, jonathon brown :D
14 What is the worst thing about footy? the down times and the offseason

1. Adelaide
2. Chris Judd
3. Robert Shirley
4. Dennis Pagan
5. Premiers- St. Kilda, Geelong, Brisbane or as much as i hate to say it Port. Spoon- Richmond or Hawthorn
6. First team from SA, so naturally jumped on them at the start now know nuffin other than them in the AFL.
7. Yes
8. Yes
9. Yes
10. 6-8
11. Chad Cornes is a GUN Centre Half Back(port supporting friend)
12. Kicking backwards should be play on
13. The Crows
14. Port Power

1. Richmond
2. Chris Judd/Warren Tredrea
3. Not sure..
4. Mark Williams
5. premiers - Port Adelaide, spoon - Hawthron
6. The Tiger, the colours, the history, the song, the passion.
7. Yes
8. No
9. Yes
10. About 14
11. Ohh... there was this one guy, probably in his 50's - A Richmond Supporter. This was at the dogs game when Richo kicked 10. He went of his rocket every time we made a mistake. Full on got out of his seat... spray going everywhere. When we kicked a goal, he sat quietly and maked a goal in his record. Had to be there.
12. 30 games. One home, one away. No preseason ********.
13. Atmosphere, hype, passion and support. The skill is fantastic.
14. Its unfair how it is at the present time. (q. 12)

1. Melbourne
2. Nick Reidwoldt
3. Nick Reis - Untalented to the extreme.
4. Leigh Matthews
5. a) Geelong b) Hawthorn
6. Family (goes back a few generations)
7. Yes - Junior level
8. Yes - Junior level
9. Yes - field & goal
10. 15-17
11. An elderly female Essendon supporter informing me that, without a doubt, David Hille is the best ruckman in the league (she was serious).
12. Only paid a mark if the kick goes forwards
13. The fact I can sit down next to a supporter of the opposing team.
14. Having to hear an oppositions song after a game.

1. Which team do you follow? Carlton
2. Best Player (ability) Heart says Kouta, brain says Carey
3. Worst Player (any reason you like) Angwin. Bucketloads of talent wasted.
4. Best Coach? Pagan/Lethal
5. 05 premiers and wooden spooners? Port/Hawthorn
6. Why you follow the team you do? Fate
7. Played the game (yes or no) Yes
8. Coached (yes or no) No
9. Umpired (yes or no) No
10. How many AFL games do you see live per season? 3-5
11. Funniest thing you’ve heard at the footy? First time I took my daughter to the football it was vs Essendon in 2002. Lloyd took a mark and an almost 4yo Lil' Miss Wojee exclaimed loudly "He's cheating". Even the Essendon supporters near us chuckled.
12. One rule change that should be in? Keep the current rules, just interpret them the same way that 99% of the football fans do and all will be fine.
13. What is best thing about footy? It's footy.
14 What is the worst thing about footy? Commentators trying to introduce terminology from other sports. We do not have Quarterbacks in our game Dermott you idiot.

2. Best Player (ability)
Nigel Lappin

Darren Hulme

4. Best Coach?
Leigh Matthews

Brisbane/Hawthorn

1983 Grand Final. Brother was supporting Essendon. had to be different

yes

8. Coached (yes or no)
no

9. Umpired (yes or no)
God no

12-15 depending

We cant lose from here (Hawks Vs Richmond rd 5 2003)

Its all good

Atmosphere at the game, walking to the G

14 What is the worst thing about footy?[/QUOTE]
Losing, walking home from the G

1. Which team do you follow? :St.Kilda
2. Best Player (ability) :Robert Harvey
3. Worst Player (any reason you like) :Justin Plapp
4. Best Coach? :Leigh Matthews
5. 05 premiers and wooden spooners? :St.Kilda/Hawthorn
6. Why you follow the team you do?Father barracked 4 them all his life,so do i
7. Played the game (yes or no) yes
8. Coached (yes or no) :no
9. Umpired (yes or no) :no
10. How many AFL games do you see live per season? 1-2(whenevr saints in adelaide)
11. Funniest thing you’ve heard at the footy?Adelaide supporters-clap everytime theres a mark
12. One rule change that should be in? play-on when you kick the ball backwards
13. What is best thing about footy?:teamwork
14 What is the worst thing about footy?the opposition

Giuseepe said:

2. Best Player (ability)
4. Best Coach?
8. Coached (yes or no)
9. Umpired (yes or no)

1. Port
2. Hird
3. ??
4. Matthews
5. Port/Hawthorn
6. Born in Adelaide; friend of the family gave me a Port Magpies jumper when I was 3 and said "stick with 'em". Glad I have.
7. As a kid
8. Auskick
9. No
10. 2-3
11. At a packed SCG a few years ago and security come on to the ground. Works out about one per bay. Voice up the back yells, "c'mon, if we all go this guy isn't going stop us!". Same ground, different day: Plugger drops one early - "you're a passenger Lockett!...and you've always been a passenger!". The 'passenger' had about 1200 career goals by that stage.
12. Bring back "dropping the ball".
13. The magic of watching some perfectly executed play at high speed in front of a large noisy crowd.
14. Eddie

Giuseepe said:
StKilda
2. Best Player (ability)
Rob Harvey
StK: Schwarze (Dud), AFL: Buckley ("kick it to me!")
4. Best Coach?
G. Thomas/Mark Williams tie.
Spooners: Hawks
Premiers: StK, Geel, or Power.
Brought up with it
yes
8. Coached (yes or no)
no, would like to
9. Umpired (yes or no)
no, being beaten up by angry parents isnt my idea of fun.
~15 in 2004
"Buuuul********" chant at moorabbin when a horse took a massive dump in the centre square.
Wizard cup ruck circle
Beer and Pies
Arrogant "sore winners"

1. Adelaide
2. Hird
3. Skipworth - just shyte!
4. Matthews
5. Power/Hawks
6. Supported ever since inception...
7. Yes
8. No
9. Yes - still do
10. 15/16
11. a not so "all there" person calling the umpire a ******! :)
12. 3 pts for rushed behind
13. Physicalness, skills, speed...
14 Moron egotistical players/officials and just plain moronic supporters! Oh and Andrew D!

Giuseepe said:

2. Best Player (ability)
4. Best Coach?
8. Coached (yes or no)
9. Umpired (yes or no)

1 - Port Adelaide
2 - James Hird
3 - Stuart Cochrane
4 - Kevin Sheedy
5 - Port for premiers, Crows for spoon
6 - Because I hated the Crows
7 - Yes
8 - No
9 - No
10 - 20 - 25
11 - How many points is a goal worth ?
12 - If you mark inside the goalsquare you line up from straight in front.
13 - The roar of the crowd
14 - $$$ - Money has changed the culture of the game

Disgustipated said:

2. Best Player (ability)
Nigel Lappin

4. Best Coach?
Leigh Matthews

Brisbane/Hawthorn

1983 Grand Final. Brother was supporting Essendon. had to be different

yes

8. Coached (yes or no)
no

9. Umpired (yes or no)
God no

12-15 depending

We cant lose from here (Hawks Vs Richmond rd 5 2003)

Its all good

Atmosphere at the game, walking to the G

Losing, walking home from the G[/QUOTE]
If you support Hawthorn, why them do you have Brizroy Lions as your team?

2. Best Player (ability)
Chris Judd
Mark Johnson - sniper/unecessary aggresive
4. Best Coach?
Dennis Pagan - can manage both superstars and duds in turn
no idea and Hawthorn
told to by a school bully on arriving in victoria
only vickick (now auskick)
8. Coached (yes or no)
no
9. Umpired (yes or no)
no
if you mean live at the ground 15
if you mean live ground + tv about 150+
can't recall anything special
don't blow the whistle when paying an advantage free kick
entertainment
f*ckin everything, the admin, the umpires, the tv coverage - it could all be improved
but if i had to give 1 reason - unbalanced draw where every team doesn't play each other twice

Ted Pellitts said:
2. Best Player (ability)
Chris Judd
Mark Johnson - sniper/unecessary aggresive
4. Best Coach?
Dennis Pagan - can manage both superstars and duds in turn
no idea and Hawthorn
told to by a school bully on arriving in victoria
only vickick (now auskick)
8. Coached (yes or no)
no
9. Umpired (yes or no)
no
if you mean live at the ground 15
if you mean live ground + tv about 150+
can't recall anything special
don't blow the whistle when paying an advantage free kick
entertainment
f*ckin everything, the admin, the umpires, the tv coverage - it could all be improved
but if i had to give 1 reason - unbalanced draw where every team doesn't play each other twice
Wheres your club pride.
Hawthorn will win the premiership next year :D

Footy Survey