Forget Fev, we're in the mix this year.

HeziBarecket

While not getting to ahead of ourselves, I think we should be as good if not better this year.

I was agonising all summer about how we would go, and after the medications kicked in and I watched the BUMMERS get smashed to buggery last night, sure they missed some of their 'talls', but still they are really missing Lucas, Lloyd, Lovett etc, we are gonna smash alot of teams this year.

People are writing us off since we lost Fev, but alot of people said we will never win a flag with a bum like him in the team, and I really think the boys will rise to the ocassion.

It's promising to see Fisher starting off well, I think it'll be important he redeems himself after doing nothing all year.

Call me crazy, but I reckon Waite should be our CHF, just to rev up guys like Henderson and Kruezer, and let Houla go back to HBF and assist Jamo and Bower and Scotto. Fantastic to see Warnock firing, and touch wood he goes unscathed this pre-season our rucks will be the strongest since we had Harry Madden.

Missing Stevo will be a bummer, but he really wasn't that effective last year, I expect McClean and Joseph to fill his role, and the developing Robbo will be a bonus.

Our main flaw will be getting 'monstered' by power forwards like Jon Bogan Brown and Brendan Bogan Fevola. I think clever skillful play by our smaller defenders will assist. Setanta to work as a foil?

But all up our list looks the best it's been for a long, long time, and I think getting rid of Fev is a blessing not a curse as he's got only 3-4 years left, where most of our team has close to 10!

Our main flaw will be getting 'monstered' by power forwards like Jon Bogan Brown and Brendan Bogan Fevola. I think clever skillful play by our smaller defenders will assist. Setanta to work as a foil?

The courage and discipline of Simon Wiggins to go backwards and cut off leads when he was moved to defence last season cannot be ignored. He was fantastic there and will be vital against big forward lines like you mentioned. Other guys like Robinson and Austin have that courage but are still a bit young to do it for a whole game. :thumbsu:

we better be in the mix.

Last year we ended with 13 wins and had Jamo, Waite, Warnock and a heap of improvement to come from our young list.

Anything less than 13 wins for a club that has loaded up on picks over the last 5 years plus landing Judd would be a disgrace.

Not so sure about Hoops on the hbf though Hezi. We should definately be in the mix this year for sure and I think the blues will surprise a few . Round 1 should be a good platform.

Yeh we;re in the mix, no worries, I like there;s no real hype.

Why can;t we win a flag, Hawks fluked one.

Push top 4 I reckon.

Sorry but that's complete and utter bollocks to say Hawthorn 'fluked' a flag, they earned their trip to the Grand Final, they were the 2nd best side during the home and away season, and they were the better side on the day (on Grand Final day, out-played, out-smarted, out-coached the Handbags, and I found the result most satisfying)

Right now, Carlton are miles behind the legit top 4 of the competition, IE Geelong, St.Kilda, Collingwood, Bulldogs, Adelaide, Hawthorn and probably now Brisbane as well)

Premierships now these days are very hard to win, it actually takes years and years of recruiting and preperation, you can't go out and buy players like Judd anymore and automatically think Hey Presto, we'll win a flag within a few years with Judd at the club.

This club lost far more then what it gained during last year's trade/draft period, so it's reasonable to assume the club might regress somewhat (in the win/loss column) this season, but it's all a matter of one foot backwards, to go two feet fowards eventually.

The two W's, Warnock and Walker, really impressed in the intra club game yesterday, and they pretty much come into the team as recruits. Warnock is just so important to our structure, even before he has played a game, as he really does allow Hampson and Kreuzer to play forward. Fisher is looking great, Henderson was ok yesterday, and will be better for the run after his knee injury, and Setanta, although quiet yesterday, is a proven target inside 50. I'm really excited about what 2010 might bring us, and bring on next Saturday vs Sydney.

Right now, Carlton are miles behind the legit top 4 of the competition, IE Geelong, St.Kilda, Collingwood, Bulldogs, Adelaide, Hawthorn and probably now Brisbane as well)

We beat Geelong, Collingwood, Bulldogs and Brisbane last year and pushed St Kilda and Hawthorn all the way. There is no way known we are miles behind anyone.

Premierships now these days are very hard to win, it actually takes years and years of recruiting and preperation, you can't go out and buy players like Judd anymore and automatically think Hey Presto, we'll win a flag within a few years with Judd at the club.

:o We've done those years of preparation already. You may have been off following Geelong but we've recruited over the last few years Gibbs, Murphy, Kreuzer, Walker, Judd, Yarran, McLean, Henderson, Lucas, Warnock, Bower, Grigg, Hampson as well as some beautys off the rookie list.

Sorry but that's complete and utter bollocks to say Hawthorn 'fluked' a flag, they earned their trip to the Grand Final, they were the 2nd best side during the home and away season, and they were the better side on the day (on Grand Final day, out-played, out-smarted, out-coached the Handbags, and I found the result most satisfying)

This club lost far more then what it gained during last year's trade/draft period, so it's reasonable to assume the club might regress somewhat (in the win/loss column) this season, but it's all a matter of one foot backwards, to go two feet fowards eventually.
Seem to recall that Hawthorn Jagged one a couple of years before they expected with a very young list.

Gee if we're miles behind the "top four " which somehow manages to include 7 teams I think we better start sacking our MC right now ,even if it is 6 weeks before the home and away season.

Agreed teams don't "fluke" flags, but Hawthorn won their flag 3 years after finishing 14th & 2 years after finishing 11th on the ladder. They had played finals the year before in 2007, being knocked out in the 2nd week of the finals, after just getting over the line against Adelaide the week before.

Hawthorn took advantage of the Cats' wastefulness in the 1st half of that GF & it can be very hard to stop most teams when they get a run-on happening. Hawthorn's win came ahead of even when they would have expected to be winning a premiership & I think their 2009 season demonstrated they had climbed a massive mountain in 2008 & didn't have much up their sleeve for 2009.

Now no-one is suggesting Carlton are going to win the premiership this season, but the club has to go into the season expecting to play finals & given what Hawthorn achieved in 2008, once you get into September anything can happen.

Seem to recall that Hawthorn Jagged one a couple of years before they expected with a very young list.

Difference is, Hawthorn had a solid, key position structure, especially in the foward line, and plus they did have some damn great veterans on their list, especially Shane Crawford who was an champion of the game.

And generally I find most premiership sides happen after at least 2 or 3 failed previous finals campaigns and getting the experience and hunger required.

You should never say never, but I still believe the club needs time to restructure after live without Fev.

Difference is, Hawthorn had a solid, key position structure, especially in the foward line, and plus they did have some damn great veterans on their list, especially Shane Crawford who was an champion of the game.

And generally I find most premiership sides happen after at least 2 or 3 failed previous finals campaigns and getting the experience and hunger required.

You should never say never, but I still believe the club needs time to restructure after live without Fev.
True ,yet they prolly had some numbnut supporters giving them absolutely no chance before the home and away season even started.

I tend to believe that although our list is now quite a good stage, l think it would be fair to say right now we are still a fair way off the best sides, Geelong, St Kilda, Hawthorn, Bulldogs, Collingwood and Adelaide.

We have certainly the midfield and a improving defence and our rucks are certainly on the improve but our defence will be tested against teams like Hawthorn and St Kilda if Waite is required to add some class in our front half which regardless of what spin is put on it will struggle against the quality sides.

We are in with a chance for the latter half of the 8, but tend to believe we have some deficiencies which will become apparent against the strong teams.

there i no way carlton will miss out on the 8 with players like judd gibbs murphy its one off best middfilds in the game. this isn't a troll either

What I probably should have said is what Blue Ratts said and that they snatched one before they expected too, a lot went right for Hawthorn that year, like minimal injuries, things just seemed to go right, but yes they earnt it .. no doubt.
But you must never say never...which is what they did..and what we must do. :footy:

there i no way carlton will miss out on the 8 with players like judd gibbs murphy its one off best middfilds in the game. this isn't a troll either

There ya go CP.... some people think we;ll make the 8 !!
It's a start ;)

What I probably should have said is what Blue Ratts said and that they snatched one before they expected too, a lot went right for Hawthorn that year, like minimal injuries, things just seemed to go right, but yes they earnt it .. no doubt.
But you must never say never...which is what they did..and what we must do. :footy:
+1:thumbsu::thumbsu:

sorry but strongly disagree with all of that...
who truly knows what will happen...we have a chance of top 4..:thumbsu:

How many times have we seen a so called top 4 team do a slider ,the coach under seige mid year and sacked by seasons end. How many times have we seen a team come from minimal expectations, gather momemtum, gain confidence and challenge the heavyweights? A good list (which I believe we have been building ),injury luck (which deserted us last year), and confidence within our team could see us challenge.

I think we need to cool our heels for a few weeks and see how the boys perform under the "pressure" of a real opposition in a NAB cup to have any idea how we will go this year.

As an example the last 2 weeks I'd heard nothing but how well Polak was looking as a forward........I got excited and put him in my dream team......only to find out that yes.....against his own (average) defenders in an intra-club, or vs Coburg......he is a star, yet vs Hawks average defence (albeit with crap delivery) he is battling to be a good AFL player.

This same principle can be applied to Warnock, Henderson, Walker McLean etc all of whom for various reasons haven't performed either at all, or in the position they are going to play. So while tearing it up in a training session or intraclub is good........it doesn't add up to much.

You know I think that if Warnock can stay healthy in the ruck, and let Kruezer spend more time in the foward line and/or rotate with Hampson, that is a department that I feel will help the club out a lot.

And of course, you'd expect Chris Yarran to hopefully come in and have a stronger, more confident season in 2010 ... i still somewhat worry though about the over-reliance on the big 3 midfield guns, Judd, Murphy and Gibbs ...

Waite returning is going to be a big plus, but i think it takes players from knee reconstructions at least 6 weeks to recover fully.

I admit I'm a water half empty type of person, but there is a very strong upper tier group of players at the club, I just worry about the depth if their is a crap load of injuries to come our way (not saying the back-up players on the list are rubbish, it's just most of them are young, raw and inexperienced)

And I still firmly believe Dennis Armfield is not a best 22 type of player, but then again, I'm not on the coaching staff or match committee, and I'll back their judgement.
I still worry sometimes that some of our youngsters seem to get overrawed playing a side like Adelaide (whom have an starting 18 unit mostly consisted of players built like a brick shithouse)

Finals chance yes, chance to win the flag, not a snowflake's hope in hell.

Every team has a chance to win the flag.

Who knows... we might seriously put it all together and pull a Whorethorn out of our arses and win the flag a couple of years early...