Bigness

Michael Gleeson | July 31, 2008 THEAGE

FINALLY able to ruck again, Josh Fraser is likely to return for Collingwood for the match against Hawthorn on Friday night, along with forgotten defender Ryan Lonie.
Fraser managed to ruck for a limited period of the VFL game last week, including at a handful of centre bounces, and has got through ruck drills in training so far this week leaving him sufficiently recovered from the posterior cruciate ligament injury to resume for the Magpies.
He is likely to come back into the side, which has had consecutive defeats, along with Lonie who is expected to play his first senior game of the year.
Out of form running player Ben Johnson is likely to be one of the omissions along with one of Collingwood's two rucks, Chris Bryan or Cameron Wood.
Somewhat complicating Collingwood's capacity to make significant changes to its team is the fact the VFL side played on Sunday and consequently those coming into the side would do so off a five-day break.
Notably Fraser and Lonie both had only limited game time in the final quarter of the VFL game, which perhaps suggested the match committee wanted them to be left fresh enough should they be required for senior selection.
Lonie has been out injured for most of the year and has only genuinely returned to be in contention now. He was struck down by osteitis pubis last year, managing just four senior games.
Off-season surgery improved the groin problem but soft tissue injuries this year hampered his return to the side until he began to play a handful of games in the VFL where he has impressed in the middle of the ground.
While the pressure aspects of play, like tackling, have never been Lonie's strengths, it is his pace and long, efficient kicking that are becoming more important by the round in the modern game.
For a half-back flanker he is also an attacking player, having booted 61 goals in his 122 matches.
Lonie was pursued by the Brisbane Lions for a trade in the off-season last year but resisted the offer, believing that when fit he was in Collingwood's best 22.
"At the end of the day I didn't really want to move out of Melbourne, the family is around and I had just had a little one (baby)," Lonie said in South Africa in February this year.

I love it when Journalists speak in code......

Lonie? :o

Why waste a good opportunity for someone younger?

I reckon they are trying to up his trade value with a few late season games... pretty keen to send him packing at the end of last season.

But grrrr let me say this, we better win. :mad:

If we miss the finals altogether... that would be a disgrace.

let him play again before hes judged, so he isnt the hardest player at the ball.

heath shaw is gettin tagged out of the backline and cutting down our lack of run . lonie could provide that , hope he has a good game!

Sigh. Not happy with the prospect of Lonie getting a game. I know he was named in the best on Sunday, but he was cod-ordinary IMO.

Really think it'd be a backward step.

Sigh. Not happy with the prospect of Lonie getting a game. I know he was named in the best on Sunday, but he was cod-ordinary IMO.

Really think it'd be a backward step.
He was very ordinary. I can hardly remember a possession he had that had any effect. He just chipped sideways as usual. Absolute crap.

I'm not gonna get upset till I see the official selected team, but it'll be disappointing if Lonie gets a game. We have a real opportunity to be audacious at the selection table. Resorting to playing the same-old, same-old would be deflating. (I suppose we should be thankful they don't seem to be considering Holland as well.)

Regardless of how he goes the frustraighting thing is Mick's refusal to play some of the kids. Iles for one, has been very good over the past couple of years, I personally don't think he will make it as an AFL footballer, but he hasn't been given that chance. He has deserved a game more the Lonie this year and would be capable of playing any role that Lonie would play. Mick really needs to acknowledge that there is a need to look foward, and atm his foward thinking appears to be poor

Had a discussion about this same point with a mate and I agree that MM isn't thinking forward or outside the square so to speak.

Would be great if he began to re-invent our midfield and give the youngsters the opportunity. In past seasons he has been bold and thrown the kids into the deep end- this year he seems cautious and unwilling to take any risks.

This year will be a defining moment in MM's coaching career and for our club in terms of whether MM is finally able to make the hard decisions required to take us to the next step. Hard decisions need to be made on some of the more senior players whether it's delisted/retire/trade.

If Lonie plays, the tank may well have begun but I agree with Sirlothie. If selected, hopefully it's just to boost or get some value into him come trade time.

i would of preffered stanley well alot of other kids ahead of lonie.

But if his form has been as good as brown and some posteers have treid to lead me to believe then give him a go. This is his final chance squib again of play liek a crab and he wont wear the stripes of a senior player anymore.

Note, i think lonie hasnt been much more than average all year at VFL and a i got blasted by a couple of posters for saying that

I understand why people don't want to see Lonie play but I guess for a guy that has given his best for the club Mick sees this as his last chance to save himself and get another contract next year. This might get he best out of Lonie who we all know can play some really good footy.
I would love to see Dawes get a chance but there would be some doubt due to a 5 day break for him. I just think right now going into a game with just 1 big target up forward its a big risk.
Its been proven that if you can stop Cloke our forward line struggles with out other options. Bringing in Dawes will give the fans some hope and will at least draw a good defender.
I know we won't win tomorrow night but at least show us something MM.

Out: Johnson, Wood, Wakelin
In: Fraser, Lonie, Dawes

Harry O on Roughie
Brown on Franklin
Heath on Williams
Marty on Ladson
Maxwell on who ever else they have down there.

In best John McEnroe voice....

"RYAN LONIE are you SERIOUS?!"

Me thinks MM has said to Lonie show me something or see you later.

Let's hope that he does show something so another club may be stupid enough to trade for him. :D

I understand why people don't want to see Lonie play but I guess for a guy that has given his best for the club Mick sees this as his last chance to save himself and get another contract next year. This might get he best out of Lonie who we all know can play some really good footy.
I would love to see Dawes get a chance but there would be some doubt due to a 5 day break for him. I just think right now going into a game with just 1 big target up forward its a big risk.
Its been proven that if you can stop Cloke our forward line struggles with out other options. Bringing in Dawes will give the fans some hope and will at least draw a good defender.

Harry O on Roughie
Brown on Franklin
Heath on Williams
Marty on Ladson

Why would MM put Lonie in FFS. His 2 games back have been ordinary. He was obvious only named in the best for the VFL coz MM has already decided he was going to play. As he was running wide around the boundary line last week as he always does he was wincing and holding his shoulder. Great!!!
MM has really lost the plot. Lonie has had 10 weeks out of the game and certainly hates to get a hard ball and we are playing one of the hardest teams in the comp.
Who cares about letting him to play to boost trade chances aren't we supposed to be playing our best 22 and hoping to win not worrying about crap like that.
MM is only after feathering his own nest. He thinks he can win with his old favourites well I personally think it is time he moved on.
I dare say Stanners and Dawes won't get a look in now which stinks!!!

Harry O on Roughie
Brown on Franklin
Heath on Williams
Marty on Ladson

Completely agree on Lonie....he needs one more chance. Remember he has suffered OP and that has slowed him up. He is also performing at VFL level.

This is a do or die game for Lonie is selected. Play good and he stands a chance to hold his spot on the list....if he flinches or does not attack the ball hard enough he has blown his last chance.

It would be a smart slection move because we have to atleast test out Lonie one last time and it should fire him right up.

If Lonie gets a game before Stanley Cook Toovey or Iles I'll shoot somebody.

If he gets a game before Stanley, I'll help you reload.

I know I'm no judge, but I watched the VFL game on Sunday, and if playing well equals providing concrete benefits that assist in scoring goals, then Stanley was way ahead. And part from his goals, Dawes did a lot of runing and chasing too.

So Lonie is the kind of cattle MM wants to play? Well moo ****ing moo!!

What happened to everyone's favourite catch phrase last year "FAST TRACKING!" ?? Lonie's dimensions have been worked out, we need to play 1 of the youngsters to replace Ben's run seeing he's being dropped.

By bringing in a player like lonie, are they saying that the midfielders they drafted are not ready or not good enough???
Fraser on the other hand could be a wild card. He has played injured for most of his career, and we all know why. ( hardly his fault). From reading the posts on here no one expects anything from him. Could suprise a few.
We all know how good he can be, but many crucify him because he is not the bash and crash ruckman that we all know we need.
Fraser in a very tall midfielder at his best, good mark and kick for goal. Might take the pressure off trav up forward.