DizzyHB

Now, obviously West Coast would be considered our biggest rival, but what other teams do you really enjoy sticking it to? For me:

St Kilda - Over the last decade we've had some pretty good games with the Saints, the obvious two being Sirengate and JLo's moment. Hopefully we can rise up the ladder sooner rather than later and get back to having some close contests.

Port Adelaide - Not really a huge rival for us or of any significance in the AFL. In fact Fremantle v Port Adelaide would probably be the match most supporters would least like to watch, but I've always wanted us to have a stronger rivalry with Port because of the strong state-league histories our two clubs represent. Before the national competition, a Fremantle v Port Adelaide match would've been a must see.

Now, obviously West Coast would be considered our biggest rival, but what other teams do you really enjoy sticking it to? For me:

St Kilda - Over the last decade we've had some pretty good games with the Saints, the obvious two being Sirengate and JLo's moment. Hopefully we can rise up the ladder sooner rather than later and get back to having some close contests.

Port Adelaide - Not really a huge rival for us or of any significance in the AFL. In fact Fremantle v Port Adelaide would probably be the match most supporters would least like to watch, but I've always wanted us to have a stronger rivalry with Port because of the strong state-league histories our two clubs represent. Before the national competition, a Fremantle v Port Adelaide match would've been a must see.

I remember that Freo V Port is for the "Who gives a fat rats clacker" shield according to Sam and the Footy Show. They even made up a lovely shield with a rat nailed to it. Not a primo example of a rivalary.

It is Collingwood for me. I am not sure if any of you have had the displeasure of playing the Pies in Melbourne but the supporters are a DISGRACE! Seeing as I saw them (4 times I think) back in the days when they played at Victoria Park I carry a huge hatred towards them and love to win.:D:thumbsu:

I used to be very anti St Kilda after the sirengate comments by Grant Thomas, but I'm pretty much over that now that they have a new coach. His comments reeked of bad sportsmanship.

It's always good beating the blues, especially when you have blues players (Fev) go on the Footy Show making fun of the Dockers. Comments that are very surprising given Carltons record against the Dockers over the past 5 or more years. I think it's going to be harder to dislike Carlton now that Fev is gone.

Collingwood would still have to be up there. When I think of Collingwood I think of bogans being led by Eddie McGuire. I often sit in the cheap seats for Collongwood games, and I'm surrounded by people missing teeth and clearly have not showered for days.

Everyone speaks of the Eagles being our biggest rival, but honestly all the fun has gone out of that. They haven't been very competitive in matches for 5 or more years now. As fun as it is to beat them, I would rather a close game to a comfortable win any day.

This years biggest rivalry I think will be the Bombers. The Bombers have said they will go after McPhee, and the Dockers will be out to give it back. Should be a good physical match.

Everyone speaks of the Eagles being our biggest rival, but honestly all the fun has gone out of that. They haven't been very competitive in matches for 5 or more years now. As fun as it is to beat them, I would rather a close game to a comfortable win any day.

I disagree. With every match that goes by where they can't beat us it just gets more and more fun.

They still lead us 18-12 head to head and I won't be happy till we're on the positive side of that ledger.

I used to be very anti St Kilda after the sirengate comments by Grant Thomas, but I'm pretty much over that now that they have a new coach. His comments reeked of bad sportsmanship.

It's always good beating the blues, especially when you have blues players (Fev) go on the Footy Show making fun of the Dockers. Comments that are very surprising given Carltons record against the Dockers over the past 5 or more years. I think it's going to be harder to dislike Carlton now that Fev is gone.

Collingwood would still have to be up there. When I think of Collingwood I think of bogans being led by Eddie McGuire. I often sit in the cheap seats for Collongwood games, and I'm surrounded by people missing teeth and clearly have not showered for days.

This years biggest rivalry I think will be the Bombers. The Bombers have said they will go after McPhee, and the Dockers will be out to give it back. Should be a good physical match.

Last years derbies went right down to the wire ...even the pre-season game.
Loved it...especially when i had my wifes friend over barracking for the eagles for one of them. I did a bit of fist-pumping (in the air that is) after the game and of course she just came out with the standard eagles supporters response.

Round 2 against the Bombers will be interesting.

sorry just cant agree with that, beating the eagles is one of lifes real pleasures, seeing their smug smiles get wiped away is fantastic, and i will never get sick of that. i think they will win one this year though unfortunately... i mean the law of averages mean they have to win one eventually

i think a future rivalry will be against the demons, with schwabboly there and the fact that we are in similar development phases, i reckon we will have some epic battles. hill V scully, palmer v trengove, morabito v watts etc etc

in 2010, i agree, essendon V fremantle will be a firey encounter, either side could win it too :thumbsu:

sorry just cant agree with that, beating the eagles is one of lifes real pleasures, seeing their smug smiles get wiped away is fantastic, and i will never get sick of that. i think they will win one this year though unfortunately... i mean the law of averages mean they have to win one eventually

i think a future rivalry will be against the demons, with schwabboly there and the fact that we are in similar development phases, i reckon we will have some epic battles. hill V scully, palmer v trengove, morabito v watts etc etc

in 2010, i agree, essendon V fremantle will be a firey encounter, either side could win it too :thumbsu:

I can only speak for myself, that's how I see it with regard to the Eagles.

I love the thought of a Freo v Demons rivalry, but based on the players and not former coaches and administrators. Both teams have arguably some of the best young talent running around.

I can only speak for myself, that's how I see it with regard to the Eagles.

I love the thought of a Freo v Demons rivalry, but based on the players and not former coaches and administrators. Both teams have arguably some of the best young talent running around.

each to their own

yeah, i think if we keep with our progression and the demons with theirs, there could be some unbelievable matchups in the future. the schwabbolly thing, on top of them tanking against everyone except us.. i think the history has already started to begin, if you know what i mean

Geelong most definately. I love it when we stand up to them and not take a backwards step. The Dean Solomon incident was unfortunate but the hyprocrasy from Geelong fans, players and coaches sealed the deal on my hatred. I now look forward to Geelong games and hope that one day we can beat them and wipe their arrogant smirks off their face.

Still love to beat the Slime most of all, however it's now become a bit too sanitised.
No Cuzzy, Gardy or Ready to really get stuck into, altho' I suppose there's still Kerry and the guy who sounds like a housing estate... you know, tough guy Beau Waters.

It's a bit like flogging your slow learner of a cousin with a lettuce leaf!!

DISCLAIMER : Absolutely NO offence meant to people who are cognitively impaired! Or vegetarians for that matter

Beating the New Breed is nowhere near as fun as the old school Judd/Cuzz eagles..

Carlton & Port... Always great to chalk one up against them...

Still love to beat the Slime most of all, however it's now become a bit too sanitised.
No Cuzzy, Gardy or Ready to really get stuck into, altho' I suppose there's still Kerry and the guy who sounds like a housing estate... you know, tough guy Beau Waters.

It's a bit like flogging your slow learner of a cousin with a lettuce leaf!!

DISCLAIMER : Absolutely NO offence meant to people who are cognitively impaired! Or vegetarians for that matter

Actually, Waters is the one player in their line up i dont mind.

Maybe its coz he hasnt played for ages.

I used to think that Freo would win a derby in the early days but alas you were too weak.

We have been more concerned with the season outcome than beating the Dockers...........well it lost its appeal...........bit like taking candy from a child.

However you have smacked us bad lately and even worse when we actually tried to win you grew an extra leg and showed the sort of arrogant confidence we once displayed over you. :(

I'm looking at a derby win in 2010 by the Eagles.........even money.......one carton per derby..........any takers. :D

DerbyXXVIFallout.jpg

FatDaniel2.jpg

BBBgetssmashed-1.jpg

givingittothepiechuckers.jpg

OnePunchDodd2edit.jpg

Anyne who reckons we don't have a rivalry with those pie chucking, chardonnay sipping, pill popping, arrogant, smug yuppie bastards needs to think again.

Really, its the only rivalry. We live next door, work in the same place, share the same pubs and clubs and go to the games against each other. Carlton and Port are two I like to beat but the Eagles are the only real rivals.

*And St Kilda for a third

is it just me or does it look more like the eagles players are crying with laughter:confused:(besides the last eagles)

it's just you sunshine. that was the best derby ever. west coast supporters pelted half eaten pies and coke bottles at josh. he baited you lot too well :)
oh, and we flogged west coast :D
Very memorable that the Carr Bros towelled up the golden boy Cuzz and the ump told Cuzz to stop whinging and get on with it :thumbsu: