Leigh Roy

Line-up which considers Carey and Stevens unavailable at this early stage.

B: Smart Bassett Edwards
HB: Hart McGregor Massie
C: Ricciuto Stenglein Burton
HF: John**** Perrie Burns
F: Ladhams Welsh Bode
R: Clarke McLeod Bickley

Int: Biglands Begley Gallagher Reilly

In: Perrie, Gallagher, Reilly

Out: Carey, Shirley, Torney

Now I'll admit this is a quick off the top of the head line-up, I'm not really keen on omitting both Shirley and Torney but after the past few weeks maybe Shirley could be dropped (stiff I agree) and perhaps bring in Gallagher. I am leaning towards Torney moreso because he doesn't seem to be over his flu yet, that or he must be plum tuckered out and needs/quite bloody well rightly deserves a rest.

Thoughts? Hopefully some Dockers people are on tonight.

Tell me how Reilly and Gallagher are going in the SANFL please!

The Sarge will come straight back in. However if Carey does not play I think we may be too short up forward.

Marsh is injured and did not play for Westies. Rutten and Hentschel were named as being in the best players for their sides.

Gallagher, Smith, Doughty and Schuback (5 goals) were also played well. Good to see that our SANFL players are doing OK, but we may need an extra big bloke.

Hentschel looked dangerous when he was sent up forward for the Eagles in the last quarter. Why is he being wasted in defence?

Rutten - did anyone see him play yesterday? If there is one bloke who needs to work with Craig and Charlie walsh on his pace it is this man. Could be a handy FF this week depending on Carey's injury with Ian playing CHF.

Jerome

Originally posted by Leigh
Line-up which considers Carey and Stevens unavailable at this early stage.

B: Smart Bassett Edwards
HB: Hart McGregor Massie
C: Ricciuto Stenglein Burton
HF: John**** Perrie Burns
F: Ladhams Welsh Bode
R: Clarke McLeod Bickley

Int: Biglands Begley Gallagher Reilly

In: Perrie, Gallagher, Reilly

Out: Carey, Shirley, Torney

My bet is that Carey won't play, which will leave us light on for 1 tall up forward. We'll just have to live with that , as the worst thing we could do is play someone who hasn't deserved a spot just because they're tall.

The only other change I would contemplate is Gallagher for Shirley, unless they have a special tagging task in mind for Shirley, which could well be Bell, Headland, or Hazelby. Stenglein will probably get Pavlich, which means that Shirley might still well be needed as a tagger.

My changes would be Perrie for Carey, and maybe Gallagher for Shirley.

Leigh here are the stats from Sunday Mail as to how players performed

South Adelaide

Michael Doughty: 31 possesions, 6 marks, 1 goal, 3 tackles

Aidan Parker: 21 possesions, 5 marks

Doughty and Parker were in best players

Norwood

James Gallagher: 21 possesions, 5 marks, 1 goal, 4 tackles

Michael Bratton: 7 possesions, 1 mark, 1 tackle

Gallagher was in best players

Woodville - West Torrens

Nathan Bock: 19 possesions, 4 marks, 1 tackle

Trent Hentschel: 23 possesion, 5 marks, 2 goals, 1 tackle

Hayden Skipworth: 27 possesions, 7 marks, 1 goal, 2 tackles

Hentshcel and Skipworth were in best players

West Adelaide

Ben Rutten: 14 possesions, 5 marks, 1 goal, 2 tackles

Jason Porplyzia: 20 possesions, 3 marks, 3 tackles

Rutten was in best players

Glenelg

Jacob Schuback: 11 possesions, 4 marks, 5 goals, 2 tackles

Schuback was in best players

Sturt

Brent Reilly: 20 possesions, 3 marks, 1 tackle

Martin Mattner: 27 possesions, 5 marks, 4 tackles

Ben Nelson: 29 possesions, 8 marks, 1 goal, 4 tackles

Matthew Smith: 22 possesions, 5 marks, 1 tackle

Mattner, Nelson and Smith were in best players

I would make only one change regardless of whether Carey comes up or not. If Carey recovers in time (Which I doubt very much) then I would pobably drop Shirley. Otherwise it would be Perrie in for Carey.

We have to improvise with one tall and hope that Perrie can repeat his performance from Geelong game and Welsh kicks another bag of 5 or so goals.

I only managed to watch 1st quarter of the Eagles Vs Centrals game yesterday and Hentschel was playing in the backlines but didn't do too much worth of notice. Obviously he has picked up in the other 3 quarters. I wouldn't be surprised if he gets a shot if Carey doesn't recover in time but I would not be in favour of this.

Dogga and Gags perhaps.

Again yes I know it'd be hard to let Torney go but just maybe....

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
I only managed to watch 1st quarter of the Eagles Vs Centrals game yesterday and Hentschel was playing in the backlines but didn't do too much worth of notice. Obviously he has picked up in the other 3 quarters. I wouldn't be surprised if he gets a shot if Carey doesn't recover in time but I would not be in favour of this.

I was the opposite to you Stiffy. I only saw the last quarter of that game. Hentschel and Bock swapped with Hentschel at CHF and Bock at CHB. They both played excellently in what is obviously their correct positions.

They won't be chosen though Stiffy.

Originally posted by macca23
I was the opposite to you Stiffy. I only saw the last quarter of that game. Hentschel and Bock swapped with Hentschel at CHF and Bock at CHB. They both played excellently in what is obviously their correct positions.

They won't be chosen though Stiffy.
The reason I think Hentschel might be a slight chance is because Ayers tends to pick him when no one expects him to.

Most of us thought that Hentschel would not be picked for Sydney game but he was. His form leading up to that was very good but most of us felt he was not ready for AFL just yet.

Then against Melbourne Henschel was stuggling with form leading up to that game. He managed to play a good game the previuos week at CHB and he got a chance against Melbourne.

Last week he was ordinary against Sturt but for some reason he was named as an emergency this week. This would suggest he is not far off. So I wouldn't be surprised if it happen but as I said because its an important game at Subiaco of all places I would be very reluctant to pick him this week.

If he can play another good game next week then I would consider blooding him and Reilly and / or possibly Schuback in a game against St. Kilda the following week.

Thoughts??????

South Adelaide

Michael Doughty: 31 possesions, 6 marks, 1 goal, 3 tackles

Aidan Parker: 21 possesions, 5 marks

Doughty and Parker were in best players

To add further, Dogga named in the top 3 best players. Just after Hall and Davis

If he can play another good game next week then I would consider blooding him and Reilly and / or possibly Schuback in a game against St. Kilda the following week.

Thoughts??????

Can't see any of the new boys playing again this year unless injury necessitates.

Good to see Schuback embarrass Rhen by kicking 5.2 against Westies - see Rhenny - he's not a B-grader as you thought, you numbskull.

Reilly's starting to get touch back, but next year will be his year (and Schuback's and Hentschel's)

Originally posted by macca23
Can't see any of the new boys playing again this year unless injury necessitates.

Good to see Schuback embarrass Rhen by kicking 5.2 against Westies - see Rhenny - he's not a B-grader as you thought, you numbskull.

Reilly's starting to get touch back, but next year will be his year (and Schuback's and Hentschel's)
Fair point.
I just thought with Bicks retiring at the end of the year it would be a good idea to give a bit more exposureto AFL footy to the likes of Reilly and Schuback.

In all honesty we should be at St. Kilda and giving Reilly a full game on the wing cannot hurt IMHO. Gives his a goo launching pad for next year.;)

I'm not saying Shirley should definitely go, in fact like I said I reckon Torney might go before he does.

Just a quick question, taking the best case scenarios, when can we have our injured players back this year? Bar Schell and Crowell as they're a year off of course.

I'm not saying Shirley should definitely go, in fact like I said I reckon Torney might go before he does.

Just a quick question, taking the best case scenarios, when can we have our injured players back this year? Bar Schell and Crowell as they're a year off of course.
Crowell is gone for the season
Schell has played last 2 games for Central reserves
Marsh is a week to week proposition
Carey will miss 1 IMHO
Stevens will miss another 4 or more (thanks to Marks-Girl:p )
Goodwin 4-6 weeks.

I think thats all of the injured players.

Why would you say that Torney might go. My mail is that they are "resting" him a bit through these games.;)

Crowell is gone for the season - 10-4 Roger duck

Schell has played last 2 games for Central reserves - ah ok

Marsh is a week to week proposition - righto

Carey will miss 1 IMHO - yeah I've been thinking that, on Nine they asked Doc Larkins about it and he said that due to it being his suspect knee he might need an anthroscopy on it again before the season's over to clean up another fluid build-up that'll occur because of the injury. Did he 'internally bruise' it?

Stevens will miss another 4 or more (thanks to Marks-Girl:p ) - Oh bugger

Goodwin 4-6 weeks. - a mishap occur?

I think thats all of the injured players.

Why would you say that Torney might go. My mail is that they are "resting" him a bit through these games.;) - Well I think he's been a bit down on form or he's having trouble with his flu. Where exactly are you getting your mail from? And don't say the postie....

Well okay, are they resting him until this weeks' game then? Or the finals? What else was in your mailbox?

EDIT: You're a smartarse by the way....

Well okay, are they resting him until this weeks' game then? Or the finals? What else was in your mailbox?
They feel that has played a lot of footy thisyear and the style of footy he plays takes a lot out of him. They know what he can do so they are giving the likes of Shirley and Massie more time to "prove" themselves. Its also got to do with match ups. I am not sure how long they will go on like this but I suspect that he will get more ground time soon;)

EDIT: You're a smartarse by the way....
Thanks Mate!!!!!!;) :p

Looking at the ladder its interesting to not that we statictically have the best defence in the AFL and 4th best Attack. Not bad for a team that hasn't had a settled forward line all season.

Fremantle have 8th best defence and 7th best attack.

Should be an interesting game.:)

The same old story this year. The 'replacements' so to speak end up going great and then there's a lot of pressure for that spot between the player who's been performing in that spot all year who's just out for a bit and the player who's come into that spot, who's also playing great footy at the same time.

I'm basically clueless about Freo, what are the big dangers they pose and who should we be looking out for excepting of course the famous likes of Pavlich, Bell, Medhurst, etc? As it's been said, Subiaco would be a great ground for us to play on wouldn't it?

Looking at the ladder its interesting to not that we statictically have the best defence in the AFL and 4th best Attack. Not bad for a team that hasn't had a settled forward line all season.

Fremantle have 8th best defence and 7th best attack.

Should be an interesting game.:)

The best % as well if I'm not mistaken. Dare to dream.....

As with the backline, I'm happy with Johncock becoming almost a clone of Edwards, now we do have two of Tyson like Ayres wanted, but Graham/Graeme has a few other positives to his name too!

Massie's been coming along nicely, as has been said.

Begley's showing flashes, hopefully he'll string a few good games together.

Torney, well of course he's been a great find.

Bassett's been excellent, Bickley's getting better with age, and Hart and Smart are holding down things nicely.

The same old story this year. The 'replacements' so to speak end up going great and then there's a lot of pressure for that spot between the player who's been performing in that spot all year who's just out for a bit and the player who's come into that spot, who's also playing great footy at the same time.

I'm basically clueless about Freo, what are the big dangers they pose and who should we be looking out for excepting of course the famous likes of Pavlich, Bell, Medhurst, etc? As it's been said, Subiaco would be a great ground for us to play on wouldn't it?
There is nothing like pressure for spots that keeps the side performing well.;) Pitty we haven't got that sort of competition when it comes to KPPs.

Lately we generally play Subiaco well. We need a 4 quarter effort thats for sure. Get of to a good start and take the crowd out of equation.

Pavlich, Haselby, Medhurst, Woods, Justin Longmuir, Headland etc are all players that can hurt you.

I suspect that Stenglein will get Pavlich if he plays a running role. If he lines up at CHF then I think Smart is the man.

I think McGregor will pick up Justin Longmuir, Edwards looks to be a perfect match up for Medhurst. We will tag one of their midfielders for sure. I suspect it would be Haselby.;)

They have some really good talent in that side especially talls. We need to play a cracker to win IMHO.