Apr 17, 2006
The Mighty Mongooses
I managed to get down to see the boys train again today. Here's a run down for those interested.....

Got to the ground about 9:15 and the boys were doing some basic drills in the middle with a few odd bods doing laps separate from the group. At about 9:30 the game started with the teams divided up as usual with 1 side wearing black and white and the other wearing the orange wizard tops. The full team seemed to be here today from what I could tell except for JA (he might have been watching from the sidelines) and Egan (who of course is playing tonight). At this stage something stood out in green and that was today they had fair dinkum umpires running around too. It'll be interesting to see how the push in the back rules is applied but more on that later on.

Those doing laps and not playing in the game - Josh, Dids, Goldsack, Dawes, James, Broadie, Presti, Harry, TRAVIS and DANE.
Josh looked very, very impressive and I actually asked how his fitness was as he walked by at one point. "Yeah mate, really solid." :thumbsu: I also asked Licca the same thing as he walked by and he replied "....just a little sore in the calf". Broadie was tearing up (RUNNING) the laps more than anyone and a few times hunched over on the fence right next to me so I asked how he was going? I thought he didn't hear so I asked again and he replied gasping for air "...not talking about footy today". Opps I felt a little silly because he was really pushing himself and just kept on going and going. He must be a bee's d1ck away from playing with the rest. Harry ran very well with Presti following. Harry's ankle must be going aright (was kicking earlier) and I'd say Presti is only out because of his hand. James was running flat out too. Dawes walked mainly but jogged a few laps (poor kid but he's gotta heal). Didn't really see Dids or Goldsack jog but didn't think much of it. Travis was a surprise though and looked like he was having a day off? He jogged laps, didn't seem injured in anyway and he played last week so I dunno what the story was. I wasn't worried though. Dane was also doing laps at the start when I first arrived but didn't get the impressive he was injured either.

Now back to the game. The match finished about 11 and there were 3 quarters. The players did the usual thing in swapping tops and posies every so often so it’s hard to spot sometimes who is who. Bucks probably got best on ground kicking a lazy 5 :rolleyes: running from the forward flanks, pockets or in the corridor. After he kicked his 5th in the 3rd quarter one of the funniest and strangest things I think I've ever seen on a footy field happened - he went into the ruck against Richards. LOL. The game was about to finish and it was only for 1 ball up (basically body on body).
IMO others of note - Heater, Dales, Rhyce bobbed up, Johno, Pends making himself known, Davies finds the pill thou his kicking really let him down, Wakes showing great leadership, Maxwell and Medhurst - yes Medhurst. He spotted a few players well, kicks great for goal in the warm up and almost took a classic hanger over Scotty Burns. Knees on his shoulders, 2 hands on the pill and it was awarded in the back because he didn't hold it - more on that later. Medhurst really should be playing foward, feeding and kicking goals. Reid and Brown moved around from forward lines to the middle with Brown rucking at one point. Come to think of it Bryan might not have been there? (not 100% sure)

But 3 players impressed me the most. (1) Richards - rucked well and although it wasn't heavy stuff he looked confident. He also moved well, filled spots were a tall was needed and even showed the ball once, selling it well before handballing it on. He's not the best of marks so when he fills a hole we need someone at his feet. (2) Daniel Nicholls - smaller than most but wow! Nippy, finds it well, moves into positions and what a beautiful kick. A lot of quick goals in the future will come with him breaking from the centre from a ball up and kicking straight to a leading foward. I reckon D1ck can do this too but Danny is a centerman for sure. :thumbsu: (3) Sam Iles - welcome to putting yourself into the 22 young man. Carries the ball very well, really good kick, strong in the body, quite tall for a running backmen and seems to have a nature talent of always thinking of multiple options when his got the ball. :thumbsu:

The umpiring - geez this in the back new rule has the potential of causing the most commotion of anything new introduced by the AFL. If I could take Medbursts hanger an example, it was all ball, no hands on the back, 2 hands on the pill and because he didn't hold it he was disadvantaged by giving away the free. This happen directly in front of me and even Travis as he jogged by said "Rubbish". You take away players going for a mark like this and you're taking away one of the most unique talents of any sport in the world. We'll have to wait and see what happens in tonight's match with The Bombers vs All Stars to really see how it effects a full on game. (ABC2 8:30pm live around Australia for those outside NT for those that didn't know)
Funnierly enough to my left watching the game was David King and another Richmond gentlemen watching the game obviously taking notes. They had binoculars and an A4 booklet on what I guess were Collingwood's list. Jade Rawlings turned up for the 3rd quarter and after the game asked them how the umpiring was. They mentioned 5 real shockers and I'm certain they were referring to the new rule. This is really all I heard from the tiger spies. ;)

Anyway ... would appreciate views from others that attended. GO PIES!!!

Nice writeup mate :thumbsu:. I'm assuming Swan didn't play also? And how did Ben Johnson and Brad ******** go? So Richards convincingly beat Bryan in the ruck?

Nicholls is definitely a goer, would be very surprised if he wasn't promoted at the end of the year.

Outstanding! :thumbsu:

You seem to echo a few observations from Hotrod's board, especially re. Nicholls and Iles.

Nicho is a midget, but that really only takes out contested overhead situations. He's the same height as Shane Crawford, who gets by brilliantly without having to worry about this aspect of his game. In an era where clubs seem to demand a do it all Embley/Pendlebury type, you can forget the fact that not everyone needs to be complete packages. As for the rest of the package, he's a ball magnet, a fantastic kick and has plenty of zip and athleticism.

Good too see Richards playing well, even if he had no genuine competition. He was so bad the last time I saw him, I'd have backed Leon to beat him!

Thanks heaps for that 3066, Another great review.
Great to hear Richards is doing really well in the ruck, will help out Fraser very much so Fraser can push down into the forward line.
I hope than Clokey and Swan are ok, hopefully no injuries and just having an easy session today.
I am hoping to watch the Bombers v AllStars match tonight, will be good to see how Egan goes, I would love to see him do well this season.
Sam Iles is another one that I am very happy to hear is doing well, I havn't heard much about him this year so good to hear he is doing well and hopefully he can get himself a few games this season.
haha, Thats funny that they put Bucks into the ruck against Richards, how did he go? I bet he kbeat him, yet another position he can play.
Also good to hear Dawes was out there even if he was just walking it would of been good to see him out there on the track.
Anyway enough from me, Thanks again 3066

So Richards convincingly beat Bryan in the ruck?
Bryan hasn't yet joined the main group in training. Richards' main opponent was first year player Ben Reid, so he had no genuine opposition. Still, at least he's injury free (touch wood) and can maybe realise his full potential. Whether that's good enough remains to be seen.

I didn't attend; just going on other reports.

Bryan hasn't yet joined the main group in training. Richards' main opponent was first year player Ben Reid, so he had no genuine opposition. Still, at least he's injury free (touch wood) and can maybe realise his full potential. Whether that's good enough remains to be seen.

I didn't attend; just going on other reports.

hey FIGJAM, you got a link to these other reports? Cheers.

Odd that you mention that about the "hands in the back" rule, because the change in rule didn't actually change anything about the person leaping for a mark.

It was always the case that a free kick would be awarded if you didn't get hands on the ball, but that if you touched the ball, it was all good. I'm not sure that this is suppose to have changed with the new rule interpretation.

It was probably just an example of bad umpiring, moreso than an example of the new rule.

Odd that you mention that about the "hands in the back" rule, because the change in rule didn't actually change anything about the person leaping for a mark.

It was always the case that a free kick would be awarded if you didn't get hands on the ball, but that if you touched the ball, it was all good. I'm not sure that this is suppose to have changed with the new rule interpretation.

It was probably just an example of bad umpiring, moreso than an example of the new rule.

Are you an advocate of the new rule vinnie?? Not sure if you heard scotty burns on sen the other day and he said it is a total shocker. Said they have had umps down at training and the slightest touch of hands in the back they will pay. Basically if a player is in front and forces himself back on you the only thing you can to is put your hands by your side and hope for the best.

The way I see it is that we will either see a stack more free kicks per game or players falling over because they are not allowed to balance themselves.

I must say I am yet to find a footy fan who thinks this rule is a good idea which makes me wonder why it has been brought in

Yes you're right and probably a hard example to write down but my gut feeling was the umpire made the decision in the back because they've been instructed to look for in the back re: the new rule. Sure it's meant to be "hands" but I reckon they've gotta be touchy looking for anything happening to the back. I'll agree and put it down to a bad call but can not help but think if this rule wasn't in then it would have been taken as an honest attempt and wouldn't have entered in his mind. That's why it'll be interesting to see how it pans out. ( The umpire was in front of me and it was a clear view. )

Nice writeup mate :thumbsu:. I'm assuming Swan didn't play also? And how did Ben Johnson and Brad ******** go? So Richards convincingly beat Bryan in the ruck?

Nicholls is definitely a goer, would be very surprised if he wasn't promoted at the end of the year.

Yep Dane didn't play. Johno was running around doing good work. Brad I thought played better last week but still rather impressive. He'll play the NAB games and every chance to play seniors. My guess - MM will play him for his 1st senior game on ANZAC day. :D AND ... he'll kick 4.1 but Dales will get best on ground by kicking 6.2 and mark of the year over James Hird. Collingwood wins by 56 points. (I love my time machine;) )

haha, Thats funny that they put Bucks into the ruck against Richards, how did he go? I bet he kbeat him, yet another position he can play.

Well it was kind of Bucks went into the centre himself after he kicked the goal. I thought he was simply going for a run in the middle when I noticed he was standing on the other side of Guy. I tried to spot who was going up and thought "hang on Bucks is standing pretty close to the umpire isn't he? hang on? he's not is he? he is!" :D It was body on body and Guy just tapped it.

hahaha, thats great. :D

Are you an advocate of the new rule vinnie?? Not sure if you heard scotty burns on sen the other day and he said it is a total shocker. Said they have had umps down at training and the slightest touch of hands in the back they will pay. Basically if a player is in front and forces himself back on you the only thing you can to is put your hands by your side and hope for the best.

The way I see it is that we will either see a stack more free kicks per game or players falling over because they are not allowed to balance themselves.

I must say I am yet to find a footy fan who thinks this rule is a good idea which makes me wonder why it has been brought in
Not a fan at all - It's a misguided attempt by the AFL to create bigger scores, but in reality nobody likes seeing goals from free kicks.

However, like the "chopping the arms" rule, I'm sure that it will be terrible for the first 5-6 weeks of the season, at which point the umpires will take it upon themselves to correct the decisions so that they are nowhere near as extreme.

Not a fan at all - It's a misguided attempt by the AFL to create bigger scores, but in reality nobody likes seeing goals from free kicks.

However, like the "chopping the arms" rule, I'm sure that it will be terrible for the first 5-6 weeks of the season, at which point the umpires will take it upon themselves to correct the decisions so that they are nowhere near as extreme.

No worries

And agreed about the afl. I think they fail to understand is the what fans actually want to see is good one on one contests.

Great report 3066.
For those of you that don't know, I'm pretty sure Holland doesn't have an injury but he is having a modified pre-season so he is in prime shape for his return. He is effectively starting the pre-season late.

Very shrewd tactic by Collingwood. Definitely the right thing to do IMO.

Great to hear about Nicholls. I love this kid, thought he shoulda be promoted this year, but now its only a matter of time. Really got high hopes of him here, and everything 3066 said here backs up what i've seen too.

Good to hear about Iles, especially after what I said in another thread :p Not a big fan, but its always good to hear :)

Good report 3066, much appreciated. I'd like to hear your comments on our forward line in general after seeing the match. How do you think we shape up? I personally believe, and from the sounds of the report, Bucks is going to be a big part of it. Besides him though, are the Clokes, Ruslings, Davis', Medhursts, Roccas going to be enough for us?

I see our forward line as being a bit of a problem, but if Davis, and the two young blokes in Rus and Cloke are able to step up, its a different story. Big ask for two kids and an recently injured/inconsistent player.

I'd like to hear your comments on our forward line in general after seeing the match. How do you think we shape up? I personally believe, and from the sounds of the report, Bucks is going to be a big part of it. Besides him though, are the Clokes, Ruslings, Davis', Medhursts, Roccas going to be enough for us?
quote]

It's actually a bit hard to directly see how the foward line will go from the practice match because they're not at the one end all firing together. eg. Rocca and Bucks was down the end I was near and Rus down the other. Again there was lots of rotations too of other players so no real structure was available to be seen for the fairdinkum season. Individually though you can see how players are travelling and yes Bucks should really be a big part of the forward line structure. The whole footy world knows what a beautiful kick he is and oh yeah he knows a few things other things too.;) We've also reached the point we've got alot of players we can rotate though our core that Bucks can spend the majority of his time up forward which will prolong his career.
Travis will be stepping up this year and I'll be putting money on it. Rus looks fit and is a perfect Tarrant replacement as a fast leading forward. He won't be running up to the wing like Taz did but doesn't need to either. We need him taking kicks at goals not a player running up the ground to get a kick. Medhurst I'm happy to say from the practice match will be a nice injection into the forward line and I really can't see why he would be in the middle unless to pitch hit every now and again (like Bucks may). But please keep him in the forward line as he'll be more worth.
Davis and not forgetting Daisy should also be firing too which I'll put money on. But these type of players will also see a good amount of time on ball where needed too. Egan WILL be stepping up and I think I've just broken my piggy bank. :D There's others on the list that will see forward time but now it's time for my thoughts on the big fella.
I love Rocca, he's truly awesome and there's no doubt when he is firing the opposition crap themselves. He's a mountain of a man and he's looking really fit and healthy :thumbsu: .... but ...... from the 2 practice matches I've seen this year I'm not sold as yet. There's something just not clicking with him as yet and I can't wait to see him kicking bags like we know he can. If I was to have a little pick it would be that he seems to drift down too much for my liking and he simply doesn't have the leg spead to get back into position if there's a turn over. But all up he really does look impressive and we need him so much. GO PEBS! and GO PIES!!!

Friday 9th Feb - Practice match