Injury Fyfe- Shoulder Dislocation

• Thread starter Thread starter Wharf

Does anyone know why they even bother with surgery? It doesn't fix anything and the shoulder is almost guaranteed to pop out again and require more surgery. Ibbotson has had more reco's then I can count and his shoulder still keeps popping out.

Mate the surgery fixes a lot! I have had 6 dislocations in both shoulders, but only reco'd the right one. It feels great now, whereas the left feels like it will pop out when I roll over in bed sometimes.

Surgery definitely helps. Will never be the same as an unpopped shoulder but it helps a lot.

If they don't fix it now...could almost guarantee it'll pop out again this year. Sucks because he's such a gun, just need to bite the bullet tbh

Such a shame to see, even worse when the it comes from a bump from that spud of a footballer Goose Maguire.

Whether its surgery or not, hopefully they fix him up so we can get back to seeing his silkiness and contested marking.

Fingers crossed ,hopefully fyfe is able to manage it and play the season out.If he (fyfe) does have a shoulder-reco, who do we elevate off the rookie list?

I'd pick spurr.Would hopefully slot straight in and be apart of our midfield rotations

Fingers crossed ,hopefully fyfe is able to manage it and play the season out.If he (fyfe) does have a shoulder-reco, who do we elevate off the rookie list?

I'd pick spurr.Would hopefully slot straight in and be apart of our midfield rotations

You may be right regarding Spurr, but I would be disappointed if Neale and Pitt weren't ahead of Spurr for inclusion. The other player who could be used is Roberton with his good wafl form.

From the rookie list the dilemma for me is that Menagola is showing something, and offers something quite different to Spurr. IF we have another LTI I would hold off until we know exactly what type of player we need.

Just look at how bad Porplysias shoulder was... Its worth fixing properly.

His shoulder was popping out from doing every day tasks like opening a cupboard or fridge, and it was popping out a few times a game too. Im not sure what they did in the off season but in 2011 he lasted 5 mins. This time they did a full reconstruction and so far this year he hasnt had any problems

Have we put Michie on the LTI list yet? Or is that who Pearce came in for?

Pearce came in for Michie, i'd like to upgrade Spurr or Menengola if Fyfe goes on LTI list. I hope he is ok.

On WAFL form Roberton is definitley ahead of any rookie. Neale may well be ready to play AFL as well.

The more I read the more liklley im thinking bad news. Lyon wouldn't have been talking season ending, plenty of worried tweets from team mates as well.

Possiblity that Fyfe could be managed through the season him playing at 70% is handy, but if it pops out regularly in the 1st or 2nd quarter and need to sub it puts too much pressure on the other 20 blokes out there. Every opposition coaches standard instruction would be to target that shoulder.

Get him to the best surgeon in the world, get it fixed. Local doc didn't get it fixed in the off season. Worse case it gets sorted and misses the year. Best case he's ready for rnd 21 and the finals to step in.

Mate the surgery fixes a lot! I have had 6 dislocations in both shoulders, but only reco'd the right one. It feels great now, whereas the left feels like it will pop out when I roll over in bed sometimes.

Surgery definitely helps. Will never be the same as an unpopped shoulder but it helps a lot.

If they don't fix it now...could almost guarantee it'll pop out again this year. Sucks because he's such a gun, just need to bite the bullet tbh

Fair enough, but did you play a high grade of Footy with your shoulders. He already had his shoulder recostructed and it has popped out in round 3. And in the games prior he has already been restricted and lost his ability to take awesome contested marks. It sucks but the damage is already done. I hope another reco fixes the problem but I am not holding my breath.

judd had a couple of shoulder recos before he was even drafted wasn't he? tweaked it earlier this year, but it can be managed.

Judd had like two reco's before he was drafted. I'm sceptical because Ibbo has had loads of reco's and it hasn't helped him at all. He pops it out almost every year. Fyfe just had one and it has come undone in round 3. Maybe the problem is who we send them to.

I had trouble with my shoulder after running into a door frame, there isn't a way to tell that story without sounding like an idiot.

The joint used to bounce while I ran, that's how I would describe it anyway. The physio at the club put me onto a targeted weights program build the muscles in the back and over the joint, gained some size there and the problem is gone.

If Fyfe's shoulders can get a bit bigger and it doesn't compromise his running game, I'd be happy to see him get a reconstruction and then spend the rest of the year in the gym and turn into a Scott Thompson looking monster.

If it's just a casual pop out, if there is such a thing, and there's no damage other than a bit of over stretched ligaments then I think he should play through it, work through some physio during the weeks between and put it out of his mind.

Its the tearing of the connective tissue between the humerous and the capsule that is the issue more than ligaments stretching. reconstruction basically reattaches the joint using hooks and surgical thread instead of connective tissue.

The building up of the muscle theory is sound...a good muscle mass around the shoulder definitely stabalizes it. not as good as a reco though.

Yakka I did mine surfing multiple times. sorta similar to how footy players do it, falling awkwardly after a wipeout and hyperextending it. weight of water pushing you down exacerbates things. do it once and loosen it, and just grabbing the face of a wave(similar to tackling) can pull it out

I had trouble with my shoulder after running into a door frame, there isn't a way to tell that story without sounding like an idiot.

The joint used to bounce while I ran, that's how I would describe it anyway. The physio at the club put me onto a targeted weights program build the muscles in the back and over the joint, gained some size there and the problem is gone.

If Fyfe's shoulders can get a bit bigger and it doesn't compromise his running game, I'd be happy to see him get a reconstruction and then spend the rest of the year in the gym and turn into a Scott Thompson looking monster.

If it's just a casual pop out, if there is such a thing, and there's no damage other than a bit of over stretched ligaments then I think he should play through it, work through some physio during the weeks between and put it out of his mind.

Get the reco then get his dwight howard on.