Game Plan anyone?

• Thread starter Thread starter samm

I have been listening and reading to what people are saying here and also on saintsational, and it seems that the majority are saying that the saints had no game plan.

I wasn't able to get to the game on saturday, so what i would like to know is.. was there a game plan? is thomas a good coach or just all tak, or do we have to wait a few games. i do not expect stkilda to win the next two games so it is going to be difficult.!

what do you think

I am not a huge fan of Thomas and his tactical approach to games. I think we have been listening to his positive sh*t for too long. If we are going to gain the respect of the competition and survive in the future then we need action. I know it is only Round 1 and it can not be taken as a true indication of how the season will turn out (eg. we have won our last two opening rounds in recent years but finished 15th both times).

There was absolutely no indication of a decisive game plan last Saturday. We relied on bombing the ball long to Riewoldt, and if he didn't mark it then we hoped Milne would clean up the crumbs. Riewoldt was well held and when Milne dissapeared we had no avenue to goal. When we take risks and play direct footy we can be dangerous, but there still seems to be now pattern in the way we play. When under pressure we resort to a short kicking style of plan which is so frustrating as we do not have enough players will the skill or composure to make this plan effective.

Time will tell whether we can improve as the season goes on. There is no doubt there was some positives, but the most dissapointing thing was that we also had the same problems that have hurt us in recent seasons. We still have some important players to come back and all the guys will improve on match fitness as the season wears on. However, if we are to aim for the finals, bug improvements will have to be made. GT, the pressure is on you.

Just face it while you have that clown coaching your team you will never move forward.

The stkilda game plan is Zig Zag and we already no that dosent work.

Now thinking if you had a descent coach the same thing would happen because when the tough get going the saints go backwards.

The smiling Assassin

1. Kick the ball thru the big sticks.
2. If you aint got the ball get it first.
3. Keep doing one more than your opponents.

But all bullsh*t aside; goodluck to the Mighty Saints this weekend, may the best team kick some butt.

I am not sure if the modern game is phasing out the true full forward, but it seems to be less reliant on that structure.

Have a look at the teams which still have the Hudson style marking forward.

I focussed my attention on Essendon. The bomber forwards work together to maximise Lloyd's effectiveness. They do this in several different ways, but against Brisbane last week, they would bunch up together near the point of the square and form a line almost one in front of the other. Then one or more forwards would lead away from this line. Lloyd would take advantage of the disarray and lead. A pinpoint pass to the area he was leading to would be given. It is usually a low trajectory fast kick to Lloyd's advantage that gives him the ball.

Other times Lloyd is on a one on one situation where the pass is made to his positional advantage. On the rare occasion that he is forced into a pack situation he has a bomber act as a foil to protect him or as a ladder to ride up

We can learn from them.

Originally posted by vergs
I am not a huge fan of Thomas and his tactical approach to games. GT, the pressure is on you.
Agree with this vergs. You guys have a lot of talent, but appeared to be out coached by a rookie coach.

It appeared to me (from vision, not live), that you had a lot of immature bodies compared to us (North). Is that right? If that`s the case, you really missed Hamill and Kosi to help bring others into the play more than we missed Arch. When you get them back, I`d expect to see more confidence in your general play. That still doesn`t explain what your gameplan is to me, but I`m just trying to find some positives for Saints fans.

Ball looks good and I was surprised that he didn`t get more gametime. At least he was finding the ball and appeared to be using it ok. Clarke was awesome on Harding and looks a find. As a footy fan, it was great to see Harvey side stepping around players like only he can and he`ll only get better. All the best for next week.

Originally posted by Dingster
Agree with this vergs. You guys have a lot of talent, but appeared to be out coached by a rookie coach.

It appeared to me (from vision, not live), that you had a lot of immature bodies compared to us (North). Is that right? If that`s the case, you really missed Hamill and Kosi to help bring others into the play more than we missed Arch. When you get them back, I`d expect to see more confidence in your general play. That still doesn`t explain what your gameplan is to me, but I`m just trying to find some positives for Saints fans.

Ball looks good and I was surprised that he didn`t get more gametime. At least he was finding the ball and appeared to be using it ok. Clarke was awesome on Harding and looks a find. As a footy fan, it was great to see Harvey side stepping around players like only he can and he`ll only get better. All the best for next week.

Definately missed Hamill's presence as well as Lawrence. These two are our hardest players and are so vital to our side. Kosi is still not very matured but his versatility would have been very handy. Ball looked very composed and well skilled, and it was good to see Clarke come of age and show his immense talent. Harvey has had a good preseason and gave Voss a lesson in a practice match against Brisbane. If he can remain injury free then he will still cause a lot of trouble. There are signs of improvement there, but we must make a good start to the season or else GT will be running out of time.

Originally posted by Dingster

Can't agree with the Thomas assessment.

Perhaps the players were underdone as both Thommo and Laidley made mention of after the game but I still have question marks on the mental toughness of the group.

It's far too easy to blame Grant, if people continually blame him for our poor results then it doesn't make the players accountable and they'll continually get overrun as the games go on.

I've yet to see Grant Thomas coach a full strength St Kilda side and he deserves every chance to do that. Only then will any of us be in a position to judge his coaching ability.

Originally posted by sainter
Can't agree with the Thomas assessment.

I've yet to see Grant Thomas coach a full strength St Kilda side and he deserves every chance to do that. Only then will any of us be in a position to judge his coaching ability.
No worries sainter. Hope for the Saints sake that I`m wrong. I`d love to see the Roos, Doggies and Saints all in the eight.

Thomas will be better placed if you get a full side in, but I don`t think a good coach relies on that. When Milne was cutting up Makey, Laids moved Rawlings onto him and he never got a sniff. For us, Grant appeared to do as he wanted after half time. King and Harvey also ran through the middle unopposed. When started to get on top in the third quarter, I think that he could have tightened up the midfield.

Also with Riewoldt well held and clearly frustrated, he could have given him a run at CHB to get a few easy possies and get some confidence up. Maybe put Brooks who was cooling his behind off on the bench at FF. He might not take a grab, but he would provide a contest and maybe get Milne back into the game.

Just some thoughts from an outsider. Cheers.

Gee vergs I reckon your a bit harsh on GT As has been stated he hasnt had a full list to coach so hey give the guy a go We really need to be satble at this point and not want to get rid of another coach The players do have to start to be accountable