Turtleman3

On Saturday I will go to the football. First I will stand in my old spot in front of EJ Whitten Stand. I will watch Werribee Vs Box Hill. I will take two bob to give to Libba as he obviously needs the cash due to his LSL claim.
Have a few drinks to get primed for the mailn game. watch and abuse!!!!!!
After that I will go to The Albert Hotel. I will get my Fish 'n' Chips from the shop across the road as I have a few more beverages and dissect the footy.
Then I will go home to watch the Wizard Cup Grand Final ready to abuse some more.
It will be like the good old days and I will go to bed totally content as I would have got a lot off my chest and for a brief moment would have relived the good old days and remember what I have lost.

Anyone else have such grandiose plans for their Saturday!!!

Yes Turtleman, Memories! Here is mine.

Dad and I jump in the car around 10.30 from Craigieburn and listen to the footy on the radio. Search for a park in the side streets. Dad's frustuation starts. He calms for 15 minutes when we order our hamburgers with the lot from the fav fish and chip shop. Walk into the ground and dad does his usual line of how much for a record? "Too much, thats how much"
Pick our spot next to the umpires race under the EG Whitten stand, 50 metre mark, barkly st end. Used to be the Hawkins wing side until mum said no more beer at the footy if your taking Scott. Watched the reserves and comment how Goenawagon or Mark Cullen are dominating. Geez that Balantyne can kick the ball long dad he'll make it. Nah he won't!
Seniors start and so does my dad. I think he must let his frustuation out at the footy cause over the year he has bagged everybody from the coach to the boot studder! The two players my dad hated was "Wigney your an idiot" and "run Atkins run". Most of the time his banter is quite funny yet on many occasions fellow supporters have ripped into him. He even told his favourite all time doggie player "Peter Foster' after his comeback from broken leg mind you, "to get a wheelchair" and "to come sit next to me Fossie and we'll have a beer"
If we one I would run on the ground and always go straight for Dougie Hawkins. If we lost the siren would go as we were walking to the car. Its funny how much slower dad would drive home if we won listening to the radio. Saturday nights at our house were a week by week proposition.
Bring on Saturday.

Originally posted by stefoid
Yes, Greg Dear has a lot to answer for.

Dougie also did his knee v. the Hawks?

Grrrrrrrrr

Paul Dear who tripped up Foster

and Hawkins did his knee v Collingwood falling over Tony Shaw I think it was.

Now I'm starting to cry.

We always got a good car park, my Grandfather was GM of the foundry in Geelong Rd.

Standing on the esky behind the goals at the Geelong Rd end (got a really good view of the fights from there).

Every week Dad would say "Geez, Quinlan's a beauty - he'll captain us one day". Ten minutes later "Bloody hell, Quinlan - put in".

Dad telling Ian Salmon to get back in his can.

Running on the ground for autographs and getting Garry Dempseys every other week. Having a kick with Dad until it was dark (only when we won - otherwise Dad had the s****).

Checking the red section of the Herald for the scores of the other games.

KFC for dinner and the pink "Sporting Globe".

Punching up my sister for wanting to watch Young Talent Time when the replay was on (Mum always took her side).

Originally posted by Turtleman3
On Saturday I will go to the football. First I will stand in my old spot in front of EJ Whitten Stand. I will watch Werribee Vs Box Hill. I will take two bob to give to Libba as he obviously needs the cash due to his LSL claim.
After that I will go to The Albert Hotel. I will get my Fish 'n' Chips from the shop across the road as I have a few more beverages and dissect the footy.
Then I will go home to watch the Wizard Cup Grand Final ready to abuse some more.
It will be like the good old days and I will go to bed totally content as I would have got a lot off my chest and for a brief moment would have relived the good old days and remember what I have lost.

Love your work Turtleman
I will walk to the ground at 12pm, watch the second half of the VFL game, I will also offer Liberatore a few coins in his time of need, have a few beers and prepare myself for the main game against the premiers.
I look forward to catching up with the guys and analysing the performances of our so called young guns.
I will also practise abusing the umpire. No time for the Albert on the way home, going out on Saturday night.

What do I want from the game?
I want to see some different names in the best players column.
Darcy, Brown, Grant, Johnson, I know what these guys are capable of doing, I want to see the young guns show something 2 weeks before the season begins.

Re: Re: game

Originally posted by SCRAY72
Darcy, Brown, Grant, Johnson, I know what these guys are capable of doing, I want to see the young guns show something 2 weeks before the season begins.

I reckon it wouldn't hurt to rest Brown, Johnno and West this week. They have a big workload in store this year. We know what they can do. Lets see if these young pop guns can step up in their absence and see if they can really fire.

Darcy needs the run and Grant needs as much time as he can get settling in as the defence general.

Re: Re: Re: game

Originally posted by The Doctor
I reckon it wouldn't hurt to rest Brown, Johnno and West this week. They have a big workload in store this year. We know what they can do. Lets see if these young pop guns can step up in their absence and see if they can really fire.

Darcy needs the run and Grant needs as much time as he can get settling in as the defence general.

I am sure Brisbane will be resting a few as well. I would play Brown, Johnson and West because the game is at WO and there will be supporters there to see them play but I would only play them for two quarters each.

Re: Re: Re: Re: game

Originally posted by SCRAY72
I am sure Brisbane will be resting a few as well. I would play Brown, Johnson and West because the game is at WO and there will be supporters there to see them play but I would only play them for two quarters each.

yep, fair point

Originally posted by Turtleman3

Pop into the Buckingham Hotel and have a pot for me!