bigcatman

just watching the replay of the grand final did any else notice the umpire warning gardiner not to raise his knee to attempt to give brad ottens a corky.it was a low act by a low person.

Yep, and if you listen closely he warns him again a few minutes later when they are on the other side of the oval wrestling the ball on the ground.

So it sounds as if he attempted it a few times.

I noticed this on the replay, I don't reckon it has got the negative attention that the low act deserved. Milburn is getting called a dog on the main board for disagreeing with an umpire, imagine if he had went up and tried the same thing on Riewoldt's dodgy knee :eek:

Bloke on radio said Baker was throwing his knee at SJ's hip too behind play. Classic Baker that.

Alot of low acts by the Saints on GF day, a pity that very little has been focused on afterwards. I guess it conflicts with the fairytale image of this saints team.

The staging for free kicks was funny too. I know that people criticise Stevie J for doing it, but it seemed the Saints small forwards were trying for 50m's every time a geelong player brushed against them. I guess that they were obviously unable to kick goals from anywhere but right in front.

You expect a lot of physicality and pushing of the boundaries on GF day and i love it, but Gardiner's 'tactics' went too far.

It was nothing short of a cynical, cheap, orchestrated and cowardly attempt to injure a superior footballer and it should be punished appropriately.

BTW Given Gardiner's record in GF's it's somewhat understandable that he'd feel the need to resort to such pathetic actions to make an impact.

I'll refrain from taking potshots at the saints during their period of pain but trying to deliberately cause injury to an opponent to win a game is a low act and sadly Gardiner did have some history of that when he was at West Coast.

I wouldn't tar the whole team that way though, most of them a good honest players.

The great thing about our win was the integrity we showed throughout. We showed we are the better side in so many ways. We could easily have tried to exploit Nick Riewoldt's knee problem, but when it came down to it, we relied on actually concentrating on playing footy instead of looking to injure someone and there's no more effective way to play the game.

The rest of the football world are in awe of our club. :thumbsu:

It is a Grand Final, win at any cost. If you guys were 5 goals down and Joel Selwood or Corey Engright thought something needed to be done in a Matthew Lloyd/Brad Sewell manner, would they be dirty snipers? I dont say it is the right thing to do but in the final dance, you dont get medals and the tag premiers for being bridesmaids.

If Ottens went down, it would have been Blake number one Hawkins number two, Ottens was far to good on the day, so St. Kilda may have seen him as most saw Nick Riewoldt, as for Stevie J, see Brown in 04, a super player capable of turning a match is less than 100% test him out.

Time and time again players try dirty tough man tactics on geelong and time and time again the team losers and the players look like knobs. It is expected from Baker, but was surprised with Gardiner. Trying to knee someone in a contest is a dog act.

Also academy awards to Milne and Schneider for their lame attempts to get 50m penalties. Dal Santos wasn't much better, but he was no doubt held and pushed by Ling most of the day so he deserved one if not more.

Come on all. The cats are a great team. Don't degrade their efforts to win their second over us on Saturday by resorting to this "low act", "dog" comments and so on :confused:.

You are cheapening what was an honest and tough win against what I thought was an honest and tough opponent in us on the weekend. It's funny how no one else on the planet saw these things and the first I see it is in comments on here.

The cats are better than that. Celebrate your win over a heartbroken opposition, don't get bitter about things that never happened.

Well done Cats.:thumbsu:

agreed with above, was top game, two great rivals and we should be highlighting great things, like the fact my mate was one of the lucky 10 to be ejected... apart from this what class our 2 teams have and if we dont win i hope the saints can.

Come on all. The cats are a great team. Don't degrade their efforts to win their second over us on Saturday by resorting to this "low act", "dog" comments and so on :confused:.

You are cheapening what was an honest and tough win against what I thought was an honest and tough opponent in us on the weekend. It's funny how no one else on the planet saw these things and the first I see it is in comments on here.

The cats are better than that. Celebrate your win over a heartbroken opposition, don't get bitter about things that never happened.

No-one except the umpire, and the millions of people watching the game on TV who saw the replay of said incident. :rolleyes:

Umpire saw it, awarded a free against Gardiner for it along with the warning. I'd suggest you watch the replay, but... hehehe.

. Celebrate your win over a heartbroken opposition, don't get bitter about things that never happened.

Ill assume you didn't see the footage? Clear knee into otto's hamstring. Got warned twice. Dog act.

That being said, it was a great tough games and both teams should be congratulated!

No-one except the umpire, and the millions of people watching the game on TV who saw the replay of said incident. :rolleyes:

Really? I guess no one saw fit to mention it except the team that should be celebrating then. The replay was something I'll never see, watching once live was enough when you lose.

Get on with celebrating. The cats play hard too, don't think they are perfect.

Really? I guess no one saw fit to mention it except the team that should be celebrating then. The replay was something I'll never see, watching once live was enough when you lose.

Get on with celebrating. The cats play hard too, don't think they are perfect.

Was watching the DVD a couple of times today. The umpire and commentators on both K-Rock and MMM mentioned it. Will check in the next few days if the commentators on SEN mentioned it too in the next day or so and get back to you. :p

Enjoy your win. Don't risk the karma and embarass your club by doing anything of the sort. Forget the negatives and enjoy the positives. Be humble. Or be immature and generate the bad karma for yourself against a well wisher. Your choice.

Again, well done cats.