Kegs44

I could rant and rave about how we were pathetic yesterday but just wanted to point out how good this bloke was. Didnt stop trying all day, ran ran ran, only bloke who looked like he really wanted it and only one who was going to spark anything. I am so glad he is on our team or we might be struggling, I just hope we dont lert this bloke down by going downhill from now!

Selwood, Ling, Scarlett and Jesus.

They weren't enough to get over the Hawks. Where was everyone else?

Gary Ablett Jnr, Superstar

Gary Ablett = Superstar + Premiership Player... No one can ever take last year away from you, Gazza! Chin up, 2009 will see you avenge this season's heartbreak.:thumbsu:

I feel sorry that Gaz has to play with this bunch of pea-hearts. He deserves better. Absolute tragedy that blokes like Varcoe, Lonergan, Stokes can even run out on the same field as him.

i feel quite sorry for Gaz. He's under so much pressure and has been throughout his whole career and has just kept delivering the goods. Id say he's exceeded all of our expectations easily. He himself deserved a premiership medal yesterday (one of the only ones). Even the brownlow; he pretty much should/could easily have 2 brownlow medals under his belt as well. For a 24? year old he could be so much more of a decorated player than he is with his single premiership (which is still good mind you). He's the heart and soul of the club and ive got so much respect for him. Is he our next captain or is Selwood?
cant say enough about selwood either, absolute legend. Brendan Mcartney took our team for training last year and labelled selwood as the number 1 hardest worker at geelong and it shows..

Re: Gary Ablett Jnr, Superstar

Gary Ablett = Superstar + Premiership Player... No one can ever take last year away from you, Gazza! Chin up, 2009 will see you avenge this season's heartbreak.:thumbsu:

How true that is. He tried his absolute guts out. A true superstar that should've won this years Brownlow Medal.

He missed 4 games so it was mission impossible

agree wholeheartedly:thumbsu: should've been awarded the norm smith as well. was far and away the best player on the ground and did everything humanly possible to get his team over the line. selwood, ling and scarlett were excellent too and really wanted it. hope gary wins brownlow in 09 and you win the flag:thumbsu:

Bartel was good too, you haven't mentioned him.

I hope this is a joke? I agree Bartel is a gun, however yesterday, in the second half went totally missing. Did extremely well early but goooooone thereafter.

Maybe tagged out of it?

Unfortunate for Jnr as his game was sublime. If the Cats had gotten up, he definitely would have won the BOG.

He missed 4 games so it was mission impossible

I don't know about being mission impossible he could have polled 2 in the last game and shared the medal.

I didn't think Cooney had a great 2nd half of the season. Don't get me wrong I am not saying Cooney is not a great player. I didn't think he would win it this year that's all.

I don't know about being mission impossible he could have polled 2 in the last game and shared the medal.

I didn't think Cooney had a great 2nd half of the season. Don't get me wrong I am not saying Cooney is not a great player. I didn't think he would win it this year that's all.
Cooney is like the hawks. Won the prize a year or two before they were ready.

Yeah Ablett Jnr was pretty good yesterday. He was also very very good at crying like a baby.:thumbsu:

Yeah, it's called emotion and love for the club. Something your team or players don't have. At least Geelong didn't buy their premierships.

As i have said many times. Ablett cops alot of unfair attention from other teams. He never sooks and gets on with it. His humble in victory and classy in defeat. Unlike the real sook Fevola 99.

Go back to the Carlton forum and exchange your cheat stories about how you'll cheat to win another flag with your crook el presidento or should I say ex el presidento!

bloody hardest working player in the comp. I get sick of reading the anti ablett crap on big footy, it has to be jealously because he is a true champion and he never gave up once yesterday. He was sometimes taking on the hawks by himself and he dragged geelong close to back to back.

Would kill for ablett at the swans, well we got one but you know what i mean.

HE FAILED!!!:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:

ALong with the rest of the team-Including the soft HARLEY and pussy Moondog? lol! YOU ALL SUCK!:eek::thumbsu:

just good to see your humble in victory, this is why i hate hawthorn too many stupid supporters.

Took two weak hawks to take harley out, and some other thugs tried to belt ablett all game. It worked for you one day, but i doubt it will again.

Harley showed what a great captain is yesterday never giving in, playing through adversity. Unlike mitchell who put in the worst performance of a premiership captain in the history of the game

just good to see your humble in victory, this is why i hate hawthorn too many stupid supporters.

Took two weak hawks to take harley out, and some other thugs tried to belt ablett all game. It worked for you one day, but i doubt it will again.

Harley showed what a great captain is yesterday never giving in, playing through adversity. Unlike mitchell who put in the worst performance of a premiership captain in the history of the game

spot on mate. I used to like Mitchell, thought he was a decent footy player and Captain. But those two head high shots at Ablett was just a dirty snipers act. He was soundly beaten all day by Ling and then he did that in retaliation. I hope the tribunal gives him a 6 weeks for that.

To be honest I was more pissed off that not one of our players remonstrated with Mitchell at all.

cant agree more ablett was on fire yesterday really the only player besides selwood in geelong that had no weak point and couldn't be stopped.

and i really don't think are player meant to take Harley out it was in a marking contest so yeah doubt it

and as for Mitchell well what can i say worst game all year for him really disappointed me with that hit on ablett very disappointing i think hodge would make a better learder but i do like mitchell hopes he improves that angry cheap side of his game next year

but yeah 5 players stood out for me all game

1.hodge- courages as usual used the ball so good and never missed a target laid tackles maked i mean what more could you want

2.ablett- so fancy and efficient with the ball basicly unstoppable the way he weaves through traffic just outstanding and his workrate was at 100% yesterday one of the only geelong player who realised they have to work for this flag

3. brad sewll- stood up as always but really took it up a gear this game and fired when mitchell was down possibly 2nd hardest man to tackle beside g ablett in the league

4. selwood- wow for a seconed year player a future brownlow winner put money on that so hard and quick inside stoppages

5. rioli- dont need to say much his hard work and freakish skills make him for a first year player outstanding robbed of rising star this year but im sure a premiership medal filled that hole

Yeah Ablett Jnr was pretty good yesterday. He was also very very good at crying like a baby.:thumbsu:

Very ordinary AWG.

Gary Ablett Jnr is an absolute superstar and i personally thought it was fantastic to see him show so much emotion after the game. Was clearly the 2nd best player on the ground (possibly the best) and tried his guts out to get his team up and going. Watching his reactions after kicking the goal showed how much it meant to him.

Superstar and a pleasure to watch as an opposition supporter.

Very ordinary AWG.

Gary Ablett Jnr is an absolute superstar and i personally thought it was fantastic to see him show so much emotion after the game. Was clearly the 2nd best player on the ground (possibly the best) and tried his guts out to get his team up and going. Watching his reactions after kicking the goal showed how much it meant to him.

Superstar and a pleasure to watch as an opposition supporter.

Oh relax Melbdave. We're allowed to have a bit of fun and banter with opposition supporters every once in a while.

I reckon Ablett will have a long and nice off-season, he's missed out on a GF and two brownlows. Still young though and he has a lot ahead of him to achieve yet. Wouldn't worry about that cats fans, he's only just starting:thumbsu:

Yeah i must admit i feel for the bloke too. You could tell he really wanted that brownlow on Monday too. Obviously the premiership denial hurt more but he has so many more years to go and so many more chances. He'll be right. A great game yesterday and isnt just amazing that through our only three losses out of thee past 45 games he has been our best player. As brilliant as he is in victory he almost surpasses that in defeat.
Incredibly talented and driven footballer. One of a kind that's for sure.
I don't care what anyone says, best player in the comp!!
Hats off to you Gary, another great season in the hoops. Pity it ended the way it did but we all know you'll come back stronger and better again.

He is an absolute champion. He played a great game and is my favourite player. I felt sad for him after the game. I would kill to have such a great player at my club.