Riddler

Adelaide/Liverpool FC
G'day Boys & Girls this is my first post and first thread so please be gentle! :D

I've been reading your posts for a while now in regards to Gary Ayres coaching the Crows and who is the right man for the job but I've hardly ever seen Gary O'Donnell's name mentioned.
I reckon he is the perfect replacement. His mentor for the past 5-6 years has been the best going around at the moment in Lethal.
He's knows all their secrets, structures & more importantly their weights programs (Which we desperately need).
I've read Lethal holds him in pretty high regard. I know there is the slight hesitation of hiring a rookie coach but i reckon this guy is worth a punt. Can't be much worse than who we got now!

Oops! Sorry dyertribe.

You've got fantastic views on football though i must say! :D

I've just thought recently all the talk is Terry Wallace & Rodney Eade (Disgrace) but the media haven't really mentioned him.

Originally posted by maccas_no1
I'd take Gary O'Donnell for sure I reakon he would be great or Peter Jonas and Terry Wallace as a third option;)
If AFC decide to replace Ayres nexy year, then these would have to be 3 candidates seriously considered. Not interested in Eade.

every single year, there is a hot assistant coach or 3, rarely do any of them ever amount to anything - other than director of umpiring of course.

I see nothing to convince me O'Donnell will break the mould - though maybe he will.

Enough is Enough!!

NOTE: "Hello is Gary O'Donnell there?............Yes it's the Adelaide Football Club here".

Originally posted by Crow-mosone
every single year, there is a hot assistant coach or 3, rarely do any of them ever amount to anything - other than director of umpiring of course.

I see nothing to convince me O'Donnell will break the mould - though maybe he will.

Chris Connolly has done a good job. Grant Thomas has done a good job. John Worsfold has done a good job with a crap list. Mark Williams has done a good job (bar finals). Mark Thompson's work is finally coming to fruition. Paul Roos has done a great job.

These were all zero-game coaches in the last few years. All duds, eh?

Originally posted by dyertribe
I'd take Gary O'Donnell...

Played his career under Sheedy...
As did Tim Watson and Mark Thompson.

Neale Daniher has so far been the best of the Sheedy-ites and all he can do with Melbourne is get them up again, down again.

No ex-Bombers for me, thanks.

Originally posted by DaveW
As did Tim Watson and Mark Thompson.

As you conveniently leave out the fact I referred to his apprenticeship under Lethal.

Watson did no such apprenticeship and Bomber is starting to find his feet after finally rebuilding the shoddy list a certain ex-Hawk left him with.

Originally posted by spindoctor
Chris Connolly has done a good job. Grant Thomas has done a good job. John Worsfold has done a good job with a crap list. Mark Williams has done a good job (bar finals). Mark Thompson's work is finally coming to fruition. Paul Roos has done a great job.

These were all zero-game coaches in the last few years. All duds, eh?

Grant Thomas isn't a coach's ar... little toe. He is a one trick pony. Very talented list but has no answers when things are going against his team. Probably a good administrator and motivator, but coach? Sheesh.

My mother could coach that list to a premiership.

Interesting point I heard on 5AA last night, haven't been able to confirm it as fact but....

An AFL assistant coach has never gone on to because a AFL premiership coach.

Makes you wonder why everyone in footy these days seems to think you need to do an "apprenticeship" before becoming a senior coach.

Originally posted by MaccasNeighbour

Makes you wonder why everyone in footy these days seems to think you need to do an "apprenticeship" before becoming a senior coach.

Not true.

Denis Pagan won two Premierships after doing a long apprenticeship first as a Premiership coach at U19 level with North in the 80s and then Premiership coach at Reserves level with Essendon while also assistant coach under Kevin Sheedy.

Besides, a statement like that is misleading anyway as all the Premiership coaches since the VFL became the AFL have been old-schoolers who had/have been in the coaching caper since the 80s.

1990 - Leigh Matthews
1991 - Allan Joyce
1992 - Mick Malthouse
1993 - Kevin Sheedy
1994 - Mick Malthouse
1995 - David Parkin
1996 - Denis Pagan
1997 - Malcolm Blight
1998 - Malcolm Blight
1999 - Denis Pagan
2000 - Kevin Sheedy
2001 - Leigh Matthews
2002 - Leigh Matthews
2003 - Leigh Matthews

Once the established 80s fossils (who tend to coach at the more traditionally successful/well resourced clubs) move out, the younger breed - the majority of whom all do apprenticeships as assistant coaches as an accepted rite of passage - will obviously take over

Originally posted by MaccasNeighbour
Interesting.

Did Matthews coach the Pies straight after his playing days?

Pagan came from Kangaroos U/19's I think.

Think Blight coached the Cats after coaching Woodville.

Gather the likes of Sheedy, Parkin & Walls went straight into coaching after playing - but before my time.

I'm sure I'll get corrected on some of the above.

It'll be an awesome time of wonderouseness, like the Saints went through.