Hamburger

Eagles
I see at half time Gehrig has taken 5 marks and booted 4 goals 1 against the Bombers......who IMO have arguably the best defence in the AFL.
Starting me thinking about our current situation with KPP....can someone refresh my memory as to what we got from the Saints in exchange for Fraser?? draft picks, players??

Originally posted by Hamburger
I see at half time Gehrig has taken 5 marks and booted 4 goals 1 against the Bombers......who IMO have arguably the best defence in the AFL.
Starting me thinking about our current situation with KPP....can someone refresh my memory as to what we got from the Saints in exchange for Fraser?? draft picks, players??

David Sierakowski, and draft pick which netted us a young lad by the name of Daniel Kerr.

I would say Kerr/Gehrig is a fair swap in retrospect. For a guy who was miserable, underperforming, and wanted out, it was more than adequate compensation.

Re: Re: Gehrig

Originally posted by Mead
David Sierakowski, and draft pick which netted us a young lad by the name of Daniel Kerr.

I would say Kerr/Gehrig is a fair swap in retrospect. For a guy who was miserable, underperforming, and wanted out, it was more than adequate compensation.

Yes, I think i would quite rather Daniel Kerr than Fraser Gehrig at this point in time.. Daniel Kerr is one of the key players in out strong midfield, and give us bragging rights over goal of the year!

Now if Kerry can only curb his temper :rolleyes:

Thanks,
I had forgotten about Siera, who might have been more useful if he had not been injured so badly.
I agree that the draft pick that secured Kerr was well worthwhile.

Fraser

I was watching Fraser last night as well, and I disagree with most of you. I think Fraser would be more valuable to us at the moment than Daniel. I thought it was a huge mistake to trade Frase at the time and nothing since has changed my mind. However I don't think the club had much choice in the matter. Fraser wanted out.

Re: Fraser

Originally posted by vicki
However I don't think the club had much choice in the matter. Fraser wanted out.

Exactly. And to do anything but trade him would be stupid.

Had we not traded him and gotten something for him, he could have nominated for the pre-season draft and we'd have gotten squat.

He had absolutely no desire to stay at the club, and therefore was of no value to us. Sure the guy oozed natural ability, and when on song, like last night, could be a game winner. But if the heart isnt in it, that is never going to come to the fore. His last season with the club was a shining example of that.

i felt sorry for poor fras. why the **** was the crowd so against him??? that larconic style is the way he played and still does...it doesnt mean hes not trying. however by the end of the season he was soo fed up with it all that i think he may of stopped trying. he deserved better from us and those 'supporters' that were booing him need understand we lost a very influential player. superquick and superstrong KPP forward and backman *drools*

Originally posted by theorangeapple
i felt sorry for poor fras. why the **** was the crowd so against him??? that larconic style is the way he played and still does...it doesnt mean hes not trying. however by the end of the season he was soo fed up with it all that i think he may of stopped trying. he deserved better from us and those 'supporters' that were booing him need understand we lost a very influential player. superquick and superstrong KPP forward and backman *drools*

orange - I notice that you use the word laconic which is incorrectley used by a lot of commentators. Laconic is used to describe someone who does say much !. Has nothing to do with actions.

Anywho I digress. I suffered compartmental syndrome in my last years of footy and had to go and see a specialist about the problem ( which is just severe shin splints). Frase had the same problem and was treated by the same guy - so I have somewhat of inside knowledge to what frase had experienced. Sheer phuken pain. When i had to run for a bus- it took me all day to recover. The pain was really quite bad. So you can imagine how frase felt.

I think malthouse was the problem - not frase. He unfortunately copped it from so unsympathetic supporters.

orange - I notice that you use the word laconic which is incorrectley used by a lot of commentators. Laconic is used to describe someone who does say much !. Has nothing to do with actions.

my apologies...i had no idea. i must admit i heard from various commentators. is there a word to discribe his wat seems to be lazy style of footy?

i must say i do really respect fraser...as he still went on with his footy even though he was treated like **** by supporters - obviously had little idea about what pain he was in with his shin splints and wat skill he had at footy.

I wonder if Malthouse continued as coach or if Woosha was announced coach in 2000, do you think Gehrig would have stayed with the Eagles? Was the issue more of a personality clash with Ken Judge or did he want to return home to Victoria?

We got a good deal for him. I'd take Danny over Frase any time. I'm surprised we managed to net Danny so late in the first round. Didn't we receive like the 18th pick or something for Frase? Anyway, his efforts were very poor for the club in his final season and he has a Mark Phillapoussis attitude (i.e. Happy to give 80%). If I were drafted by a club, regardless who they were, I'd give no less than 100% of my effort and loyalty and frankly I don't think that all too much to ask. By the end of his time here, he didn't have much apparent love, respect or loyalty for the club. Good riddance...we got a good one.

I too felt sorry for Fraser in his last year or two for the eagles. I thought people were a bit too harsh on him, especially seeing as he was carrying a few niggling injuries. But in the end, he no longer had any desire to play for the club and wanted to go back home. I felt in the position we were in, we did bloody good out of the trade. Kerr will be a champion player for us in the next 10 years, no doubt - I wouldn't worry too much about his recent suspension as I'm sure he will become more disciplined as he matures and the longer woosha is at the coaching helm.

As for Siera, again it was unfortunate that he was taken out in the first few minutes of that Geelong game. I can remember shouting out all sorts of names at King when that happened, and then at the umpires when they didn't even award it a free kick. To Siera's credit, he managed to fight his way back into the team a few times, and played solidly when given the opportunity.

win-win for every involved.

Gehrig got to get out of a club he wasn't enjoying playing at. He may be playing well now but i doubt he would be performing like that if he stayed here - it's hard to put in good performances when your down on yourself.

St Kilda got quite a useful KP forward.

David Sierakowski got to move back to his homeland.

Daniel Kerr got to remain in his homeland.

West Coast got a very key part of our midfield with the draft pick we recieved.

one of the best trades we've been involved with IMO.

i like frase and was sad to see him go. but he had had enough of west australia and was out of contract so we didn't have much of a choice.

we were lucky to get anything for him. the saints had first pick in the draft that year and could have picked him up for free. i'm happy we got the pick that snagged kerr but would have preferred to have gehrig at our club.

I think we won the trade, Kerr for Gehrig would be good for us, and we got Seira too so i reckon we won. Kerr is a vital cog in our midfield and as you guys say Frase wanted out. I agree with most, we won the trade.

Originally posted by Black Thunder
win-win for every involved.

Gehrig got to get out of a club he wasn't enjoying playing at. He may be playing well now but i doubt he would be performing like that if he stayed here - it's hard to put in good performances when your down on yourself.

St Kilda got quite a useful KP forward.

David Sierakowski got to move back to his homeland.

Daniel Kerr got to remain in his homeland.

West Coast got a very key part of our midfield with the draft pick we recieved.

one of the best trades we've been involved with IMO.

Totally agree. If you asked any St Kilda person, they'd say they're very happy with Fraze. I would think that most West Coast supporters are also extremely happy with Kerr. So all in all, its one of those very rare trades which is a win/win for everyone concerned.

I hated the way he always played on, he was too inconsistant, Kerr is much better, one because of talent and two his age

In Kerr you may ahve equalled Fraser's footy talent ......his mullet however remains a void that you still to this day have not filled.

Next year I suggest you recruit a short haired lad with potential and work with an intesivist in the field of mulletology .....you can, no must do it for bogans all over this wide brown land.

Kerr was going to be a 10 plus year player, and FG was going to be a 5 to 6 year player.

Kerr an on baller, which at the time WCE were lacking, and FG a KPP which st kilda were lacking

Sierra was a top GOP, never going to be a superstar, and a good replacement for someone of the calibre of mitchell white, but completely destroyed by injuries (like white!), a champion person, by all accounts.

Many saints thought he might turn out to be a decent CHF/CHB but fate, injuries and time robbed him.

I think WCE and St Kilda now have to hot midfields, your defence is good, but your attack is limited,
we got a better forward line, equal midfield and our defence leaks like pomme bowling line up (looks good on paper)

I think we'll continue to beat you in Melbourne, and you'll have the wood on us in the west.

Kerr v FG? we are up on you till about 2005/6 and you'll be laughing at us on the trade into the next decade!

a rare win win

Originally posted by dan warna
Kerr was going to be a 10 plus year player, and FG was going to be a 5 to 6 year player.

Kerr an on baller, which at the time WCE were lacking, and FG a KPP which st kilda were lacking

Sierra was a top GOP, never going to be a superstar, and a good replacement for someone of the calibre of mitchell white, but completely destroyed by injuries (like white!), a champion person, by all accounts.

Many saints thought he might turn out to be a decent CHF/CHB but fate, injuries and time robbed him.

I think WCE and St Kilda now have to hot midfields, your defence is good, but your attack is limited,
we got a better forward line, equal midfield and our defence leaks like pomme bowling line up (looks good on paper)

I think we'll continue to beat you in Melbourne, and you'll have the wood on us in the west.

Kerr v FG? we are up on you till about 2005/6 and you'll be laughing at us on the trade into the next decade!

a rare win win

agreed apart from the equal midfileds - ours is better. end of story

a rare win win

Your midfield is not in the same league as ours. Close, but no cigar.

Fraser if born in the west would have been a champion player for us as he is with the Saints now, but he really wanted to be home and the performances he now is showing is proof in the pudding.

Best of luck to him.

mmm
I don't really want to get dragged into an us v you midfield question but I concur that you do have a good midfield, but I think ours is just as good (hence the reason for the love tap we dished out to you at the end of the season)
ball very good, harvey (at the end of his career), goddard, clarke, are the stars and a solid back up running crew of black, hayes, jones, powell, voss, thompson (also at the end of career), jones, etc.

I think they match up well against every team, and in 2004, while our forwards and defence were rated towards the bottom of the comp, our midfield was rated between 4 th and 6th by most publications (no point in having a good midfield if your defence leaks like a seive and your forwards can't kick goals, also there were players at the extremes of the spectrum, kids or pensioners)

I reckon the top midfields in the league are:
brisbane (I think enough evidence there)
Collingwood (back to back runners up)
Freo, west coast and St Kilda (taking over from adelaide's (roo, bicks, hart all carried the ball and are now gone or just old) and Norths (king stevens were two of the best runners in the league once) pension squad and ports injured/defected squad)

Agree. Win/win deal. No point in having a player who doesn't really want to play for you. To be fair to Gehrig he did have those shin/leg problems which really made it very hard for him, to a degree that I don't think many fans really appreciated.

He looked threatening last year and has continued this year. He tossed aside Dustin Fletcher like he was nothing. It will take a very good player to hold him goaless, I think he could easily kick 100 this year.

I've already got my money on at 17/1 for Saints for the flag, they've got a good sized, tall, mobile team and they should win most of their games in Melbourne I think. They had a bad injury year last year so their luck should come round this year and keep most of them on the park. I mean god knows how many years of priority picks had to pay off sooner or later.

With saints run, he could play FF like lynch, and park himself in the goals square, almost as a decoy for the HFF, and midfield, and the HBF, who will score a lot of goals.

This is good against most sides, but we aren't brisbane, and that ain't good enough against Brisbane.

FG is a very mobile FF, and took marks on the wing, HBF, CHF etc. While he is a man mountain, and pretty fit, I think, his legs, through injury, genetics, whatever, just aren't a 27 y/o legs.

there were rumours that he'd give it away because of the physical pain he had to endure

You only have to look at Dermie who was finished as a top forward when most other players would be at their peak, and he dragged his career out at Sydney and Collingwood for little return.

FG I don't think is as bad as Dermie, but can't see him playing past 30 really.
(although a dose of lynch medicine, might see his knees recover and him play on till 35 I guess)

Our attack is limited? Always makes me laugh because didn't we have the highest points for last year??? Oh and our defence is nothing short of average. We all know that.

P.S Our midfield is better!:D :p