Mega Thread General MFC Discussion Part III

They won't. It's all so they have a week up their sleeves to get the GF in front of crowds. It won't be before the prelim. It'll be after.
Yeah that's what I thought. But seen some murmurings about putting the bye before the prelim.

I can totally see us getting relocated to Perth or Tasmania. They want crowds! I'm sure given the choice we'd play in front of no crowds at the G. But the AFL benefit from all the tickets in finals, so I'm guessing we will be playing interstate come finals. No idea on where the bye would be. Makes sense to have it pre GF not pre prelim. Get the two GF sides on a plane and in quarantine to Perth potentially. Or have all prelims in Perth and have the bye before the prelims. Doesn't seem fair though. Would hate to be running this sh**show right now. What a nightmare...

Also is anyone getting this weird thing about winning it?

Don’t get me wrong I absolutely want to. But it’s been 57 years, most of us don’t remember one. Not getting to see it in the flesh, to celebrate it live…I dunno how I feel about it. I remember the ecstasy of Doggies fans five years ago. I was so looking forward to that.

NFL does the bye before the superbowl, gives those players borderline with injuries a chance to play in the game.

But I still like the old system where we didn't have any byes, im always down with the war of attrition.

What im pretty much saying is **** the bye off all together or if youre going to have one it should be the week before the granny.

Don’t get me wrong I absolutely want to. But it’s been 57 years, most of us don’t remember one. Not getting to see it in the flesh, to celebrate it live…I dunno how I feel about it. I remember the ecstasy of Doggies fans five years ago. I was so looking forward to that.

I wont have to be there to shed a tear. Would be epic either way. I still get the adrenaline pumping thru me after a big win.

Might be the only premiership chance we get, ill take it any bloody way we can get it.

plus I hate a large majority of the general population (working in hospitality does that) so quite happy at home :tearsofjoy:

Wouldn’t be the fairytale I always imagined but I know one thing - I’d prefer to experience us win it in whatever fashion it comes than watching another team lift the cup as usual.

Absolutely not. Who's to say we avoid a pre-season ala 18-19 where we have a host of players injured, fall back down the pecking order and miss our chance altogether?

This is the best position Melbourne has been in for decades, and in reality, only a handful of us would be able to see it live regardless (if we were to make and win a GF). If it happens, soak it up online, and continue to do so when you can get back to the pub in a few months.

Chance all of us would be there to celebrate it live were non existent anyway mate. You really think every MFC diehard would get into a GF at the MCG?

Usually when we play finals (once in a blue moon nowadays) there's certain teams or trips I'd usually want us to avoid. For instance in 2018 (and almost every final we've played in Perth) has been a disaster - not so this year. We've definitely got our flaws but so does every other team. I suppose I would want us to play Port at AO, but really if we're on and good enough it shouldn't matter where or who we play this year.

It also seems increasingly likely that the GF will be in Perth - which will essentially be a neutral venue for the participants as its unlikely that WCE/Freo will even make finals, so I have no issue with it.

I cant see how the MCG could come into consideration now.

The atmosphere at Optus in Perth will be amazing, would still be an awesome spectacle and I'll still likely cry when we win even though I'm not there to see it. Part of me is a sad that we won't get to watch our dees again this season though, was so looking forward to it.

Chance all of us would be there to celebrate it live were non existent anyway mate. You really think every MFC diehard would get into a GF at the MCG?
We probs would have had a higher percentage than most teams just because of the MCC factor.

I just want to win a flag, don’t care how, when or where - fans or no fans.

This is the overriding feeling, any win would be just as sweet at the end of the day. But it’s a little disappointing if it’s not at the G where more of the long suffering fans could see it.

It wouldn't though. A GF win in front of a locked out crowd would be shit. Completely shit. The experience would be ruined forever.

I'd take a full Perth stadium, and for anyone over 45 I get taking anything.

It would be incredibly Melbourne to break a premiership drought in the most boring pointless GF of all time

I don't want it at an empty MCG. **** that. I don't care. Crowd every single day of the ****ing week

View attachment 20210816_061854 (1).mp4

The future of our back 6. We all know who is playing in our back 6 each week.

Realistically once Pig & Jetta *(withstanding that hes not best 22 currently) are done Tommo comes back into our best back 6.
Leaves where we play Hore. I hope he plays for 10 years and more than anything is healthy.

Who comes out?

The future of our back 6. We all know who is playing in our back 6 each week.

Realistically once Pig & Jetta *(withstanding that hes not best 22 currently) are done Tommo comes back into our best back 6.
Leaves where we play Hore. I hope he plays for 10 years and more than anything is healthy.

Who comes out?
Pigs not even best 22 right now so unless Hore replaces Hunt he's not coming back in. I like Hore aswell.

It wouldn't though. A GF win in front of a locked out crowd would be sh*t. Completely sh*t. The experience would be ruined forever.

I'd take a full Perth stadium, and for anyone over 45 I get taking anything.

It would be incredibly Melbourne to break a premiership drought in the most boring pointless GF of all time
Yes, sorry I agree GF absolutely has to be in front of a crowd. I said that in my earlier post, but the next post I was just stating the obvious that it’s disappointing it wouldn’t be at the G with a full crowd (no COVID) where the most Dees fans would get to see it.

Fox footy and the coaches tonight all but guaranteed that crowds will be prioritised for finals anyway, they were warming up the public I reckon.