Alex Wright (Norwood)

Jack Tuthill

North Launceston

Ins:

Outs:

Michael Stingel (Norwood)
Tom Bennett
Corey Nankervis

* will only add confirmed as there are obviously heaps of rumours out there.

* post here and I’ll add on

I thought 8 weeks was quite a light penalty for such an incident, I was expecting 10-12 weeks suspension if he was found guilty. I am no lawyer but I suppose Wells would have the right to an external law challenge if he wanted to go down that path but it shouldn't be forgotten that the young Burnie player also has the right to get police to investigate this incident (which I believe may be occurring) and also the right to mount a civil case for damages if he so chooses, whether that happens is up to the young lad and his family. I agree with others also that AFL Tas. need to have a good hard look at eligibility to play in the Development League but the situation is made awkward by the TSL clubs having no reserves team of course.

I forgot that from last week "The Report from one Media Source" that Tasmanian Police have received a compliant about the incident and are looking into, I guess that might be the reason for not pleading Guilty.

The Development league trying to be an Underage competition and a reserve competition and not serving either really well, In the old days in the Reserves you were only allowed to have a certain number of players over on age 27 or 28 if I recall correct.

I think the development league does serve a purpose. It is to big a jump from under 18s to senior football, so those players have to be catered for.
I think the major problem is any 29 yo playing in the league. Yes there are times a senior player might need to play development. EG returning from injury. But if a older player is only playing in the development league each week, I dont think that right.
Maybe the SFL , NTFL etc etc would be a better place for these players.

I think you forget the guy has only played footy for 12 months in Sydney. It's not often you come about a player that is of his height and size and say, "sorry mate, you are 29, got somewhere else". Given his infancy in footy there is a chance he could play seniors for 5 plus years given the weakness of talls in the competition.

Calling it the development league is a problem in itself. There are no age restrictions so it is basically a reserves comp. However most teams are very young as are the senior teams.

I think the individual clubs MUST put out there. duty of care (lost right terminology)
at Hobart ,we have weeded out the rotten ones, and put a lot of time into the playing group of the clubs core values and expection s when representing the Tigers ( No I in team) printed info sheets are provided
Obliviously Lauderdale s Coach , and his board are not interested, appears a lot of their players ( above av) have been reported last two yrs
you do not go play footy expecting broken jaws

I think the individual clubs MUST put out there. duty of care (lost right terminology)
at Hobart ,we have weeded out the rotten ones, and put a lot of time into the playing group of the clubs core values and expection s when representing the Tigers ( No I in team) printed info sheets are provided
Obliviously Lauderdale s Coach , and his board are not interested, appears a lot of their players ( above av) have been reported last two yrs
you do not go play footy expecting broken jaws

I don't think anyone is disagreeing with most you are saying. But you might want to get your facts correct before making the judgements and accusations you have on the incident at hand when clearly you didn't see it, and or have no idea what was said in the tribunal. You are purely basing your whole judgement on the end result which is not always a good thing to do.

To suggest the Lauderdale coaching staff and the board are not interested in the players welfare or what took place is absolute rot.

8 weeks a bit low i think personally for breaking a jaw, Although i was at a game 2 years age once again development league when i saw a young player from Clarence get hit high from a much bigger north launy player and a broken jaw was the result. My son played with this team and he told me that the 16 year olds jaw was broken in 3 places and the young lad was in hospital for a week and a plated jaw was the outcome which seen him miss the rest of the season including a grand final that Clarence ended up winning. The ongoing effect was he was also cut from the mariners due to not being able to train.

As far as i can remember there was no report, no free kick, they had to just remove him from the field due to blood rule as he was bleeding pretty bad from the mouth. I was right on the boundary when they brought him off and they had to take him straight to hospital as it looked pretty bad. His father who is one of the trainers at Clarence who i spoke to later on after the grand final was a bit bemused to why there was no report given as it was high and the player who hit him had the opportunity not to make the hit but chose too. So 8 weeks might be a bit light but at least it got reported.

I don't think anyone is disagreeing with most you are saying. But you might want to get your facts correct before making the judgements and accusations you have on the incident at hand when clearly you didn't see it, and or have no idea what was said in the tribunal. You are purely basing your whole judgement on the end result which is not always a good thing to do.

To suggest the Lauderdale coaching staff and the board are not interested in the players welfare or what took place is absolute rot.
I statred my post with "I think" ( my personnally obsveration ,after watch 80 yrs of footy)
Were you there ??
Lauderdale has since Winter turned up become thugs.he in my opinion got too much control . His club are repeat offenders !!!
Especially with new players, do they do an induction ? or just leave it to the players ?

I statred my post with "I think" ( my personnally obsveration ,after watch 80 yrs of footy)
Were you there ??
Lauderdale has since Winter turned up become thugs.he in my opinion got too much control . His club are repeat offenders !!!
Especially with new players, do they do an induction ? or just leave it to the players ?

Stop embarrassing yourself

Couldn't have said it better myself.

And to my other little friend. Yes i was there and privy to a lot of the facts. Hence why i get a little annoyed when people like yourself tiger pass judgement without being presented all the facts.

How can justify .support Wells (29 ) you two Lauderdale kids,
you have forgotten the real victim here is the 16 yr mariner player Mason Chatwin who was king hit by Wells ( not a push ,not a shove,) but a deliberate and premeditated, right hand Punch, which broke his Jaw .
this coming from a seasoned Baseball player ( big and powerfrul arms ) who stands at 202cm and playing weigth of 105kg
Chatwin is about 180 cm and 77 kg

I agree with you madmug, however where would the tenth team come from? (I dont think Mr. Auld would have the plums to remove one of the exsting five teams in the South to make it eight), The only club I have seen mention they want to join the SWL was New Norfolk Matthew Smith and that was his second choice after a reurn to a six team Regional SFL Glenorchy, Clarence, Lauderdale, Hobart City, the Tigers and New Norfolk.

However that would be six southern Clubs and four northern clubs and would not work IMO, Would there be any exsiting club in the North who want to Join the SWL? (and that tells you something about the comp what incentives are there to be in the Premier League Comp). South Launceston and Real Hobart FC supporters are Happy to still have there clubs and be out !

http://www.themercury.com.au/sport/...h/news-story/3184b3a51fa3afdc0ba06eeb8931ce86
We couldn't afford it any longer. Hobart was leaking money like a sieve in its final TSL years and doesn't have much money now playing to a near empty TCA every few weeks.
I see New Norfolk, or more to the point, Matthew Smith wants the Eagles to join the TSL?
I'm not privy to their financial situation but their following has dwindled away to almost nothing. They hosted us in a final at Boyer last year and they had hardly any support which surprised me a lot.
I'm wondering whether hosting Huonville at Boyer in front of about 50 people and winning by 28 goals was the catalyst for the coach to come out in the paper in the hope that they can step up a grade and, with the possibility of playing a Glenorchy or a Clarence, try and get some sort of crowds back to their games.
Not sure it would work for them in the long run though, extra expenses, extra training, extra resources. Would send them back to the bottom and broke within a couple of years in my opinion.

We couldn't afford it any longer. Hobart was leaking money like a sieve in its final TSL years and doesn't have much money now playing to a near empty TCA every few weeks.
I see New Norfolk, or more to the point, Matthew Smith wants the Eagles to join the TSL?
I'm not privy to their financial situation but their following has dwindled away to almost nothing. They hosted us in a final at Boyer last year and they had hardly any support which surprised me a lot.
I'm wondering whether hosting Huonville at Boyer in front of about 50 people and winning by 28 goals was the catalyst for the coach to come out in the paper in the hope that they can step up a grade and, with the possibility of playing a Glenorchy or a Clarence, try and get some sort of crowds back to their games.
Not sure it would work for them in the long run though, extra expenses, extra training, extra resources. Would send them back to the bottom and broke within a couple of years in my opinion.

The problem is that the TSL does provide a 'generally' better standard of footy. But people are well past travelling to watch local footy like they did in the 80's & 90's. This is all about the fact AFL dominates the media & people do other things in life now. This has been discusses elsewhere. We dont have our own AFL club which would attract support & a TSL would play some of their developping players & recruit coaches etc from such a team.

Anyway the thing is either AFLTas fund TSL clubs better. or just piss off out of club footy & clubs can all play without the travel component, just like in TFL, NTFA & NWFU days. And Fork their stupid pathway crap. If they really care about 'pathways, then fund the TSL better.

At the current rate, AFLTas are killing clubs, supporters & volunteers.

you have forgotten the real victim here is the 16 yr mariner player Mason Chatwin who was king hit by Wells ( not a push ,not a shove,) but a deliberate and premeditated, right hand Punch, which broke his Jaw .
this coming from a seasoned Baseball player ( big and powerfrul arms ) who stands at 202cm and playing weigth of 105kg

You are seriously not all there! At what point did i support any of it? You may not have ever witnessed this during your time on early, but if a little dog continues to nip at the heals of the big dog, eventually the big dog bites back and a lot harder i might add.

Don't quote me but i believe the tribunal accepted in their findings that wells was provoked, he made unintentional and careless contact to the jaw with an open hand.

Tigersaints make of that what you like but thats apparently their decision based on the facts provided. I also believe the umpires coach who was at the game gave evidence that indicated the young Burnie player targeted Wells on numerous occasions off the ball. But i guess that makes it ok cause he is only 16.

No one is justifying what happened or any violence for that matter, you seem to have some warped imagination that Darren Winter, his coaching staff and even the board, encourage their players to go out and deliberate harm the opposition, What a crock of shit you have dreamt up from behind your keyboard, my guess is you would not say boo to any of these people in public.

you always have to have the last say, don't u

Wouldn't it be nice if the tribunal finding and transcripts were made available, if they are where do you find them. Based on what i just read if the young bloke was at the bigger player as told by umpire witness, well id say there were extenuating circumstances, not that this condones striking. But i think that an open hand would only be considered a slap surely. Unintentional and careless, not a KING HIT as described to me change the penalty whether he is 16 or not for the recipient. If it was my son i would be absolutely pissed that he misses games from a injury, and i say injury as i don't know the extent of the young blokes injury. Until all the FACTS are available i am with holding judgment any further as i don't want to feel like a dick. I originally thought 8 weeks was a bit light but maybe it might be a bit heavy. I don't know the make up of table that AFL use for injury's sustained from such instances. might have to see if i can find it for my own understanding a bit more.

As for thuggery and being coached to make unreasonable contact, i have not witnessed this with Lauderdale and i have seen most games this year, but missed the supposed king hit game unfortunately "bloody work". I wouldn't let my son play there if it was going on. I am a a Clarence supporter by heart but i do support Lauderdale since my son has been playing there. Talk about having a foot in each camp, hard to watch when they play each other. Anyway i am happy with the way Darren has been speaking to my son and others i there i personally haven't witnessed any major incidents at all from outbursts. I honestly believe he has mellowed as i remember him as a player "talk about white line fever" but he got the job done no matter how controversial he was. Off to work now hopefully some one might be able to find the table they use for judgment and put a link up for me to browse later.

Cheers

We don't have many 'facts'. Just the fact a kid was belted in the head by a 29yo thug with form, & has a fractured jaw.
The hint of extenuating circumstances means what?
Did the kid hit the big guy? Any report?
Did the kid say something? Is that extenuating? I doubt that very much. I've certainly never heard of that before if its true.
8 weeks is very light indeed.
Any litigation happening?

We don't have many 'facts'. Just the fact a kid was belted in the head by a 29yo thug with form, & has a fractured jaw.
The hint of extenuating circumstances means what?
Did the kid hit the big guy? Any report?
Did the kid say something? Is that extenuating? I doubt that very much. I've certainly never heard of that before if its true.
8 weeks is very light indeed.
Any litigation happening?

The facts have already been written a few posts above from someone who would know.

So asked because I already knew. Thats BF logic I guess.:(
You are seriously not all there! At what point did i support any of it? You may not have ever witnessed this during your time on early, but if a little dog continues to nip at the heals of the big dog, eventually the big dog bites back and a lot harder i might add.

Don't quote me but i believe the tribunal accepted in their findings that wells was provoked, he made unintentional and careless contact to the jaw with an open hand.

Tigersaints make of that what you like but thats apparently their decision based on the facts provided. I also believe the umpires coach who was at the game gave evidence that indicated the young Burnie player targeted Wells on numerous occasions off the ball. But i guess that makes it ok cause he is only 16.

He said
'Don't quote me but I believe--'
And 'Apparently their decision---'
And 'I also believe the umpires coach--'

I didn't see that as 'fact' It read like he was making supposition. Perhaps he should have said
'What happened was---'
And 'Their decision was----'
And 'The Umpires coach was--- & did---'

Then I may have assumed thats what took place. Get it?

Even so, 'Indicated the young Burnie player targeted Wells on Numerous times' Means what? That he hit Wells? He talked to Wells? He kissed Wells? I mean what is targeted? If he did break any rules in 'targeting Wells' & it was seen by an AFLTas official, why wasnt he reported also?

Do you now see how this doesn't make sense?

He said
'Don't quote me but I believe--'
And 'Apparently their decision---'
And 'I also believe the umpires coach--'

I didn't see that as 'fact' It read like he was making supposition. Perhaps he should have said
'What happened was---'
And 'Their decision was----'
And 'The Umpires coach was--- & did---'

Then I may have assumed thats what took place. Get it?

Even so, 'Indicated the young Burnie player targeted Wells on Numerous times' Means what? That he hit Wells? He talked to Wells? He kissed Wells? I mean what is targeted? If he did break any rules in 'targeting Wells' & it was seen by an AFLTas official, why wasnt he reported also?

Do you now see how this doesn't make sense?

It doesn't make sense to you becuase its not what you wanted to see.