ClarkeM

Either a dickhead or an idiot or both
So listen here. I am 16, male and love footy more than anything in the world. I take my job seriously though and i try to earn as much cash as i can. I work at Coles and work in the Deli. Sadly, i have been getting Saturday shifts. Not the greatest you could say but hey, i'm willing to earn the money.

The date was the 13th of September and the local region was in good spirits. Why? Might you ask. The reason why is because the Local Football League Grand Finals was to take place. Despite getting knocked out in the finals, i really wanted to go to the footy but i worked 3-8 and missed out on what was something i planned since the start of the year.

I figured that if i work it, i might have a better chance of getting the AFL Grand Final off. So the next Saturday, the 20th, the other Local footy Grand Finals were on. Not as superior as the other but i have a ton of mates that play in it and all. I was rostered on 3-8 and thought, if i work, i will have an even better chance of watching the Grand Final.

Then the Monday happened and i started trying to get my shift swapped. No luck at all. Wednesday, and i had no body within the whole store that could work. The Fresh Produce guys are all busy and the Dairby boys arn't much help either.

I know i shouldn't have left it until this late but i had no choice. I swear i wrote down i couldn't work the Saturday but i checked with the assistant manager the other day and i mistook September for Ocotber i think. Apart from all that, my friend is having all the boys over for a huge piss-up just for the GF.

Now, I am in a Very tough position. Either i call up early and explain my situation and plead for them to let me off for one day OR I fake an injury prior/during work. Despite unsuccessful attempts at breaking my finger purposely, yes, my finger, i have a couple of ideas.

Idea
A) I Tape my thumb up very heavily. So heavily that it would be impossible for me to be capable to work yet still neat that it looks like it is a real injury. Say i did it at Volleyball Practise.

B) I slip over at work and risk humiliation but thankfully hurt myself real bad. Twist a shoulder or sprain my wrist.

C) I work it and miss out on a huge piss-up with the boys while watching the Grand Final. Be labeled for the rest of my schooling life as the kid who chose work over the GF.

I probably sound like the biggest soft **** on here but if you knew my situation, you would be supporting me 100%.

Thoughts?

B) I slip over at work and risk humiliation but thankfully hurt myself real bad. Twist a shoulder or sprain my wrist.

Nice thread scottyD, I'm sure plenty of others are in the same situation. Unfortuantely I can't help you.

Rather I can give you a suggestion, a tip. Part B I reckon you should go with, watching the GF whilst getting your arm plastered seems like a magical idea. :D

Nice thread scottyD, I'm sure plenty of others are in the same situation. Unfortuantely I can't help you.

Rather I can give you a suggestion, a tip. Part B i reckon you should go with, watching the GF whilst getting your arm plastered seems like a magical idea. :D
I also agree with B and drink the pain and humiliation off

Rather I can give you a suggestion, a tip. Part B i reckon you should go with, watching the GF whilst getting your arm plastered seems like a magical idea. :D
That's how determined I am.

Just call in sick and tell them you have a stomach bug. If they ask for a doctors note (which they shouldn't if you're only a casual) tell them you couldn't get an appointment.

But the Manager knows pretty much so it will be too obvious. I am just going to call in the morning and say i can't work. Apologise and everything but i just can't work.

Or just pay the doctors to give you a doctors certificate, should be like the normal check-up fee, whatever they call it, and just say you had to get blood tests, etc to see whether the stomach bugs were serious or not. Was really struggling to get out of bed, was having to go to the toilet every five minutes, etc.

Fair enough.

How about ringing the manager up, saying that you've been monstered with a stomach bug or something along those lines and say that you have to get blood tests during the day because it is really bugging you, and it's bloody unfortunate because now I can't even attempt to watch the Grand Final in piece!

Not sure buddy, hopefully you can get out of it someway or another. :thumbsu:

No thoughts really...I am just going to sit here and laugh at your predicament :D

Nah, I feel for you...I have been in that positition before and it blows

Just get your mum or someone else to call in sick for you.

That way you don't have to answer any questions or have that awkward silence after you tell them you're sick.

Just get your mum or someone else to call in sick for you.

That way you don't have to answer any questions or have that awkward silence after you tell them you're sick.

ROFL that's what I was gonna say. You're only 16, get one of your olds to do the dirty work for you. It may seem like a bit of a bitches way out but it works.

See you could ring them yourself and have them tell you, "No you're coming into work today and there will be no discussion," or something along those lines or you could get your parent to do it and you are pretty much guaranteed the day off.

I worked at Coles when I was a teen as well and got my old man to do it for me one year....worked a charm lol :thumbsu:

you're 16, it's only 1 grand final in your life. as a manager, if one of my staff rang in ON THE MORNING of a g/f, i sure as hell would know what was going on. if there was no-one else available and i had to go in, do you think the little shit that caused me to go in would be rostered on for any shifts ever again?
take you medicine, go in and work, there will be **** all people shopping at that time of day anyway, and make sure you plan the daylights out of having next gf off.
it's called karma mate, screw up other's days today by ringing in sick and i'll guarantee it'll come back and get you when you dont want it to.
having said all that, just looking at the time and you've obviously had to make a decision by now, hope it's the right one.

you're 16, it's only 1 grand final in your life. as a manager, if one of my staff rang in ON THE MORNING of a g/f, i sure as hell would know what was going on. if there was no-one else available and i had to go in, do you think the little shit that caused me to go in would be rostered on for any shifts ever again?
take you medicine, go in and work, there will be **** all people shopping at that time of day anyway, and make sure you plan the daylights out of having next gf off.
it's called karma mate, screw up other's days today by ringing in sick and i'll guarantee it'll come back and get you when you dont want it to.
having said all that, just looking at the time and you've obviously had to make a decision by now, hope it's the right one.
Yes i am working mate. They are broadcasting it over the P.A System as well so i might as well.
I know of Karma very well mate but after everything i have done for Coles in the past month isn't really paying off. Working full-day shifts, as in 9-6 comes hard enough at 16.

Decided to work and sadly, i don't really have a real choice. I will download the game tomorrow anyway after my hangover and work so at least i will get to watch it.

Oh and DemonFan, i am quitting come November/December. Therefor, having been there for a full 12 months would look better than 10 months on a resume.

I find the best way to get off work is to drink at work.

You are mentally off work but still working, still making money from da man.

It is a win win for everyone!