Goalkicking accuracy

Billyc

We enter the bye in 3rd. It's a good place to be. There are reasons we are that high. Our second quarter last night showed some of those reasons. Our best is great. We showed that best against Swans and Cats so can do it against good teams too.

But there are reasons we are not top 2. Our second half last night showed many of those reasons, including some immaturity, inability to stop opposition's momentum, lack of forward pressure etc.

But main reason is goalkicking accuracy. It has cost us wins against the Dogs, the Pies, arguably the Giants, and very nearly cost games against Cats, Swans and Crows. To date we have gone:

14.11 v Giants (1 point loss with 25 shots to opponent's 27)
21.19 v Bombers
14.15 v Swans (17 point win with 29 shots to opponents 17)
13.14 v Cats (1 point win with 27 shots to opponent's 21)
15.14 v Dogs (40 point win)
13.11 v Power (3 point win)
16.16 v Suns (39 point win)
13.15 v Pies (draw with 28 shots to opponent's 18)
11.7 v Dockers (15 point loss)
12.9 v Demons (39 point loss)
10.15 V Crows (9 point win)
18.11 v Saints (42 point win)
9.17 v Dogs (6 point loss with 26 shots to opponent's 17).

It's not a small problem. It's a fundamental skill - the only one that puts 6 points on the board.

What are the reasons? Is it skill - some players are not good kicks, but there are those who are good field kicks but poor kicks for goal. Is it mental? Is it windy Dingley (I don't buy this one)? Is it game plan leading to a low percentage shots?

I don't think it's the latter either because we constantly miss easy set shots. It's got to be a combination of other factors but some players, who simply consistently can't kick straight, need to be either removed from the team or at least from anywhere near the forward half. If it is not fixed, we will lose games in September because of it. And it makes it so obvious why we're throwing money at Ben King.

I can sort of buy the wind at Dingley argument. Would be very hard to get proper feedback from a kick if the wind moves it so much. Some good kicks would be missing because of the unpredictability, and because it misses, the player thinks it was a bad kick.

You even see if on the socials when they do the goal kicking comps. They're starting the ball in the middle of the behinds before the wind takes it through the goals.

Can we get a few ex players to offer a few words of wisdom?

Roughead (now at Adelaide)
Breust (Richmond)
Franklin (Dad duties)
Dunstall (media)

Gunston is brilliant as we know from the current playing group. Not sure what sort of mentoring or advice he’s been able to give? If he hasn’t had the opportunity let’s try that too?

Not sure how much input Buddy or Jase have had with this group but surely worth a shot at some advice?

Rioli would be great for the smaller forwards and hopefully it would extend the olive branch to him too.

Big Fish Paul Salmon for ruck advice and resting full forward goalkicking.

I don't go to training. Question for those that do. Do they ever practice goal kicking individually? Like technique? I'm not talking goal kicking comps from set shots. Like even f50 stoppage snaps. So many of our snaps get hit skinny.

Sitting behind the goals last night it was interesting to watch the facial expressions of the players liking for goals.

The Wiz had a very intent look on his face when he kicked them but lots of others (especially Ginni) looked super nervous during their pre shot routine and kicked accordingly.

It really was perfect conditions last night, ground was dry and not a breath of wind. To have kicked that badly shows lots of players are totally lacking confidence in their goal kicking.

Does the club need to simplify it a little and bring in some standard processes for set shot routines? And then just practise, practise, practise these routines over the break?

Jason Dunstall used to go out with runner George Stone on his own time, twice a week, and take 100 shots at goal. You can wager today's players don't do that. You only have to watch the way some players approach the task that they have obviously spent no time at all developing a technique. Kicking for goal should be the most vital skill in football, but it seems to be very low in priorities.

Sitting behind the goals last night it was interesting to watch the facial expressions of the players liking for goals.

The Wiz had a very intent look on his face when he kicked them but lots of others (especially Ginni) looked super nervous during their pre shot routine and kicked accordingly.

It really was perfect conditions last night, ground was dry and not a breath of wind. To have kicked that badly shows lots of players are totally lacking confidence in their goal kicking.

Does the club need to simplify it a little and bring in some standard processes for set shot routines? And then just practise, practise, practise these routines over the break?
between the ears has a correlation with between the goal posts
Most of our players are good to very good kicks & I think they left at least 3 goals slip

Jason Dunstall used to go out with runner George Stone on his own time, twice a week, and take 100 shots at goal. You can wager today's players don't do that. You only have to watch the way some players approach the task that they have obviously spent no time at all developing a technique. Kicking for goal should be the most vital skill in football, but it seems to be very low in priorities.
It’s crazy isn’t it.

It would be like a NBA player spending all their time practising dribbling and passing and none on shooting!

I know the analogy isn’t 100% accurate but we have currently tracking at a 50% goal kicking average for the year, that’s very poor indeed.

Its being magnified because our opponants this season seem to have incredible high accuracy against us .
Would be interested to see if its how we defend or hage we simple been a bit unlucky , maybe both .

We have won some of these games but this is pretty amazing
Gws - 19.8
Swans - 13.4
Cats - 14.7
Pies - 15.3
Dogs 12.5
Half are games with opponants scoring at this effeciency

I would be looking at this tbh

Its being magnified because our opponants this season seem to have incredible high accuracy against us .
Would be interested to see if its how we defend or hage we simple been a bit unlucky , maybe both .

We have won some of these games but this is pretty amazing
Gws - 19.8
Swans - 13.4
Cats - 14.7
Pies - 15.3
Dogs 12.5
Half are games with opponants scoring at this effeciency

I would be looking at this tbh
Was just thinking about this very thing.

I think it’s partly our weakness at defending the quick counter attack from our attacking 50.

Sides move the ball into their forward 50 before we have time to set up our defensive structures and they often get easy goals running into their goal square or hit up leads 20m out straight in front.

Reckon if I see another training clip where they're all sitting around doing kicking comps from the boundary I'll spew. If you can't do the basics, you've already lost.

Imagine getting paid hundreds of thousands of dollars, and not being able to reliably deliver your core KPI.

Edit: just saw a clip of Chief watching Ball Magnets where they all talk about Cripps kicking around the corner for Carlton's win and how it's better, sure do what feels right instead of practicing hard on something that's proven. Rarely saw Chief or Plugger around the corner, but what would they know they only got 2500 goals.

Reckon if I see another training clip where they're all sitting around doing kicking comps from the boundary I'll spew. If you can't do the basics, you've already lost.

Imagine getting paid hundreds of thousands of dollars, and not being able to reliably deliver your core KPI. If you're above the org average for inaccuracy, you're not doing something wrong.
Yeh at our current rate I'd be more impressed to see some clips of the players kicking a regulation drop punt from 30m out directly in front than some trick shot from the boundary.

Playing footy is a trade, part of that trade is being a competent (at least at league average) set shot for goal.

It’s all between the ears. It’s like when you see soccer players missing the goal on penalties- that should never happen, but their mind is clearly not focused. Even a mediocre kick should be able to slot most goals.

It’s crazy isn’t it.

It would be like a NBA player spending all their time practising dribbling and passing and none on shooting!

I know the analogy isn’t 100% accurate but we have currently tracking at a 50% goal kicking average for the year, that’s very poor indeed.
And it's well down on recent premiership seasons.

2008: 408-346
2013: 414-323
2014: 418-288
2015: 426-298

So far in 2026: 179-174. In 2025 it was 343-280.

There's an old adage in football that if you can't kick, you can't play football. As trite as that may seem in today's game, I believe it still rings true.

Imagine getting paid hundreds of thousands of dollars, and not being able to reliably deliver your core KPI. If you're above the org average for inaccuracy, you're not doing something wrong.
Imagine how far you would go as a tennis professional who can't serve, or a golfing professional who can't putt. They are the vital components of the game, just as a high conversion rate when kicking for goal in football is paramount for success.

I get the comparison you’re making, but there have famously been golfers who have the yips with their putting - Sergio Garcia, Adam Scott for example. They can all putt, but when the pressure is on their putting goes to water.

It’s crazy isn’t it.

It's not a poor analogy. Kicking the ball straight for goal is the most fundamental skill.

It's bothered me for years in footy. So many big games are decided by it. Hawks have won and lost grand finals and big finals because of it.

I get the comparison you’re making, but there have famously been golfers who have the yips with their putting - Sergio Garcia, Adam Scott for example. They can all putt, but when the pressure is on their putting goes to water.
They're not under pressure though. These are regulation set shots 35-40 out on a small angle.

Pressure is perception in this circumstance. No one is going to die if you miss a putt or a goal.

Now that’s not to say there isn’t pressure, but it’s created by the individual in their mind.

“Pressure is a Messerschmitt up your arse, playing cricket is not."

To extend the golfing analogy I'd be sure the pros spend far more time practicing 3 metre putts than they do 10 metre putts, which are the golfing equivalent of a checkside kick from the boundary.

I can sort of buy the wind at Dingley argument. Would be very hard to get proper feedback from a kick if the wind moves it so much. Some good kicks would be missing because of the unpredictability, and because it misses, the player thinks it was a bad kick.

You even see if on the socials when they do the goal kicking comps. They're starting the ball in the middle of the behinds before the wind takes it through the goals.
The wind issue is a bit of a furphy. Today there will be no wind there because it's not a windy day in Melbourne in general. The facility isn't built in a wind tunnel. The issue is that when it is windy in Melbourne it will be very windy at the KC. But you could practice kicking today and conditions will be perfect. There's an actual online wind radar and you can open that at anytime to see if it's windy at the Kennedy Centre (or Dingley at least).