Gold Coast theme parks

• Thread starter Thread starter BomberGal

What Gold Coast theme parks, out of Dreamworld, MovieWorld, Seaworld and Wet 'n' Wild have you been to? Which one did you enjoy the most, and which did you enjoy the least? How about your favourite ride?

Personally, my favourite is definitely Dreamworld. I never get enough of any of those rides...especially the Tower Of Terror, the Giant Drop and the Wipeout. I love the adrenalin rush. I also love the Lethal Weapon at Movieworld, it rox.

I don't expect many replies....no-one ever replies to my threads! :D

Firstly, if you made this a poll, it would have been easier for people to express their opinions, and may have resulted in more replies.

Secondly, my favourite theme park by far is Sea World.

Thirdly, last time I was at Dreamworld was the day the Tower of Terror opened, and the queue was estimated at 3.5 hours, and there was no way I was going to wait that long. Can't wait to do it next time I'm there though.

Fourthly, I agree about Lethal Weapon, except I don't think you're on there long enough.

Fifthly, I have started two topics that got over 150 "reads", with zero replies. so I know how you feel :(

Well here's a reply.

I love themeparks. I still haven't been to the Gold Coast but when I went to the US in 2000 I went to Six Flags Magic Mountain (went on the world's tallest looping rollercoaster and the world's tallest stand-up rollercoaster), Disneyland (had a great time) and Knott's Berry Farm (one of the world's biggest wooden roller-coaster and the legendary Montezuma's revenge).

I'll have to go up to Queensland soon to ride some of the coasters-we've got bugger all in Melbourne.

Went to them all a couple of years ago, am going back to the Gold Coast in May. Favourite would be Dreamworld! Tower of terror and giant drop were the best! May is a great time to go, after going on either of those rides, it was just a matter of running back around to the queue, and there were like 5 people in the line. Sometimes you could even stay there and go again!!

Can't wait till I go!!!

I've been to all of them except Wet'n'Wild - waterslides just don't interest me.

Like aspects of all of them.

SeaWorld, cos there's a fair bit to see and do there, with the dolphins, etc. as well as the rides.

MovieWorld has some great rides - especially Lethal Weapon and Batman.

And DreamWorld also has some fantastic rollercoasters (I haven't been there since the Tower of Terror opened, but I'm sure I'd love that too). I did go on a ride last time I was there, I think it's called Wipeout. My cousin and I were on it and my ex was standing on the sidelines just watching us, when the guy next to him says "check out that chick's boobs", my ex looks over and he's talking about me! You see the ride goes upside down and my boobs fell out of my top!!! Very embarrassing, as I had absolutely no idea. I got very sunburnt that particular day too.

I just love theme parks. I've been to Disneyland and Universal Studios 3 times and SeaWorld (San Diego) twice. Intend to go back again at some stage too. Though I think next time I'll go to DisneyWorld and the Epcot Centre in Florida.

Originally posted by kristin5

My cousin and I were on it and my ex was standing on the sidelines just watching us, when the guy next to him says "check out that chick's boobs", my ex looks over and he's talking about me! You see the ride goes upside down and my boobs fell out of my top!!! Very embarrassing, as I had absolutely no idea. I got very sunburnt that particular day too.

LOL....

The story kinda makes it sound like you didn't know about it, and you had them out all day and that is where ya got sunburned!!

But I know what you mean

;)

The Gold Coast seems to be a popular holdiay spot with my family, as we went there in 91,93,96,97,99 and 00. We went to Movieworld every one of those times, have been to Seaworld I think all except 2, Wet and Wild 3 times, and Dreamworld twice.

I loved the Young Einstein gravity house at Movieworld, but they got rid of it. I'm the wrong person to ask about the best rides, as we are not really a ride family, hence having only been to Dreamworld twice in 6 visits.

Have also been to Disneyworld in florida, ad univeral Studios in LA, boy the Americans know how to run a theme park. Magnificient places they are. Disneyworld is practically a suburb.

ive been 2 all of them, i reckon the best one was movieworld, then seaworld then wet n wild then dreamworld. though the tower of terror was good, but the days i went there were wayyyy too hot so waiting in line for ages was annoying, though it probably woulda been good if it wasnt so hot.

I live about 45 mins from Dreamworld and the Gold Coast itself and I reckon Dreamworld wins hands down. We went about 6 months ago as part of a school fundraiser for my mum's friends daughter's school. They opened the part after 5pm for these ticket holders, with only about 1500-2000 tickets sold for the night. The park shut about 10-ish, and they had every ride open. The lines were small, the longest queue we had all night was about 15 minutes for the Tower of Terror.

Sweet night, and no Japanese Tourists in the whole park.

Been to them all (obviously) ;)

Dreamworld is far and away the best. We used to have a family pass to the place and went whenever we wanted. Totally awesome ... especially as a kid.

Best: Dreamworld
Worst: Movieworld <--- can't stand the place

I don't think you could call Wet'n'Wild a 'theme' park as such. It's an entity onto itself. I hold some impressive records on the speed slide i tell ya!! :D

Dreamworld wins by a mile, the queues weren't too bad, and we ended up going on the Tower of Terror 3 times in 30 minutes because the park was about to close. It was unbelievable!

The best rollercoaster I have been on was New Years Eve at Wonderland in Sydney. They opened up the park for a rave (Utopia) and about 11,000 people went it was awesome. I have never been so smashed on a thrill ride, it makes it 10 times better!!

Ive been to all of them a couple of times, and my favourite is by far Dreamworld, I could spend all day every day there!!

BUT, the best of the rest is the Police Academy Stunt Show at Movieworld

I have been to them all and must stat that you need to take your on food and drinks in with you as the prices are highand it is nearly always warmespecially for our southern visitors.

Seaworld is good with the Polar Bears, penguins, seals, water ski show, feeding the sharks etc. as well some water slides but I don't believe it has enough adult rides,

Movieworld just doesn't have enough rides at all with Batman, Lethal Weapon, the Looney Tunes ride, the Wild West ride the Road runner rollercoaster and the Gremlins adventure. For nearly $40 admission P.P. not enough bangs for the bucks. They say they are going to open a new ride every two years so in about 10 years it should be terrific.

Wet'n'Wild is good fun with the flumes waterslides wave pools speed slides. the double screamer ride and the calypso beach ride. Then there is the Mammoth falls ride (6 to a raft) and the mammoth plunge ride (6 to a raft). There are also picnic facilities here for a barbecue.

I must admit I think Dreamworld is the best value for money.
It has the thrill rides The Tower of Terror, The big drop and the Wipeout. It also has the normal rollercoaster theme park rides such as the Thunderbolt, the Graviton. the Mine ride etc. plus a kids area with merry-go-round etc Down the back of the park there is a swimming area with water slides, a flume and tobaggon ride and three diferent pools. Next to that is the native animal enclosure, with Koalas, Kangaroos, Saltwater Crocodiles and native birds. Further around the park is Tiger Island and the 7 Tigers on show including the White tiger. And now they have re-assembled and renovated the old Sydney Luna Park Rollercoaster at Dreamworld. It's been named the CYCLONE with speeds up to 85kmp a 360o loop and sidewinder. Also has options for a barbecue or picnic.

I think all of those options at Dreamworld mean good value for Money just remember to take a backpack/esky with food and drink to whichever park you go.It will save you a fortune.

I probably go to QLD at least once a year and usually go to a couple each time. Dreamworld is by far the best, there just seems so much more to do. I'd vote the Corkscrew at Seaworld way better than the Thunderbolt at Dreamworld though.

Wet "n' Wild is an ace day out too if you like waterslides. If the weather's good, it's easy to spend a few days there. I remember being there at dusk years ago watching Jaws on the wall of the wavepool. Floating on a lilo it was fantastic!!

Movieworld? I wouldn't rate it at all. Lethal Weapon ride is awesome (although I lost my watch last time :mad: But they sent it back to me in pieces a few weeks later!) but it seems that you pay all that money to get in, and the place is full of shops. I wasn't impressed.

I live here on the Gold Coast and have been to all 4.

Dreamworld is the best. Giant Drop and Tower of Terror are fantastic, i have also been on the tour of the Big Brother house, add the new Cyclone rollercoaster (which i haven't been on as it was opened recently) makes it a great day.

The only bad thing about Dreamworld (besides the lines of course) is the Thunderbolt rollercoaster, it is a shocker. Slow after the first two loops and bangs your head around.

I went to Dreamworld, Movie World and Sea World back in 99. My favourite was probably Sea World because the corkscrew was the scariest thing I went on and I luved it :o :p
I was only 13 and with no one that wanted to go on any "scary" rides with me so I had to do it all by myself :mad:. I didn't go on the Lethal Weapon, Giant Drop, Tower of Terror :rolleyes:. I guess that's why Dreamworld wasn't my favourite :confused: I thought the Thunderbolt at Dreamworld was really old and stingey and pretty boring but any rollercoaster is good enough for me :p And I agree with whoever mentioned the Police Academy Show...it was heaps funny but my main memory of it was drinking like 3 bottles of water cause it was so boiling that day. And the explosion...talk about scorching :eek: Oh and the Wild Wild West was pretty cool!!
I think I might be going back this year, I can't wait :)

Havn't been to movieworld, but have been to Wet n' Wild, Dreamworld, and Sea World.

Love all of them. Dreamworld is the best. It is Australia's version of Disenyland. Long live the Thunderbolt!!

Copped my worst ever suburn at Wet and Wild as a youngster. Love the waterslides, but boy oh boy did I pay for my ignorance for the rest of my holidays. I had blisters on my back, and I couldn't go anywhere or do anything.

Originally posted by kristin5

I just love theme parks. I've been to Disneyland and Universal Studios 3 times and SeaWorld (San Diego) twice. Intend to go back again at some stage too. Though I think next time I'll go to DisneyWorld and the Epcot Centre in Florida.

To give you an idea of their sizes, apparently Disneyland would fit into the carpark of DisneyWorld. Allow heaps of time (a week in Orlando is pretty good), you can easily spend a full day in each 'park' and not get bored! :D

I live on the Gold Coast now so have been to Movieworld about 6 times, Seaworld only 2 and Dreamworld too many times to count. I have a season pass to Dreamworld and have been ducking off down there regularly late in the afternoons to go on the water rides (log flume and rapid ride) when nobody is there to cool off. I literally live 5 minutes away from Dreamworld and 3 minutes from Movieworld and work directly across the Broadwater from Seaworld. I guess you get a bit blase about it all after a while. I rarely go to the beaches but if I moved I would miss them.

Dreamworld is the best value for money thus the season pass but we are already tiring of it all. They have taken away some of their characters and the bushrangers have been missing the last few months. I suspect the sale of Dreamworld is bringing about a change in its themes. Seaworld might get our money next year. Movieworld is fantastic the first time but just no go for follow up visits. You can only get caught up in the movie star theme for so long and there are not enough rides.

Rides:
1. Tower of Terror - It's the launch not the tower that gives you the buzz, like being shot out of a cannon.
2. Lethal Weapon - Great turns
3. Corkscrew - Good speed, the 'screw' is always a favourite.
4. Cyclone - Too smooth really. It's higher but after the climb it drops in 2 stages taking away the adrenalin rush a bit. The sidewinder is brilliant.
5. Wipeout - Ever wondered what it is like to be in a blender?
6. Giant Drop - Not a fan of heights .... or falling from heights but it does its job. It only has one chair working at present since a group of people on the last ride of the day were stranded up there for 30 minutes with storm clouds closing in. Then when they got it going they just let it drop as if it was a normal ride. By then they must have been pretty worried.
7. Bermuda Triangle
8. Wild West
9. Thunderbolt - Getting rougher every day but the first descent into the double loop still excites.

and then the rest.