Gone: Forwards

costanza23

Which of these forwards are gone at seasons end?

Mackie
Lonergan
Gardiner
Kingsley
Playfair
McCarthy
Other, specify

I'd get rid of them all except McCarthy right at the moment. BUT that could cause problems because I don't think your allowed to trade that many players and yeah. hehehe

Ummmmmm no seriously I'd trade...

Gardiner because he ****es me off BIG TIME! His disposals are often Very (a capital 'V' to emphasise my point) shonky. He struggles under pressure and doesn't appear to be needed in my eyes. We already have plenty of players like him (Lonergan, Mackie).

Keepers... or not?
I often love Playfair and I would hate to see him go BUT we are trying to win a premiership at catland and he could be good trade bait. Would be so sad if he left. :(

Mackie is such an inconsistant player. He still has no muscles and has plenty of developing to do. If he can work on his decision making skills he should stay with the cats.

I think I'd keep Lonergan. Yes he often gets me angry but I think he is still developing as a footballer and finding his place. His useful when we have injuries but I coldn't see him earning a perminent spot in the snr team.

Oh I'd be sooooooooooo tempted to trade Kingsley. I doubt that would happen because Thompson seems to love him (evidence of this playing him last week even though he did NOTHING to deserve it the week before in the VFL GRRRRRRR!!!!!!)

McCarthy has been playing some great footy in the 2's. I think this guy is a keeper. I think he is finally starting to mature more as a footballer. Although I just read an article which seemed to say that he is on rocky ground and the rest of this season will determine if he stays or goes.

Well after writing this post I've decided I'm too attached to players to make decisions about trading them. Oh I feel sorry for the trading players people (I have no idea what they are really called). It would break my heart if I had to choose who stays and who goes.

McCarthy and Lonergan are definites.

I'd see what you could get in a trade for Charlie in terms of draft picks, or use him to get a Freo youngster like Peake, Schammer or Dunn.

Same with Kingsley, he's run his race here.

Mackie I'd give another season unless a real good offer comes in, while Playfair should stay.

CatmanForever said:
I find this topic debated to death at present, so thanks for making another thread about it......no really, thanks.....good of you

It really is pretty simple. Don't comment if you don't the topic, dont reply. Go away and start a topic that will cater for every single person on the Geelong forum Mr. Wonderful.

For the record, get rid of Kingsley, Charlie & Longergan. Those two will join Koula & Spencer if i had my way. Also, with Ricco to retire and the drafting of Tommy Hawkins, that leaves 5 draft pics (except elevations from the rookie list i.e. Batch, Slade).

costanza23 said:

Mackie
Lonergan
Gardiner
Kingsley
Playfair
McCarthy
Other, specify

Thought a couple of seasons back that Mackie would have stepped up and filled one of the key forward spots by now, doesn't seem like it's going to happen though, needs to bulk up and get more intensity in his game, would certainly keep him.

Kingsley, know he has his detractors, and that he's had a shocking year, but wouldn't be in a hurry to discard someone who can kick 50+ goals in a season, as he's done on several occasions, worth hanging onto I reckon.

Think the other four are all dispensable, don't see much [ if any ] upside in any of them, I know Playfair is apparently highly regarded in some circles, but to be honest, don't think the Cats can take the next step with a player of his modest abilities playing in [ arguably ] the most important position on the field.

Andrew Mackie

I think Mackie is a definite keeper, i have alot of respect for him - even thou he hasn't cut it at AFL level to date.

Kent Kingsley

Kingsley is capable of producing something on his day, and for a player who can kick 50 goals in a season i dare say we'll hang onto him for another season to prove his worth.

Charlie Gardiner

I understand the disrespect shown by alot of Geelong supporters, but I can remember several good things Charlie has done over the past few seasons ... in particular the 2004 Prelim. final against Brisbane (in fact the 2004 season in general was of a high standard for Charlie, and he displayed his obvious potential on a number of occasions)

Tom Lonergan

Havn't seen much of him, but given our shortage of dominant big men id hang onto him for another season and see if he can take the next step

Nathan Ablett

I'd keep him ahead of Lonergan and McCarthy, therefore I'd rate Nath as a definite keeper!!!

Matthew McCarthy

Personally, I'd give him every chance to play senior football in 06, if he fails to realish this opportunity, I'd say he would be the first to go (on par with Lonergan)

Henry Playfair

Shop him around under wraps, don't wanna advertise that we would like to trade him, but I can't see his progress extending into the long term, i think he's just about at his peak and can't see much improvement left.

However I declared Brett Spinks a gun midseason in 1998, and i declared Cameron Mooney a hack in late 2000, early 2001 - so i have a history of sometimes being wrong.

But to my credit, I identified that Jason Mooney was no good after a couple of surprise performances first up in 1999 - so im not always wrong.

as much as Kingsley is hot/cold, I would hesitate to get rid of him because of his popularity within the core group, especially his friendship with the fullback. To remove someone so integrated in the side is tempting to disrupt team balance - keep him out of the seniors until he pulls his finger out, kick him off the the official leadership group, all fine - but don't get the other senior players offside. Also as previously mentioned, he HAS kicked consistent numbers over the last few seasons. This year will be an exception as opposed to a rule.

costanza23 said:
Mackie
Lonergan
Gardiner
Kingsley
Playfair
McCarthy
Other, specify

I not really sure if we are talking de-list or trade. Really considering Thompsons eternal patience McCarthy would be theonly one de-listed but if trades came up fro any of them I suppose we would have to consider them.The trouble is their value is probably deminished due to their performance this year.Its always better to trade a player at the top of his form and obviously thats when a club usually wants to keep them. I cant see any club trading R1 picks this year, the draft is just too enticing

I really think Mackie can offer us something down the track. Have a look at forwardline , he is as talented as any , if we can arrange it so he has the miss match he needs he add to our side. That being said if the right pick is offered we would have to do the deal this year.

Well, McCarthy is definately gone to make way for one T. Hawkins and to give him his number.

The forwards that I think are gone at this seasons end are:

Lonergan, Gardiner and McCarthy.
All of them have been on our list for too long and havent shown anything really. It's a bit unfair for McCarthy thou because he's always getting injured.
Gardiner and McCarthy were both drafted in 2001. Gardiner 49 games and McCarthy 18 games. Lonergan drafted in 2002 and 5 games.
It might be a bit of a gamble thou because 2 of them are KPP and 197cms+. But we're getting a KPP in the draft so far, who know if we get a second.

Kept:
Mackie, Kingsley and Playfair - all have got to prove themselves in 2007.

I would get rid of all of them. You will have Hawkins, N Ablett, Mooney, Grima and Ottens and hopefully our first draft pick will get Riewoldt or Gumbleton.

Jack-Packenham said:
I would get rid of all of them. You will have Hawkins, N Ablett, Mooney, Grima and Ottens and hopefully our first draft pick will get Riewoldt or Gumbleton.

I'd get rid of McCarthy, Gardiner and Lonergan. Keep the others for one more season. They won't trade Kingsley although I'd love it if they did. I agree with who you've listed (mostly) but there are 2 totally unknown quantities in there plus one still in nappies (Hawkins, Grima and N Ablett). For that reason, plus backup for injuries there won't be more than 2 or 3 forwards cut.

Something was mentioned about keeping Kingsley because he's popular with the team and the fullback. What's that got to do with anything? The club list isn't a popularity contest. If he doesn't perform - which he isn't - then he should be chopped. He's had a million chances.

Give McCarthy a chance, not to sure how many games he's played but he certainly hasn't played many lately. If we go belly up in the next month we should give him half a dozen matches to see what he can do...with the heat well and truly on.

If Nathan really wants to be involved then he must stay IMO. One day this kid will kick an absolute bag and he will be on his way. I like the way he attacks the football in the air.

Gardiner. Agreed. No.

Playfair. Jury's still out. The poor bugger is very good at picking up freak injuries. One more year at least for Henry.

Mackie. No. We've had him for years, he's been given games and his recent matches have displayed a lack of concentration, dropping sitter marks etc.

SJ. Johnson is hot and cold but if we can get his head right he deserves to stay ahead of a few others. The fear with Dog is that if we do unload him, he'll turn on a blinder against us. The Ronnie Burns comparision is a worry at this stage of his career.

Lonergan. No. I don't think he's got the tools. Does not and has not impressed so far in my view.

Kingsley. Probably should go but probably won't, at least not next year. As mentioned above, probably safe as long as Bomber remains at the helm. Infuriating tendency to not take the responsibility for the shot.

Ottens. More value to the side as a ruckman in the future? Depends on Hawk and men mentioned above.

It will all depend on what happens for the rest of the year and how many we decide to 'clear out' at the end of the season (Captain Obvious strikes again). If we get rid of a few players in other possies then more of the forwards will remain.

I reckon Gardiner and Mackie especially would be on thin ice.

Catnip said:
I reckon Gardiner and Mackie especially would be on thin ice.

I think we can axe Gardiner. but not Mackie we have put in soooo much time in to him and should persist, unless a good trade opens up. But i think Mackie will take abit longer then the others. He will never be the ff we have wanted or the chf. he will be a half forward flanker. As he matures he will improve. atleast two more years. If a trade was to open what do you think we could get for him, or what would they offer?

As for Lonergan he can go. He can't even take an over head mark. And i think McCarthy will proberly be delisted at years end.

Partridge said:
Something was mentioned about keeping Kingsley because he's popular with the team and the fullback. What's that got to do with anything? The club list isn't a popularity contest. If he doesn't perform - which he isn't - then he should be chopped. He's had a million chances.

Balance. As a coach you don't get your core group offside by ditching one of them because he has a crap season. Yes Kent is a shocking kick, but he has the runs on the board in past seasons too. His million chances all seem to have happened this year? We don't want to go into 2007 with Scarlett, Mooney and co. holding a grudge against Thompson. It will end even worse than this season has to date panned out.

LifeSpan-Void said:
Balance. As a coach you don't get your core group offside by ditching one of them because he has a crap season. Yes Kent is a shocking kick, but he has the runs on the board in past seasons too. His million chances all seem to have happened this year? We don't want to go into 2007 with Scarlett, Mooney and co. holding a grudge against Thompson. It will end even worse than this season has to date panned out.

Yes he may have the runs on the board in the past years. but you can't have someone like KK holding the core together. As popular as Kent mayb, the team cannot get angry with Bomber for ditching him. If they do this, this shows how little faith the players have in him.

thehoff said:
Are you somehow able to explain this one?

OK Hoff, I was expecting someone to ask about this. My comment was in regard to an article that was written by, Michael Turner (I think it was) that was stating that Nate's heart might not be in it..it's something that we hear from time to time and something that I hope is not true as I rate Nablett and think he will be a player. What I am not sure about is the desire. Happy to be proven wrong or enlightened by any fellow Catter.

:thumbsu:

Cheers.

Catnip said:
OK Hoff, I was expecting someone to ask about this. My comment was in regard to an article that was written by, Michael Turner (I think it was) that was stating that Nate's heart might not be in it..it's something that we hear from time to time and something that I hope is not true as I rate Nablett and think he will be a player. What I am not sure about is the desire. Happy to be proven wrong or enlightened by any fellow Catter.

:thumbsu:

Cheers.

Totally agree with you. He has that unpredictabilty about him and i dont think many of us would be surprised if he walked away from the game tomorrow or in 5 years after winning a coleman medal.

He is the type of guy (like his father) that would have no hesitation in walking away from the game when at the peak of his powers.

Gary Jnr seems to be passionate and committed. Something that seems to be very rare in an Ablett.

thehoff said:
He has that unpredictabilty about him and i dont think many of us would be surprised if he walked away from the game tomorrow or in 5 years after winning a coleman medal.

He is the type of guy (like his father) that would have no hesitation in walking away from the game when at the peak of his powers.
I think some people were predicting that Nath might have retired last year, but I agree, he could just leave any day. But with every game, he seems to enjoy it a bit more. Last year, I don't think I saw him smile or look motivated. This year, he looks like he wants to be there and he was actually smiling at the Freo win. He deserved to get a couple of goals against Freo he was just unlucky.