Good deeds you've done

Not many people know this, but Polly Waffles actually float when thrown into a swimming pool.
Wouldn't most, if not all chocolate bars float? Or is this a joke about floating poo or something?

I've posted this elsewhere but my attempted good deeds always work out bad.

I often offer my seat to older/larger (probably pregnant) women on the train/tram and more often than not get a stern "I can stand!" in response.

In my younger days i tried to help an old lady take her grocery trolley off the bus, she whacked me on the head with her cane.

I try to generally be chivalrous (open doors, pull out chairs etc) but it usually winds up being awkward. I'll keep trying.

Well, I was thinking about feeding the poor, spending time with sick kids, donating money to cancer-patients and helping sponsor guide dogs for the blind…but I've found something way better and more beneficial to humanity…See, what I'm going to do is pick up and collect all that pesky McDonald's packaging that gets littered everywhere, and then I'm going to put it in a bag, and dump it all over my local Macca's floor. See, it's an act of civil disobedience, and I hope people will follow in my footsteps and make a difference. Just wait and see how the cigarette companies react when they get a bagful of butts all over their front desks.

…I only hope no one has thought of this righteous plan before me...

The small regular things....

-Giving up your seat on the tram for a pregnant woman, or an old person
-Helping a mother with a pram up the stairs of on older tram

True story though- my mother once lost her wallet at a train station, and it had something like 3k in it. Because, apparently, there was something in one of her bank accounts (this was about ten years ago) that prevented her doing an EFT to her other account. So she had withdrawn this money and was taking it to the branch of the bank (the accounts were with different banks) when it somehow dropped out of her handbag.

Two 13 year old boys found the wallet on the station platform a few minutes later. And guess what? They found something in there which had her phone number on it, contacted her and gave the wallet back to her, with all the money in it. To a 13 year old, 3k is an obscene amount of money to find too. The temptation must have been almost unbearable...

Mum gave the boys $250 each as a reward, from memory.

To a 13 year old, 3k is an obscene amount of money to find too. The temptation must have been almost unbearable...

I would say 3k is an obscene amount to anybody...

I volunteer where I can (for public events and teaching kids to drive), I try donate to friends and family for any charity they are doing (Movember, 100km walks etc). I have wanted to donate a package to someone in the army, but wanted to see if anyone else had done it before?

I knit socks for servicemen, yes. They're always happy to receive my package.

Once I was at the pedestrian crossing when an old lady beside me tripped and fell while reaching out to push the green man button.

As I'm not trained in first aid, I left her lying in the road & crossed over while more qualified members of the public rushed to her aid.

It was the humane thing to do, I'm not good with sick people.

I knit socks for servicemen, yes. They're always happy to receive my package.

Once I was at the pedestrian crossing when an old lady beside me tripped and fell while reaching out to push the green man button.

As I'm not trained in first aid, I left her lying in the road & crossed over while more qualified members of the public rushed to her aid.

It was the humane thing to do, I'm not good with sick people.

No hate, that seems incredibly harsh and i reckon you have been judged for that, but you are correct, unless one of the other people asked for your help.

I'll be overseas for Christmas this year, solo travelling, so away from the family. Think I might volunteer at a soup kitchen or something like that on the day. I don't really care for Christmas but there probably won't be anything to do.

Either that, or shout a few cartons for the folk at the hostel I'll be at. Both seem like good deeds to me.

I'll be overseas for Christmas this year, solo travelling, so away from the family. Think I might volunteer at a soup kitchen or something like that on the day. I don't really care for Christmas but there probably won't be anything to do.

Either that, or shout a few cartons for the folk at the hostel I'll be at. Both seem like good deeds to me.
Where will you be, if it's in the northern hemisphere, you'll enjoy it, cold Xmas' can be really cool. Double points if it snows.

Some bloke left his wallet behind so I chased him down and gave it back.

Where will you be, if it's in the northern hemisphere, you'll enjoy it, cold Xmas' can be really cool. Double points if it snows.

Not even close, Auckland. No northern hemisphere for me until March, but I'll still be out and about next Christmas, targeting the maritime provinces of Canada. Let the good deeds roll.

Travelling around X-Mas FTW, it's the ****. Spent last X-Mas in Hong Kong Disneyland, it was awesome.

Some bloke left his wallet behind so I chased him down and gave it back.

Done that a few times, also for people who left their cards in the ATM.

If I ever see a car parked in the street with the headlights left on, I doorknock a few houses to find the owner.

I returned a phone I found in a shopping centre not too long ago. No password plus having a contact with ICE next to their name ('in case of emergency') helped. The mum was a bit suspicious at first when her daughter, who was standing right next to her, was calling her though. They were still in the shopping centre, so I could give it to her in person, which was handy. Basically the opposite experience to the poster with the iPad earlier, in terms of effort expended :p

I helped a bloke the other day he had hes wheelchair stuck in the gutter bit when trying to get the footpath.Poor bloke i think one of hes wheels was flat or something.

One day at band camp.Someone helped me when i got the forklift bogged in the nature strip when driving it on the footpath.This guy just drove though the round about gave me a nugde and took off what a champ:thumbsu:.

Oh when i was on holiday is tassie some woman dropped heaps of cash walking though a park.She had no idea because she was on the phone i yelled oi you:eek: she looked up as i picked up all her money.she said thankyou while laughing to her phone buddy saying she was a douche for almost all losing here money.