Glasgow Rangers, Liverpool, Storm.
Good win by the Crows. It was a tough contest and the better team won on the night. You should have 2nd spot stitch up from here on until the finals. Although from a Swans point of view i think we can take a lot of positives from the match from the fact that we matched you for 4 quarters and if we had of taken our chances it could of been different. You got away from us early in the 3rd and were able to get the job done from there. Well done.

And also, that smother to save Kirk's goal in the last quarter was sensational, probably saved the game in the end.

Yes, it was a great game by BOTH teams. Adam Goodes played fantastic for the Swans. Your team is going to give other clubs a lot of trouble come the finals time.

Go Crows! :)

Ed_Gein said:
Good win by the Crows. It was a tough contest and the better team won on the night. You should have 2nd spot stitch up from here on until the finals. Although from a Swans point of view i think we can take a lot of positives from the match from the fact that we matched you for 4 quarters and if we had of taken our chances it could of been different. You got away from us early in the 3rd and were able to get the job done from there. Well done.

And also, that smother to save Kirk's goal in the last quarter was sensational, probably saved the game in the end.

Thanks Ed. Yeah pretty tight one that one. No doubt the Swans deserve to be were they are.
That smother in the last qtr was a beauty. Me thinks the Dogga knockers will be quiet this week.

(PS - Great name!! Give my best to your mother! :D )

Very relieved (again) with the outcome tonight. Another last quarter fadeout...

On the other hand, our defense and tackling was outstanding.

Thanks Ed.
Swans had the opportunities but just didnt use them.
Goodes was BOG by a mile.

yeah well done crows. havent really watched much of the crows this year and was impressed with your young players like rutten (did a great job on baz) mattner and bock.

good tackling by both teams and that burst after half time opened the game up. also those 2 goals by roo and burton gave u guys heaps of momentum before the major break and got the crowd involved

That goal by Ricciuto was probably one of the most inspirational moments of our season. That is what a true leader does when he hasn't had his hands on the ball too much. With his first kick of the game from memory well past the half way point of the second quarter.
I was equally impressed with that smother from Doughty and the tackle he laid on Barry Hall later on. I'll grab my slice of humble pie while it's hot.

Yeah when Roo kicked that my initial reaction was, "Why are you going long you moron?"

I guess that's why he is a superstar and I am not. He just summed the situation up within a fraction of a second and pulled it off.

Vic Crow said:
That goal by Ricciuto was probably one of the most inspirational moments of our season. That is what a true leader does when he hasn't had his hands on the ball too much. With his first kick of the game from memory well past the half way point of the second quarter.
I was equally impressed with that smother from Doughty and the tackle he laid on Barry Hall later on. I'll grab my slice of humble pie while it's hot.
Yeah, 2 very memorable moments.

Roo's goal was when we really needed a kick start.

In the last quarter our defence really held up & defensive pressure was great. How good was Dogga! Shut the idiot up behind me who was slagging him off early & hopefully will shut up a few people on BF calling him for to be dropped this week.

Ed_Gein said:

Cheers Ed. Was a really tough contest tonight, typified by a 150 odd tackle count for the game. Swans came home strong in the last quarter lead by this Goodes bloke, who can just play a bit! The Swans also deserve to finish top-4.

I reckon tonight's game was a watershed game for us in the sense that we were tested under finals type conditions and pressure and came up trumps.

We would have lost this one and the one against the Kangas as well in days gone by.

Not only Doughty, but Reilly as well when he was on did plenty of 1 per centers that make the diffeerence between winning and losing.

Most of our big guns were very quiet and we still won. Well done to the backbone group with so so many making the transition from yesterday's failures to today's heroes.

PS

Forgot to say thanks to the couple of good sports above for being gracious losers - never easy to do, particularly when you could have well won the game. Good work fellas. ;)

It really was a game that has shown how far this team has come. We would have lost this game last year and probably the year before aswell.

The Swans are a quality outfit and I hope we don't meet them in week 1 of the finals. I think we caught them a bit off guard in the 3rd quarter, full credit to us for taking the opportunity.

Great Game Swans, your players can walk away with their heads held high.

A few points
Their best player (Goodes) killed us
Our best player (Ricciuto) had a quiet night
They came into this game as confident as they could through last weeks result.
The conditions suited their style
The conditions did not suit us.
They got the umps in the first half and led
We got the umps in the second half and overtook them
Again we beat a team that tried bloody hard to purely shut us down.
Who remembers the days when we would go to victoria in exillerating form to play a top team and we would put up a almighty fight but lose through one 5 or ten minute burst by the home team? well we got one back tonight

Kane McGoodwin said:
How good was Dogga! Shut the idiot up behind me who was slagging him off early & hopefully will shut up a few people on BF calling him for to be dropped this week.

*puts hand up* I have no issue in admitting I thought he was gone after last week's performance, despite being a massive Dogga fan, but tonight, YOU RIPPER :D :p

I said this in another thread, but I dont think Sydney should - and maybe they wouldnt -take that sort of a game into a Grand final as it wouldnt win the game for them - they need to be a bit more adventurous and positive while maintaining that tough one on one approach to soem degree.

I think that early in the game they were cleaner and sharper than the Crows and should have made a more of it and not let us back into the game.

I'm sorry I dont care how close Sydney got tonight the talent on that list is absolutely WASTED with that RUBBISH gameplan that Roos continues to push. Seriously what is the point of Barry Hall taking marks on the Centre Wing. OK it might win them some games but it is not going to win you a GF no way in the world. I just cringe when I see some of their gun players having to be stuck with such rubbish.

Punchy Bassett said:
I'm sorry I dont care how close Sydney got tonight the talent on that list is absolutely WASTED with that RUBBISH gameplan that Roos continues to push. Seriously what is the point of Barry Hall taking marks on the Centre Wing. OK it might win them some games but it is not going to win you a GF no way in the world. I just cringe when I see some of their gun players having to be stuck with such rubbish.

Well we've won 9 of our last 12 games, with 2 of those losses being by 1 point to Richmond and 7 points to Adelaide last night. With a bit more luck those results could of easily went the other way, with our only bad loss coming against St Kilda. We can't be doing too bad if we have only had 1 terrible game in 12.

Punchy Bassett said:

I agree. The game plan they served up tonight was rubbish. They give their forwards bugger all opportunity to win the game. How many times did a swans player take possession within a few metres of the boundary line and then just walk the ball straight over the line. Surely at some stage the deliberate rule has to come into play? If they serve that crap up in finals WC, AFC and the Saints will kill them.

Ed_Gein said:
Well we've won 9 of our last 12 games, with 2 of those losses being by 1 point to Richmond and 7 points to Adelaide last night. With a bit more luck those results could of easily went the other way, with our only bad loss coming against St Kilda. We can't be doing too bad if we have only had 1 terrible game in 12.

But my personal opinion is you could do so much more, you have some awesome players who if let loose could really explode and bury lots of teams if they had a fast moving running game. Just my thoughts.

Punchy Bassett said:
But my personal opinion is you could do so much more, you have some awesome players who if let loose could really explode and bury lots of teams if they had a fast moving running game. Just my thoughts.

I think their plan was to open it up in the last quarter, which they did and had 7 scoring shots but couldn't kick straight.

Makes you wonder why they don't do it from the start.

Good win to you guys. Very scrappy but hard fought win by you guys. See you in the finals.