L_J_T

Manchester United
Richmond defender David Gourdis has been suspended for five matches by the VFL tribunal on two charges arising from last Saturday’s Coburg-Geelong game at Skilled Stadium.

Gourdis, who played full-back for Coburg on experienced Geelong forward Cameron Mooney, was charged with making an obsence gesture to the field umpire and then making contact with the same umpire.

http://www.richmondfc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/6301/newsid/119109/default.aspx

Doesn't look very good after this sort of incident for David Gourdis:thumbsd:

All the physical attributes in the world and sadly never got his act together in regards to the rest of career. Sad news for the bloke on a personal level also, I know just how much he struggles with his confidence.

showing a bit of vim, I like it!
Hit the track for a few weeks, do a bit of kickboxing for the aggression and put him in r 24 to have a look at
- might just want to keep him seeing as he has never had an extended run (has he even played consecutive games? = no) in the 1s whilst often being in the best at the burgers.

Thought he was to be our great full forward
or full back
or swingman
not suprised he is letting off steam
(and did read he got stiffed bad by umps at Geelong game)
will spew if he gets cut, without having really seen him - he is 22?

With Gourdis being drafted onto the senior list last year I believe he has another year to run as all draftees normally get 2 years deals when drafted.
I'll stand corrected, but I thought upgraded rookies didn't need to be signed for the minimum two years and one year can suffice.

I'm reading through my AFLPA Handbook now (it's outrageously long) so will hopefully know more soon but I think you and RT are both right.

In my understanding, upgraded rookies do get a two year deal the same as normal rookies, however, the second year can easily be voided.

Hopefully that helps.

Has to go. Though I do wish him the best of luck.

Yer there may be a few that need to go before him, but c'mon, this guy has been on our list for 4 years. Doesn't need a 5th.

McGuane, Moore, Grimes, Astbury, Rance and Post can all play back so we will still have solid depth with Gourdis and Thursfield gone.

This seems a pretty odd incident. Did anybody see it or is there footage?

Yeah there is definitely footage. I saw it on the ABC coverage. He absolutely fuming with the umpire while standing on the mark, he had a clenched fist and the bird just kinda popped out for half a second. Not your conventional rude finger but still it was enough. Not much was made of it at the time and he just gave away 50. Didn't see the touching of the ump though.

It is amazing though how this guy couldn't get a game after being in the best for coburg for so many weeks while others just walk stright in to the team without showing why they should be there by playing well in the two's.

From listening to the commentary after the incident - sounds like the umpires had been a ****ing joke all day paying soft, technical 50's and stuff all day and it had result in a ridiculous amount of goals.

They WANT players to get emotionally involved in a contest, then make them have to deal with that kind of crap? This ump will get to umpire again this week and beyond - while Gourdis now can't work for 5 weeks and has probably cost him a job.

**** this is a shit sport these days:thumbsd:

the 50 is probably there the way footy is played these days although 5 weeks is a joke

what are they saying he actually did to get 5 weeks? giving the bird? and making contact with the umpire while running back?

does anyone actually know the whole situation? there has to be more to it than that

4 weeks for being a racist but you can still play vfl
8 weeks for bringing the game into disrepute by gambling on your own team
5 weeks for slightly touching an umpire unintentionally

what a joke

What an effing joke! Whenever an official in any context is 'protected' from criticism it invariably leads to a dictatorship of sorts. This has been a wretched season in so many ways. BTW goo should stay.

watched the game on Iview....this particular umpire was being criticized constantly by the commentators they even used the word ' pedantic' to describe him .... he made incorrect decisions all day against both sides..... he gave away a double 50 against Coburg ???????...... the player gets punished...does the umpire get reprimanded for doing an absolute crap job. The rude gesture and contact was no doubt born out of absolute frustration against a power intoxicated young man who is not good enough to be a football player so he becomes an umpire.... go figure ....no doubt about it.....Gourdis is normally a mild mannered player thank god it was his first offense or it may have been longer..... absolutely disgraceful decision from the the tribunal. It was easy to read the lips of his opponent who said to Gourdis " Don't let it get to you mate" even he obviously thought the decision was incorrect. The football tribunal is run by a bunch of morons..... how easy it is to become more and more disillusioned as the weeks go by. I'm nearly done!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

It was a decent spoil, i'd be spewing too if a free kick was awarded.

Feel for the guy, Dimma should have been playing him in the ones and not the magoos, hopefully he'll come back and get another chance

what a joke

what a joke

joke yes it was a whole comedy standup routine with Coburg the butt of every joke, but unintentional?

nah mate, just watched its at 2:38:35, Goo FUMING as Mooney appearing to get a free for nothing, and he flipped the bird for 0.25sec (on film too eejit) to give away 50m, taking Mooney into the sq, and he stands exactly where the ump tells him, pushing him v slightly, but very deliberately as he does. mind you ump is basically pointing at his feet - I call entrapment!

The look on his face mighta got him a couple of weeks, also burn danger from the steam escaping his ears, he has clearly boiled over. He clean jumps about a metre standing the mark too.

AND THEN the ump tells him that he was ACTUALLY paying GOO the free for high - which was called as Mooney threw an arm back into Goo as the ball came in which got him high

At NO point whilst the ball is being retrieved does ump clarify as Goo is standing the mark and the ball gets given to Mooney (which is when he flipped bird) no wonder he was peeved -all ump had to say was 'against you Mooney you giant wooley headed past it hack" and a fair outcome wouldve been achieved.

AS it was called ump is clearly pointing back towards Geelong goal, I guess to indicate the free to go back to Goo, but no-one can see and he doesnt award 50m when it gets given to Mooney the field is all setting up as if Mooney has it, which is what everyone appears to believe, inc commentary, its only revealed that it wasnt the case after as the ump sticks it to Goo the poor bugger, probly be glad to have 5 weeks off after putting up with that SHIT. Bloke loses 5 weeks maybe career because flipping ump cant direct traffic.

Slops hard done by a couple of times after getting a free for being taken high, getting slung and ruffed up as he jabbed back got the free reversed = Geelong goal.

'officious' Philly called the umps, in the meaning of the word as you'd expect for umps having more influence on the game than ANYBODY else

another reversal was after a wrestle (Gus monstering someone - sticking up for I think Webbers, who was being ruffed up) off play took the ball off Burger defended who had marked and gave it to Shroeder Geelong then a 50m for abuse (?by ORiley?) = goal, followed immediately by a Mooney goal which he gets after the old fashioned push (Goo) under the ball which didnt get a whistle at all, but was followed within a min by a whistle against Farmer for nudging his guy under with good bodywork = another Geelong goal.

Im just watching this over and over because I cant bear to look at Richmond v Geelong this weekend

other than that, liked Carnell & Miller (burgers bog), Morton, slops and..Goo
actually did well on Mooney who was playing well
nice speccie and play on from Post but only watched about half game as kept watching the bs frees and now its mah bed time

His career at Richmond might be over because we develop players for a few years, play these kids against men when they aren't ready and then when they are built like men, they move on for a variety of reasons. E.g. Schulz, Meyer, Collins, JON, Polo, Rodan, Krakouer, Tambling, Raines, Ottens. I'm sure if Adam Pattison keeps up that VFL form he'll be on AFL list next year too. (Hawthorn is the obvious club). At 22 Gourdis has heaps of time to carve out an AFL career. In 6 years time I can picture him being a handy key defender for Freo, Geelong, Collingwood or GWS.

Mitch Richmond raises a good point... why do we at Richmond expect a 21 - 22 year old key defender, playing in a side that is often getting beaten easily, to be a good solid defender, leaking few goals?

Through sheer impatience we give these guys 4 or 5 years to develop then cut them loose because we decide by this stage that they will never make it, then kick ourselves when they come good at another club. We shouldn't be surprised that this happens when we let them go a year or so out from their prime, and they find themselves playing in a more competitive team.

If we don't hang on to these types of players, then we will never get to the point where we are a competitive side. If the kid is a dud, then that's another matter, but I think Gourdis is worth persisting with...

His career at Richmond might be over because we develop players for a few years, play these kids against men when they aren't ready and then when they are built like men, they move on for a variety of reasons. E.g. Schulz, Meyer, Collins, JON, Polo, Rodan, Krakouer, Tambling, Raines, Ottens. I'm sure if Adam Pattison keeps up that VFL form he'll be on AFL list next year too. (Hawthorn is the obvious club). At 22 Gourdis has heaps of time to carve out an AFL career. In 6 years time I can picture him being a handy key defender for Freo, Geelong, Collingwood or GWS.

err...missed those upgrades.
Schultz got stuffed around as swingman - I dunno how he remembered which end of the ground he was kicking to, Polo had plenty of development and still hasnt cracked it, Rodan was an injury worry - he was and still is very good, but missed a LOT of footy, well, so has Foley. Raines - well, he did crack the na nahs, wanting a crack at the midfield without being able to lock in his bp role, might still come good / ok and we still dont have a bp, Krak - well, sheesh I wish we got him back, and wish Ottens didnt leave - cant really blame the club for these ones tho
Tambling and Schultz maybee but..

I hope you are wrong and we keep Goo. He is never going to be a monster but looks like he could play a a few possies. tbh I like a guy that sweats on his footy, like McG and what i saw of Goo, it = effort.

When did we chuck Patto for Gus and Browne exactly, a couple of years ago??

Just watched the game and holy shit is he stiff to get 5 weeks. The gesture should be a 50m penalty, no question, but nothing else. The contact was no more than HEath Shaw a few years back which resulted in a one week ban. Five weeks is ridiculously over the top.

The umpiring was absolutely shocking (both ways) and it should be the men in orange who are put on the sidelines for a month.

I think he should remain on the list. He was playing on Mooney, who is a premiership player with years of senior experience. I think it was a bit of a "brain fade" on his behalf, but not worth 5 weeks. If Judd can throw an elbow back deliberately and win a brownlow, surely 5 weeks for "the bird" and a brush with an errant umpire is a bit much ?

I watched the game and I thought Gourdis was targeted a few times with poor decisions. At the next centre bounce (after the Mooney goal) the commentators mentioned the amount of goals Geelong had from frees.

Keep Gourdis for another year.