pinkus maximus

Stephen Hill
Great news.

There isn't a realistic trade I could think of in which I would want to trade Polly.

:)

Many decent players not getting a look-in because of the strength of the Eagles. Michael Gardiner's name has been prominent even before his Grand Final disaster while exciting forward Andrew McDougall is the one many clubs are salivating over. Melbourne boy Daniel McConnell, who played two games this year, wants to come home while Kasey Green, Josh Wooden and Jeremy Humm have asked to be traded.

I'm quite sure the correct phrase is "spitting at in disgust."

Of course. I dargged out the Wall to Wall DVD last night and Polly was superb againg Jon Brown in the 2003 win against the Lions.

The thing that struck me was that he was moving so much more fluently than the latter part of 2005 apart from the last half of the Saints game.

He probably played his best footy ever in the first 3 rounds 2005.

I reckon that knee injury was giving him more problems than was let on.

He will bounce back.

Heard on PR this morn 8.00am that Freo are throwing up polak for Hay. They better not do that!! it would be the biggest blunder in freo's history,will make Mcphee and Bell giveaways look decent. If they do the deal then I am afraid I have completely lost confidence and the competance in the freo Hierachy,especially CC. Just because Hay is from Hawthorn and CC has a connection,that is a F#$@$ dump deal. At 26 and with his 90% injury plaqued career,we will be lucky to get a season out of Hay,and the quality of that would be very sus. We might ridicule Parker for his stuff ups in his kick outs,but that's nothing compared to Hay,s waywouldness.

pinkus maximus said:
I think this paragraph in the Herald Sun summed up the situation nicely

"Graham Polak will remain a Docker. Yes, the club has looked at trading Polak but it has been as much about giving the talented 21-year-old key position player a wake-up call.

Trading a developing pick 4 is dangerous territory."

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,16763724%255E19742,00.html

The person who has wrote this article is just having an opinion, just because he wrote that it is dangerous to trade away developing players, it doesn't mean the Freo hierachy aren't stupid enough to be doing this sort of thing again. I just hope that they think about what has happened in the past before they do trades like this in the future. All I can say is, trading hardly ever works! Drafting and developing players is the way to build a team.

Is anyone else sick of hearing about Hay? I don't even want him unless he comes on the cheap. I don't think he would do much more for us that Michael Warren couldn't do in the near future.

RIPPER_46 said:
So you would have prefered we didn't get Macharlap , The Wiz , Josh Carr or Troy Cook then?

Or not get Bellie and Heath Black back?

All I am saying is that all from the trades we have done in the past, as you can see there are not many winners, and on the downside many loses. There are lots a great players we could have had but don't have because of trading, Freo just seem to jump at any crap deal that comes along.

Kapow!!! said:
Keep Polak and work out another trade for Hay. We need key defenders so why should we trade 1 for an older but worse model of Polak.

Exactly they can have their selection of; Woods, Smith, Webster, Gilmore, Seiget etc. and a pick second rounder or lower. Otherwise I wouldn't want him, he will not last very long before he breaks down through injury permanently anyway.

petmax said:
All I am saying is that all from the trades we have done in the past, as you can see there are not many winners, and on the downside many loses. There are lots a great players we could have had but don't have because of trading, Freo just seem to jump at any crap deal that comes along.

Can't see many under this admin.

Mcphee who barracked for the Bombres as a kid would be the only loss and whether he would have done as well at Freo will never be known.

Macphee wanted to go home anyway.

RIPPER_46 said:
So you would have prefered we didn't get Macharlap , The Wiz , Josh Carr or Troy Cook then?

Or not get Bellie and Heath Black back?

But Ripper, what about some of the other trades. I mean, we lost Daniel Schell, and what did we get for him' nothing! Well, okay, the pick we got did turn into Medhurst (from memory), but that was just luck. And imagine trading away Koops; still getting over how badly the club did with that trade.

I apologise for the sarcasm, but we do have some good history too you know.

RIPPER_46 said:
Can't see many under this admin.

Mcphee who barracked for the Bombres as a kid would be the only loss and whether he would have done as well at Freo will never be known.

Macphee wanted to go home anyway.

Sorry to say Ripper, but as I recall, MacPhee didnt want to go home. I heard he enjoyed his time in Freo and was very happy to stay. It was the get Headland at any cost mentality that landed him in Essendon. Sheedy had to fly other and convince him to make the move. Although your right, he was a bomber supporter beforehand

McPhee definitely wanted to go home.

And he had the dad from hell.

We just did the trade to get him home. We knew he could play, and certainly could have screwed a bit more out of the deal, but Essendon did well and we were focused on getting Headland out of the aftermath. Personally the moral is never let Sheedy in on a three way.

blockerhall said:
McPhee definitely wanted to go home.

And he had the dad from hell.

We just did the trade to get him home. We knew he could play, and certainly could have screwed a bit more out of the deal, but Essendon did well and we were focused on getting Headland out of the aftermath. Personally the moral is never let Sheedy in on a three way.

What was that about his dad?

We have the same problem with McConnell. Young player with a fair amount of talent, but reportedly just doesn't want to be here.

You'd think they'd want to stay with teams with the best prospects of playing finals footy.

Like most I would be disgusted if we trade away Polly for Hay.
If that were to occur then it means we had picks 1 & 4 in the best draft ever and will wind up with Dunne (10) and Hay as the net result while Hawthorn wind up with the No 1 & 4 picks (Hodge & Polly) and retain Croad who they traded away for the 1 pick.
What could have been any two of Polly, Judd, Ball, Hodge, DelSanto becomes Dunne and Hay.
I'm getting ill.
Keep Polly please. Just draft and develop our own.

Sailor said:
Like most I would be disgusted if we trade away Polly for Hay.
If that were to occur then it means we had picks 1 & 4 in the best draft ever and will wind up with Dunne (10) and Hay as the net result while Hawthorn wind up with the No 1 & 4 picks (Hodge & Polly) and retain Croad who they traded away for the 1 pick.
What could have been any two of Polly, Judd, Ball, Hodge, DelSanto becomes Dunne and Hay.
I'm getting ill.
Keep Polly please. Just draft and develop our own.

Why do people leave out McPharlin out of the Croad trade equation. Is it just to make us look worse than we really are?

Polak's worth more than pick 10. Pick 10 is worth more than Jon Hay. Dunn and Gilmore for Hay I would be happy with. I wouldn't be surprised if we traded either Polak or pick 10 for Hay. Connolly and Schwab are desperate for success and might jeopordize our long term future for self interest. They know that if Freo don't make the 8 next year no other club would employ them.

McPhee and Leigh Brown were both happy at Fremantle and wanted to stay. McPhee had O.P. in 2002 so CC didn't see him at his best and didn't rate him. A bit like Neeasham with Bell and McLeod.

Thats what I thought as well, dominguez. Anyway... lets not trade him. Every other year, when one of our star young guys was traded, everyone would complain about how it would ruin the teams harmony. The fact that we are even entertaining the thought of trading Polak (who wants to stay in Perth and despite his troubles, I would suggest he is still well liked by his team mates) for Hay (who wants to remain in Melbourne) irks me to no end. Is everyone so keen for instant success that they would be willing to trade away our future.

Watch as Polak tears it up with Hawthorn, Hay crumbles under the pressure of playing in a two team town, goes down with another 4 years of injury as we pay off his contract. Meanwhile, Freo dwells down near the foot of the ladder and Pav decides its time to go home to SA. Than who do we have.

If CC and co actually believe in winning a premiership in 08, wouldnt it make sence that we keep Polak and not trade for some guy held together by bandages, a guy who will more than likely be retiring by around 08

It comes down in the end to what is more highly valued by the Fremantle Football Club. Are you striving for a top 8 place each year without making a definite impact ( making / winning the GF ) - or are you tying to achieve long term success, having a good blend of youth and experienced players to ensure success perhaps in the short term but definitely in the long run. If you guys get rid of Polak for Hay and possibly another player ( fringe ) sure this might ensure a top 8 spot for you if not top 4 , but in the long term - Hay is 26, he aint gonna do much good for you in another 2-3 years IMO - but hey why am I telling you guys this :P - I wanna see Polak at the Hawks - pity little to no chance of that happening :thumbsd: :( lol