cartman

westcoast
whats this guy dribbling on about freo being better than west coast , then he says if they played in perth every week they would be as strong as west coast , mind games i think but i think hes a dill the saints could well do with out him

Same guy who thinks that he is better than Richmond, even though Richmond beat him.

Talks too much and can't display it on the field.

I think we have a better squad and much better depth but I fancy Freo will make the finals this year. They were a much better side than ever under Connelly last year and Desi has added some class. And last year they were close on the 8 for most of the year. two more wins and they'd make it. Their concern IMO is that a couple of injuries to key players will deplete them.
And of course they have to shake that 'loser' mentality that seems ingrained with so many of their supporters. Is it possible to enjoy watching your team lose?

Originally posted by Kenny_01
Eagles are playing better as a team at the moment, but we have the better young talent, there's no doubt about that.

I dont know about that..Id say were preety much even in the young talent stakes!

If that helps you sleep at night Carly, then yes, we are pretty even in the young talent stakes.

well fwiw it doesnt matter really. You can have the best young talent in the comp and still not do well if you cant play well as a team! I know which id prefer! Freo may have some good young talent but atm they have no finals performances, no flags or anything so till they have that their young talent count for nothing!

If that helps you sleep at night Carly, then yes, we are pretty even in the young talent stakes.

Freo has more name players than Leeds Utd FC. The fact that your inexperienced team is forced to play rookies not yet ready for AFL footy does not make them any better players than the likes of McDougall, Hansen, Lynch, Johnson, Seaby and the like performing outstandingly at WAFL level.

Originally posted by daddy_4_eyes
Freo has more name players than Leeds Utd FC. The fact that your inexperienced team is forced to play rookies not yet ready for AFL footy does not make them any better players than the likes of McDougall, Hansen, Lynch, Johnson, Seaby and the like performing outstandingly at WAFL level.

Exactly!

Freo look damn good on paper and I'm tipping them for big things over the next 4 years. But their supporters should hold back until they start talking because they haven't done anything yet.

Originally posted by daddy_4_eyes

Which rookies are we forced to play? And would these rookies get games at the Eagles?

Originally posted by RIPPER_46
Very astute man Grant Thomas. Dennis and Brad agreed with him tonight on 6 pee ahh. :)

Rip, if you heard someone else say (to paraphrase) "Grant Thomas and Brad Hardie are very astute judges of football", I'm guessing you too would probably think that person had screws loose ;)

Originally posted by Mr Eagle
Rip, if you heard someone else say (to paraphrase) "Grant Thomas and Brad Hardie are very astute judges of football", I'm guessing you too would probably think that person had screws loose ;)

Its funny how one favourable comment about your club makes that person an astute football mind. ;)

I'd like to see a list of 'young talent' on the Freo list. I guess 'young' has to be defined so lets say 21 or younger. Or you pick an age Kenny and come up with a list.

Let's gree that they must have played in the AFL and had a reasonable game and that you can fairly predict they will become above average AFL players.

wrong Ripper

Actually Ripper, you are wrong, Hardie said he thought Fremantle had the better team BEFORE the season started but that the jury is out - and Dennis is yet to make up his mind. Selective hearing on your part ;)

1/1/81 means they were 21 at the start of 2003.

Freo players that I think will make it and were born after 1/1/81.

Matthew Pavlich
Paul Hasleby
Luke McPharlin
Des Headland
Justin Longmuir
Paul Medhurst
Robert Haddrill
Daniel Haines
Dion Woods
Roger Hayden
Aaron Sandilands
Graham Polak
Byron Schammer
Andrew Browne

Eagles born after 1/1/81 - and have played at least one game

(without making any judgements)

Damien Adkins
Darren Glass
David Haynes
Adam Hunter
Andrew Embley
Dean Cox
Jeremy Humm
Quinten Lynch
Kane Munro
Daniel Kerr
Andrew McDougall
Chris Judd
Ashley Sampi
Paul Johnson

http://eagles.newman-knights.com/squad.php?sort=dob&career=all

I heard the interview again this morning during the 9 o clock news on 6pr.

Thomas said...

"Coming to PErth holds no fears for us." Then he said something about the Eagles and the DOckers being about equal. In the interview he said that he felt that maybe the DOckers list has more talent, but as for being better than West Coast, I think that the round 5 result put paid to that argument.

Frankly I hope Fremantle win by 100 this week. I want the Easterners to fear coming here.

Also, as big and massive as the win for Freo was on Sunday, the Bulldogs had essentially gone home after about the 10 minute mark of the first quarter. Not even a whimper. Pathetic.

Re: wrong Ripper

Originally posted by vicki
Actually Ripper, you are wrong, Hardie said he thought Fremantle had the better team BEFORE the season started but that the jury is out - and Dennis is yet to make up his mind. Selective hearing on your part ;)

From Hardie to conceed that much is a win for us :)

So Frodo, what do ya reckon?

Which list of youngsters has more talent?

Fremantles has more top-shelf atm I think BUT what those will look like in 2-3 years is anyone's guess. Anything can happen to those players inbetween now and then. I mean look at Josh Fraser he looked like a star a few years ago and now look at him...