Grigg

• Thread starter Thread starter RichosGuns

Definitely one of the silliest coaching moves of 2011 was to play Grigg as a half back flanker having him try negate opponents. Too slow and not close checking enough. Cost us numerous goals.

Is a midfielder and that's where he plays his best football. Started off very well for us, was better than all mids but Cotchin and Martin then dropped off considerably, especially when pushed into the backline which exposed his flaws.

Definitely one of the silliest coaching moves of 2011 was to play Grigg as a half back flanker having him try negate opponents. Too slow and not close checking enough. Cost us numerous goals.

Is a midfielder and that's where he plays his best football. Started off very well for us, was better than all mids but Cotchin and Martin then dropped off considerably, especially when pushed into the backline which exposed his flaws.

I agree with this , was flying early then got chopped and changed. Hoping it was purely educational.

Liked him when he went to play a defensive run with role on opp mids.

For all we know he might've been instructed not to play inside and to play more outside.
Seems to have the makings of a good run with mid, seems out of place as a centering wing, who can't center.

Grigg is long term Daniel Jacksons replacement. A big bodied defensive mid. Its where he played his best football last season.

Solid enough player. A bit of a ball magnet,who often gets its 25-plus times, but at the end of the game you say you didn't really notice him that much.
But does get a lot of ball, just doesn't use it particularly great, but doesn't really butcher it. Will likely command a regular game but he's not top 10 material, more depth. Outside mid is his go!

Grigg is long term Daniel Jacksons replacement. A big bodied defensive mid. Its where he played his best football last season.

He's a bit like Crowded House this bloke as he can play anywhere! You could see em playing at the local Rissol or you could see em playing at the Opera House.

I think thats what's so good about him.

So it's wrong for a coach to teach a kid who a lot of people suggest plays wide of his man a defensive side to his game?

Grigg isn't a kid.

Also just because he plays him up back does not guarantee he will gain a defensive side to his game. Forces him to try and man someone but all it did was expose his flaws and probably severely dented his confidence playing him in a position he's not suited to at all so experiment failure. He is what he is.

Grigg isn't a kid.

Also just because he plays him up back does not guarantee he will gain a defensive side to his game. Forces him to try and man someone but all it did was expose his flaws and probably severely dented his confidence playing him in a position he's not suited to at all so experiment failure. He is what he is.

Isn't that a good thing? Now both the Coaching staff and Grigg know what his flaws are.

Would hope the coaching staff knew what his flaws were when Blair Hartley targeted him all year before we recruited him.

Grigg isn't a kid.

Grigg isn't slow at all. He recorded a 20m sprint time of 2.92 sec in 06 draft camp. Physically, he has really good dimensions in terms of his height and frame. He could easily add a couple of kilos to his frame and develop more explosiveness if he wasn't playing midfield. Dimma should play him consistently as a 3rd tall defender or as a lead up forward.
His disposal isn't penetrating enough to really do damage to justify a spot as an outside mid. I would rather have Connors, Houli, and Conca as outside midfielders.
If he can't make it either as a 3rd defender or lead up forward then delist.

He is not even close to being an inside mid and was not recruited as one. He is as outside as they come. Needs to raise the bar this year.

you know that i know that. so i have to ask why the hell did we recruit an out side mid who has poor disposal.very one sided and average at best on his prefered.

have to ask it especially when we have a no poor kick policy in place and a big deal constantly made about it, or does that only apply to some.

i very much believe they took him as a contested ball winner if you like who had a bigger body. imo they got it wrong.

i not only question his disposal but his liking for the contest if you like. your right when you suggest he needs to raise the bar.

I'm not convinced one way or another on Grigg yet. There have been moments in games and even whole games where he's looked really good, others where i just closed my eyes and hoped for the best (Just like he must have been). There was one game in particular where he made a couple of early mistakes and that was it for him, his confidence was shot and he had a stinker.
He may need to raise the bar, but I reckon the coaching group will be looking for consistency more than anything. He's still only 23 let's not forget...

I'd have Stevie Morris taking his place better user of the footy and heaps tougher.:thumbsu:
Morris looks a bit shaky by foot, i watched him and Matty White kickin it back and forth over 25-40m and Morris missed him maybe 1/3 of the time which isnt good enough especially at training

That's the knockback on Morris I have been reading and we dont need a player like that coming out of our backline.