Coin_Toss

bob_rose_statue5_small.jpg

Found this picture over at Nicks...

Bob Rose is underneath the blue tarpaulin. The unvieling is this Friday.

MagpieWayne said:
They overdo the bob rose thing a bit dont they.

Geez,thats a bit harsh mate!

Absolute Legend of the game & a great Collingwood Family.

Deserves the recogntion I reckon :thumbsu:

MagpieWayne said:
They overdo the bob rose thing a bit dont they.

Is the only man standing in Nathan Buckley's way as the greatest Collingwood player of all time, and as he has passed more than 3 years ago, I think it's fair to say it is fair from that. As Coin Toss said, he devoted his life to the club.

eddiesmith said:
Why? He is arguably our greatest ever player, former coach, president? done it all, why cant we dedicate a statue to him?

He didnt do it all as he didnt coach us to a flag.

I never saw bob play but i reckon daics, pants and gav brown would have been just as good or greater than bob as a player, daics especially.

Im sick of certain families or individuals at collingwood being shoved down our throat on a daily basis.

The 'nathan buckley is our greatest players ever' is another example.

He wouldnt be in my top 5 best players i have seen in my lifetime.

Excellent player but the greatest.

MagpieWayne said:

I never saw bob play but i reckon daics, pants and gav brown would have been just as good or greater than bob as a player, daics especially.

Im sick of certain families or individuals at collingwood being shoved down our throat on a daily basis.

PLEASE :thumbsd:

MagpieWayne said:

And your top 5 is......?

MagpieWayne said:

Wow. You sir, are an idiot.

If you could make 3 statues that embody Collingwood what would it be:
Mine would probably be:

- Bob Rose
- Syd and Gordon Coventry - symbolises the family team, and they were both great players. Syd probably our greatest leader (probably even greatest player) and Gordon a legend of the game.
- Jock McHale - the first real pro footy coach

jabso said:
Mine would probably be:

- Bob Rose
- Syd and Gordon Coventry - symbolises the family team, and they were both great players. Syd probably our greatest leader (probably even greatest player) and Gordon a legend of the game.

Thats a great idea. Would love to see a series of statues that recognise some greats of the club

MagpieWayne said:

I love that - you admit that you never saw him play, and then proceed to rate him outside the top five and behind the likes of Brown, Pants, Daics, etc. BUT YOU NEVER SAW HIM PLAY!!!! Don't you think you should rely on the judgement of people who DID see him play and also saw the other players named??? How can you presume to rate him if you never saw him play?

MagpieWayne said:

You sir are a fool of the highest order........Collingwood F.C dosent need your kind............

King Woodie said:
I love that - you admit that you never saw him play, and then proceed to rate him outside the top five and behind the likes of Brown, Pants, Daics, etc. BUT YOU NEVER SAW HIM PLAY!!!! Don't you think you should rely on the judgement of people who DID see him play and also saw the other players named??? How can you presume to rate him if you never saw him play?

Well i was born decades after he finished playing and no i dont rely on the judgement of others to form my opinion on this.

There is no way in a million years he was as good as daics.

People look at collingwood through rose-colored glasses.

End the hero worshipping and ego stroking and get on with winning games.

jabso said:
Mine would probably be:

- Bob Rose

Daicos, tony shaw, pants, browny should all be immortalised in bronze out the front of the lexus,emirates,mcdonalds,crazyjohns centre.

MagpieWayne said:
Daicos, tony shaw, pants, browny should all be immortalised in bronze out the front of the lexus,emirates,mcdonalds,crazyjohns centre.
Wayne, this isn't about commercialism

People who have seen all the players you have mentioned consider Rose the greatest. If Collingwood wish to immortalize Rose in this way then show a little respect even if you disagree.

MagpieWayne said:

Laughable...you sir are an idiot.