Halo 3: ODST

I'd like IW to get a working Multi player outside of the US first.

MW was fine for the first 6 months after release. Then they changed the servers to help the US (not that the seppos needed it) and would basically mean if there was 1 Yank and 11 Aussies in a game and it was looking for a host, the Yank would win

Did you get the game at launch?

Its not like companies like Microsoft and Activision/ Blizzard are short of coin and need a cash injection to stay afloat.

kinda naive way of looking at things.....

Microsoft and Activision are public companies which means that they have a fiduciary responsibility to maximise profits for shareholders.

There are very few publishers that have videogame properties as lucrative as Halo and it would be financially irresponsible not to take advantage of its popularity.

I mean Nintendo has been milking their franchises successfully for more than 2 decades.

Look at pokemon, incremental upgrades for dozens of games and its popularity has not yet waned.

The numbers speak for themselves, gamers mostly prefer sequels to new ideas.

Until Halo stops selling, Microsoft has no incentive to try something revolutionary...... same deal with Activision.

MW was fine for the first 6 months after release. Then they changed the servers to help the US (not that the seppos needed it) and would basically mean if there was 1 Yank and 11 Aussies in a game and it was looking for a host, the Yank would win

Did you get the game at launch?

Yep it had no local search however if you had an Aussie host to start with you had a playable games.

I was also on fourzerotwo or whatever his name is site when he said they would look into the issues Australians and others are having not long after IW curried favour to the American market with host migration to the detriment of the rest of the world.

Still waiting....

kinda naive way of looking at things.....

Microsoft and Activision are public companies which means that they have a fiduciary responsibility to maximise profits for shareholders.

There are very few publishers that have videogame properties as lucrative as Halo and it would be financially irresponsible not to take advantage of its popularity.

I mean Nintendo has been milking their franchises successfully for more than 2 decades.

Look at pokemon, incremental upgrades for dozens of games and its popularity has not yet waned.

The numbers speak for themselves, gamers mostly prefer sequels to new ideas.

Until Halo stops selling, Microsoft has no incentive to try something revolutionary...... same deal with Activision.

You speak some good truths here midori. Your points are all valid

I will back out this thread so you chaps who like Halo can go about your business.

Everyone is entitle to like/ dislike whichever game they choose, i just happen to think Halo gets a little too much credit. Don't get me worng, Halo 1 helped shape the FPS as we know it, but what has it done since?

I'm no Halo fanboy, as a PC fps player I hated the first one and thought it was rubbish, but this is just a lazy comment. May as well ask what has any fps done since Wolfenstein 3d?

I enjoyed Donkey Kong, but what have video games done for me lately?

Reviews starting to come in.

IGN - 9.0

Gametrailers - 8.9

Looking pretty solid, can't wait to get my hands on it on tuesday :). Just gotta get all the uni assignments out of the way first haha.

Get it from Big W for $68

Naturally.

But I'm not in a hurry to get it though (Considering I have 15 games still in shrink wrap) and probably won't have time to get to Big W in the next couple of weeks anyway, so I'll probably end up grabbing it on ebay at some stage

Naturally.

But I'm not in a hurry to get it though (Considering I have 15 games still in shrink wrap) and probably won't have time to get to Big W in the next couple of weeks anyway, so I'll probably end up grabbing it on ebay at some stage

No worries..I normally wait myself (only recently picked up COD:WAW)

If anyone was looking to trade exploit, you could profit about 30 bucks by trading it in at EB (if you bought it for $68) and using the 15% voucher.

I'm not doing that, but just pointing it out.

Got it this arvo. Played some Firefight with friends, then did two levels of the campaign solo. It's pretty good IMO. The campaign feels alot different to previous Halo games due to the health system and general atmosphere.

Been playing this solid since it came out. Just running through the campaign in co-op with a friend right now so haven't started firefight or anything, but seems pretty positive so far.

They've worked in the sneaky stealth thing pretty well. There's lots of opportunities to get behind enemies and back door surprise them which is cool. Makes a difference from the go in swinging Master Chief style of halo. They've taken all the enjoyable halo ingredients and separated them into set pieces, for example there's a stage thats all about sniping, a vehicle centric stage, a banshee stage, a hold out against air attack stage, all the good halo stuff really and none of the grind (see cortana level of H3).

The story and acting is a bit cheezy compared to other halos, the music can be a bit...odd. Not sure of porno sax playing while i kill brutes, it made me piss myself but i don't think that's the idea. The hub city idea to unlock new stages seems a bit filler like. The campaigns is too short, even tho there is huge replayability by activating skulls, 5 hours is not a full stand alone game.

That said at 60 bucks, with the firefight mode, all the halo 3 dlc maps (9 or 10 i think) and a short all new campaign, its probably worth the coin. I reckon you have to be a fan tho, which is really what the game has been made for, the fans. If you love halo its a must buy, if you haven't played a halo game before i'd probably stick to H3 tbh

Picked this up the other day. Its good, typical Halo feel whilst at the same time not. It's pretty short though. Finished it on Legendary Solo in probaly about 8 hours. Needs matchmaking for firefight, everyone on my list has pretty much already killed it and cant be bothered with it anymore. Its a fun concept though and the Vidmaster callenge for it takes around 2 hours if your an achievement whore (or desperate for Recon).

As a game, would be pretty dissapointed paying full price for it (purchased a new xbox so came with it). Seeming I dont have my Halo 3 disc its handy coming with the multiplayer second disc but as a full game its way too short.

Im LOVING it at the moment, I wanna play it on legendary CO_OP so if anybody wants to add me, Go for it!

GAMERTAG: a id a m 6 9

Spaces between all letters and numbers!

Loving firefight, apart from the net disconnecting the other night when a mate and i were on 195000 points on Lost Platoon with lives in the bag and 200k a wraith kill away

FUUUUUUUUU.....

I just wish they'd ditch black eye coming on randomly. Basically game over once that is activated and you're up against brute chiefs and hunters