Have we made any offers?

• Thread starter Thread starter vonn

The thing that annoys me in the whole Cloke saga is Collingwood coming out and saying that they have now put talks on hold until the end of the season and now they are getting applauded for it. Its all that Cloke asked for from the start. Collingwood are the ones standing over Cloke. Everyone is getting sucked in by their spin.
I reckon Cloke's old man has a bit of responsibility in all of it as well. He's been shopping Travis around, and not very quietly either by all reports.

To be honest it would be worth throwing a good 500-600k at Jack Darling rather than getting in Cloke. No idea when his contract ends but it would be worth it.
Problem is when Goodes retires, Reid won't have any support. We need to make sure that isn't the case.
We would sooner get Buddy.

wouldnt want cloke at sydney tbh. terribly overated. still a very decent player and is certaintly the type of player we need but not travis, not for that much money anyway. we need to resign our young talent before we buy a player worth that much.

Your team is listed as Adelaide?

However I agree, Sam Reid is gonna make Cloke look like a chump. Reckon we can find room for Ben though.

I know there's another thread for possible trades, and I think he's been mentioned, but geez, Charlie Dixon at the Suns has been impressive lately. Been played down back, has taken a lot of strong contested grabs against good opponents, has looked very composed and mature ... bugger spending money on Cloke, Dixon can play both ends, is getting better and as Gold Coast has several promising young talls, maybe we could chase Dixon in any potential trade deals after the season.

To be honest it would be worth throwing a good 500-600k at Jack Darling rather than getting in Cloke. No idea when his contract ends but it would be worth it.
No, can we invest the 500k in a time machine and use it to not pick a slow forward flanker over one of the most talented junior key forwards in a decade?

Your team is listed as Adelaide?

However I agree, Sam Reid is gonna make Cloke look like a chump. Reckon we can find room for Ben though.
yeah mate need to change that, dont know why it was listed as adelaide ive always been a swans fan.

time to get an avy too i think. havennt been on here for a few years. used to be on here all the time back in the day. and cokemakeyourmark too. anyone remember that ? haha

I don't think money will be the issue, none of our players are on massive salarys. And our older guys like ROK, Goodes, Bolton etc are all under the veterans thing as I believe.
Unless the rule has changed only two players can be on the veterans list. I really don't think we need him. The money should be used on other players in my opinion.

I think it has changed and there is now no limit on Veteran players, sure I heard this on one of teh footy type shows

Yep, once they reach 10 yrs (?) at a club. So its unlimited but they only subtract 100k from the individual player contract. So if goodes is on 900k then 800k is counted as part of the salary cap.

Probably a player who was willing to come to Sydney, as opposed to picking up a player who had no desire to be here, we don't want any more Rocca's or Grant's
That's a pretty long bow, I'm pretty sure at that point after being touted top 5, Darling would have been happy to go anywhere.

With the money we've signed Reid and Mumford on, the fact we've got stars like Goodes and ROK on good money and the fact that players like Kennedy, Jack, Jetta, Parker etc will be on big money with their next contracts we simply wouldn't have room to match what other teams are offering him.

Even if we did have that sort of money I would be disgusted if we used it to sign Cloke.

Says it all......

Welcome to 2013. Just as a side note, you might want to leave 29 Sep free.

Also, please tell me on the 27th of Sep that drinking is a bad idea.

Welcome to 2013. Just as a side note, you might want to leave 29 Sep free.

Also, please tell me on the 27th of Sep that drinking is a bad idea.

I know that post was from 2012, that's half the point.