Preview Hawks vs Freo - prematch chat in here

• Thread starter Thread starter grizzlym

Interesting choice for freo game, either they've seen something they think they can exploit or they really want to try and make the hill hartung Smith combo work

^^This

Come September on the fine days for running hard & fast games this combo could or should be at its most powerful & damaging.

I'm down in Launceston.
At training today, it was a pretty light run.

1. Langers was in runners, wasn't training with the team
2. Gunners trained, looked fine. He had a few shots for goal and didn't miss one.
3. Spoke to Cyril, he said his hammies are good. I got to pat him on the shoulder, I'm not washing that hand for a while.
4. Big Boy looks like a man mountain. I thought he had lost some muscle, but he still has plenty left!

We spoke to De Boer's Dad: very excited to be here and says he's expecting a hard game.

I'm down in Launceston.

2. Gunners trained, looked fine. He had a few shots for goal and didn't miss one.
3. Spoke to Cyril, he said his hammies are good. I got to pat him on the shoulder, I'm not washing that hand for a while.
4. Big Boy looks like a man mountain. I thought he had lost some muscle, but he still has plenty left!

We spoke to De Boer's Dad: very excited to be here and says he's expecting a hard game.

Cheers, I'm expecting us to go in unchanged then.

I'm down in Launceston.

Thanks Davo :thumbsu:

Tell you who I am always surprised at how big he is when I see him at Box Hill and that is Hale - twice the size he looks on telly :eek:

Also, Roughie was here, he was training with the team.
He did most of the routines, physically he looks damn good, I couldnt see any loss of weight or conditioning.

He even spent a fair bit of time signing autographs. I didn't get near to him, but he didn't seem to be talking at all, probably with good reason!

I'm down in Launceston.

Enjoy the game and the weather Davo!

Good to hear roughy's in tassie with the boys would be good not just for him but the players as well to see rough there
Hope the boys do it for roughy, meanwhile I'm going to get rugged up for a lazy 17 degrees in Brisbane and hope I don't get frostbite:) no coverage so relying on the net... Go hawks

Interesting what's happening at the selection table.

- Freo look like showing a set of testicles this time and will send close to a full squad.
I want to put it out there that I utterly despise their lay down, fly the white flag tactic. UnAustralian.

- I reckon big and useless may be a late withdrawal (Sandilands)

- the fast team selection is interesting (hartung, the good hill, smith) no doubt clarko has looked at how the Tigers went bout it, ditto with the pies. Freo might have been worked out in a similar fashion to port.

- still can't get my head around Langford omission but think he'll play. Clarko did this to sewelly a few times and each time he came back like a raging bull.
Could be similar tactic going on w langers.

- Looking at birch to hit from down in his old haunts, usually plays well down there.

- for a team that prides itself on an ability to play 'anywhere anytime' they do an awful lot of whinging about playing in tassie.

Interesting game.
Must nail and expose this mob for the pretenders they are.

Its funny, but the more 'regulars' you have out of the team, the more 'role players' you have, you can really tune the teams personality by selection choices.
Of course you need the depth to be able to do this

"right, a little less height, a little less grunt, a little more magic and a heap more run. That should do it, take that Rossco MuHaHaHHHHaHaaaH !"

Enjoy the game and the weather Davo!

The weather's not too bad here.
Some light rain tonight, but it was pretty clear this afternoon, it wasn't very cold.

My mate Andy brought his thermals and he's had to strip off!

Ugh!

Its funny, but the more 'regulars' you have out of the team, the more 'role players' you have, you can really tune the teams personality by selection choices.
Of course you need the depth to be able to do this

"right, a little less height, a little less grunt, a little more magic and a heap more run. That should do it, take that Rossco MuHaHaHHHHaHaaaH !"

Sounds like baking a cake :)

I dunno I feel confident about this game for some reason I think the purple meanies will hate playing in tassie and get their jockstraps in a twist... Just a feeling I hope to god I'm right sick of hearing about fyfe and I dunno whoever else plays for them they're hardly household names are they.

We can't lose! We've lost enough games already this year and other than the cats and Kangas games, we haven't really had our time in the sun so to speak. Losing isn't an option anymore. We can go on a great winning streak if we tighten up our defensive actions and inside 50 entries a bit cleaner.

Hope schoe kicks a bag. Think his work the last couple of weeks has been good and its about time to piss or get off the pot. Never want to see him any further back than the offensive 50 ever, unless he's walking on or off the ground.

lol the amount of times I've seen posters saying I hope Shoe kicks a bag in recent weeks is hilarious... lets face facts he aint kicking a bag against any AFL mob let alone Fremantle.

Unless he was the only forward, players arent going to kick to him before other players, some of the leagues highest scorers

lol the amount of times I've seen posters saying I hope Shoe kicks a bag in recent weeks is hilarious... lets face facts he aint kicking a bag against any AFL mob let alone Fremantle.

Hey lets define a bag for Shoe to aim at. (I know he isn't reading) But it might be fun to see what people think he is capable of. I think 3 would be a very good return for Shoe as I hoped he would kick in the Pies game. Is that a bag?

3 in a game would be his ceiling Id say so thats a pretty good aim and I also suppose for him you'd have to say its a bag.