Preview Hawks vs Pies - General discussion

Provided Pies small forwards aren't having a party any chance Pup might get a run through the middle? Mature body, speed and seems to be running games out well.

think dids is out for that... would prefer him in cos he is having a stinker of a year

I would like to see Pup up forward... Forward pressure is what wins games! we need Ozzie Breust Pup and Changa going hell bent at the opposition backman! Stop their run... have a chance of stopping them.

Wow, real shivers up the back thinking of what a great game this WILL be live at the G.

OH, its sposed to be raining, Hawks seem to like the wet, slug it out on Sunday then!

Raining won't suit us at all. If we we're at full strength maybe but we'll be relying on our gameplan which isn't wet weather friendly sadly.

We did give Richmond a hiding in the wet.:p

Would not suit them either.

Im getting from their forum that they think this should be a massive win for them. I really hope they do go in with that attitude, because it will come back and smack them fair a square in the head!

Win lose or draw, the boys will make us proud on sun!

The side doesn't look too bad, imo.

Oh, and I saw the Essendon game on replay and it looked like Whitecross was taking over from Sewell a bit when he came off for the second half.

If we get within 6 goals, it'll be a pretty good effort, considering Collingwood are almost at full strength, and think they're going to be up for this one.

Certainly, if we win, Clarkson should have a contract awaiting him in the rooms after the game.

If we get within 6 goals, it'll be a pretty good effort, considering Collingwood are almost at full strength, and think they're going to be up for this one.

Certainly, if we win, Clarkson should have a contract awaiting him in the rooms after the game.

Show some faith mate.

They'll be lucky to get within 6 goals of us :)

Buddy to boot 10 goals.

Franklin_Rd109_246a.jpg

Outs: Sewell, Rioli, Lewis, Cheney(very stiff)

Ins: Franklin, Murphy, Ellis (if fit), Young/Ladson (if Fit).....

Cheney is a big call. In both of his games, he has improved as the game has progressed. This may mean he is a tad slow and finds the footy easier when the extreme pace has dropped off.

Should Cheney be dropped he would have a fair case to ask why they bothered recruiting him.

Ben SinclairDiagnosis UnknownIndefinite
Trent StubbsDiagnosis UnknownIndefinite
Josh ThomasFoot InjuryUntil R14
Brent MacafferFoot InjuryUntil R14
Ben JohnsonHamstring StrainUntil R14
Darren JollyKnee Meniscal TearUntil R15
Simon BuckleyGroin InjuryUntil R15
Alan DidakAnkle InjuryUntil R15
Dayne BeamsFoot InjuryUntil R19
Nathan J. BrownKnee ACLUntil Next Season
Brad DickKnee ACLUntil Next Season
Tom Hunter (Retired)

Hawthorn Cameron BruceKnee PCLIndefinite
Angus LitherlandFoot InjuryIndefinite
Brent RenoufMedical IllnessIndefinite
Xavier EllisCalf StrainUntil R15
Paul JohnsonDiagnosis UnknownUntil R15
Clinton YoungHamstring StrainUntil R15
Rick LadsonGroin InjuryUntil R15
Ryan SchoenmakersFoot InjuryUntil R15
Thomas MurphyShoulder InjuryUntil R15
Luke BreustQuadriceps StrainUntil R16
Brad SewellKnee MCLUntil R17
Cyril RioliHamstring StrainUntil R18
Ben StrattonKnee PCLSeason
Stephen GilhamKnee ACLUntil Next Season
Jarryd RougheadAchilles Tendon RuptureUntil Next Season

imo that bringing in young and or ladson for this game would be a mistake regardless of experience . these two have just missed 2 games with leg injuries and we need fresh legs against a running magpies outfit .
also wouldnt be bringing in ellis after missing so much football .

we are extremely undermanned as it is and honestly , a win against a near full strength collinwood on sunday would be a massive upset .
i say we bring in 2 more fresh faces and just have a red hot crack .

a win would be nice , give them a scare and something to think about come september would also be good , ie a narrow to 5 or 6 goal loss.. , a 6 to 10 goal + loss and we wont bother them in september either even with our temporary outs back in .

outs - sewell , rioli , lewis , breust ( is he injured ? if not , he stays )

ins - buddy , murphy , ( maybe milne , serra ? , ? . ) .

we have to try and match the pressure on the ball carrier or we will be flogged .
we have to tackle with real intent , or we will be flogged .
we have to be prepared to run those extra yards to back up a mate or create an option or we will be flogged .
its as simple as that .

imo that bringing in young and or ladson for this game would be a mistake regardless of experience . these two have just missed 2 games with leg injuries and we need fresh legs against a running magpies outfit .
also wouldnt be bringing in ellis after missing so much football .

we are extremely undermanned as it is and honestly , a win against a near full strength collinwood on sunday would be a massive upset .
i say we bring in 2 more fresh faces and just have a red hot crack .

a win would be nice , give them a scare and something to think about come september would also be good , ie a narrow to 5 or 6 goal loss.. , a 6 to 10 goal + loss and we wont bother them in september either even with our temporary outs back in .

outs - sewell , rioli , lewis , breust ( is he injured ? if not , he stays )

ins - buddy , murphy , ( maybe milne , serra ? , ? . ) .

we have to try and match the pressure on the ball carrier or we will be flogged .
we have to tackle with real intent , or we will be flogged .
we have to be prepared to run those extra yards to back up a mate or create an option or we will be flogged .
its as simple as that .

breust is not on the official injury list so you would he would play , but who knows ?

I'd keep Cheney in the side, if for no other reason than to allow Puoplo to move up the ground - takling pressure will be paramount & Pup offers it in spades, hearts, diamonds but not clubs.

Outs: Rioli, Sewell, Lewis

Ins: Franklin, Murphy, Young/Ladson

Hoping he plays, I see bruest as a bigger loss than Lewis of he is out !
He could have a big as the pies are already thinking of trying to stop buddy which gives forwards like bruest and Ozzie and savage a chance of kicking a few

Hey guys,

Cant remember if we need to book tickets for the w/e, or if we can just walk in and scan our m/ships?

I THINK I remember us buying some childrens tickets to get the reserved seat, then using out m/ships to get in etc?

I'd keep Cheney in the side, if for no other reason than to allow Puoplo to move up the ground - takling pressure will be paramount & Pup offers it in spades, hearts, diamonds but not clubs.

Outs: Rioli, Sewell, Lewis

Ins: Franklin, Murphy, Young/Ladson

Agree that Cheney has to stay in. I reckon he may end up on Dawes at some stage as we are light on for big bodies down back and Cheney is fairly solid.

I wouldn't mind seeing Sierakowski or even Jordan Williams in the side. We know what Youngy and Ladson can do and both are coming back from injury so we should be taking a medium term approach with them to give us depth come finals. Would prefer to go with a youngster who has played for the last month.

Would be good to get a look at Williams against quality opposition to see what he has to offer. He did surprise in the NAB cup game in Perth. Haven't been to Box Hill this season so maybe he is waaayy off AFL level (I think he was in the VFL 2nds within the last month) but I am of the view that we should be exposing as many of these young guys as possible to see if they are worth holding onto and he did show a glimpse preseason.

But my preference would be to see Sierakowski get a game.

Perhaps if Siera plays we can move Birchall into the middle as an experiment to replace Sewell.

Show some faith mate.

They'll be lucky to get within 6 goals of us :)

Buddy to boot 10 goals.
How many times have you posted that over your BF career, Shepp? ;)

Optimism is great, but the reality is we're going to be up against mate.