Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
I thought exactly the same off the back of last year.Great figure don’t get me wrong but thought we might of atleast got to 90k
Great figure don’t get me wrong but thought we might of atleast got to 90k
I think I read that we also broke the attendance record if that helps?I thought exactly the same off the back of last year.
That’s outdated though.This table is from May this year but it suggests a lot of clubs memberships might be lower this year, so it still may be that we did better than most clubs.
![]()
AFL Memberships 2025 - Hawks/Power set new records - SportsIndustryAU
May 23rd, 2025footyindustry.com
Yeah I thought off the back of last year we might have been half a chance of cracking the ton tbhI thought exactly the same off the back of last year.
I reckon we've been behind the cats for a while, at least a few years. It might be that with their success you just about need to be a member to get a seat at GMHBA stadium for their home games, whereas you are almost always going to be able to get a walk-up seat at the G for ours? I don't know.That’s outdated though.
2025 Club Membership Updates
Adelaide posted something today saying 81k (The article said something about 6.5k women though - So I dont know if that means it's 81 or 75)www.bigfooty.com
Geelong gained 11,500 members since that article. Collingwood and Essendon gained 9,000 and we only gained 4,000. Until last year Hawthorn for the best part of 30 years always had more members than the Cats. Now we are 5,000 behind them.
Not sure if it’s AFLW membership but we’ve really dropped back to the pack over the last decade — even though our crowds are much higher.
Since 1984, we’ve had more club members than Geelong in 11 of 41 seasons (and all seasons from 1997 to 2022). We dropped behind them after they won the 2022 flag and the gap shot ahead post Kardina Park redevelopment.I reckon we've been behind the cats for a while, at least a few years. It might be that with their success you just about need to be a member to get a seat at GMHBA stadium for their home games, whereas you are almost always going to be able to get a walk-up seat at the G for ours? I don't know.
I thought we could get to 90,000 too. Maybe next year. But I reckon clubs will need to be pushing into new arrivals to tap that market for increasing membership given the local fertility rate has dropped to almost zero nowadays. Relying solely on supporter families passing on their footy loyalties to the next generation isn't going to result in the membership growth it once did.
There is a really culturally diverse population around the Dingley area. Maybe our presence there will help encourage some folk from non-Aussie rules backgrounds to join our great and glorious club!
Since 1984, we’ve had more club members than Geelong in 11 of 41 seasons (and all seasons from 1997 to 2022). We dropped behind them after they won the 2022 flag and the gap shot ahead post Kardina Park redevelopment.
More info here — https://footyindustry.com/html/AFL_Members.htm
We were top 3 for club membership in every season from the 2008 flag right to to Covid.
Call me biased but I think we should have the slightly more members than Geelong. But I guess like the boom after the 2008 flag it takes a few seasons to build up the membership so I fully expect we’ll break through 90,000 next year (like Geelong who jumped from 70,000 to 90,000 over a three year period).
It is a bit strange how all these other clubs sold truck loads of membership over the mid season and we sort of just stopped. Maybe we don’t have as many AFLW members?
Even 3 games doesn’t seem that legitimate compared to a full season membership.1 game membership is not a membership and should not be counted a such. It's lunacy to Go around spruiking about membership numbers with one dollar and one game members . Cut off should be 3 games. Hawks should put in a heap of work in the off season to hit the 100 mark. We can do it, we definitely have the potential to. Cats are NOT more popular than Hawks.
"Worth" is not really a concept here. We're talking about a membership ladder.Even 3 games doesn’t seem that legitimate compared to a full season membership.
Clubs should have to report “membership games” as a standardized metric alongside unique members.
That way 3 members with 3 game memberships (9 games total) isn’t worth more than 1 member with an 11 game membership.
Hawthorn has always had the most affordable memberships in the league, at some point we had to put them up.I’m a country member and have been for 20 years quite happily. No doubt I was emailed and had the chance to opt out but my membership this season did go from a standard of about 140 or 150 bucks to 360. It does guarantee me basically that I will get a grand final ticket and happy to spend the money as I do love the club, but considering I don’t think I’ve ever used my membership to get into a game, it’s probably not really worth it. The family finances look like e taking a fair whack in 12 months time so I’m likely scaling it back I think…
Not bemoaning it and it still offers great value. For someone to able to be guaranteed a gf ticket for a donation of $360/year is pretty good (when we’re hopefully heading into a period with multiple years of contendingHawthorn has always had the most affordable memberships in the league, at some point we had to put them up.
). Just personally facing a few tough decisions on the finances front. Just entered my 50’s, finally earning decent coin, first two kids supporting their own way through the tertiary system thanks to ADFA)It’s definitely a concept if you care about an accurate representation of membership support for a club."Worth" is not really a concept here. We're talking about a membership ladder.
A little disappointed we didn’t sell 20,000 t-shirt memberships when Watson resigned tbhIt’s definitely a concept if you care about an accurate representation of membership support for a club.
If 1 and 3 game memberships contribute equally to a membership tally as a full season membership does then why not include 0 game digital access memberships?
I’m more than happy for the current method of counting membership tallies to continue to be used. I just think the total amount of games linked to those memberships ought to be referenced as a way to accurately compare support between clubs.
Revenue from memberships sold would also be a good measure.
I signed up and got Kennedy Club without a waitlist this year. That will change next yearWould love to see the $$$ from membership. Far more important number.
All our top memberships are sold out and waiting lists.
Wait list for priority 1 is quite small, but with a big price increase next yr it'll be interestingI signed up and got Kennedy Club without a waitlist this year. That will change next year
Wait list for priority 1 is quite small, but with a big price increase next yr it'll be interesting