Hawthorn match - some observations

Maybe this ... (from the AAP yarn)

He said ruckman Will Minson, who gave away a costly 50m penalty in the opening round against Collingwood, could be dropped to the VFL, after giving up another on Sunday and also botching a simple set shot in the third term.

If this is accurate maybe its not just a matter of picking an easy target.

Well done on the win today Doggies fans. Was a game played at great intensity for the most part and rather enjoyable to watch as well, just a shame it had to be as costly injury wise for both our clubs as it was, hopefully nothing too serious for either team.

Seeing BBBH stand up when the team needed him to was fantastic(would have prefered him to do it any other week ofcourse :D) and should be comforting to know he has that ability to step it up when the situation demands. I reckon he could be exactly what you guys need to take it that one step further and push for a granny appearance.

Congratulations on a great win and all the best for the rest of the season! :thumbsu:

For mine I thought Murphy's game was terrific when the game was in the balance he was in our best 5 for the game.

I thought Picken was great, did a really good job on a very good player. Griff was near enough our best, but Lake gets the nod despite his errors.

I thought Aker was helping to keep us in it before he went off.

Cooney was very quiet, but stepped it up and was all class when it counted.

Just a note on Big Will..and I hate to single players out for a sledge...but he was just awful in the first half...the straw that broke the camel's back for me was when he handed off to Griff, and then didn't block Rioli (who then ran down Griff) it's a basic footy drill and he just epitomised his lack of intensity.

But his second half was more like the Big Will of old. He was told at 1/2 time and it's not like last year, we now have someone who can come in and replace him. Hope it will spur him on. I think he should keep his spot this week.

Overall, we didn't play well...but we battled hard in very rugged game against a very good side and got the 4 points. A+ for effort Boys!

This was on AFL website too.

Eade also threatened Will Minson with relegation to Williamstown if the big ruckman doesn't pick up his form after another few costly brain fades

Did Willy play this weekend? How did Roughy go?

Very good win today by the boys i thought, was such a tough game. Next week will be a cracker.

Roughy played very well, was among the best. He could come in if required no probs, but i think Big Will will keep his spot. Roughy playing well keeps the pressure on and I think that will be good for Will. He needs to maintain his second half intensity.

Minnow has lost his way. Besides the absolute shockers/clangers, he handballed off to Griffen in the second quarter when Rioli was right on him, only to have Griffen pinged.. Minnow didnt even attempt to sheppard Rioli off the ball. I like Minnow and he's a good kid, but he's really let himself down over the last few weeks..

Note Eade is finally indicating that Minson may spend time at Williamstown. Been advocating it since before the Richmond game ...... that was the opportunity to give Roughy a go. He would definitely be a better prospect for the forward line than either Minson ( bloody hell missed from 25 metres directly in front?) or Hudson. Moles appeared to be getting an absolute fan base.

If Skinny doesn't get back for the Brisbane game - Tim Callan likely inclusion? Definite good signs now appearing for Williams and Everitt and finally Griffen appears to have lifted.

Minnow has lost his way. Besides the absolute shockers/clangers, he handballed off to Griffen in the second quarter when Rioli was right on him, only to have Griffen pinged.. Minnow didnt even attempt to sheppard Rioli off the ball. I like Minnow and he's a good kid, but he's really let himself down over the last few weeks..

You are the second poster I have seen blaming Will for that and it is not justified.

Griffen was well clear and simply took forever to think about what he was going to do, when he should have been aware of that before calling for the ball from Will.

Did anyone see Picken smack Bateman behind the play? I saw Bateman lying on the ground for a long period and assumed Picken may have given him one.

When Bateman got to his feet, he went and had a go at Picken.

Wasn't shown on tv, mate at the game reckoned it was just a well-time tummy-punch.

No ump saw it, so even though the commentators noticed Changa struggling, shouldn't be anything to worry about.

Very suprised at Rocket's comment on Minson - for mine he was one of your better players, and probably the best game I've seen him play. The 50m was harsh, and quite possibly wrong.

Good win, our lack of a 2nd (edit: 3rd, 4th, 5th, 6th ruck) showed in the second half, and Cooney was absolutely spoonfed in the last when you finally broke us.

Looking forward to rd.14 (?) - hopefully by then we'll have the rest of our midfield back and match-fit, and a 2nd ruck. Should be a good game. Until then, we'll keep battling on, losing to the contenders, (hopefully) beating everyone else.

You are the second poster I have seen blaming Will for that and it is not justified.

Griffen was well clear and simply took forever to think about what he was going to do, when he should have been aware of that before calling for the ball from Will.

Am I the only one who thinks Griffen has poor awareness of players around him? Loved his game yesterday but his lack of awareness has been apparent over the duration of his career so far.

No you're not the only one. I assume you're talking about awareness of opposition players, not teammates.

It's been mentioned quite a few times on this board. It seems to be a minor flaw in his game but if he only gets run down once or twice a game I won't mind. It pays off several times over when he breaks the lines, helping us beat the opposition's defensive plans.

We need to remember he takes on the opposition more than most so he is going to get run down a bit more often than others, but I do agree he seems unaware at times.

I suspect he was about the quickest in his comp as a Junior and could always get away once he had the ball, so watching out for the chasers wasn't a necessary part of his skills. He will need to develop that awareness as he matures.

I've been very happy with Griff this year. He seems to be putting it together more consistently.

If Skinny doesn't get back for the Brisbane game - Tim Callan likely inclusion? Definite good signs now appearing for Williams and Everitt and finally Griffen appears to have lifted.

Addison and Callan both played well in the reserves so either of them would be bought back in.

Aker will probably be rested and Eagleton will come in as he had a good match also.

You might think I'm nutz, but I reckon his eyes are too close together, and this might cause his poor periferal vision

Joe you are right. Griff had heaps of time and was unaware of Cyril haring up behind him. Will give Minnow the benefit here, maybe he could have held out his arms after the handball to give a half shepherd but Griff was slow.
Griff in my opinion was the one that kept us in it up until half-time, was far and away our best player. He was quieter in the last quarter but was crucial to the win. For me clearly BOG

Joe you are right. Griff had heaps of time and was unaware of Cyril haring up behind him. Will give Minnow the benefit here, maybe he could have held out his arms after the handball to give a half shepherd but Griff was slow.
Griff in my opinion was the one that kept us in it up until half-time, was far and away our best player. He was quieter in the last quarter but was crucial to the win. For me clearly BOG

yes.

Despite getting run down by Cyril a couple of times, I had Griff as BOG.

Just wish he would pick up the awareness and always kick as well as the goal on the run after the Cross handpass in the 3rd.

If he ever puts it all together he could be as good as anyone in the comp.

Guys....Griff gets caught now and then sure...but that's the way he plays...not enough players take em on like that and it's a shame. I'm always wanting Griff to take the game on and I'll cop him being caught now and then. How many times yesterday did he do it and break the lines....and what he got caught badly maybe 3 times? Gotta take the risks guys that's when we are at out best.

BTW it's a very basic footballer drill to shepherd for the guy you hand pass too when close quarters. Will didn't even try to provide the block, had he just made a effort...even just moved into Rioli's line that would have given Griff a chance to get away. I'm sure he really didn't expect anyone to be there because he would have expected the block...

Anyway...I'll move on now.

Roughy played very well, was among the best. He could come in if required no probs, but i think Big Will will keep his spot. Roughy playing well keeps the pressure on and I think that will be good for Will. He needs to maintain his second half intensity.

Wasn't named in best players in the Age nor Sporting Pulse site. I thought he was a bit short of very good.

Hawthorn match - some observations