Hawthorn vs Geelong rivalry

• Thread starter Thread starter UAWM

Hey guys, i made a video/montage of the Hawthorn/Geelong rivalry, hope you enjoy it. I'm posting this on the Geelong board also because as this stands it isn't a finished product, i'm after some extra footage or different commentary from these games if anyone has some whether it be amateur or not so keep that in mind.

Also just seeing if it would be worth continuing on with this or if i should just leave it. Love criticism so if you have ideas on what could be done better also let me know.

Also if you do happen to have any footage that i can use in this just message me. I'm off now so i probably wont reply until tomorrow arvo

Hey guys, i made a video/montage of the Hawthorn/Geelong rivalry, hope you enjoy it. I'm posting this on the Geelong board also because as this stands it isn't a finished product, i'm after some extra footage or different commentary from these games if anyone has some whether it be amateur or not so keep that in mind.

Also just seeing if it would be worth continuing on with this or if i should just leave it. Love criticism so if you have ideas on what could be done better also let me know.

Also if you do happen to have any footage that i can use in this just message me. I'm off now so i probably wont reply until tomorrow arvo

Needs a bit of a prelude, might I suggest a touch of this:
World_of_Sport_VFL_Season_1985_Club_Corner_Leigh_Matthews_Neville_Bruns_Incident.gif
And a sprinkling of this:

And it would not be complete without a dash of this:
unnamed (35).jpg

Awesome, definitely like the intro ideas. Would also like to see it end on the 2008 prem not the hawkins goal - no need for a sour taste in the mouth. And theres a lot of geelong close ups at the end could do with some from Hodge, Mitch, Lewis, Burgers, Rough, Cyril, Bud etc to balance it out.
Its very good as is but i would like to see more as well, definitely brought a tear to the eye AGAIN!
A bit more Dew 08 would be sweet as well especially the commentary that says its the best 5 minutes of his footy career.

Geelong should be grateful, our matchups are one of the few things keeping them relevant.

I've always wondered why never see the second action by Mark Yeats shown on C7 as Mark came back to have a second go at Dermott, to me it looked like he was about to knee him.

Does anyone actually know why the umps fawn and swoon all over the cats so very much, especially when they play us? It's been going on for a decade or more. Is it the tall poppy syndrome? Is it an underdog thing? There is always one period of a given game when the maggots in green fall all over themselves and bend over backwards in their attempts to get them over the line. Monday it was the entire last quarter, the '13 PF it was the latter stages of the third, in the '08 GF it was the entire game, and especially the last 2 minutes of the third. I could go on.....

It's a mystery, but I suspect the tall poppy/underdog thing has something to do with it. We are Hawthorn, from the leafy, affluent eastern suburbs and we absolutely have it all over the poor, downtrodden boys from lowly old sleepy hollow as far as being an overall successful club is concerned.

Does anyone actually know why the umps fawn and swoon all over the cats so very much, especially when they play us? It's been going on for a decade or more. Is it the tall poppy syndrome? Is it an underdog thing? There is always one period of a given game when the maggots in green fall all over themselves and bend over backwards in their attempts to get them over the line. Monday it was the entire last quarter, the '13 PF it was the latter stages of the third, in the '08 GF it was the entire game, and especially the last 2 minutes of the third. I could go on.....

It's a mystery, but I suspect the tall poppy/underdog thing has something to do with it. We are Hawthorn, from the leafy, affluent eastern suburbs and we absolutely have it all over the poor, downtrodden boys from lowly old sleepy hollow as far as being an overall successful club is concerned.

Might have something to do with their captain constantly having a sook and playing for free kicks all game.

I've always wondered why never see the second action by Mark Yeats shown on C7 as Mark came back to have a second go at Dermott, to me it looked like he was about to knee him.
He did. I remember it distinctly when it happened & I was surprised when I finally saw a replay of the game & it had been edited out.

So had the Garry Hocking head stamp on Platten (which caused his concussion).

I was having a drink with a good mate who, sadly, happens to be a Cat's supporter, and I brought this exact topic up. He's normally quite placid, despite being a strongly built bloke.

Well he erupted and furiously protested that there was a hidden camera angle that showed Yates pulling up before he got Dermie again. I decided that discretion was the better part of valour and tried to placate him, unlike my normal confrontational self, but he was volcanic.

I brought this up to a fellow Hawk, who used to host events for the club and knows his stuff, and he stated that he had said the same thing to our friend and he had reacted in exactly the same manner. We were both shocked at his,out of character, response. No one I have spoken to has seen this "hidden" footage.

Methinks the gentleman doth protest too much.

Just wondering if anyone know if Geelong have a special cerriculum on "How to coax umpires into awarding you free kicks?"

They are so good at it, and their coach keeps showing them how even from his box.

I want our one point win to be the start of Kennett's Curse reversal, and want to crush them and their cohorts in every contest forever!

watching the footage at the start of the 2013 prelim shows why Geelong can't beat hawthorn when it matters. Lining up for the anthem, Geelong stretches about 40 m, because they can't stand to be near a geelong player. (Neither could I) and hawthorn are about a third of that distance because they are arm in arm.

This popped up in my recommended. Great video Will

The 2013 Prelim is still to this day the most incredible evening I've ever experienced at the football.
Didn't go - must have been huge to be there.

Not sure if you were olde enough at the time, but the 96 merger game v Melbourne was off the scale - Saturday night, big crowd, and potentially the last time Hawthorn ever played. Unbelievable to see where we are now. Never forget how bad it got.

Better yet, the 1987 prelim. Was amazing. After the siren goal to keep us on our unbroken streak of GF appearances.

Was only 4, so not quite haha.

But had attended every single Kennett curse game and honestly you started to believe it was true.

Geelong just kept finding ways to win out of absolutely nowhere and we were routinely heartbroken for 5 ****ing years...

It's funny..Tom Harley cops a lot of crap for saying that Hawthorn's legacy was on the line in the last quarter but I totally agree with him. We had such a talented list capable of doing so much, yet Geelong just stood in our way time and time again and threatened to ruin everything once more when they got up by 20.

Will never forget as long as I live Shaun Burgoyne seemingly just making the decision that Hawthorn would not leave the ground without a win and Ben Stratton's enormous marks.

I felt sick watching Varcoe take his shot as it seemed like "here we ****ing go again", but Sewell did just enough and I've never seen so much raw emotion at a football ground before or since.

The guy in front of me was a fellow Hawk and I had no idea who he was and we never said a word, but when the siren went we ended up facing each other and just hugged because the emotion of the moment made it seem like the only thing to do.

You couldn't hear the siren and Hawks fans everywhere were crying and hugging as well.

Knew from that night there was not a chance in hell we'd lose the 2013 Grand Final and firmly believe 2014 & 15 would never have happened without it.

I was having a drink with a good mate who, sadly, happens to be a Cat's supporter, and I brought this exact topic up. He's normally quite placid, despite being a strongly built bloke.

Well he erupted and furiously protested that there was a hidden camera angle that showed Yates pulling up before he got Dermie again. I decided that discretion was the better part of valour and tried to placate him, unlike my normal confrontational self, but he was volcanic.

I brought this up to a fellow Hawk, who used to host events for the club and knows his stuff, and he stated that he had said the same thing to our friend and he had reacted in exactly the same manner. We were both shocked at his,out of character, response. No one I have spoken to has seen this "hidden" footage.

Methinks the gentleman doth protest too much.

There's a line in this article where both Brereton and trainer John Kilpatrick deny there was a follow up hit http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...p/news-story/94dc781e5db7387b0999f6e7b30289ac

The rivalry will drop off when Mr Duckwood retires... he still represents and harbours the vibe of the 08-13.
The level of dislike for him from Hawks fans and players is to high for it to drop off while he is still out there flinging his arms around.