Hay - gone?

Bit of talk around last night that Hay may be gone forever.
What a disaster that would be for the Kangas. The three year contract is looking very sick now. Apparently not showing anything off the ground to indicate he is trying to fight back.
If this ends up to be the case, Donald McDonald should be sacked too for his involvement in convincing the club Hay was a good get.
Thank God the same rumours when we recruited Thommo were wrong - lets hope that Hay can fight back and prove the knockers wrong but right now thats not looking likely.

gokangas said:

lets hope that Hay can fight back and prove the knockers wrong but right now thats not looking likely.
I couldn't care less whether I see Hay play again or not. He will just add to our list of guys who can't kick.

gokangas said:
What a disaster that would be for the Kangas. The three year contract is looking very sick now. Apparently not showing anything off the ground to indicate he is trying to fight back.
If this ends up to be the case, Donald McDonald should be sacked too for his involvement in convincing the club Hay was a good get.
Thank God the same rumours when we recruited Thommo were wrong - lets hope that Hay can fight back and prove the knockers wrong but right now thats not looking likely.

Well it might not happen instantly. If he isnt falling further, than that may be what they are looking for, for now. Only problem is time is against him and we dont know what his contract details are - i dont think the club would pay his contract out to dump him so they will have to come to some sort of agreement.

Lidge said:
Was named in the best (Herald Sun) for Tassie yesterday.

Yes, we live in hope that he will regain some form and that his demeanour will improve. I reckon he needs to play well for some time, i.e. earn his recall.

I hope hay can get back into the team.

Personally I wouldn't have dropped him when he was, he was still good in the air, and played a couple of good match ups in a defense that was getting hammered due to the slackness of our midfield.

If our policy is to drop guys who are low on confidence or can't kick, I would have thought we'll see half the team playing in the reserves next week after last night.

Lidge said:
Was named in the best (Herald Sun) for Tassie yesterday.

Saw the fox footy replay friday night Tas V Frankston.
He had 4 touches up until midway through the final qtr.
Watched him and I am sure he just does not want to be there. His oponent would just run of and whats he doing? Scratching his arse.
He is just there for the $$$$$.
His interest in the game is non existent.
Doesn't chase, doesn't contest.
I cant see how he will be back if his attitude doesn't change. There is no Will.
Arguably one of the worst recruits by the Roos in the history of the club.
I'd hate to have that stat against my name!!

RoccaRoo said:
Watched him and I am sure he just does not want to be there. His oponent would just run of and whats he doing? Scratching his arse.
I cant see how he will be back if his attitude doesn't change. There is no Will.

I can share your frustration. We had the same problem when he was with the Hawks. You hate to see players with talent just waste it.

He is a f****** leach.

If he had an ounce of pride in his body, he would walk away for that contract.

And its not arguably one of the worst recruits by the Roos. It is the worst. Probably the worst by any club ever.

RoccaRoo said:

So I take it his inclusion in the "best" was either complete BS or some form of encouragement award. Thanks for the report RR.

I suppose another possibility is that the rest of his team played even worse than he did.

Mr Reliable said:
So I take it his inclusion in the "best" was either complete BS or some form of encouragement award. Thanks for the report RR.

I suppose another possibility is that the rest of his team played even worse than he did.

i think that the game that RoccaRoo saw was last weekend's game whilst he was named in the best for this weekend.

Mr Reliable said:

They played the Coburg Tigers Yesterday. Didn't see the game. If he was named as best then he cant have done too much because they lost by 36 points. And yes the only other explanation would be that the rest of the team played crap. Just hope they are not aspiring to Hay as an ex All Australian.
He's gotta go as he is an embarrsment not just to our club but the great game.

RoccaRoo said:

Tas played Frankston last week. They played Coburg yesterday.

I think the only thing 'wrong' with his game has been his disposal in a few games, his contesting was still very good in the seniors.

He hasn't looked great in the VFL but a lot of seniors do not look great in the VFL. Judging his form based on the team's success is moronic, even for threads on our forum in recent months.

Tasmania picked mostly key position players in their draft for our players because they had good running players, many of those players are now injured and they do not have our running players at their disposal so they are getting hammered in the middle of the ground.

As a defender you have NO hope of winning games when you are just getting slaughtered in the midfield, you are only going to reduce the damage.

Agree with a lot of that Tas, but he is FAT. His body shape hasn't improved all year. If I was under as much heat as him, I'd be doing everything possible to show my team-mates and coach that I was fair dinkum. I don't know what his training regime is like, but it sure doesn't look like he's getting fitter by the game.

Added to that, Rocca goes back to the twos and busts his arse at every contest. I don't reckon Hay displays the same team-oriented attitude.

windsock said:
Agree with a lot of that Tas, but he is FAT. His body shape hasn't improved all year. If I was under as much heat as him, I'd be doing everything possible to show my team-mates and coach that I was fair dinkum. I don't know what his training regime is like, but it sure doesn't look like he's getting fitter by the game.

Added to that, Rocca goes back to the twos and busts his arse at every contest. I don't reckon Hay displays the same team-oriented attitude.

Unless he has been hitting KFC every day since his last game I saw play I can't see how he has gained that much weight. He didn't look overweight in the last game I saw him play although it is fair to say he is a fair bit off his ideal weight. You have to factor he missed a fair bit of the pre-season.

You remember what Rocca looked like when he missed a pre-season? Like the Titanic. The big guys are dependant on their pre-season conditioning work, they can pack on a few extra kgs over the pre-season, I believe it is a normal thing in football.

I've watched a lot of VFL games where Rocca has looked dis-interested and didn't bust his arse in those games. What has busting his arse ever done for Rocca? Our coach does not reward effort and does not drop people horribly out of form. He left Petrie in the seniors for three straight years where he was playing as bad as Hay week after week.

All I wanted or expected from Hay in the VFL is to correct his issues with his use of the ball, he should never turn the ball over when not under pressure, no professional footballer should.

Meanwhile Daniel Motlop has a pretty average day with 16 possies 11 marks and 2 goals.

Who said Hay was better?

Tas said:
All I wanted or expected from Hay in the VFL is to correct his issues with his use of the ball, he should never turn the ball over when not under pressure, no professional footballer should.

Exactly. I would have wanted him in the seniors as soon as he had corrected his confidence/kicking issue, but thats obviously not Laidley's thinking.

Surely AFL teams have sport psychologists?

Tas said:
Unless he has been hitting KFC every day since his last game I saw play I can't see how he has gained that much weight. He didn't look overweight in the last game I saw him play although it is fair to say he is a fair bit off his ideal weight. You have to factor he missed a fair bit of the pre-season.

You remember what Rocca looked like when he missed a pre-season? Like the Titanic. The big guys are dependant on their pre-season conditioning work, they can pack on a few extra kgs over the pre-season, I believe it is a normal thing in football.

I've watched a lot of VFL games where Rocca has looked dis-interested and didn't bust his arse in those games. What has busting his arse ever done for Rocca? Our coach does not reward effort and does not drop people horribly out of form. He left Petrie in the seniors for three straight years where he was playing as bad as Hay week after week.

What happened to the days when blokes would go back a level and dominate- you know, be a class above? Sav often does it. J Clayton used to do it.

If we sacked/benched/dropped every player who turned the ball over when under no pressure we'd be playing with about 4 men on the ground.

Tas said:

Fair call. I certainly haven't written him off for next year and would hpoe that a HUGE pre-season will see him approaching the sort of form he is capable of.

Tas said:

Can't agree with that. Drew's performances were infinitely better than Hay - even if they weren't top shelf - and he played like he gave a ****. He was openly disappointed with how he was travelling and he knew he should have been giving more.

FWIW I agree with the suggestion Dean doesn't drop players horribly out of form. But of the blokes I reckon would be in your thinking, I can understand why he has stuck with them (to a degree). Time is up for at least one of them.

With respect to Jon, well he was terrible with the ball, OK in stationary one-out contests, pretty poor on the move and has looked disinterested at times.

He needs a total makeover for next year, but the rewards could be massive if he/we get it right. He's only 26.

KingyOrTheKing said:
Exactly. I would have wanted him in the seniors as soon as he had corrected his confidence/kicking issue, but thats obviously not Laidley's thinking.

Surely AFL teams have sport psychologists?

Hang on, what are you saying?

Are you suggesting Hay has fixed his confidence/kicking and Dean is allowing him to languish in the VFL?

Or are you saying Dean hasn't enlisted outside help to fix Hay's issues?

Maybe you're just bagging Dean for the sake of it.

windsock said:

Totally agree.
What frustrated me was everytime he was in the prime spot next to his oponent near the ball, he did not even TRY to create a contest. His lack of endeveour and will is just disgraceful and non existent. There is no way he is going to get fitter if he plays the way I saw him play just over a week ago. He does not want to be there and this is the VFL we are talking about. You would think he'd be on par or slightly better than VFL players in general. He is ****.
As for Rocca, there is no doubt week in week out he gives all his got and it shows with the bags of goals that he kicks. Having said this he should have played more AFL games for us this year than he has.

Hay - gone?