NeXus_Helen

Suspended
Leeds
What happened to the $1,000,000+ profit that you were happily sprouting all year? Why did it turn into $90,000 instead?

Let's analyse the Dees situation a little closer.

They are coming off a shocking 2007. Melbourne and Carlton have had the most Priority Picks in the AFL(is it 4 or 5?). You have the lowest membership base in Victoria by a long way. Last year you sold 1 game to Brisbane and 1 game to Darwin, (correct me if I'm wrong). You also collected $1.5million from the CBF, (correct me if I'm wrong). You also had a huge blockbuster game on Queen's Birthday against Collingwood.

I would like to ask all Dees, or is that MelbourneFC supporters a few questions. What is going to happen when you lose the CBF? What is going to happen when you no longer can sell games interstate? What is going to happen when the AFL decide to take away the Queen's Birthday blockbuster.

I'll hazard a guess. MelbourneFC will be posting $3million losses every year.:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

At least they posted a profit

Exactly, and st,kilda had a great year on the field to didn't they and how about all the shit that went on with their board and is still going on I believe the Grant Thomas shit is still about the club, I'd worrie about your own side before you start worrie about any others!

Most of the Melb. supporter on here back Gardiner to the hilt and won’t hear of any criticism. Truth is they have been precarious for a long time and remain so.

I reckon this topic may have been done to death last year when the club's financial result was announced.

Stop flogging a dead horse. It's not everyone else's fault that you're months behind.

I'll correct some of your errors. 2 priority pick(97,03) not 4 or 5. Sold game were in Brisbane and Canberra(not Darwin) and from this year on there wont be anymore games sold to Brisbane. Not 100% sure but i think we only got $1mil from the CBF last year not $1.5m, either way, I'm positive we are only getting $1mil this year. Lowest membership base in Victoria by a long way? Doubt it, seeing as last year we had a record membership(28k) which was practically the same as the Bulldogs and much more than North.

St Kilda are lucky to have such a large supporter base cause otherwise they'd have been out the door 20 years ago.

:rolleyes:

She's pissed the Kangawho's didn't go to the Gold Coast, and now she's targetting someone-else.

I stopped reading after this

They are coming off a shocking 2007. Melbourne and Carlton have had the most Priority Picks in the AFL(is it 4 or 5?).
:eek:

Hello McFly? Where did Riewoldt, Kosi, Ball, Goddard et al. come from?

Their has been handed to them via deplorable results from 2000-2002

WTF NECKLESS! 4 or 5 priority picks? Bahha weve had 2 you scum! How man have your rabble had? Oh and are you jealous we actually posted a PROFIT! Unlike your club, please **** off this board neckless.

I think another factor is the amount of injuries that they had. Not only that it meant they finished closure to the bottom of the ladder then they expected but also they have to pay the injured players and the replacement players and they probably had more players making their debut then expected which means more expense as they pay the clubs that these players come from (at some level).

This is a perfect example why teams are trying to build income from none Footy sources as you can't 100% control how you will perform on the field and if you are relying on that, you put yourself at great risk.

Molly

late 90's -0, although in 2000 we did get the priority pick.

seriously nexus, what is the point of this thread?

What happened to the $1,000,000+ profit that you were happily sprouting all year? Why did it turn into $90,000 instead?

Poor on-field performance and not the same kind of draw they got in 2006 I would imagine are the major reasons.

Let's analyse the Dees situation a little closer.

They are coming off a shocking 2007. Melbourne and Carlton have had the most Priority Picks in the AFL(is it 4 or 5?).

I don't think this factors in off-field performance.

You have the lowest membership base in Victoria by a long way.

Not sure how accurate that is, I think Demons, Bulldogs and us are on a similar supporter/membership base. I think on-field expectation fluctuates the level of support between the three. Dogs probably have the greatest scope for improvement given the high growth of western suburbs. Melbourne probably suffer heavily due to MCC memberships, would probably see a more accurate level of support if they played at TD.

Last year you sold 1 game to Brisbane and 1 game to Darwin, (correct me if I'm wrong).

That is more an issue that Melbourne lacks a suitable small/medium stadium. Geelong is very profitable at Skilled on a crowd of 22k. The only difference between small/medium and medium/large supporter base clubs is the medium/large ones have stadiums suited to their supporter base, small/medium do not.

You also collected $1.5million from the CBF, (correct me if I'm wrong). You also had a huge blockbuster game on Queen's Birthday against Collingwood.

They had their SDF reduced to $1m as of last year I believe due to them receiving a better draw and improved profitability, however, the on-field issues hit them pretty hard last year.

I would like to ask all Dees, or is that MelbourneFC supporters a few questions. What is going to happen when you lose the CBF? What is going to happen when you no longer can sell games interstate? What is going to happen when the AFL decide to take away the Queen's Birthday blockbuster.

I am not a Melbourne supporter but I can't see the SDF being removed while there is a significant disadvantage to some clubs, it doesn't matter if the clubs being disadvantaged are making $1m profits every year, if they are losing out on $1-$2m a year because of scheduling is not equitable then those clubs penalised should get compensation, whichever teams are being penalised.

The only way I see it being removed is if they change the structure of the competition so that it is more equitable for all clubs.

I'll hazard a guess. MelbourneFC will be posting $3million losses every year.:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

Melbourne has similar issues to the very inner suburban clubs in that they have no real growth region to draw new supporters from, they will have to undertake initiatives like the other clubs to increase their exposure in growth regions otherwise I think they will struggle to keep increasing their level of support in line with other clubs.

I stopped reading after this

Hello McFly? Where did Riewoldt, Kosi, Ball, Goddard et al. come from?

Their has been handed to them via deplorable results from 2000-2002
St.kilda's priority picks.....

2000 National Draft Nick Rievoldt.
2001 National Draft Luke Ball.

That's it Cheshire Cat, or would you like to prove me wrong?????

Please feel free to discredit my post with facts!!!!!.

Sure

They are coming off a shocking 2007.

Wow, ground breaking news here, you really have your finger on the pulse.

Melbourne and Carlton have had the most Priority Picks in the AFL(is it 4 or 5?).

Actually, we've had 2 priority picks, which is less than half of the figure you plucked out of the air. What was that about facts again?

You have the lowest membership base in Victoria by a long way.

Wrong

Last year you sold 1 game to Brisbane and 1 game to Darwin, (correct me if I'm wrong).

Yeah, so what's your point?

You also collected $1.5million from the CBF, (correct me if I'm wrong).

Smart by the board to get that money from the AFL

You also had a huge blockbuster game on Queen's Birthday against Collingwood.

At least we're involved in a blockbuster game

Correct, you're guessing, as you've already demonstrated you have no idea about the reality of the situation so your opinion counts for nothing.

Anything else I can do for you?

St.kilda's priority picks.....

2000 National Draft Nick Rievoldt.
2001 National Draft Luke Ball.

That's it Cheshire Cat, or would you like to prove me wrong?????

So you've just proved that Melbourne and St.Blunder have the same amount of PP picks, well done Einstein, you've really added weight to your argument

:eek: :rolleyes:

late 90's -0, although in 2000 we did get the priority pick.

seriously nexus, what is the point of this thread?

Trolling, it's just a pity that no thought went into it at all. What could have been a thread full of decent arguments will now be full of 'Let's laugh at Nexus because she is so dumb' posts.

:eek:

Exactly, and st,kilda had a great year on the field to didn't they and how about all the shit that went on with their board and is still going on I believe the Grant Thomas shit is still about the club, I'd worrie about your own side before you start worrie about any others!

First time i put it down to a typo, second time i really started to worrie...i mean worry. lol

Trouble last year was the result of a number of things.

Firstly, our big names getting injured meant we had to play depth players who were on performance based contracts which meant we ended up paying them a lot more than we had budgeted (only 2 listed players didn't get a run out last year, both of them being injured themselves).

Lowest membership base? Come on mate, at least get some of your stats partially right. If half the MCC members who declare themselves MFC supporters signed up, we'd be well over 40,000 for members. With the new joint MFC/MCC membership, we're hopefully taking a step in the right direction to tempting some of the sole MCC members to become members of the MFC also.

Gardner is taking us in the right direction. Our membership target for this year is 30,000 and a good start to the year should see us get pretty close to that figure.