- Banned
he will win stkildas b&f this year.
Umm, nah. You couldn't be more wrong. If it isn't Dal Santo's it's no ones, and Montagna would be behind a few others like Fisher, Milne, etc.

he will win stkildas b&f this year.
1. He's too unselfish
2. He doesn't like to burn the ball so he tends to hold it till there is a viable option. When the team is down on confidence like now there tends to be no leading players or in fact anyone who even wants the ball so Hill gets trapped with the thing because there isn't a good release option.
It's actually one of the things that should see him reach elite level, his decision making is excellent and his execution top class.
But yes he needs to confidence to kick at goal from anywhere around 50 and to generally take the high risk option.
Umm, nah. You couldn't be more wrong. If it isn't Dal Santo's it's no ones, and Montagna would be behind a few others like Fisher, Milne, etc.
if there was a block, or he had half a step on his opponent, he could have broken free from congestion, in a Judd/Ablett like fashion, and sprinted clear.
He IS good at getting the ball in traffic and obviously has lighting acceleration and elite evasiveness. If he had some blocks and people throwing weight around he could be a superb inside player.
he's not getting the protection that he needs at the moment, but. last year, morabito was his brother in arms, shepherding players off his run, but he hasn't received much of that this year. this year, he's had to run alone, and like last night, when he went for that run off half back only to be confronted by a wall at half forward and had to handball backwards because his running team mate couldn't keep up with him just ended up looking feckless. how many times did we see that this year? too many. some of that is hill not being smarter with his run. sometimes he just puts on the afterburners only to turn it over, but if he played it smarter and with the off the ball support, he'll be better for it.
hilly shouldnt have to be the inside player when we get our boys back. we won the clearances last night, low and behold hill gets 30 touches. he should be the finisher, and thats what he will be when we get our midfield back. we will revisit this in one years time.
i think the question we should be asking is why the hell did we beat the best team in the league in clearances when we have lost that stat all year, and that is without a lot of our best players
well i guess its all about perception then, i would have montagna in my top 20. he will win stkildas b&f this year. and i would only have him behind hayes and reiwoldt last year as far as importance and game winning ability goes, and he actually came runner up in the best and fairest in a team that probably should have won a flag (how they lost that first final i will never know).... i think hill will be around that mark, if not better.
Hill said in an interview just on DockerTV that he will seek the advice of Mundy on how to break a tag. He's not a stupid kid.
Take another leaf out of basketball, if you have a tight 1 on 1 situation - you run them threw a series of picks to take the sting out of them early.
Must say I have not seen a lot of evidence of clever physicality this year from us.
Ablett doesn't get blocks really, he is just an elite player.
This has been bothering me as well.It's somewhat embarrassing that the kids at GC can manage to block for Ablett - Palmer got hit by every single player he ran past all day - but our team can't do it for anyone. None of our players get the support they need regularly enough to break tags.
Hopefully something they'll address during pre-season.Yeah nah, don't think you have seen too many GC games. He does it almost all himself, using opponents as picks too. That is why he is the best player in the game.Ummm nah. He is an elite player, who also gets help from his teammates.
Seriously, Palmer was blocked at pretty much every single stoppage when we played them. It was the best example of it I've seen all year.
Yeah nah, don't think you have seen too many GC games. He does it almost all himself, using opponents as picks too. That is why he is the best player in the game.
They can't block for everyone. They block for Mundy at times, or Barlow...It's an inditement on our footy dept and team that our players don't block more for Hill.
That is all.
They can't block for everyone. They block for Mundy at times, or Barlow...
He's a big boy now, he can deal with it himself. Judd, Ablett, Goodes. They all learnt how to deal with it. You don't become an elite player by letting someone else do all the hard work for you.I don't care. It incenses me when I see him being scragged and pushed around at stoppages that no one comes in and lays a heavy shepherd or tries to put the tagger into the dirt.
We are amongst the worst teams for blocking/shepherding and I would add closing out. What's closing out? Shielding opponent players away from a marking team mate?
Watch us give off hands and then stand there as trailing opponents pressure the ball carrier.
De Boer is a master at hands then take the body. Against a C'wood - it is magnified due to their willingness to run for each other.
Compare this to a Roberton who I can not recall blocking ever... this is where we need to get the fundies into the guys.
He's a big boy now, he can deal with it himself. Judd, Ablett, Goodes. They all learnt how to deal with it. You don't become an elite player by letting someone else do all the hard work for you.